App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Vertex Logo

Vertex

Proven tax technology to simplify the complex.

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Vertex Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

74

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.02/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Vertex Cloud has a very easy to use and comprehensive user interface, a robust product mapping capability, and the ability to user test within the interface.
It is good and we have TAm who is really responsible and active in the tickets we raise.
Whenever I have an issue all I have to do is call and customer service is always there to help fix my issue. The representatives are always kind and helpful.
Single point of failure. If any part of the connection to Vertex is down the ERP system is unable to complete jobs.
Heavy users of this application will find this very frustrating.
Sometimes Vertex applies a credit and the State does not handle the credit the same way. Manual adjustment to the tax records which the tax returns calculate from are confusing.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


74 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gabriel D.

Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Streamlining tax management

Reviewed 5 years ago

Vertex does it's job and does it well. It has really helped streamline tax calculations for our accounts and creating tax rules is a breeze. I have not had experience in dealing with Vertex customer service. The software communicates almost instantaneously with our ERP which allows order processing to flow without delay.

Pros

Vertex does a great job of calculating tax rates for my company's account and implementing tax rules. We are sitting on 100,000+ accounts in our system. Vertex calculates tax rates based on jurisdiction for each one. It means allowing your ERP system to communicate with Vertex, and vice versa. In order to calculate special rates, such as a reduced California rate, you need to enter a tax rule to deduct the specific rate. Each account receives its own rule.

Cons

The UI is quite dated in my opinion. It's a straight forward software, meant for business applications. There are other software that present a much more modern look. The dated UI doesn't affect performance though. It would be nice if there was an option to store tax certs in the database as well, like Avalara CertCapture.

TD
AvatarImg

Tara D.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product overall.

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, it's a great product.

Pros

I love working the Tax Preparer Team at Vertex. They are the main reason I love Vertex. I also like how easy it is to upload tax data files into Vertex.

Cons

I wish that there was a better resource at Vertex for navigating solutions in O'Series, when it comes to resolving issues we discover along the way. Navigating the ticketing system and the various emails back and forth (only to get a mediocre answer) is quite discouraging.

ZP
AvatarImg

Zoilo P.

Events Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Vertex Tax Engine Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

The Vertex program is sophisticated enough to eliminate a great deal of worry in tax application and keeping up with rate changes. Overall the software is extremely useful for a large corporation such the company I work for, however there are some nuanced tax applications that could be addressed.

Pros

The ability to make specific tax rules that apply to my company's specific industry or transactional situation. Also the ability to not have to worry about tax application in state's with a stratified tax rate being incorrect because of the automation of the Vertex tax engine.

Cons

The fact that the tax categories are not as nuanced as they could be, with options for different transactional scenarios that may affect taxability. Also the fact that one or two types is missing, such as the Service Contractor tax in New Orleans, Louisiana.

RR
AvatarImg

Rebecca R.

201-500 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very positive overall experience with Vertex for over 10 years

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The customer support and ease of use has been fantastic. I have had to call Vertex for support, for recommendations on doing things and for knowledge on the product. Every single person I have spoke to has been knowledgeable, friendly and quick in getting me answers. It is truly a pleasure to call support. The system is fairly user friendly and even when I forget how to do something, it is like...

Cons

There honestly is not much that I have found that I have not liked. There are sometimes outages, since we are using a cloud based product, and those do cause some orders to go through without the correct taxes being charged. If we could have less outages, or perhaps more notice when there is going to be an outage, then the product really would be perfection. It has gotten better since we first went live and they are less frequent and we do receive more notice when they know there is a repair/update needed. However, that being said, we have never had any issues when they have done upgrades, no problems noticed at all. Possibly, the outages could be more system update or hardware related.

JD
AvatarImg

Joanne D.

Wholesale, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We use this for research along with reporting, billing and exemption maintenance.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Sales tax has a lot of little variances across the states, across industries and cross products. The product supports all our changes and updates in a constantly changing market. I have a lot of confidence that this software allows us to consistently bill our customers correctly. Even when there are customers out of city limits getting billed otherwise, we can send the issue to the support team and they research and provide a solution in a very timely fashion. Granted there is not always a solution but that is communicated well.

Pros

We are able to test various scenarios as we expand our product lines and add states. Designing a report that meets your exact needs is helpful when completing returns and the exemption records are neatly stored and easily accessed.

Cons

Adding customers and their certificates can be time consuming since the advanced selection tool now pulls up everything then lets you request a specific account to add to. There is also a lot of date sensitivity that blocks things versus 6.0 which just let it go. Updates to the software are making both of these issues more pronounced.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Christopher D.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best software for sales tax and maangement without the overhead

Reviewed 5 years ago

We were able to get rid of our expensive hosted server solution and the maintenance that came with it. Being able to access Vertex data from anywhere in the world made our team more productive across the board.

Pros

The best part of the cloud was not having to have a dedicated remote server for all our software. The old Vertex ran but required constant maintenance, monthly updates, SQL knowledge. With the cloud, no longer do you worry about down times, corrupted databases and the like. The Vertex team is very helpful from the moment you buy the software. Our support rep spent hours with us configuring everyhting out of the box to our exact specifications

Cons

The cost of the software is pretty immense since you're pretty much renting a server Hold times can be a bit long in the customer support queue SaaS so once you stop paying, you lose access the software and any data if not backed up.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Must have product for Large enterprise

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great experience overall for a large enterprise in automating the tax engine seamlessly, the O series has been more comprehensive than the past series.

Pros

Great piece of tax software for SAP users Very seamlessly use across the board Updated are great Saves tons of time and money on audit and overall efficiencies

Cons

More global support Support for all types of taxes across the globe so large enterprises have on tax solution

Vendor response

Dear Vertex O Series Customer, Everyone at Vertex appreciates it when a customer takes the extra time to write such a great review! Thank you for providing your feedback of Vertex O Series on Capterra. Jen Armstrong Digital Marketing Specialist Vertex Inc.

JA
AvatarImg

Julia A.

Food & Beverages, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Vertex - Strong Tax Engine

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Vertex's interface is very easy to use and follow. It is also very easy to edit user specific custom content.

Cons

Food and beverage content is not the strongest.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mike B.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great tool, but internally we needed MUCH better requirements gathering in hindsight.

Reviewed 6 years ago

From an IT perspective, none honestly. It is a maintenance and support nightmare. However, in all fairness to Vertex, I feel this can be mostly if not completely attributed to our internal lack of sufficient requirements gathering before implementation.

Pros

The potential tax savings and benefits it can uncover. As well as the gaps it has helped identify in some of our processes.

Cons

The cumbersome cloning and configurations requirements have proved to be especially difficult or time consuming throughout the process.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rebecca S.

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Customer services is good.

Pros

Reliability of the software, I can count on the fact that its right.

Cons

Trying to find things but luckily I can call and they will either send it to me or point me in the direction.

ac
AvatarImg

annelies c.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great product, no issues with incorrect rates. However, continued issues with invalid TAID

Reviewed 6 years ago

Correct sales and use tax calculation for US and Canada.

Pros

Smooth integration with SAP (however, not clear on which fields are exchanged), correct rate calculation.

Cons

Logs are as good as unusable when you have large transaction volumes, so figuring out why something happens is a nightmare. Continued issues with invalid TAID (jurisdiction codes in SAP), we update as soon as files come out and still have many customers that requires manual updates. We have been working with support for a long time and still not a good solution. Very frustrating. Configuration in the config files on the server is not userfriendly at all. Very hard to figure out what all we have set up. Would be much better if it could sit in the Vertex O webtool. Better visibility of exemption certificates in the ERP system would be a big plus for a direct marketing company like ours.

RJ
AvatarImg

Raynetta J.

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

O Series has enabled us to expand into additional states with ease

Reviewed 6 years ago

Before Vertex O Series, our sales tax filing process was mostly manual, gathering data and using spreadsheets to create the returns. We have tripled our tax filing jurisdictions since going on O Series and would not have been able to keep up with our growing business without Vertex. The technical support team has helped us when setting up unusual tax rules that do not come standard with the software.

Pros

O Series makes it easy to add new states to the system for collecting sales tax. Most tasks are performed on user-friendly screens and a transaction tester is provided to test updates made to O Series.

Cons

Not all of the charges we bill our customers have tax rules set up in O Series so we have to create our own rules for mapping and update the rules as tax laws change.

sk
AvatarImg

shambhu k.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vertex O series

Reviewed 6 years ago

I am supporting vertex O series from last 2.5 years and i feel its very easy to use.

Pros

We are using Vertex O series 6.0 & 7.0 version and its simply to use and all the materials are self explanatory. Monthly updates are on time and easy to upload them to application. Haven't see any bug with these updates. All the updates are very well tested, so we don;'t see much issues while supporting this application. UI is getting better and better.

Cons

I pretty much liked the software, I didnt find any cons, let you know if i find any. Customer support is not proactive and they are not responding on time for SEV 1 issues, Customer care response time should be looked upon.

cw
AvatarImg

chuck w.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We've had to customize the program greatly to accommodate our business.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The ability to consistently handle taxability of a large volume of transactions. Reviewing transactions for taxability is much faster.

Cons

The software is too generic (high level) and does not handle the intricate nature of our business or industry.

Vendor response

Hi Chuck, Thank you for your feedback. Vertex O Series provides robust rate and rules research that is leveraged by our clients across many industries and tax types. In addition, Vertex O Series provides a number of tools to help customers manage specifics to their business such as tax assist rules and lookup tables, user defined rules and impositions, etc. For more information on these, please contact our Product Support team. Vertex consulting or our alliance partners may also be able to help you better configure O series to fine tune your solution. Jen Armstrong Marketing Specialist Vertex

AN
AvatarImg

Amy N.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Vertex cloud is very accurate and easy to use for small to medium size businesses.

Reviewed 6 years ago

accurate tax calculations, low cost of ownership, easy to learn

Pros

The value for the money spent makes this solution a wise investment. There is no server maintenance or monthly tax rate update files to be applied. The application can accommodate customer and product level taxability decisions.

Cons

The features and functionality of the cloud product vs. O-series are very different. There are very few customizations/configuration changes that can be done following implementation that do not involve additional developer cost. The processing time to save a customer exemption certificate is excessive. Heavy users of this application will find this very frustrating. Customer support is also very different from O-series in that the communication is via e-mail and the response time is often much slower with support reps being less knowledgeable about the application and its functionality.

GG
AvatarImg

Greg G.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Vertex O Series is an easy to use, simple to maintain system for tax determination & calculation

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The system is extremely flexible when it comes to setting up drivers to determine tax ability. A tool is provided to test your calculations without having to post a transaction through your main transactional system. Keeping the system up to date with the latest tax matrices is as easy as it is to upload a picture to social media.

Cons

The only minus is that the master data in our ERP system sometimes has to be updated for new tax jurisdictions. We need to look into a background job that touches this master data after Vertex is updated.

AN
AvatarImg

Amy N.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

O-Series - great for multi-state nexus retailers

Reviewed 6 years ago

O-series is a very robust product. Very user friendly and intuitive. Allows for easy customization of customer taxing, taxpayer set up and product taxing attributes. Very accurate tax rates, easy to maintain and integrate with most accounting platforms.

Pros

The application is highly customizable using user-defined tax rules in combination with the out of the box rates and tax driver matrixes.

Cons

The support is sometimes slow to respond and does not always find a solution to the problems that you may encounter leaving some of the troubleshooting to your internal IT department.

NF
AvatarImg

Nestor F.

Consumer Goods, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

O Series not for all customers

Reviewed 6 years ago

Not easy to setup on some customers. Would not recommend this for any customer that needs 24/7 operations. Single point of failure. If any part of the connection to Vertex is down the ERP system is unable to complete jobs. There should be some way to cache existing Tax information locally and sync to the live data. This way there is no way a connection can cause down time.

Pros

The only thing that was good about O series is no manual update required.

Cons

Single point of failure. If any part of the connection to Vertex is down the ERP system is unable to complete jobs. There should be some way to cache existing Tax information locally and sync to the live data. This way there is no way a connection can cause down time.

JT
AvatarImg

June T.

Wholesale, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Always good response from

Reviewed 6 years ago

It makes my job much easier as I know I can rely on the best calculations out there. I don't have to worry about whether the rates are current.

Pros

The accuracy of the calculations makes this a terrific tool, especially when preparing for audits. The states are hungry for funds and Vertex helps me send them away with little to no money.

Cons

Not being able to use the tab key thru each field makes the program more difficult to use. Also it would help if I was able to add the tax certs when I add the customer.

JR
AvatarImg

Jamie R.

Machinery, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Biggest issue is not knowing/having access to user exits when looking up issues

Reviewed 6 years ago

ease for filing tax returns, accuracy in applying tax rates

Pros

I like the ease of using the transaction tester (as long as you remember all the flex field needs). The rate lookups and exemption certificate handlings are very easy to use.

Cons

What I like least is trying to identify tax mappings (currently 6.0), but I see 8.0 will be easier? I do not like that it sometimes has a short span before timing out. We are usually in it all day, but not continuously, so we get timed-out a lot.

RT
AvatarImg

Roger T.

Wholesale, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

We use the exemption certificate manager and I do not recall receiving any training

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The exemption certificate manager is a handy tool and allows us to quickly retrieve certificates by state.

Cons

On Demand keeps having unanticipated breaks in service. I don't understand why a secure server keeps going down. It is a major customer red flag that the server is off line for unexplained reasons

Vendor response

Roger, Thank you for your feedback. The Vertex O Series On-Demand notification service sends out a generic blast notification to all customers in case of any type of service event. These service events can range from a general slow down in application response times to a full blown application outage. Given the service¿s single dedicated instance per individual customer, even though you might receive an initial blast notification, the event may or may not be applicable to your particular instance. We do provide real time application status pages to customers at your request. If you are interested please contact your Vertex representative. Thank you, Jen Armstrong Marketing Specialist Vertex Inc.

GM
AvatarImg

Gerald M.

Building Materials, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Use almost daily to check exemption certificate status and/or pull data extracts

Reviewed 6 years ago

ease of obtaining data, simplicity of inputting exemption certificates, use of plain addresses to obtain jurisdiction and tax information, ability to test transactions to determine if tax is charged correctly

Pros

easy to get tax jurisdiction information, tax rates, validate exemption certificates, data retrieval, set up taxability mapping

Cons

creating rules; obtaining data extracts without getting extraneous data, setting up customized taxability categories; reviewing tax mapping to categories and products

TW
AvatarImg

Tom W.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

No title

Reviewed 6 years ago

Vertex is not tuned for either database platform that is supported. This causes delay in real performance in the tool. Major cases we have had to escalate to senior management to get any sort of response and then development comes back and states well that is the way it is and we can't help you.

Pros

The number of countries supported by the software.

Cons

Support case response time is very horrible. Typically, it takes 3 weeks of ping support to get any sort of real answers. API response times not the best.

VA
AvatarImg

Venkat A.

Food & Beverages, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Vertex O Series

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I like about the updates that go in to every patch monthly which we least bother about the Tax changes across global. We operate globally and this is the best I feel about.

Cons

It is difficult to use and the main is search does not work as intended and backspace. There are some forms where these two mentioned don't work and highly difficult in terms of usage. Thanks, venkat

PS
AvatarImg

Paul S.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vertex shines in the Reports

Reviewed 6 years ago

Easy of filing is a plus. Setting up custom tax categories has helped

Pros

The Tax reports/Returns are mostly spot on. I work on 220 returns which Vertex tracks, once I understood the States layouts and how well Vertex matches each, filing has become very easy

Cons

Credits are always hard to track. Sometimes Vertex applies a credit and the State does not handle the credit the same way. Manual adjustment to the tax records which the tax returns calculate from are confusing Being able to "void" test data would be a plus.