App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Majestic Logo

Majestic

Marketing search engine and SEO backlink checker

see alternatives

(7)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Majestic Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

28

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.35/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

I absolutely love Majestic SEO's Link Graph feature; it's like having a treasure map to explore a website's intricate backlink network.
The new link graph feature is amazing. Being able to see tiers of links allows my team to better analyze competition and saves us lots of time and money.
Their historic index is one of the most comprehensive on the market comparing to other link checker tools. The historic index feature is very helpful when conducting my link detox campaigns.
Advanced tool for topical analysis and cleaning up bad seo.
The tool is limited to backlinks, it's not enough to have a big picture.
One con is that there is no backlink alert where you can set up your domain and quickly get alerted about any influx of low quality backlinks at any time.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


28 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andrew B.

SEO Manager

Chemicals, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Majestic User Review

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Andrew: Hi, my name's Andrew. I'm an SEO manager, and I work for a company in chemicals. I give Majestic...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bill H.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I rely on Majestic Daily

Reviewed 3 years ago

The main reason for using Majestic is to get link data that's up to date, and accurate. I don't see any value in adding all sorts of additional keyword tools to a product or service that provides link data, like some other tools provide. If you need link data, then you should get it from Majestic. I say this because after using Majestic for over 10 years to do my job, it's worked very well for me.

Pros

I rely on Majestic daily as a tool to do my job. I would not be as effective as an SEO if I didn't have access to Majestic to analyze links. I am very impressed with how Majestic, time and time again, continues to innovate. Majestic has always been the leader when it comes to link tools, and they continue to add value to the product. The Link Graph was a huge step in allowing us to see the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th tier of links to websites, and that's a great example of why I use choose to use Majestic over other link tools.

Cons

There aren't really any things that I don't like about Majestic. If I had to mention something, I would say that the downloading and exporting of data seems like it could be improved--as there's an additional page that you have to go to, the downloads page, when you create a report. But, it's not really a huge issue, you just have to know that it works that way.

MM
AvatarImg

Matteo M.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The old school, must-have tool for backlink analysis

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using Majestic for 10+ years, and I would not switch to any other link analysis tool. It's simple to use and gets the job done, with little to no frills at all.

Pros

Easy to use, easy data export, good link data volumes

Cons

The UI feels a bit outdated and less "polished" than what users came to expect nowadays.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lois O.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Value for money tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall we tend to use Majestic as a direct competitive comparison between sites. It takes some getting used to with the trust rating and citation score if you're used to DA from Ahrefs for example but it does the job!

Pros

It's literally half the price of other SEO tools (for the lite version, anyway) so it's a great starting point for competitive SEO analysis.

Cons

The categories appear to be mostly quite random. Not particularly effective for KW research.

RH
AvatarImg

Robert H.

Newspapers, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A good tools for SEO

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

It was easy to setup and use. I had no problems undestanding data.

Cons

It would be great if they had a free plan.

Vendor response

Hi Robert. Majestic does offer free registration which gives you access to the metrics for our 'Showcase' site every week. If you add your website url when you register, and have opted in to receive emails from Majestic, you also get a free pdf report for your website.

CW
AvatarImg

Cody W.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Tool For SEO and Competitive Analysis

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The new link graph feature is amazing. Being able to see tiers of links allows my team to better analyze competition and saves us lots of time and money.

Cons

I don't have any complaints. The software is one of many we use but does its job exceptionally well.

AC
AvatarImg

Anil C.

Marketing and Advertising, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Link Building Tool for SEO

Reviewed 2 years ago

I used Majestic for my customers website to drive better SEO perspective result and understand market strategy for my customers.

Pros

Majestic is essential tool for SEO's to understand marketing strategy, you can drive your marketing goal and set your goals.

Cons

Majestic has well designed dashboard, it has not any bad feature for SEOs and marketers.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sanjay Singh P.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best tool for Backlink Analysis

Reviewed 2 years ago

As a digital marketer, I have to analyze many websites & competitors' backlink audits. And majestic tool helps me on that to save time and money.

Pros

The trust flow and citation flow are the best features of majestic. To analyze the quality of the backlinks of any website, this is my go-to tool.

Cons

If majestic can ease track the website, ranking keywords based on the location would be very helpful.

HM
AvatarImg

Harsh M.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Majestic SEO: A Link Builder's Best Buddy"

Reviewed 7 months ago

I absolutely love Majestic SEO's Link Graph feature; it's like having a treasure map to explore a website's intricate backlink network. The Trust Flow (TF) and Citation Flow (CF) metrics are like a compass, guiding me to high-quality websites. The Backlink Audit feels like a protective shield, helping me identify and clean up any risky links to ensure my website's health and performance. These are my top picks in Majestic.

Pros

One of the standout features in Majestic SEO is its comprehensive backlink analysis, giving you an in-depth look at a website's link profile. It's like having a trusted friend who reveals all the hidden secrets about a site's link graph, making it an indispensable tool for any link builder or SEO enthusiast

Cons

The features it offers are limited, great features but not many. Also, sometimes it misses showing all the backlinks for a website. Moreover, I think the way you navigate the link graph could be made more user-friendly.

HK
AvatarImg

Hari K.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Its a value for money tool

Reviewed 9 months ago

I have been using it to check a lot many websites during my Outreach Campaign and it really helps in analyzing those sites. Also I rely more on its backlink feature rather than semrush.

Pros

- I love its chrome extension, It directly gives you insight on Backlinks, Anchor Texts, On Page links and you can even check the Link Profile graph.- Its link graph is pretty useful as it let you check the tier links and helps you to identify Private Blog Networks by simply checking the link profile, and it helps a lot in analyzing the site and making decisions.- It Backlink features is also good, you can check the backlink profile use custom filters as per you need and even check the historical data.

Cons

There is nothing to dislike about it but you need to invest some time in learning how to check this like Link Profile or else it will be a total waste for you.

MK
AvatarImg

Marcin K.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good SEO Tool

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Majestic has a very big backlink database which is very frequently updated. Based on this data I can easily find link-building opportunities. Majestic also has very accurate content categorization. It helps research websites with related content. Very deeply analyze website and content structure. Domain Authority is one of the key parameters in SEO areas.

Cons

Competitors have much more data about other important parameters like visibility, keywords...

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Import and Export, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good tool to monitor your backlinks

Reviewed 2 years ago

We had a great experience using it for ours backlinks

Pros

It's one of the top tool to control yours backlinks.

Cons

The tool is limited to backlinks, it's not enough to have a big picture

CC
AvatarImg

Christopher C.

Package/Freight Delivery, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

An excellent tool for backlink monitoring

Reviewed a year ago

Overall its a great tool, but for a specific purpose. As such it isnt used as often as some of the more generalised software.

Pros

I really like how much insight the tool offers on backlinks, rather than just a number of links or indication of quality, it indicates whether the links are relevant, what industry they are from and whether they could be from a trusted source. You can even do some keyword research to.

Cons

It is limited to links, which is its purpose. However for its price, its not the best value. Also the interface can be quite obtuse, making it hard to find your way around the different insights it offers.

AM
AvatarImg

Anselme M.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

majestic review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Majestic helps adopt a plan for your SEO

Cons

No problem encountered in using this software

BB
AvatarImg

Brian B.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

If you review backlinks then you will need Majestic

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I think the amount of data that Majestic provides compared to other tools. I also like the citation and trust flow measurements of Majestic.

Cons

I wish there was a mobile app version of the software.

NH
AvatarImg

Naz H.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Advanced tool for topical analysis and cleaning up bad seo

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's been 8 years+ and I still use my Majestic account. It's great helping to do a gap analysis on links and gathering links for any detox programmes.

Pros

Majestic has a lot of historical data, as a long-standing company in this space they have a very large database. They've their own metrics which help to measure how natural a backlink profile is.

Cons

The con is a double-edged sword. What it does very well and the company has focused on is the link analysis tool. The issue is that this is the sole focus and the competition are releasing more features for related aspects of SEM.

NS
AvatarImg

Nirav S.

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Backlink Monitoring SEO Tool

Reviewed a year ago

I have used multiple SEO tools and found Majestic SEO to be an average tool. Since I wanted to keep track of backlinks for my website I used this tool and it worked well.

Pros

It has a unique feature "Majestic Monitor" that helps research key influencers on the web. Majestic is a powerful tool to keep track of backlinks for a given website.

Cons

Majestic is not ideal for SEO web audits, keyword research, gaining competitor analytics, etc. The data is not so accurate and reliable.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dario C.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Il tool per l'analisi dei link immancabile per qualsiasi SEO

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Facilità di utilizzo. E' il tool con il più ampio database di backlink individuabili.

Cons

i report grafici potrebbero essere migliorati.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great tool to audit the netlinking profile of a site

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We can easily see the link profile of the sites we are interested in. The "link graph" map is particularly useful to identify a private blog network that would not have blocked access to their crawler

Cons

The interface is austere and has not evolved much over the years.

PK
AvatarImg

Pshemislav K.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the several good SEO tools out there.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The two metrics created by Majestic "Trust Flow" and "Citation Flow" are their most valuable features. Every SEO looks at them when evaluating a website.

Cons

Their database is not as the big as some of Majestic's competitors. It's best to use Majestic along with other SEO tools for better results.

DO
AvatarImg

David O.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lots of great data

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

They have lots of data that help me to research backlomks

Cons

They don’t show all back links but they show most of them

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ben P.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

One of the few very serious SEO tools on the market

Reviewed 8 years ago

Majestic has metrics "Trust Flow" and "Citation Flow" that are currently so widely used as to be a standard among hardcore SEO practitioners. Those metrics have their pros and cons and probably won't reign supreme forever as Google's algorithm changes. But they are currently some of THE core metrics for SEOs. The app itself is functional enough though not as polished as other SaaS products I've used.

Pros

If you want these metrics and need to pull them for lots of domains or have flexible reporting on the backlinks of other sites, this is the only place to get them.

Cons

I think the app is very expensive for what you get and it's a general practice among SEOs to block the Majestic crawler from their sites, so their database is intentionally manipulated by those who use it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Piotr C.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for SEO

Reviewed a year ago

Majestic offer and pricing are very acceptable

Pros

This tool was created for analyzing website backlinks, and it's doing it 100%. Determining the topical of the website is very helpful.

Cons

Majestic could have a bigger database of links.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Arika N.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

An SEO tool to check backlinks

Reviewed a year ago

I have used Majestic tool for SEO reach of backlinks and it was useful. Although, they should start focusing on other SEO functionalities like plagiarism check, keyword density, etc. to stay up to date.

Pros

Majestic tool can help you keep a tab on the backlinks achieved by your website and the competitors. It gives all the details including "nofollow or dofollow" links obtained and anchor text used for backlink.

Cons

The tool is designed to monitor backlinks periodically. Backlinks are not very important for SEO and hence they should divert the focus of tool on other aspects.

RC
AvatarImg

Raluca C.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The most comprehensive backlink checker on the market

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Their historic index is one of the most comprehensive on the market comparing to other link checker tools. The historic index feature is very helpful when conducting my link detox campaigns.

Cons

One con is that there is no backlink alert where you can set up your domain and quickly get alerted about any influx of low quality backlinks at any time.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The best tool to get SEO web backlink information

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

They offer the deepest insight possible when analyzing the backlinks that enter in a website, so you can have a detailed view of your competitors strategy and imitate it quickly when possible. All the things are explained in an easy way, so not savvy users like CEOs or mid Managers can understand the reports despite the technical SEO terminology.

Cons

Although is not the main focus of Majestic, I miss some extra information regarding SEO keywords and keyword competition to make the application more complete and be able to compete with other solutions like SEO Moz