App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Cerberus FTP Server Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

108

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.11/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Client setup for most common secure transfer scenarios is straightforward and bullet proof. Documentation and support for more advanced scenarios is superb.
Easy Implementation, Great pricing, Packed with Features, excellent logging, FTPS/FTPES & SFTP on one server software.
My users love how easy it is to use. Management likes the cost of maintenance.
The only negative for me was I found it a little tricky to get the SSL cert installed. That may not be an issue for admins with more knowledge than me, it was just more difficult than IIS.
Lack of favicon customization. Every time I upgrade I have to do it manually.
Some of the new GUI menus are a little weird. I prefer the old GUI menus.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


108 reviews

Recommended

RB
AvatarImg

Robert B.

Think Tanks, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Cerberus is a good, secure solution at a good price

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

the software allows for the creation of upload/download templates caled groups that can be applied to new users to make new account creation uniform, security permission will be identical for all users in that group. the advanced server security settings allow for disabling/enabling TLS 1.1, 1.2; as well as FIPS 140-2 cipher suites with some ease in the GUI.

Cons

The software uses a Windows .dll version of log 4j that limits the ability to set log rotation - max is 14, 30 days would be better. the ability to set this in the GUI would be a welcome addition.

Vendor response

Hey Robert, thanks for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We're pleased you find Cerberus secure and are enjoying the features like grouping that save you time.

RM
AvatarImg

Ramakrishna M.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Usage of SFTP

Reviewed 2 years ago

Except working on the VA scan everything is comfortable in using this application

Pros

Its very useful software using the collaborative tools for us at healthcare infra, widely used with multiple application.

Cons

Multiple protocol usage configuration took time as the documentation is not that use full

Vendor response

Hi Ramakrishna, thank you for your review! We're glad you find the software, collaborative tools, and support suitable fr you and your healthcare team. We prioritize making Cerberus FTP Server as compatible for the healthcare industry as possible. We encourage you to submit your feature improvement suggestions such as multiple protocol usage configuration improvement or VA Scan compatibility, at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

WD
AvatarImg

Wayne D.

Oil & Energy, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Review for Cerberus FTP Server

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The fact it just works, and once configured I can forget about it.

Cons

Don't have any issues. The software works as described.

Vendor response

Hi Wayne, thanks for your review of Cerberus FTP Server! We're pleased to hear that you find Cerberus simple and easy to "set and forget" as developing an intuitive platform for both admins and users is a top priority of ours to save you time and money.

TT
AvatarImg

Tim T.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GUI is fantastic - enables more team members to quickly create rules for incoming files!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Reduction in Lead time with new customers. Entry Level staff leverage this tool which was impossible on the legacy Linux ftp server application.

Pros

1. Authorization and Authentication for rules Users/Groups. 2. Event Manager -Ease of Use 3. Superb Service and quick deployment of patches when required.

Cons

Event Manager - All matching rules fire. Would be fantastic if rule precedence and/or Stop processing additional rules existed..

Vendor response

Hello Tim, thanks for reviewing Cerberus FTP Server! We're thrilled to hear you're loving the GUI for rule creation, and that you find it easy to use with superb service and quick deployment of patches as we take pride in our development and support teams being as prepared as possible to assist our user community. We welcome feature request submissions like event manager rules at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

JC
AvatarImg

Juan C.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Secure FTP Server everyone can manage.

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has helped non-technical personnel use an SFTP server. It has increased our security posture. In several years of use we have never had an outage. Very sturdy software kit.

Pros

Ease of use. HTTPS access for untrained users. Ease of file sharing.

Cons

The user management applet is bit clunky and counter intuitive.

Vendor response

Hey Juan, thanks for your review! We're pleased to find that Cerberus FTP Server is easy for you and your users, as well as secure and reliable. We'd love to hear your ideas to improve user management in our feature request submissions link here: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

PJ
AvatarImg

Paul J.

Industrial Automation, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great value and great support

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

We have had some unique ftp needs (relating to LDAP authentication for accounts) and cerberus has been able to met them all. They support has been great, and they publish updates frequently.

Cons

It's expensive, but it is still a good value, as I could not find any better option that cost less. The support is well worth it to. I would highly recommend keeping an active subscription. But that's pretty standard for enterprise software.

Vendor response

Hi Paul, thanks for your review! We're glad to hear Cerberus FTP Server is able to meet your unique ftp needs with LDAP authentication for accounts.We're always looking to improve our FTP Server, and when we do, push out updates as quickly yet safely as possible. Our in-house support team appreciates your kind words as they strive to be the best in the business!

SM
AvatarImg

Shaun M.

Higher Education, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solid SFTP/MFT solution

Reviewed a year ago

So far our deployment experience has been very good. Everything is working as expected and the Event Manager has helped simplify our automation. Support has been very good as well.

Pros

The software is easy to install and update. Security and feature updates are regular. The software is very light weight compared to some of the competitors.

Cons

The interface is a little clunky and takes some getting used to, but is quite functional.

Vendor response

Hello Shaun, We're happy to hear that you're having a good experience with Cerberus, thank you for the review! We appreciate your comments about the interface. If you'd like to submit a feature request, you can do so at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

WS
AvatarImg

Wil S.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

FileZilla is Great but... This is better

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great, easy to use, operate, update , etc

Pros

Easy to use GUI, Easy to set up, easy to update, and easy to manage.

Cons

A little expensive compared to competitors like FileZilla but Cerberus FTP offers much more than them.

Vendor response

Hey Wil, thanks for your review of us! We're happy to hear you find Cerberus FTP Server easy to use, set up, update, and manage.

PB
AvatarImg

Prakash B.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Like their web based secure file upload and download feature. Support is prompt and good.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Inhouse file management to allow sending/receiving files to/from external vendors.

Pros

Client website to upload and download files Password based download link with expiration User management Prompt and good support

Cons

Managing whitelisted IPs to connect client web portal for each user as individual Better reporting

Vendor response

Hi Prakash, thank you for your review! We're pleased to find you enjoy our web based secure file upload and download feature. We are very proud of our in-house support team and prioritize training them to understand Cerberus FTP Server and user needs to quickly and effectively hear users problems and kindly solve them. We welcome feature request submissions like managing whitelisted IPs at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

JS
AvatarImg

John S.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Been a happy user of CerberusFTP for many years now. Does what we need it to do.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Easy to use both for admin and users. Can be customize and manage from server or webGUI is a plus with no hidden menus or hard to find items.

Cons

Updates can be a bit weird and have to update the settings for the service every time. Wish the reporting function worked a bit better

Vendor response

Hi John, thanks for reviewing Cerberus FTP Server! We're happy that you're happy with us and that you find Cerberus easy to use both for admins and users, customizable and manageable from server or web GUI. Thank you for sharing your issues, our latest version should address your reporting function issue, which you can update to here: https://www.cerberusftp.com/download/

AA
AvatarImg

Armando A.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very stable and easy to use FTP server

Reviewed 7 years ago

Stable, easy to use, fair price and several prices/configurations for different needs. Secure. Easy to by over the WEB.

Pros

I have used several FTP servers but the best solution, for my needs, is Cerberus by far. I use Cerberus for only 30 users and with low traffic. I never used the server for a big number of user and high demand, so I can not comments about that profile. But I can say that for my goals is perfect and with fair price.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hey Armando, thank you for your review! We're thrilled that Cerberus FTP Server is the best solution for your FTP needs, as we prioritize providing our three separate editions - Standard, Professional, and Enterprise, can meet every individual and company's needs and budgets.

DV
AvatarImg

Dat V.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Cerberus FTP Server

Reviewed 2 years ago

Feature rich with functionality & security conscious vendor.

Pros

Very intuitive and customizable to operate, the system is feature rich and easy to update.

Cons

Is not fully web management interface. Adding ssl certificate to secure the system isn't easy.

Vendor response

Hi Dat, thanks for your review! We're glad you find Cerberus FTP Server intuitive, easy, and customizable to your needs. We welcome you to submit your recommendations for improvement here: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

km
AvatarImg

kalpesh m.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Cerberus serves enterprise FTP needs

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This product has been serving our FTP needs since its inception and once we use it there is no need to turn back and worry about what the teams require.

Cons

No cons as of now to mention, we are working on several innovations within the team and yet to see if the product will allow for expansion.

Vendor response

Hi Kalpesh, thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that Cerberus FTP Server is meeting all your needs and is easy to set up and use. Reach out to our support team if you experience compatibility issues with your innovations.

WP
AvatarImg

Wilhelm P.

Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good product

Reviewed 2 years ago

good product, there is no other product on the market with this features

Pros

easy to use, a lot of automation stuff. this is the best feature

Cons

webinterface could be better, linux version is missing. web only version

Vendor response

Thanks for your response, Wilhelm! We're glad to hear that you find our automated features to make your FTP Server needs a smooth and easy process. We welcome feature request submissions, such as a Linux Version, at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

NG
AvatarImg

Nicolas G.

Banking, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Long time user

Reviewed 2 years ago

My business problem is to found a simple SFTP server, secure and also compatible with my solution infrastructure

Pros

The most feature I like is simplycity. less than one day to learn et setup the software to production.. very efficient

Cons

The price is a little bit more than, I want, and renewal is expensive I think so

Vendor response

Hey Nicolas, thanks for your feedback! We're happy to hear you find Cerberus FTP Server simple and easy to use for both you and your team.

JC
AvatarImg

Juan Carlos N.

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great experience

Pros

Events a very powerful and administration options are good.

Cons

User interface programming is not that good.

Vendor response

Hi Juan, thank you for your feedback! We're pleased to hear you find the events and administrator options capable of meeting your needs. If you have specific recommendations to improve the user interface programming, we encourage you to submit them here: we welcome feature request submissions at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

DK
AvatarImg

David K.

Wholesale, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This field is required.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Usability is very easy, Integration of AD Authentication very usefull

Cons

AD nested Groups would help ease of use. Also Timezone based sheduler incl. DST....

Vendor response

Hey David, thank you for sharing your thoughts on Cerberus FTP Server! We appreciate your constructive feedback and encourage you to remain up to date on the latest version as we constantly address these issues. We're pleased you find the usability easy and the AD Authentication useful.

BG
AvatarImg

Bryan G.

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great FTP Choice

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This software is amazingly good. The uploads are insanely fast. It's easy to use and train on as well. It also has great AD integration and security which gives you a lot of options on how to set this up and use shares as well.

Cons

I don't really have any CONs about the software, but if I had to pick a least favorite it would be the price. Don't take that the wrong way though, the value is great, but it's the only thing I can think of liking the least!

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We're happy you've had such a great experience with the product.

LZ
AvatarImg

Lukáš Z.

Automotive, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SFTP experience

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The easy of use, Cerberus contains many secure FTP features and the admin is able to easily manage user access, user rights, enabled connection, geolocation etc.

Cons

There is nothing like this. I like this product.

Vendor response

Hey Luka, thanks for your thoughts on Cerberus FTP Server! We're pleased you find Cerberus easy to use and manage, and that you're enjoying the features.

RA
AvatarImg

Ruben A.

Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of use

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy setup and administration. Our client use an automated procedure to upload files to our server and have had no issues.

Cons

There is nothing that I do not like about the software

Vendor response

Hi Ruben, thanks for taking the time to review Cerberus FTP Server! We're glad both you and your client have had an easy experience with setup and administration!

JA
AvatarImg

Jason A.

Biotechnology, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is a great product and awesome service. They also have an active development team!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Secure easy to manage file sharing solution

Pros

Features, auditabillity security support responsive development team. I belive this is under priced.

Cons

You have to treat AD user management differently than native account management. Which is understandable. However i would love to see adfs or azure integration.

Vendor response

Hi Jason, thanks for leaving us your feedback! We're glad to hear you're enjoying using Cerberus FTP Server, its auditability, security and its features! We take pride in our development and support teams being active listeners in our user community to deliver the best product and experience possible. We do now support AWS and Azure! We welcome feature request submissions at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

PN
AvatarImg

Peter N.

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Super easy implementation

Reviewed 2 years ago

Quite happy with the product

Pros

Very easy to install and set up. Stable and secure and especially mail for new files in folders is much appreciated by users.

Cons

The report module does not work as expected

Vendor response

Hello Peter, thank you for providing us feedback! We're thrilled to hear that Cerberus FTP Server was easy for you to install and set up, as well as being accessible and secure. We'd love to hear how we can improve the report module if you could submit further details here: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests

DH
AvatarImg

David H.

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

SFTP for government

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

FIPS 140-2 compliant so we can use it for CJIS information. Easy to use, and not that difficult to set up. Good interface to users.

Cons

Problems getting the SMTP within the program does not like our email setup. We have had to work around that. When logged in as admin for system, you cannot upload files at the same time. You have to log in as a user to upload files.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for your review! If you're still having trouble with the email setup, please let me know so I can connect you with our support team.

MS
AvatarImg

Mirco S.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review after over 6 month of use

Reviewed 4 years ago

We had to offer a sftp connection to share files with others, but on windows, it's not that easy, also we don't want to set up an Linux system, because someone else needs to be able to set up that thing. Therefore, it's easier if you got a GUI and a familiar system.

Pros

I like that I can setup a sftp server on windows without any problems. In addition, it is a good feature that Users can set their own password in the web panel.

Cons

I do not like that there isn't a simple way to enable geoblocking. We just have users in Germany and don't need to allow any other country to connect. Also the web interface seems a bit complicated for some users, they prefer it "clean and easy" like on google drive, own/nextcloud, pydio etc.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review!

GL
AvatarImg

Gavin L.

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Using it for our PROD FTP Service, with two Cerberus FTP allow us to failover with HA.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Easy to use and manage.

Pros

User friendly GUI, easy to negative and setup, also many different features for security and login method. Allow IP blocking and whitelist.

Cons

No settings for log rotation period, the size of logs, or other options related to logs from the GUI. Events, Reports, and eMail alerts should enable on Professional version also.

Vendor response

Hey Gavin, thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you find Cerberus FTP Server has a user friendly GUI, is easy to navigate and setup, and are enjoying using the IP blocking and whitelisting features. We encourage you to submit your ideas for improvements regarding logs and alerts to us here at this link: https://support.cerberusftp.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/200198295-Feature-Requests