This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Penelope Logo

Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

see alternatives

Penelope Reviews

Reviews summary

Overall rating

4.3

73

5

4

3

2

1

36

29

2

4

2

89%
positive reviews
88%
would recommend this app
How would you rate Penelope?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pros

Overall the staff at Penelope is helpful and knowledgeable. Penelope is pretty expensive compared to many other databases and the software does offer a good bit to help compensate for the cost.

BK

Beth K.

Overall, Penelope has been a great asset to our organization. It has helped to gather our data into one secure location for all staff to access.

EM

Elena M.

Our trainer has been very responsive when we have questions and need further direction. I am very excited to finish the production side of our project and to start using the program.

TS

Tara S.

Cons

This software is not intuitive. It could be the way the administrator had it set up but it was extremely frustrating and confusing to use -- even after years of using it.

SS

Stephanie S.

Her presentations were very monotone & quite boring. We found ourselves drifting away from the meeting.

TB

Trish B.

You are not able to delete errors so you are left with a lot of extra entries that make certain parts busy and confusing.

NA

Nicole A.

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


73 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Penelope is reliable software for scheduling, case notes and financial needs.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love that the software is super reliable. Customer support is wonderful. It's easy to navigate with great instructions right there. Really easy to use!

Cons

Pulling reports can be tough at times. I would like to see reports that were customizable. The search field is too broad.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good results

Reviewed 3 years ago

Enables our organization to easily retrieve information even though you may not have personally put the information in the system.

Pros

Great resource for storing records, adding updates and retrieving information on clients. New accounts are very easy to set up.

Cons

Some parts are difficult to navigate without referring to the written instructions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for Case Management

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been pretty good. Although the interface isn't as intuitive as other tools the ability to manage cases and events adds a different dimension that takes it beyond merely a CRM or case management suite.

Pros

The ability to link clients, family members, and case workers as an 'entity' in a single case. Creating event triggers to remind users to fill out assessments.

Cons

I can't download the backend data via the web interface. This is done through a separate ODBC connection.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Penelope Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

I don't use the software as often as some of our field staff but the process of customizing the software to fit our needs was great. Representative was our point of contact/penelope expert and did a fabulous job of walking us through the significant amount mapping and customization that our case management process requires.

Pros

Penelope was the best solution available for the advanced case management work our staff do across the U.S. Our customized employment professionals needed a case management system that allowed for a significant amount of narrative description and the folks at Athena were able to accommodate this need.

Cons

There's a bit of a learning curve with Penelope but it's well worth the effort to learn.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

iTS GREAT

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I really like the reports feature. I am able to run a report on almost everything that I have to discuss and report on on a weekly basis.

Cons

I not really fond of the date range on the reports feature. If it is possible can it include the setting "last week" or "previous week".

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Not user friendly at all

Reviewed 3 years ago

It accomplishes having a medical records. We stay with it due to the headache of changing and being a small non-profit.

Pros

I am not a fan of Penelope at all so there is very little I like.

Cons

It is terribly difficult to schedule clients, indirect appointments, or interface with other staff members. The fees are too high for what you get. It is impossible to get basic reports. Due to the high fees we are unable to purchase enough licenses for everyone which means we have to take turns entering information into the system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Configuration of Penelope

Reviewed 4 years ago

Web base has been extremely easy. It is very easy to maneuver due to us being at different school sites in a day at times. Being able to have all the documents that we need on line. Our assessments are in bedded within Penelope. Our supervisors are grateful to be able to see the associate's BIRP's .

Pros

Software is easy to navigate and to access since our team work at school sites and we sometimes do not go to our offices. Being able to access clients files is so much easier than when we were doing it by paper.

Cons

It took about a year to complete from talks about what we want it and how we were going to use it to actually going live.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Was involved and led the requirements study to bring Penelope to the Family Service Canada network.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

not at all user-friendly, costly, unreliable for data compilations and billing processes, reports are bad and inflexible, can not be effectively or easily or cheaply customized and adapted to needs, I could go on. Would be pleased to talk to the CEO or senior directors to propose recommendations and provide more information

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Lack of modern functionality, lack of communicating to customers, broken promises with timing.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The product is targeted to our industry. Its installed and we are used to it. We have little issues with it.

Cons

No portal functionality. No way of connecting external systems for resource management/bookings. No self help intake process (clients filling in their own information).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Layers Upon Layers

Reviewed 6 years ago

Penelope is used at my workplace to document client interactions. In many ways, the system is complex and integrated. It allows our 110-member staff to record information in the correct categories. We are able to source the data collected from Penelope and integrate it into our excel spreadsheets. There are some bugs that create mild frustration, but overall, it was programmed by a specialist here to suit our needs. I am grateful we have the program.

Pros

Integrated data

Cons

Not overly intuitive

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

I used this system as a mental health intern - it was my first exposure to mental health software.

Reviewed 5 years ago

It was at least a basic way to electronically organize and store confidential client information.

Pros

It has a lot of different and very useful functionalities. You can get very granular with your documentation if you choose to.

Cons

The user interface was rather convoluted and sometimes not very easy to engage. There would be multiple ways to access different parts of a case file, or different places to deposit similar information, which was very confusing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Penelope Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Penelope is a robust case management software that has numerous flexible areas to meet the demands of differing social service agencies. Our agency, consisting of 50 clinicians, has mental health contracts with state, county and insurances -- all of which Penelope can manage quite well. Service and support are usually responsive. Although we are struggling to get Athena software to add some new features that most health care software has already incorporated, such as integrated client sign ins. There are some innovative features such as incorporate the ORS and field to add other outcomes measures. Canned reports meet basic needs, but custom reports are not only possible, but are utilized by us on a routine basis. Overall we are satisfied with Penelope.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good software but not intuitive for our users

Reviewed 2 years ago

very good experience with the team and support. When we have a recommendation they have taken this and tried to assist.

Pros

The software does allow for customization once we have a trained team onsite

Cons

It is not as intuitive and involves several steps for things that should be more smooth. It also is difficult to get information and reporting off the system for our funders

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

It's clunky, appears to be on a platform from the 90s, not intuitive, convoluted, expensive support.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Maybe better than nothing

Pros

Case management is OK Initial costs cheap

Cons

Doesn't work at all for EAPs in Australia. Reporting is hopeless. Schedule is as user friendly as a brick.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great so far

Reviewed 3 years ago

My organization is about to go live with Penelope so we have not realized the benefits yet. However, we are confident that we will, and Penelope's guidance and technical support throughout the implementation process have been outstanding.

Pros

Penelope provides a great balance between functionality and ease-of-use. The interface is very attractive and can be used on virtually any device. The system is easy to configure. Penelope provides everything my organization needs from a business functionality standpoint with the exception of accounting, which we do in another system.

Cons

Reporting out-of-the-box is very limited, but an interface with Tableau is available for an additional fee. Security setup is very cumbersome.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

So Difficult

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'll just say this -- I was very glad to switch over to something that actually made sense to me.

Pros

It has a lot of what you need for conducting therapy and submitting for billing. I don't believe you'd need anything else really.

Cons

This software is not intuitive. It could be the way the administrator had it set up but it was extremely frustrating and confusing to use -- even after years of using it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Pretty Good Software!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Customer support is awesome. They get back to you super quickly. It is very user friendly and efficient!

Cons

I've been using this software daily for a few months and the site has went down once for about half of a day. Would love to see an app for it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

the worst ever

Reviewed 4 years ago

please make it for normal people

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

signs off every 15 min not mobile friendly (iphone) emails are so slow that it might take a day to be received

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

EHR for Non Profit Mental Therapy Office

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our trainer has been very responsive when we have questions and need further direction! I am very excited to finish the production side of our project and to start using the program.

Pros

I like that using this program will allow our office to reduce our use of paper and switch over to digital health records.

Cons

The set up is very time consuming, do not underestimate how much time this project will take. Some of the terminology is different from what we use geographically and in our office, that takes some time to get used to as well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Awesome easy to use

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It makes everything a lot easier to find regarding clients and workers. It helps programs run smoothly on the paperwork side.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Our agency is transitioning from paper files to electronic doccumentation.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The ability to have running stats/evaluations which can be printed out and reported on with the click of a button!

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Penelope By Athena, good program!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great!

Pros

I like this program for all our employees to use, its not hard to navigate and we all pretty much like it

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We love Penelope!

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have been using Penelope at our organization for about 6 months now. We find that it is easy to use and also easy to teach others how to use. It is good to be able to collect our data in such an accessible spot!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review