App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

VEGAS Pro Logo

Integrated video and audio editing software

(5)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

VEGAS Pro Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

142

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.57/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

videopad
mindstamp
vimeo-pro

Pros and cons

Use it to edit drone videos that I can share with my friends and hopefully the world which is fun. It's a great app to work with.
So if you are like me and you do not need a software with more features than you are going to use (Adobe Premiere) go with Sony Vegas and you will be more than happy with it.
It does not take long to learn and has several easy tricks and functions. Clipping and splicing are super easy and natural.
It can be frustrating as you edit. This happens with most video editing programs however and should not be looked as a deal breaker.
Its interface takes more processing power. For the older versions the interface looks dull.
It feels like the software wants to make decisions easier for you, but hides the crucial minutia of the export window which is frustrating for our editing staff.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


142 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome video editing software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Although it is a wonderful and simple program, for beginners it has a big obstacle because of the difficulty of the user interface, because I used to use more professional programs such as Adobe Premiere and After Effects and professionals in general, it will be very easy for them

Pros

Sony Vegas Pro is a very useful program that we often need to use in our projects, as it can be used to edit video clips, and the program is characterized by the fact that it can create or modify videos in very high quality up to 4k and 2k. The program is characterized by an easy, comfortable and coordinated interface in terms of the tools that are used compared to other editing programs, and Sony...

Cons

One of the most common problems with Sony Vegas Pro and its recent decline in popularity is the delay in downloading new versions and new features, users are looking forward to new and powerful features to make their work easier in terms of the power of artificial intelligence to save time and effort

RR
AvatarImg

Roya R.

Entertainment, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Modernization of Local Programming: A Brief Insight on Ten Years with Vegas Pro

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been using Vegas Pro in an official capacity since 2011, with history using it as early as 2008, currently on Version 016 (Build 0352) as of typing: This software has served as the only resource that I and many of those who make up my production team use to produce our local programming, due to its noticeably easy User Interface and extreme ability to be enhanced through Third Party extensions...

Pros

~ Significant levels of Ease of Access for multiple media file types of many ages and forms. ~ Expansive resource set to allow for more Extensions, Special Effects, and Scene Transitions to help mature and evolve the software's capabilities. ~ Support for High Framerate footage and countless forms of Colour Profiles. ~ Usable on virtually every possible Desktop or Laptop hardware combination over the past matter of decades.

Cons

~ The Digital Version does not come with an expansive Instruction Manual to understand how to use every effect, specifically in regards to Third Party resources that can be added during the life of the application's run. ~ Massive amounts of inexplicable Glitches and Crashes (though many can be fixed through manual tweaking and official Bugfix builds). ~ Occasional Requirement to reinstall QuickTime...

CZ
AvatarImg

Clayton Z.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

MOV container files will not work in Vegas Pro

Reviewed 4 years ago

Not great, and it does not work on my newer devices which all use .mov containers. DaVinci Resolve free version works much better which is a big surprise.

Pros

I do like fx features and the workflow, but none of my new camera gear will work in it anymore.

Cons

Why does Magix think .mov files are obsolete and always related to Quicktime which they are doing away with? It is my understanding that .mov is just a container, and codec can vary in containers. For instance, my new Atomos Ninja V recorder uses .mov containers with DNxHR codex. Does not work in Vegas but it works without any problems in the free version of DaVinci Resolve. Same thing with 2 of my...

TR
AvatarImg

Tiago R.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An Unmatched Editing Experience

Reviewed a year ago

Having utilized Sony Vegas extensively for an extended period, I can confidently say that it is a powerful and reliable editing tool. Its comprehensive editing suite, intuitive interface, and efficient rendering capabilities have consistently facilitated my creative endeavors. While there is a learning curve involved, the software's user-friendly design helps streamline the editing process once you become familiar with its intricacies.

Pros

Sony Vegas offers a vast array of editing tools and features that cater to both beginners and professionals. From basic trimming and cutting to advanced effects, transitions, and color grading, it provides an extensive range of options to enhance and transform your footage. The software's interface is designed with user-friendliness in mind. Navigating through the timeline, adding effects, and adjusting parameters are all made straightforward, allowing users to focus on their creativity rather than getting lost in complex menus. Sony Vegas has excellent compatibility with various video and audio formats, making it versatile and adaptable to different project requirements. Whether you're working with MP4, AVI, or even high-resolution formats like 4K, Sony Vegas handles them effortlessly.

Cons

While Sony Vegas has a user-friendly interface, mastering its extensive features can take time. The learning curve might be steep for beginners or those transitioning from other editing software. However, with dedication and practice, users can unlock the software's true potential.

GB
AvatarImg

Gary B.

Motion Pictures and Film, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Vegas Pro 20

Reviewed a year ago

Incredible. I am a musician/composer and sound effects designer, and I work with video and music a lot. So it's nice to have all my niches use ONE editor/brand. Whether I'm working on audio, or audio and video, Vegas Pro is invaluable as a powerful tool to get through any type project that comes up. I honestly believe that of all the editors, Vegas has to be the best choice for intuitive design. The interface for Vegas is very logical and intuitive. Perfect for those of us who are artists.

Pros

Overall ease of use. All the important features are easy to find and use, and there's plenty of features that go levels deeper when you need them.

Cons

This might be an issue I would suggest gets resolved. And that is the compatibility between past projects from former versions of Vegas... for example, Vegas 11 to Vegas 20. I wish they had a way to open older versions of Vegas without major snags. Some kine of an interface that converted say... a project from Vegas 11 (or other) to the current version 20. I say this because I have project that are on going... and sometimes it would be nice to just import older edits to current projects.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

I created over 300 videos on this software over the course of 4 years - Amazing experience

Reviewed 2 years ago

Amazing. I used this software daily for years, I know it so well.

Pros

I love how easy and approachable Vegas Pro is. I mostly used Vegas Pro 12, using it almost daily. I was pretty much always working on a project in Vegas Pro. It is much easier to get into than Adobe Premier Pro and After Effects. It's a great alternative to Final Cut Pro if you don't have a Mac!

Cons

I experienced several crash issues in the past, though I am sure they have dealt with many of those problems in recent updates. Other than that, no compaints!

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Coming along way and best at what it does

Reviewed 2 years ago

Works great with any windows PC i have thrown at it. Highly optimized hardware!! very efficient for my use case

Pros

Vegas Pro is an all round NLE with great hardware optimization which has worked well with most of my PCs. I always enjoy its fast loading straight to the timeline. The window layout can are easy to customize and can be docked anywhere with also the ability to view various windows with an external monitor thus giving me enough working space.

Cons

The main challenge i have experienced is with having to cut out clips on the timeline. I am more used to pick the specific part using a source monitor by just dragging in a segment to the timeline using the in and out points.

RM
AvatarImg

Robert M.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Video for Graphic Designers

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I am very pleased with Vegas and will continue to use this for the forseeable future.

Pros

Vegas is, by far, the easiest to use video editing software I have come across in 20+ years working in graphic design. The layers function is immediately familiar to anyone that has used an adobe product and the tools are super easy to use and naviagate.

Cons

Vegas tends to bother you with special offers and such at nearly every startup of the software. X'ing out of those can become a nuisance.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Awesome video editing program!

Reviewed 3 years ago

In general, it is a very friendly program for someone who is just starting out in the editing world, or if you need it to quickly edit a video.

Pros

It is a very easy to use program, it has a very intuitive interface. Practically it can be used without tutorials, it also has a very large variety of editing tools.It is a very stable program, very few times it has crashed.

Cons

For very few things it is necessary to use external programs.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Animation, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

VEGAS Pro the best video editor

Reviewed 2 years ago

I love VEGAS Pro i often use it to work my video projects and works fine

Pros

Works excellent, excellent for any type of edits, have a lot of features that makes the editing of a video so easy

Cons

At the start is hard to learn, rendering is a little slow even if you have a mid tier computer, can be a little tedious if you're new in video editing

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Hossamudin H.

Education Management, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

A good video editor, but not the best

Reviewed 2 years ago

Not bad as a start

Pros

I used it back in the days when I started learning video editing. I created few gaming videos that my friends liked a lot. So, I liked how it is possible to create high quality, creative, gaming videos.

Cons

Well, I hated so much the too many hours I had to spend to learn it... maybe the latest updates made it easier, but It was kinda hard to advance.

BQ
AvatarImg

Batrisyia Qiestina A.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vegas Pro Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Straightforward yet strong UI. Huge loads of choices. Advances, impacts. Best utilized for making video related stuff. Moreover you can deal with numerous layers simultaneously.

Pros

Vegas Pro handles all way of source materials, including a wide assortment of video designs, still photographs in a wide assortment of configurations, and so forth It handles them all in a reliable way and results everything in a steady way. Other video altering programs we've utilized in the past regularly disliked blending various sources. It likewise accompanies many progress impacts, video channels, sound impacts, sound channels, and so on Nearly all that you want to do proficient quality video and sound is underlying. With a couple of minimal expense additional items, you can do significantly more.

Cons

VEGAS Pro doesn't consume numerous PC assets when the individual is altering the video and making sound alters, how much RAM it consumes is exceptionally insignificant, in any case, one of the fundamental issues that happen in VEGAS Pro is that it has an intense usage while delivering the video. The delivering of the video is fundamentally applying every one of the changes to the video and changing it over to a steady quality, notwithstanding, this cycle requires roughly 2 hours or max, everything relies upon how lengthy the video is.

FM
AvatarImg

Freddie M.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Indie Filmmaker's Best Option

Reviewed 4 years ago

Aside from the duration of the rendering, this is the best software out there.

Pros

Sony Vegas is one of those products that only gets better with each function you discover. From magic spells to invisibility cloak to the Infinity Snap, Vegas Pro does it all. Tutorials are so easy to find on many platforms. It's simple enough for even an amateur to understand. It can render in a variety of formats.

Cons

The rendering capacity depends on the computer. Even offline, the rendering can take hours for a two minute video.

JB
AvatarImg

João B.

Graphic Design, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Vegas Pro: A gateway tool

Reviewed a year ago

For my usage, which was pretty simple editing of video and audio, with some effects on top, it did the job just like I wanted it, but I was well aware of its limitations.

Pros

Vegas Pro is easy to pick up and use, and it is fairly intuitive for its most basic features, and learning to use the more advanced suite of tools is not very hard, which makes this a great tool for beginners.

Cons

Other programs do a much better job at the most complicated tasks of video editing and effects. This is the place where Vegas Pro lags behind other more established alternatives.

ZA
AvatarImg

Zulfa A.

Computer Games, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Vegas Pro, a very fantastic video editor tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Vegas Pro is probably one of the best video editing software I use, while it seems complicated, but it doesn't take long for me to learn about the apps, it gives so many options to make videos interesting, it also supports the use of the green screen effect, whether you want to make funny game moments video, music videos, film, or just meme, guide video, and much more! This software can do all that,

Pros

Quite easy to use, great interface, lot's of effect even on stock, Capable of using green screen effect

Cons

Sometimes crash, it needs quite a lots of RAM.

JN
AvatarImg

Jason N.

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use it o make videos for Facebook and Youtube for our church. It is very easy to use. It has all the features that others have -- without being tied into a certain operating system or resource demands.

Pros

I have been using Vegas since it was Vegas 10. It has consistently gotten better with each successive generation. It converts and renders all the video that I need it to.

Cons

Importing live video is somewhat of an issue. It could integrate with daw software better as well. Magix should look at a subscription-based service instead of having to buy outright for upgrades.

GB
AvatarImg

Gift B.

Music, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Video Editor

Reviewed 2 years ago

For an inexpensive and available editing software, I always use this for its ease of use and accessibility. It is what I use rather than other expensive software that only recognizes a certain type of computer.

Pros

It was easy to use from purchase with all the templates at hand. The visual layout isn't crowded and the tools for editing are understandable from the get go.

Cons

Sometimes crashes for a laptop edit with big size files of videos but the best thing is it saves from the last point of editing.

FZ
AvatarImg

Fabio Z.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

one of the simplest video and audio editors

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I used it very often in the past when I started editing videos. Very simple to use, not complicated compared to the competition, and to start editing videos it is perfect. Even today I use it for editing and audio production, preferring it to other software

Cons

it is not as professional as other software, but to start with it has everything you need, in fact at the beginning it is a better software than others

MB
AvatarImg

Melanie B.

Computer Games, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Epic softwear for everyone

Reviewed 3 years ago

It makes my videos look extremely professional. I love how easy it is to use and it saves back ups without any questions. That has saved my project a lot.

Pros

-Easy to use -User friendly -Backs up projects with no questions -Has many specials effects to use -Has many different formats to export

Cons

-Expensive -Can crash -Can take a while to render -So much stuff it can be hard to pick what to use

cb
AvatarImg

charles b.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

vegas review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

this video editing software is affordable. it is easy to use because it does not require any special knowledge to use it

Cons

the software has no drawbacks in my opinion

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use for non-video makers

Reviewed 5 years ago

Let's start with I am not a great video editor, in reality I know very little. And when I tried I was surprised on how fast I learned it and understood its most important features in a fast pace. So if you are like me and you do not need a software with more features than you are going to use (Adobe Premiere) go with Sony Vegas and you will be more than happy with it!

Pros

I like how easy is to use the timeline and its features with great user interface.

Cons

Does not have as many features/is not as powerful as Adobe Premiere

EA
AvatarImg

EDWARD A.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazingly great product for easy editing

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have had a very positive experience with Vegas Pro. While it is very expensive, I still believe it is the best video editing tool on the market right now.

Pros

I absolutely love Vegas Pro, and I always recommend it to my friends over other products like Premier Pro since I like how Vegas Pro feels like I can do everything on it and I don't need a bunch of other platforms to help me do the one job, like I feel with Adobe products.

Cons

The price is very expensive for Vegas Pro, so I always try to get it whenever I find it on a steep discount. The initial price offering makes it a little unattractive in my opinion.

JJ
AvatarImg

Juan José S.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best tool for video editing

Reviewed 3 years ago

My experience with VEGAS pro has been very positive, I have edited very good videos that leave everyone impressed.

Pros

VEGAS pro is very easy to learn how to use, at first it seems a bit complex but the truth is that it is very easy to learn how to use each tool or shortcut on the keyboard. It offers users excellent tools to edit videos in a professional way. What I love most about this software is that we can choose the format and quality we want to have our edited video.

Cons

The only thing I don't like so much is the cost, I think it's a bit expensive.

AA
AvatarImg

Amberlynn Amor E.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Friendly Video Editing Software

Reviewed 3 years ago

It has the features I need in order to make the project I am making more appealing, and because I find it user friendly, I am able to finish my task with ease.

Pros

The most simplest transition and effects makes a great impact already on the video editing that I had done, it is indeed user friendly and already recommend this software to my friends, it really helps me to be able to finish the task of video editing quite fast.

Cons

The Video Event FX is useful but I always had a hard time navigating it.

HH
AvatarImg

Holly H.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

VEGAS Pro Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

My overall experience with VEGAS Pro has been positive. I highly recommend it.

Pros

I liked that I could create videos such as AMVs with VEGAS Pro.

Cons

Honestly, there was nothing that I didn't like least about this software.