Elasticsearch Reviews

Elasticsearch

Distributed search and analytics solution

Elasticsearch

Review Summary

Pros

Thanks to this search engine, we can reach the desired analysis results in the data. It is a blessing for our sector employees to have a free application running in this performance.

Onur E.

Flexibility and high performance are the most loved features for us. The fact that we are not using it very effectively is also a ramen of suggestions and guidance.

Onur E.

Our products got better, we make good money and save our time.

Ekaterina B.

Cons

ELK sovles this problem efficiently. During troubleshooting, it is biggest pain to open servers.

Aditya S.

I still haven't figure the implementation of replication and clusterization of Elasticsearch, but maybe it is a lack of information.

Ekaterina B.

A server crash could result in a total. Loss of data, so it can’t be used to store important data.

Abhinav S.

Overall rating

4.6

(90)

5

4

3

2

1

54

34

2

0

0

98%
positive reviews
99%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


90 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best search engine on the market

Reviewed a year ago

I work with Elasticsearch as a developer on a daily bases for textual search. It is the greatest tool I've used in years. Really like it.

Pros

It is just the best back end for search engines in the market. A NoSQL database that is trustworthy. Also, it is open source. Incredibly easy to use.

Cons

Mostly for developers: other people would have a hard time with it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Scale, Features, Functionality.

Reviewed a year ago

Excellent. The ELK stack is the foundation of our audit process, and it's held up really well. The installation can be automated, and archiving in the AWS environment works quite well. We have not yet had a problem in scaling resources to match our resource needs. The integrations with logstash, beats and kibana have been excellent, and used to great effect.

Pros

Scale: You can run this from a single server or even co-installed on a database or file server. I wouldn't recommend it, but let's just say it will run in a small box. On the top side, Elasticsearch will run in clusters managing multiple Terabytes of data. Features: Excellent flexibility to absorb multiple types of data sources, and great integration with Logstash and Kibana.

Cons

The upgrades in terms of archived data. This platform changes significantly on an annual basis. If you do a ton of customization, automation, or work with a lot of data, this can be an issue as you will need to update ALL of your data for every upgrade.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Highly recommended for search platforms

Reviewed 2 months ago

Setting up a search platform using Elasticsearch was super fun and easy. I was able to get some great search query response times and development efforts were minimal compared to dealing with Lucene directly.

Pros

It's a great tool to setup a search platform almost of any size in a company. I have worked with Apache Lucene and Elasticsearch just saves all that trouble of dealing with the indices all the time in Lucene and rather provides seamless integration through APIs for search queries. It was really easy to setup the cluster and shards and manage the stack. The APIs offer a wide range of search features and saves a lot of effort coding hundreds of line for every small advanced search filtering function.

Cons

The documentation of the APIs could be improved. It was a bit overwhelming at times to lookup the correct functionality we wanted to actually implement. The tutorials and courses are quite expensive.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Review for Elasticsearch

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Elastic Search is easy to install Easy to use as there are loads of documentations present online Easy to scale up when the need arises Uses REST FULL API which is light weight.

Cons

monitoring of Elastic Search are complex like wise administration Installation of elastic search on windows OS is not straight forward

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Distributed Search and analytics engine available in cloud

Reviewed a month ago

Best search and analytics software available in cloud, flexible to use and available free trial to evaluate it.

Pros

This is best search software for data searching and analytics on stream data in cloud. It is so flexible complex keyword searches and very efficient. Great tool for analyzing logs very powerful. 24/7 customer support.

Cons

Not really a negative side but if you have low bandwidth web interface will become very slow.And think learning manual still needs some improvement.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great solution for implementing searching over vast amount of data!!

Reviewed 9 months ago

Elasticsearch helps in performing optimised searching over the vast amount of data present in your system. The configuration for Elasticsearch can have some learning curve, but once setup completely, the indexed searches are really fast as compared to other basic solutions and helps users in searching your system from vast amount of data. Its ideal for Big data and can be used in other e-commerce solutions also. Text searching is really fast and helps your system in maintaining performance and scalability over search operations.

Pros

Elasticsearch is a great solution for implementing optimised searches over the data you have lying in your databases. The setup and configuration is a bit tricky, but once you have configured the data points and the indexes, the search is lighting fast. You can go for the complete text search or for the autocomplete bases suggestions which can help your users to quickly search for the right things in your system.

Cons

The setup of Elasticsearch does have a learning curve for the developers, but the documentation is really helpful in getting you over the curve. Setting up indexes or data points for search can be tricky. Elasticsearch needs to setup a more proactive customer support so that developers who are facing deadlines, can easily sort their issues with the help of tech support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Have too much data to your database?

Reviewed 8 months ago

Our application makes many filters for too much data, without Elasticsearch it just stops

Pros

- Almost 100% of uptime - Great support - Really fast and easy to use for any application - Easy to configure

Cons

- The cost of product may inviabilize it's use for small applications or companies - If the configuration goes wrong it may really affect the speed

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Excellent Tool When Used Correctly

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Elasticsearch simplifies data queries and integration with user interfaces. Describing the records as JSON makes updates as simple as modifying your JSON format. The query builders make selecting complex data relationships easy to construct.

Cons

As designed and by default, Elastcsearch does not immediately synchronize data between server nodes. Updates and inserts to records take time to reconcile which can cause some data integrity issues with frequent updates. ES is not the best tool to take bulk or rapid changes to the data. It is a great tool for retrieving data. The best combination is to use a SQL database for CRUD operations and replicate/synchronize the data to Elasticsearch for user interface/reporting.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Works well for document storage and searching

Reviewed 3 months ago

Good experience, excellent open source search product.

Pros

We were looking for a solution to help us store and sort documents. We have a large dataset that needs to be organized and quickly sortable by end-users. Confidentiality is also a key requirement. Elasticsearch fit the bill, it's very easy to setup and also quite scalable. We are working with the 6.8 version of Elasticsearch and find it to be robust and resilient. There are a LOT of features that we haven't even tapped yet. The UI is fast and performant, we integrated Grafana for its dashboarding capabilities.

Cons

Filtering and searching does require some ramp time to understand the syntax. ES comes with a lot of features so it can be overwhelming at first. Hit a UI glitch with 7.x which is why we rolled down to 6.x. Support is community unless you want to pay.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Quality Search and Analytics Software

Reviewed 4 months ago

Elasticsearch has been a powerful search engine that caters to most of my search and analytics use cases.

Pros

- Powerful and fast, near-real-time search capabilities that can handle massive amounts of data with a breeze. - Free, you can download the software and use it on your own infrastructure without any license concerns - Ability to enhance search speed and storage capacity by building clusters that store part of the data. Configuring of clusters is fairly straightforward and easy to do. - Machine learning capabilities - API clients available for popular programming languages such as PHP, Python, JavaScript, Java , GO and C#. - Convenient cloud offering that makes the deployment, security and configuration of an ES cluster super easy. - Free Kibana client to visualize data in ElasticSearch

Cons

- A bit of a learning curve to get up to speed with the query language - There are some nuances and security pitfalls that you might run into if you try to configure an ElasticSearch cluster yourself.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A complete stack for full text search

Reviewed 4 months ago

Elasticsearch might be overkill if you are working with a small or mid-sized applications. However it's a serious solution for big-scale apps that are dealing with millions of records. The setup of the Elasticsearch might seem easy, but the maintenance is not. If you have simpler needs, I would suggest the full-text search functionality of modern PostgreSQL versions.

Pros

Elasticsearch is quite powerful and fast. You can implement it to any enterprise software independent of the scale. It's well documented and getting frequent updates. It's also a reliable software that you can use in mission-critical operations.

Cons

Breaking changes between different versions are hard to deal with. Each major version upgrade of ElasticSearch is bringing new functionality, improved security, and speed - but at the same time, it requires you to update your indexes, which is not an easy task if you don't have a strong infrastructure team.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Essential tool for all my devops needs

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I've been using Elasticsearch since early days, with very different things in mind. I started with simple text search - with some additional tweaks, stemming and other cool features it helped us drive enormous traffic to our website. I can't imaging pulling it off so easily with any other tool. Every day I use it for web server log analytics. Search and great visualizations make it an absolute essential in work my toolset. We also run a lot of algorithm analytics on top of our Elasticsearch cluster. If you're looking for managed options check AWS Elasticsearch Service, or the recently introduced Elastic Cloud.

Cons

My only concern with Elasticsearch is that it might get expensive to run pretty quickly. But with a certain amount of effort put into optimization it's gonna be worth it.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Elasticsearch is a general purpose search engine that can do much more than search

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use Elasticsearch to filter and sort search results in our marketplace. We've built out many complicated queries that allow us to do interesting things like geo-based queries, personalization, and time boxed deals.

Pros

Elasticsearch offers a very flexible system for adding search capability to your systems. It is also capable of much more. The REST API and great documentation makes getting started very simple. Elasticsearch was also designed with scaling in mind. Adding nodes and self balancing is quite easy. AWS offers hosted Elasticsearch that makes spinning up your first cluster as simple as a few clicks.

Cons

Writing complicated queries can be quite tedious at times. The JSON interface is not always easy to read when trying to match up parentheses. Upgrading from older versions is not a simple process.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Working On Big Data Is Now More Comfortable

Reviewed 8 months ago

Our company uses elasticsearch to analyze data in very large data. Successful indexing is designed in a cluster (node) structure, which has made our work much easier. Thanks to this search engine, we can reach the desired analysis results in the data. It is a blessing for our sector employees to have a free application running in this performance.

Pros

Flexibility and high performance are the most loved features for us. The fact that we are not using it very effectively is also a ramen of suggestions and guidance.

Cons

The only feature I don't like is that it is Java based.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for indexing a large amount of data

Reviewed a year ago

We're ElasticSearch mainly to index large amount of logs from several servers. Its makes it very easy for us to index and search logs. Logstash sends the logs and with Kibana we access to logs and create nice dashboards. But, you have to manage your indexes. For our log an index is created every day which we reindex monthly to a new index, then we do a forcemerge and after that we delete the daily...

Pros

Indexing large amount of data Searching data Very scalable Creating a cluster is very easy Ability to send commands via CURL to the API Creating snapshots of your data

Cons

Managing indexes can be a bit of a pain Sometimes issues with indexes becoming read only

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One stop solution for all the heavy search operations across huge set of data

Reviewed a year ago

It's been great!

Pros

As a backend developer, I know for a fact that I can rely upon elasticsearch for all the times when I have to support search based on string across the database. You throw some set of documents to elasticseatch, and you are good to go to search anything amongst the provided documents. They have some supercool features to support string based search for say support for distributed systems, support for aggregations and analysers & folding, etc. The documentation out there makes it lot easier to get going with it :)

Cons

The memory optimisation related issues could be alarming sometimes if not taken care of properly. You may end up having some weird system crashes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The perfect searching allied to a RDB

Reviewed a year ago

We've been pairing Elasticsearch with a traditional RDB in many projects with great results. This way we don't compromise our data reliability and searching speed is blazing fast.

Pros

Searching is where elasticsearch is second to none, either in terms, n-grams or full-text. Latest releases have greatly improved the aggregation performance, so it's also a great fit for analytics workloads. The customizable sharding and replica configurations make is very reliable too.

Cons

Searching and joining different documents has room for improvement, it's usualy not as fast as we would like it to be, so most of the times we end up un-normalizing documents and en-richening their data to boost searching performance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Elasticsearch Makes Big Data Possible

Reviewed 2 years ago

We've dramatically improved the stability of our big data analytics compared to any other data store we've used.

Pros

Elasticsearch is the single most valuable tool I have come across in my career for solving big data problems. No other datastore scales as well and as easily as ES. The premium features that come with a license are extremely powerful and definitely make a case for upgrading beyond just the need for support like most database solutions.

Cons

Elasticsearch definitely has a significant learning curve for developers and administrators experienced with a more relational database solution. However with some time and with the aid of the fantastic UI Kibana these hurdles are small in comparison to the power you can reap.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Elastic Search is built on top of Lucene, it provides the most powerful full-text search capability

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easier to horizontally scale Distributed by design Excellent full-text search Elastic Search is schema free'instead, it accepts JSON documents, as well as tries to detect the data structure, index the data, and make it searchable. Elastic Search is document-oriented. It stores real world complex entities as structured JSON documents and indexes all fields by default, with a higher performance result. Elastic Search is API driven; actions can be performed using a simple Restful API. Elastic Search records any changes made in transactions logs on multiple nodes in the cluster to minimize the chance of data loss.

Cons

Elastic-search query DSL is less common and less flexible than Postgres SQL . Everything is indexed by default, which creates an index overhead. in order to understand how to properly query your data and how it is stored, you have less control over consistency.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Using ELK stack for monitoring and logging

Reviewed a year ago

It has been really good. We only have JSON data and we stream it to the elastic search. We can search and index data as we need and it is really bast and performant.

Pros

This is the most awesome software stack for data analysis and searching. We stream data to the elastic search and index it so we can search it and analyse what we receive on the fly. It does the job extremely well. On top of that, the software comes as a managed service on cloud providers which means it comes with almost no maintenance overhead.

Cons

Nothing really comes to mind. The only thing is Json is mandatory data format unlike the Apache Solr which is a competitor.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Searching made easy when you need it the most.

Reviewed a year ago

and look for log files and then find the issue. ELK sovles this problem efficiently.During troubleshooting, it is biggest pain to open servers

Pros

A consolidated UI to search and find the patterns in log file. Speed of search return is also very good. The way this product manages the files at the backend, it does conserve a lot of space considering the amound of data it stores.

Cons

Search pattern bar could be more user friendly. When the load increases, serach bar is the first to show impact and starts to deviate from an efficient behaviour. Cursor keeps going away during such times making it difficult to tweak the attern.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This is the best in the market.

Reviewed 7 months ago

Elasticsearch is one of the best in the market, it's efficient and highly scalable.

Pros

It's user friendly, considering the fact it has a complete stack (ELK) associated with it, which not only stores data, but collects log(Logstash) and it's capable of showing those data in it's visualization tool(Kibana).

Cons

I have not come across anything associated with this too that I did not like.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best product for search and aggregations

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great full text capabilities. Highly scale able . Good documentation. Good set of libraries.

Pros

The search is very good and very fast in response. Documentation is very good for writing NoSQL queries. Libraries are there for 90% of popular languages.

Cons

It would be good to create a standardization for NoSQL. It would be great, Elastic search provides IDE to write the queries rather than editors.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features

Share this review:

Managing big databases

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The product is very popular among many companies, therefore there is a big community who can share their knowledge, the search is very fast and the installation process and integration are very easy.

Cons

I leas like the Elasticsearch itself does not provide much except just storing the information, the additional tools (Kibana and Logstash) are required.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best text-based search products in the marketing.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We get to solve our search scalability problems on our on-premise product with the ease and consistency of Elasticsearch.

Pros

* Easy to use, especially when compared with alternatives s.a. Solr. * Free software. * Elastic has a great customer support. * It is very powerful, supporting heavy loads. * Well-documented.

Cons

* Demands a specific knowledge of the theory of search. * While way higher level than most services, it is not as high level as, let us say, a Google search. * Often used as a NoSQL in inappropriate settings.

page 1 of 4