This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

VEGAS Pro Logo

VEGAS Pro

Integrated video and audio editing software

see alternatives

VEGAS Pro Reviews

Reviews summary

Overall rating

4.6

74

5

4

3

2

1

54

13

5

1

1

91%
positive reviews
89%
would recommend this app
How would you rate VEGAS Pro?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pros

Use it to edit drone videos that I can share with my friends and hopefully the world which is fun. It's a great app to work with.
AvatarImg

Timothy K.

So if you are like me and you do not need a software with more features than you are going to use (Adobe Premiere) go with Sony Vegas and you will be more than happy with it.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

The tools can be pretty advanced and useful if you know how to use them, there are solutions for everything related to video edition on Vegas, you can even do some animation and automated effects.
AvatarImg

German Liber L.

Cons

It can be frustrating as you edit. This happens with most video editing programs however and should not be looked as a deal breaker.

RM

Robin M.

Its interface takes more processing power. For the older versions the interface looks dull.

HG

Hope G.

It feels like the software wants to make decisions easier for you, but hides the crucial minutia of the export window which is frustrating for our editing staff.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


74 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Always breaks when updates are being sold

Reviewed 2 years ago

Every year it causes enormous frustration and outrage due to having scheduled failures

Pros

I've been using it for almost 10 years and it is very easy to learn and use BUT every time a new version becomes available it stops rendering and saving project files. Contact support and you get told 'We don't support that version anymore, you need to purchase the upgrade if you want support.'

Cons

The fact that it breaks as soon as sony start selling a new version and support wont help unless you purchase the upgrade. It's an unethical scam

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic software and service

Reviewed 3 years ago

The Vegas Pro is brilliant and professional and is a great tool for my business work. I feel confident and excited to explore the tools and custonising features to improve the videos I produce for our clients abroad.

Pros

The software is very detailed and professional. It offers you the ability to completely customise and imrpove your video production.

Cons

The software does not provide a very easy instruction guide

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vegas Pro makes it easier to work with other videoeditors

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is quite natural to use multiple video editors to suit various needs. The greatest thing I like about Vegas Pro is that it works with other well-known video editors such as Final cut pro and Adobe premiere pro making it easier for you to import and export projects between these editors.

Cons

It gets the job done but rendering can be improved

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Professional video editing but with a high cost.

Reviewed a month ago

I used the free trial and I had a great experience, but I didn't continue with it because of the price.

Pros

It has an infinite amount of features that make this the best editor in the market. The display is incredible and the program is almost perfect.

Cons

There is no problem with the software, but the price is elevated for most people.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A video editor that will never let you down

Reviewed 4 days ago

VEGAS PRO is an excellent editor, very reliable, and with many very useful tools that allow us to put any idea, we have into practice. The rendering process and the add-ons that can be installed to the program are key to extracting maximum performance from this editor. VEGAS PRO is a tool with which you can carry out high-quality professional work. It is an excellent program and a great alternative to Adobe's Premiere.

Pros

VEGAS PRO is a great video editor, it offers many very useful tools for audio and video editing, there is a lot of freedom when creating audiovisual content, you can do what you want because the tools allow it. In general, the rendering process is very good, it works fast and you have many options in choosing the rendering settings. The interface is quite friendly and attractive. In conclusion, VEGAS PRO is a great program, highly recommended.

Cons

The learning curve when starting to use the editor can be very slow, and on top of that, update support is currently lousy. Also, many processes such as rendering can slow down excessively.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Video editing software

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It has variety of tools to edit your video. It also allows you to edit effectively without having high end devices. It also allows different audio tools to link with it.

Cons

One of the massive drawbacks is that it crashes alot even though it does not require high end devices.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Effective for professional video editing

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I have been using this for 1 year and all I can say is WOW!! It contains many professional effects and elements. It contains everything that a video editor needs. REALLY AWESOME!!

Cons

I like everything about it. Its effects, tools, elements all are wonderful and effective

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Solid video production if you know what you are doing

Reviewed a year ago

Very happy, however support is a bit lacking when you have questions.

Pros

Vegas offers so many options and features to rival higher end production suites. It includes color grading and advanced chroma ability. 4k video and 360 video also.

Cons

The interface is so crowded on smaller screens. You really need a 24 inch or higher screen to work well with it, which makes it difficult on laptops.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One of the best videoeditors

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, user-friendly, fast, minimalist design

Cons

Sometimes rendering time takes a bit longer time. (Maybe this is the problem of the computer.)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Professional Non linear editing software

Reviewed 6 months ago

Producing quality short clips and video shows for production.

Pros

Powerful software designed for professional video editing and the like.

Cons

Difficult learning curve but fortunately a quick google search will help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

VEGAS Pro is Excellent For Video Marketing

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Video marketing is in high demand today and VEGAS Pro is one of the best tools to be able to actualize this. VEGAS works effectively and it is relatively easy to use. It is great when it comes to creating visual effects, 3D titling and even compositing.

Cons

It is pretty expensive. But will definitely recommend if you can afford.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Very Poor Hardware Acceleration

Reviewed 5 months ago

Will likely move to a lower cost, less featured software package that offers better hardware acceleration for faster rendering times.

Pros

Software has a very user friend interface and alot of features.

Cons

Very poor hardware acceleration support. There are editors that cost 1/4 the price and can render the same quality video four times as fast or faster.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

most complete program in the category

Reviewed 2 years ago

I use the program in all my videos that I post on YouTube and it has provided me with the best editing

Pros

the various forms of editing and the wide choice of effect

Cons

I still haven't found cons in this program

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy install

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy install anyone can do it, easy instructions to read.

Cons

I think the entire thing is great no complaints.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Professional video editing tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Sony Vegas is a reference for video making and editing, especially among content creators. It offers a very large set of options and expandable effects library

Cons

Resource intensive and difficult to learn how to properly use many functions. Previous training is highly reccomended.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Video editing with Vegas Pro

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It doesn't have a steep learning curve. Anyone can use this. I am learning how to edit videos and this has been easy to use. I like the community. There are tons of plugins to use with the software. The frame by frame editing isn't bad.

Cons

It's too expensive. It's way out of reach for beginners or anyone who edits videos as a hobby. For it's price, it features don't compare to Adobe Premiere.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Vegas Seen

Reviewed a year ago

Helping Vegas get the best for its customers on what it owns already

Pros

The filters that the software has by default are nice, that you don't require some more from the internet

Cons

The ability to add filters to the software from the internet, like you can download them and use them later when your offline

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Vegas Pro Review

Reviewed a year ago

Fair.I like it because it exports/renders quality videos and has many presets.

Pros

It is somehow easy to use Its features are many and easily accessible

Cons

Its interface takes more processing power For the older versions the interface looks dull

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Vegas Pro Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It's pretty easy to use once you get the hang of it. It is very powerful and you can do a lot with it.

Cons

It constantly crashes or freezes. Sometimes projects won't even open.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Training Wheels to a Real Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

VEGAS continues to impress as a low-cost option to step into a NLE software suite. However, with free options like Davinci Resolve now on the market, and applications like Final Cut Pro and Adobe Premiere also being on the market, VEGAS is really relegated to simple tasks for the independent content creator.

Pros

VEGAS is one of the least expensive and simplest ways to get into editing software beyond the basic software that comes with your computer or that you can find for free online. We really like that it is based on a one-time purchase, and is not a subscription software that we have to keep renewing.

Cons

We felt very limited in the formats that were supported to edit in, as well as the options for exporting. It feels like the software wants to make decisions easier for you, but hides the crucial minutia of the export window which is frustrating for our editing staff.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the Best Video editors available

Reviewed 2 years ago

If you can afford it, you should have it, its pretty easy and powerful, im editing all my videos with it

Pros

It's on of the easiest programs to master, most of its features have a very simple and nature way to function that you instantly know how to use them, like the fade in fade out feature Completely professional with every feature you ever need from a simple youtuber to a photography studio

Cons

No free version, only free trial It is only compatible with Windows Interface while it has some amazing features, it hasn't been changed for a lot of major releases

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Limit for professional use.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Great tools for professional use of video editing, results the level of any moviemaking.

Cons

Complexity, too many tools to do just one step.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A great alternative

Reviewed 2 years ago

Vegas has been extensively used for creating and turning complex information to easy to comprehend set pieces that transcends value and message with utmost perfection. It transformed the domain our company by how it managed to deliver intelligent business at strategic levels.

Pros

- Flexible - Simple UI - Lot of features - Lightweight yet gets the work done - Caters to both amateur and professional editors

Cons

Not a whole lot of plugins available for various grading and effects, but still it's manageable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Is a Great Editor

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Very good for color corrections and easy to create and edit text and titles, Vegas have simple file management and you can put various plugins to support your editing.

Cons

Should have integrations with others Magix software it would be very useful.