App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

IdeaBuddy Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

33

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.91/10

Reviews by rating

Top 3 alternatives

Pros and cons

Once you complete one, it's off to the next one, in a really fun and simple way. The overall report is great for internal company use, but also fantastic to give investors.
What I love about IdeaBuddy is that I could write all my thoughts and ideas and organize it with their help.
Makes want to work on my projects. I find useful to have different ways to see the information since I like visual formats and my teammates like more descriptive documents.
Some of the features are not ideal in these settings. Currently I do not own a laptop/desktop so this is sometimes an inconvenience.
Ideabuddy needs to update the software a little bit for it's lag while loading the financial plan and editing the details.
I don't like the design of the business plan. I have tried it and it has some structure issues.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


33 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Zoran K.

Verified reviewer

Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Wish I had IdeaBuddy years ago

Reviewed 3 years ago

It works fast and it is easy to use. Again, I used business planning software before.

Pros

I have business ideas all the time and I write most of them down but rarely take action beyond that. With IdeaBuddy I can quickly explore my idea and evaluate it. I keep working on those that look promising and discard bad ideas. I am impressed with the level of detail and depth of guidance of this product. I used different business planning software before but this is different- combines cutting edge latest frameworks (business model canvas) with essential business planning tools (financials). So awesome!

Cons

If is a comprehensive tool and it takes a bit more time to fully develop the idea then I would want to invest sometimes. But that’s also a good filter for ideas - tests how passionate you really are about an idea.

JC
AvatarImg

Jonathan C.

Computer Hardware, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Absolutely fascinating. Financial Projections and Business Planning.

Reviewed 10 months ago

I honestly think it's wonderful. It allows me to look at my overall numbers in a quick and easy format. Plan my business in every aspect from the customer, the products, to market details.

Pros

It's easy to use. Affordable and allows for extensive financial projections for a my complex business problem.

Cons

It's sometimes a little buggy on the Business Plan Generator.

Vendor response

Hi Jonathan, thank you so much for your review, we are thrilled to hear you love IdeaBuddy! We are constantly trying to offer more value to our users, so can expect many more cool features to come in the upcoming period. One of these is the Idea Score, which will be introduced next week with the upcoming release.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Small Business planning

Reviewed a year ago

Overall positive and I will keep using it!

Pros

I started with the free trial and continued on with a subscription. This has been a valuable tool in building my business plan and outlining and organizing my ideas for the company. I like that the business plan is thought-provoking in the items it captures. I also like that it will synthesize this into a complete and shareable document.

Cons

The web-based platform needs to be optimized for tablets and smartphones. Some of the features are not ideal in these settings. Currently I do not own a laptop/desktop so this is sometimes an inconvenience.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We just wanted to inform you that IdeaBuddy is optimized for smartphones and tablets since last month. You can read more about it here https://ideabuddy.com/blog/ideabuddy-is-now-mobile-friendly/

SG
AvatarImg

Selwyn G.

Accounting, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Idea Buddy really is a good buddy

Reviewed 3 months ago

Excellent because it is very comprehensive in planning details albeit in summary form.

Pros

The design of the canvass is more informative than the regular canvasses on the market. This canvas leads you through all the necessary information to get you going and to keep coming back to be sure you are staying focused.

Cons

At this time I feel the product is feature rich and doesn't need much more. Less is more and feature creep can be the downfall of a good basic product. Perhaps there could be access to more resources to help with each of the categories!

Vendor response

Thank you so much Selwyn for the five-star review! Although you are right when you say that less is more, we are planning to add a few more features that will help our users and enrich their experience with the platform. Also, we will add more resources for the specific business ideas, like a startup checklist with steps to incorporate a business and the list of legal documents required. Stay tuned!

VF
AvatarImg

Victor F.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best products I have seen in long time

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Simple to use It guides you step by step in order to develop your idea Good price Stable New features time to time Best tool i hace seen for CF protections

Cons

I have not encountered any issues. So far so good

Aj
AvatarImg

Ashwald j.

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple and efficient service

Reviewed 3 months ago

Wouldn’t have gone for another app is the best user experience I’ve had in a long time.

Pros

Everything is given to you in manner that you don’t have break your head it’s really that simple.

Cons

Currency converter when exporting to users

Vendor response

Thank you Ashwald for the review, we are glad to hear you love IdeaBuddy!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Carmen B.

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

All organised and ready to start collaborating and working

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has always worked, never closed or crashed and I like the instructional videos, especially the ones explaining step by step the features. I'm hoping for unit economics to be more detailed and for the possibility to get educational content on building a startup or a project. Content such as handling the mentors, partners, interns, and investors. Or hoe to grow presence online for free. I think this is for sure a tool that can grow well on the educational side to allow people to try new ideas in a fun way.

Pros

User-friendly and sleek design. Makes want to work on my projects. I find useful to have different ways to see the information since I like visual formats and my teammates like more descriptive documents.

Cons

I am waiting for the validation area of this product. I think this is something very useful for starups to follow up on their experiments and have all outcomes in one place.

FQ
AvatarImg

Felipe Q.

Broadcast Media, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

On its way to a great product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good

Pros

Its a neat idea, nicely executed. Right now could be a bit basic but im sure itll have tons of new awesome functionalities

Cons

Lacking a bit more functionalities and partnerships

DP
AvatarImg

Duncan P.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for professional insight

Reviewed 3 months ago

IdeaBuddy should create a binding feature with its customers

Pros

This software has tons of great features, it helpen us to create the overview we needed.

Cons

We would like to see more design options

Vendor response

Thank you for the review Duncan, and also thank you for your suggestions. We are constantly improving the platform and adding new features, so you can expect to see plenty of interesting things to come in the upcoming period.

MP
AvatarImg

Maria P.

Education Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent tool for planning and modelling

Reviewed 2 months ago

IdeaBuddy helped me model a new business initiative and prepare a business plan quickly. The customer support was excellent and I highly recommend this product.

Pros

Stylish, clean design. Well thought out. Useful tips. Easy to use.

Cons

None so far - I haven't yet attempted to integrate it with other systems.

Vendor response

Thank you so much Maria for a 5-star review. Enjoy using IdeaBuddy!

EA
AvatarImg

Emily A.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IdeaBuddy is all the tools I need in one place for my business scope and plan

Reviewed a year ago

I found IdeaBuddy this year and have since been able to make more concrete decisions about my business, propose more confidently to investors, and feel a sense of peace about the direction I'm heading. Wish I had found IdeaBuddy sooner!

Pros

The Financial Plan tool is what I appreciate most about the software. It has the ability to create multiple-year financial projections and make adjustments by year. I also love the design style. It's user-friendly and even cute! I look forward to logging on and noodling around on IdeaBuddy because every time, I discover new possibilities for my business. Previously, I was using book-keeping software for financial projections, a business planning software for my strategy and pitching to investors, and a project management tool for my ideations. Now I can integrate them all in one place and even run different specs on multiple project ideas!

Cons

On the Founder plan, the limit is 3 ideas, which is a challenge for an entrepreneur/artist like myself. Yet doubling my monthly fee to upgrade to 30 projects doesn't make sense for me either. I have various arms to my business and would like to be able to create more projects without having to delete projects or upgrade.

Vendor response

Thank you so much Emily, we're thrilled to know you love IdeaBuddy. We are constantly improving our platform, so stay tuned for more cool things to come. Happy Holidays!

DK
AvatarImg

Dino K.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Business Idea Development with IdeaBuddy

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience with IdeaBuddy is great and I would really recommend it to anybody who is developing their idea as it gives you plenty of options to write down and build your idea and there is a really good connection between Business Model Mode and Story Mode.

Pros

Product is very user-friendly and easy to use and I like it that it gives you two options to develop your idea - one standard in the form of a BMC and second through the story mode. While I find business model set-up necessary to write all the parameters down, I found Story Mode even more useful as my business idea is client-orientated so this option helped me imagine through which possible steps clients will go.

Cons

I wouldn't say I found any cons, rather it is something that confuses me - When creating a new idea you can either choose from pre-configured Business set-ups or create your own and when choosing between these two option I would wish to have a bit more explanation what each one of these two options will give me.

BN
AvatarImg

Buhari N.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Honest feedback about my experience with ideaBuddy

Reviewed 2 years ago

As a CEO I most write about business plan and similar things.

Pros

I like the feature that I can easily generate and edit stuffs. That's great

Cons

Sometimes you have choose category for your search to be affective

MM
AvatarImg

Mirza Mohammed B.

Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ideabuddy Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

With Ideabuddy, i was able to easily generate my y1 financial projections, costs, profits etc which really helped me out

Pros

Ideabuddy is a very useful and very to use for the business. Its most impactful feature is its financial plan which helps in having the approximate projections for the business financials.

Cons

Umm.. Ideabuddy needs to update the software a little bit for it's lag while loading the financial plan and editing the details.

TP
AvatarImg

Tanja P.

Nonprofit Organization Management, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My experiences with Idea Buddy

Reviewed 2 years ago

I would recommend it to anyone who needs detailed planning for their future business. Very easy to use with relevant examples.

Pros

Very useful tool especially part for financial planning. It helps to get fast pojection for finnance of your future business.

Cons

It may need to expand the choice of business models for start-ups.

HM
AvatarImg

Hamzah M.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An amazing way to create a business plan

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I love how this tool guides you through the entire business plan journey, rather than making me create endless google docs with convoluted sections. It's simple, pushes you along in a very supportive way and asks you the questions that really stress test an idea to ensure it's a good one. Literally everything is covered, from market research and competitor analysis to SWOT and PEST, with many other sections in between. Once you complete one, it's off to the next one, in a really fun and simple way. The overall report is great for internal company use, but also fantastic to give investors.

Cons

Nothing so far, as it delivers what it says it does. Future ideas could include a 'resource centre' that shows all the tools entrepreneurs use to bring their ideas to life, as this would help newbies making their plans.

cm
AvatarImg

carlos m.

Cosmetics, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ideabuddy Really helps you to start your project

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's very easy to use. It's very toughtfull on the design of your plan It let's you develop almost everything on trial

Cons

Actually the interface is very intuitive and sometimes, chooses a path which you wouldn't but must follow in order to keep going on the progress of your process.

LG
AvatarImg

Lucas G.

Online Media, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

First steps into your project

Reviewed a year ago

It is a good experience, I would highly recommend it for someone who is facing his first project or has a small working team or

Pros

It was very intuitive, always guiding you through the business plan and so

Cons

The lack of better and deeper examples on each area

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review, we're so happy to hear you love IdeaBuddy. We are constantly improving the platform and adding new templates every week, so stay tuned for cool things to come!

JT
AvatarImg

John T.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Very Useful Product

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, a wonderful experience with this product. I dont really have any complaints, and have actually recommended IdeaBuddy to a few friends. If you are like me and like compartmentalizing different tasks and having things laid out in an organized, easy to view and navigate manner then this product is great for you. If you dont mind clutter or very linear visuals, then you dont really need this product.

Pros

Great layout Multiple Products Good Visualization

Cons

Pricing Tiers (not a bad price, but I wish there were more options than the 3 tier LTD)

Vendor response

Thank you for a five-star review John, we are delighted to hear to like IdeaBuddy. We are constantly improving our platform and adding new features, so stay tuned for more cool things to come. Happy Holidays!

RO
AvatarImg

René O.

Professional Training & Coaching, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The perfect platform to start a business idea

Reviewed 2 years ago

The platform in the future should have alarms or KPIs to notify objectives, tasks, validation of hypotheses, activities and the control of income and expenses that allow the entrepreneur to monitor the health of his business. In this way, it helps the business owner to be better focused and concerned about the business.

Pros

All the features are very good, from the concept of the idea to the projection of the costs involved in starting a business. This platform has allowed me to have a better organization of my ideas and the steps that I must follow.

Cons

I don't like the design of the business plan. I have tried it and it has some structure issues.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mehmet Sıddık Y.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great tutorial and builder! It's really astonishing.

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

Even someone who doesn't know anything about the features I love the most, can do a professional job and achieve success in business life.

Cons

There wasn't a feature I didn't like. We have seen all the requirements for creating a business plan.

Vendor response

Thank you for the 5-star review Mehmet! Stay tuned for more exciting features to come in the next few months.

PP
AvatarImg

Predrag P.

Renewables & Environment, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A glance

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is easy to use. Saves time. Looks nice.

Cons

Some features need to be activated. Small bugs. Cosmetics

WK
AvatarImg

Woojin K.

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Fancy design but poor benefit

Reviewed 2 years ago

It does not cover business models of fast-growing startups.

Pros

At the very first sight, I was fascinated about its neat user interface.

Cons

But the user experience it provides is not as good as its design.

MS
AvatarImg

MacKenzie S.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple and fun way to develop an informal business plan

Reviewed 2 years ago

Enjoyed working through topics for the satisfaction of clicking complete!

Pros

Intuitive and easy to understand with fast access to helpful information.

Cons

Only for informal business plans, no ability to turn all the input provided into a formal business plan.

BD
AvatarImg

Braden D.

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Place To Organize Thoughts and Biz Ideas

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

UI is really nice. Helps organize thoughts and business plans.

Cons

It still feels like the main value of the software's idea formulation and evaluation tools are still "coming soon".