This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Usetrace

Web-based automated testing solution for SMBs

see alternatives

Usetrace Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

So far, the team really appreciates having the most tedious and repetitive part of their job taken care of so they can focus on better and more creative tasks.

Jenny M.

This is a great quality software that is fairly easy to use. It does the job well and ha all the features I need.

Mark F.

It super useful app to be sure that your app is actually working. I like easy setup and that it is really fast (you can say it about a lot of other ci tools).

Artyom K.

Cons

UseTrace completely takes away the need to do mindless QA/testing.

dean k.

The biggest two problems are: (1) you can't export to Selenium files--it's currently a closed system; (2) a lot of planned capabilities are still being developed.

Yisroel Y.

UI changes were a headache because many things could go wrong. Now test cases are easy to maintain when our UI changes.

Manny K.

Overall rating

4.7

5

4

3

2

1

11

5

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


16 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quickly create powerful tests that cut down QA time

Reviewed 5 years ago

We began using Usetrace a couple of months ago and already have seen a dramatic decrease in some of our regression testing time. Building traces is very easy and intuitive, cutting down on startup time. They have thought of just about everything and continue to add improvements. Customer support is incredibly responsive for the times that you need a little help. We have automated some complex purchase testing that took 3 people a full day to manually complete. With the press of a button now one person can complete the same number of tests within minutes!

Pros

It is very easy for non-technical people to create very robust tests.

Cons

They need to add to their documentation.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

UseTrace: A New Way to Test

Reviewed 5 years ago

The application is still not fully developed, but they've got exactly the right idea and what does work is well done. They are a graphical interface for automating regression testing. They are built on Selenium, but they are opening the world of regression testing to relatively nontechnical users. They also have a responsive technical support, and they are really committed to making a great product.

Pros

The graphical summary of the trace steps. You can literally see your steps so far! Also, it's greate that they're entirely in the cloud, so that you can virtually run every test and any cookies, etc. are not going to skew results. That also allows you to choose from 5 browsers. And you can hone the steps as needed, for instance by adding or deleting locators. You can coordinate with team members, sending them urls for each site.

Cons

The biggest two problems are: (1) you can't export to Selenium files--it's currently a closed system; (2) a lot of planned capabilities are still being developed. For instance, there are certain fairly basic capabilities that I find still would take a bit of javascript coding. Not that you have to, but at times it might be handy.

Vendor response

Thanks for the in-depth review! There's an export to get all of your test suite data out in JSON http://docs.usetrace.com/api/#export

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Frees up your devs with quick, automated testing

Reviewed 2 years ago

A small team of developers I work with on a project that focuses heavily on UX has begun using Usetrace for its quick and easy testing workflow. They can finally be free of manually building tests and having to babysit the entire process.

Pros

Building traces is easy and anyone can create robust load balancing, performance and regression tests without having to write a single line of code. Traces also run regularly—including whenever the code is updated so you have the confidence that the latest version is being tested at all times. Editing and maintaining traces is also easy and intuitive. Usetrace has a visual dashboard so you can check in on how your site is doing and you get an email or SMS alert if something fails. So far, the team really appreciates having the most tedious and repetitive part of their job taken care of so they can focus on better and more creative tasks. Plus, there's a free version which is always appreciated!

Cons

It's a relatively new software so don't expect a plethora of in-depth features. It has what it needs to get the job done and there seems to be lots of exciting development in the works as they're continually adding improvements.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Software which reduces you load in testing field

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is a cloud based software which doesn't require any coding. It continuously monitors and tests your developed app to confirm if it is working fine. It has a GUI feature so its dashboard continuously shows the status of your work. It can do scripting for you also. It send SMS alerts right away when your website is failing.

Cons

Cannot think of any cons yet as we have not faced any. Its price can be a bit low.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very useful for browser regression tests

Reviewed 5 years ago

Just created my first traces for our mobile UX - worked very well out of the box! Within a few minutes we had built a trace for our app's on-boarding flow. Our next step is to integrate with our CI Server. Feels really refreshing that it was so easy to move this from manual QA to an automated process. Also, found the documentation around tunneling / ngrok very easy to follow.

Pros

Ease of creating traces and the flexibility of editing / maintaining traces.

Cons

We are building an app with cordova / ionic. While mobile screen sizes are supported, it would be nice to be able to test the native integrations (ie, native keyboards) that may effect the user experience.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Finally, UI changes are awesome!

Reviewed 5 years ago

UI changes were a headache because many things could go wrong. Now test cases are easy to maintain when our UI changes.

Pros

Ease of use, ability to set up recurring tests.

Cons

Trial, I wish they gave a longer trial period.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review! You can use the Free plan for an unlimited time. Free plan's limits are on the testing frequency and the number of seats.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Extremely intuitive to use, adds value the moment it's set up

Reviewed 5 years ago

UseTrace completely takes away the need to do mindless QA/testing. The fact that you can schedule different 'traces' to be run testing different aspects of our website is a huge value add for us.

Pros

Ease of use, value add

Cons

A bit hard to understand initial set up

Vendor response

Thanks for the review! We are working to make the initial onboarding process more intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ease of implementation and integration with Usetrace

Reviewed 5 years ago

I strongly recommend Usetrace if your regression testing need to run in different browsers, every night or after every build, Usetrace is the right product fast and efficient. To use UseTrace you don't need to be familiar with javascript or any web browser automation tool, the on-boarding of UseTrace is less than 10min, everybody can do it.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks for the review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IMHO, the best innovation and execution of this year.

Reviewed 5 years ago

This is just super helpful tool for the software developers, testers and project managers. It makes web app testing super easy and lighting fast.

Pros

- Great concept, automatizises the most frustrating work from web app development. - Super cool UI - Works!

Cons

- nothing came to my mind yet

Vendor response

Thanks for the review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Super usefull

Reviewed 5 years ago

It super useful app to be sure that your app is actually working. I like easy setup and that it is really fast (you can say it about a lot of other ci tools)

Pros

* Easy setup * Works fast * Done the job!

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks for the review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

So easy to use with UseTrace

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've tried other automated testing software like Telerik Testing Studio, Testing Whiz and Selenium IDE, but they can be hard to comprehend at first and takes time in order to navigate it well. With UseTrace everything is so easy that you just get it right off the bat.

Pros

Easy to use, simplicity, dashboard is nice.

Cons

Can be hard to navigate a specific type of testing like .JS or mail form test. But I've figured it out.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome tool for testing

Reviewed 5 years ago

Even though it's still in development and needs improvements, this tool is already amazing! Great way for people to improve their testing environments!

Pros

The ease of creating and automating the tests on your UI.

Cons

Still need some improvements on the recording process.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A good regression testing tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

With agile methology being adopted across the software sector, it is necessary to do regression testing. This is a good tool for doing that. It is easy to maintain test suit with it and check the effect of modifications made in the code.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you for the review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Extremely intuitive to use, adds value the moment it's set up

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease of creating traces and the flexibility of editing / maintaining traces. Ability to set up recurring tests.

Cons

Our software team is building an app with cordova / ionic. While mobile screen sizes are supported, it would be nice to be able to test the native integrations (ie, native keyboards) that may effect the user experience.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The ideal tool for QA for our site

Reviewed 5 years ago

I set up my account and within 10 minutes I was up and running. I had one question and customer service answered it within minutes. I've been using the product for a bit now and so far so good.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks for the review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Overall good

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This is a great quality software that is fairly easy to use. It does the job well and ha all the features I need.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback!