Penelope Reviews

Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

4.26/5 (57 reviews)
Pros
  • Powerful feature set and configurability. Cloud based.
  • The tech support team is great and the flexibility of form creation is fantastic.
  • The software has grown as our organization has grown, and continues to implement new innovative features
  • The software really allows us to keep accurate records of our clients in an organized, easy to follow manner.
Cons
  • Interface could do with some tweaks to improve navigability
  • The configuration and data migration process was a bit confusing and more time consuming then we planned on.
  • 1. It took enormous time to set up our system. 2. There are still some reporting issues that do not meet our needs.
  • I would like to have a report writer system build into Penelope instead of using pivot tables to create customized reports.
84%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague
MARIE STAD

I like this program!!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-14
Review Source: Capterra

At first it was daunting as there is SO much information but once we figured it out I love it! I'm part of the team that works on our documentation to make things flow easier. It's great to be able to tailor it to our company needs.

Pros
Being able to read my staff input by generating a report whenever I need it. Being able to pull reports to the tableau so I can see my numbers just like that.

Cons
Only being able to access from work computers with the VPN installed there. Would be great to be able to access from personal computers.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Linda Castle

Penelope User Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-12-07
Review Source: Capterra

We have used Penelope Case Management system since 2003. It is very versatile and many changes have been done to make it portable and easy to use. The ability to create documents for our own needs is a fantastic function of the system. We have created Initial Assessments, Progress/Closing Documents, activity notes and outcome tracking forms all for our specific needs. The ability to customize fields at all levels for the system to track information we need for grants and statistics is also very helpful. I would recommend this system to any one agency or organization that tracks a variety of data elements and wants to organize your data to meet your needs.

Pros
The versatility. It has a ton of user defined fields that can be setup in any combination that works for your agency. Billing is relatively simple and creating service units and activities is easy to do. Tech support has been very good over the years and the system is very rarely down. System outage issues just don't exist.

Cons
I would like to have a report writer system build into Penelope instead of using pivot tables to create customized reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Trish Butler

Penelope has been a great tool for our programs. I have enjoyed learning all she has to offer

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-08-25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I like the ease of reporting functionality. It is very easy for me to see how often our clients are being serviced & how they are progressing within our programs. I like being able to link records with family members so we can get a wholistic view of what is happening with more than one client in a family group. The technical support that has been given to us has been fantastic.

Cons
Penelope is more suited to a clinical environment. There are a number of features within Penelope that we do not use. Some screens are hard to navigate & has some functions that are not relevant to our program needs. In the beginning of the process members of the Penelope project team with MPREC had a teleconference with customer rep. This was a very long drawn out meeting & was one that all of us did not get any benefit out of. Please when introducing your product find a better person to try to sell the program. Her presentations were very monotone & quite boring. We found ourselves drifting away from the meeting.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Grant Hawgood

UI is poor. Reporting function only in PDF. not SMS friendly. Case file structure = privacy issues

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-08-25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
it has a diary schedule linked to cart items. it's god if you only want Penelope to do one thing, ie, ATAPS service & payments

Cons
UI poor resulting in clunky data entry and more time spent entering data. not mobile / tablet friendly Reporting function does not provide dashboard, only reports in pdf or that you have to cut and past into Excel. Case file / service file structure creates privacy issues - we may have to move away from this product on the basis of legal advice Lack of technical support available in Australia

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Roslyn Lindner

Excellent product!

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-08-26
Review Source: Capterra

With Penelope, we are able to share necessary client information with other case managers with greater ease and efficiency. Scheduling for client appointments is centralized and contains all the data that is needed so that clients and service providers never miss an appointment. Using Penelope has saved our organization countless hours in searching for information and communicating with each other.

Pros
The best part about this software is the customer support that comes with it. We were able to customize it with the help of the Athena team to meet all of our case management needs.

Cons
It's hard to say what we like least about the software because it has been so helpful in meeting the needs for which we purchased it. It does take a little while to get used to using it and to learn all the facets but once you do, it's very easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Sarah Gardner

We love Penelope!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-08
Review Source: Capterra

We are a care coordination division of a TPA, providing case management, utilization management, care transitions, and chronic condition management services to 80,000 members. Penelope has been so easy for us to use. The nurses love it, because they can communicate with other team, have our MD remotely look at notes, and we can easily pull case reports for underwriters. I used Penelope in my former job, and when we did this start up, it was the first thing I thought of to use. The support staff are friendly and understanding, and are great with training. I would highly recommend.

Pros
The reports are easy to to understand - especially to non-user stakeholders and our clients. The forms are easy to create and adjust, and the billing/ cart system is easy for my staff to use for their billable hours.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Evangelina Ochoa

Great Case Management Software

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-09-06
Review Source: Capterra

Our overall experience has been great! Our cases are cleaner, more accessible and reporting is more efficient. Penelope is a great software for case management.

Pros
The software is user friendly for those utilizing it daily. It's functionality of the software and its accessibility for reporting is great. Penelope has made our cases cleaner and faster to access.

Cons
When adding a photo under profile, the photo can't be seen 100% after it's downloaded. So for our restricted users, it's hard to view a client’s photo because only the forehead if visible. It would be great if our case plans could auto populate from the initial one so we don't have to reenter the same information in the progress and closing plans.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Richard Stables

Flexible, configurable and reliable (so far)

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-01
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using Athena's Penelope Case Management Tool in our Community Acquired Brain Injury service for over 8 years. In that time it's proven itself a valuable and reliable source of organisational data as well as an essential tool for sharing person-centred information within a multi-d team. It's powerful out of the box, but can be configured to many different kinds of interaction. Being cloud based, it makes accessing the records you need easy, whether you're working onsite or off. Athena have managed to evolve the system impressively, and it has more than kept pace with changes in the way we work and use technology.

Pros
Powerful feature set and configurability. Cloud based.

Cons
Interface could do with some tweaks to improve navigability

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Taylor Jaramillo

Good product

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Overall, I really enjoy most of the features of Penelope. Although there are many clicks to do one single task, the benefit of this, is that options are highly accurate and match actuals.

Cons
I wish there were ways to feed Penelope reports into other software or vice versa. This would help with bookkeeping purposes. As of now, it is manually required that I crosscheck Penelope data with other sources (Square, Cashapp). It would be more effective for reporting if Penelope could feed into or be linked with other outside services.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Liz Lara

potentially great data base system

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-08-26
Review Source: Capterra

Penelope support is heavy in the initial stages but drops off drastically as you launch the system. Penelope staff for the most part though are committed to providing good customer service.

Pros
Having spent the past year learning how to navigate the software, our team is impressed with the detail it is able to capture. It has opened up numerous opportunities to report data on our various programs.

Cons
The amount of work it takes to "set-up" the system is not to be taken lightly. Another con is learning about reports and extracting your data...you're pretty much having to "play" with it which can become quite time consuming.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Michele Meinhardt

Some pluses, some frustrations

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Penelope has many features that other software does not, like pulling statistical reports and tracking anonymous client interactions. It gives flexibility in some areas to customize and tailor your software experience to your organization. Generally, it functions well for its purpose.

Cons
Penelope is difficult to learn and is not very intuitive to use. It's not visually appealing. The statistical reports don't always have the capability to capture the information you need. There are quite a few small, annoying processes that leave new users frustrated (like re-opening a case file and having to delete the "end date" before you can put in new information. Shouldn't re-opening it automatically invalidate the end date?)

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Anonymous

It does a lot

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-02-11
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, there are a million types of software for mental health out there. And Penelope is a solid, experienced, reliable, excellent customer-service option that keeps getting better. I trust Penelope, I like that it keeps improving, and I look forward to seeing some of the problems fixed!

Pros
Penelope offers a wide range of options for customizable software. Our counseling center is a practice of about 50 professionals, and in the search for software, we realized that our software needs are a bit unique. Penelope was able to offer customizable options and reports (reports are an additional cost) that fit our needs.

Cons
It's expansive (which is good), but keep in mind that it takes time to train, set up, install, teach others, and learn how to best use. In addition, the reports are sometimes be transferred to excel and other times not. There is no mobile version yet (they are working on it), but mobile use is important for in-the-field or during-the-commute work. SO when the mobile version is up and running, it will be amazing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Courtney Wickberg

Penelope has allowed our staff to work more cohesively by providing a user friendly database.

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-05-05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
For the first time our organization has been able to capture better client and partner data that has allowed our multiple departments to work more cohesively. The ease of use of the Smart Documents and Forms has enhanced the way we gather demographic and program information for grants and funding purposes. While the overall functionality of the database has been very helpful to capturing client and partner data, we hope further updates with the Search function and Calendar will better serve our organizational needs, for example searching by Event Description (specifically Indirect Events). Both the launch support and technical support team have been wonderful to work with and respond quickly to our inquiries. Overall: Cloud Based, Easy to create Forms, and Smart Docs are great features. Reports within Penelope are great for capturing basic information. Easy for most staff to use.

Cons
It'd be helpful if more fields were more customizable and if reports could be more specific (more Breakdown options) in Penelope instead of having to utilize the Open Database Connectivity. Search function includes many fields to filter by, but not all the fields that we need- would like better customizable search options.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Kathy Steele

Penelope has given us great flexibility with our student counselor population!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-08-25
Review Source: Capterra

Our student counselors are learning great skills in using an electronic records system. Reports are much easier to run, supervisors can access the progress notes and other documents at any time, and can be alerted to situations like suicidal ideation or risk.

Pros
Students have access everywhere; outcome measures are great, and the ability to see visual score charts across time is especially effective for clients.

Cons
It is hard to delete some mistakes. Written instructions are still not as clear as I would like. I still find it complex when setting up new outcome measures.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Pam Bailey

Penelope

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It meets the majority of our needs for tracking clients, staff notes, documents and scheduling space in our building (both internal and external meetings).

Cons
I can't create mailing labels from Penelope, the calendar of meetings (outside groups can schedule days/times to use our meeting rooms) doesn't always sink between the appointment icon and the monthly calendar (side tab). Wish the calendar worked more like Outlook. Search should be for anything vs. having to click an option.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Beth Kauffman

Our experience with Penny, so far

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-01-30
Review Source: Capterra

Overall the staff at Penelope is helpful and knowledgeable. Penelope is pretty expensive compared to many other databases and the software does offer a good bit to help compensate for the cost. However, some of our staff feels that we should have received more hands-on assistance and instruction for the price. To some extent I believe that more from not having a local based team to work with and all Penny staff being located in other countries. Everything was handled remotely so, if there is any complaint I believe it is just not being able to work in person with anyone. All in all though, the team we had did a great job, considering the distance, and our staff is starting to really like the software as they are trained.

Pros
The tech support team is great and the flexibility of form creation is fantastic.

Cons
The configuration and data migration process was a bit confusing and more time consuming then we planned on.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Anonymous

Penelope Provides an Opportunity for Quality Training for our Students

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-26
Review Source: Capterra

1. Students are trained in an excellent Electronic Health Record system, and it prepares them well for their future career. 2. Overall I have been really pleased with Penelope, and glad we chose it.

Pros
1. Being able to purchase "generic" licenses--this works well for an educational/training context. 2. Being able to design our own forms and documents. 3. Great support.

Cons
1. It took enormous time to set up our system. 2. There are still some reporting issues that do not meet our needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Nicole Boyd

We love the staff response/feedback

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-27
Review Source: Capterra

Save time, money and easy access to client files and staff schedules. More efficient with documentation and effective client planning within systems. Access to quick reports and better billing processes.

Pros
The fact that it's mobile friendly makes introducing the database a little more exciting to staff and executives.

Cons
The lack of application or mobile software for worker use. I always get the weird look when workers ask "is there an app?" and I say "No" I'd certainly like to change that response.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Kelsey Hasnen

Excellent customer service! Very easy to use the site!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-05-02
Review Source: Capterra

This program is primarily used for reporting on our cliental. This software coincides with what we are looking for as we can build it around our company!

Pros
It is nice that you can build the site around your company. When you have questions, a support staff member is very quick in response. We have 6 programs running out this program, which makes it easy to gather demographic data for all of them, in one place!

Cons
The only negative was fixed. I had trouble trying to run cross reports for all our programs, but with granted access, I am now able to pull from an Excel spreadsheet for any report.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

LEANZAR STOCKLEY

Penelope Is Great

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-22
Review Source: Capterra

Penelope is imply a great way to manage client data for records and progress tracking.

Pros
The software really allows us to keep accurate records of our clients in an organized, easy to follow manner.

Cons
When working with a group, it is not possible to schedule everyone at the same time which means different time slots for each group member. This blocks out more time than is real time for clinicians availability.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Adam Opper

We use Penelope for scheduling, case noting, and financials. We've been very happy with it.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-08-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The best thing about using this software is the reliability and the customer support. I've been using this software daily for almost two years and the site has only gone down once for about half of a day. Within moments, customer service sent me an email telling me how I could still access the site using a different method. Also, any questions that I've had have been answered with clear and concise instructions within hours. The help section of the software also contains very clear instructions for performing many tasks.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Gabriel Arredondo

Excellent clinical software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-29
Review Source: Capterra

I am able to efficiently chart for each of my students. The layout and software is user friendly. It is quality!

Pros
The organization and ease it provides. I utilize Penelope on a daily basis and our counseling clinic enjoys it.

Cons
When we initially utilized Penelope I accidentally delete en entire file. That bug has been fixed now which is outstanding news.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Delia Wilson

Penelope is a game changer for us

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-05-30
Review Source: Capterra

Real time access to our data therefore our reports are accurate and up to date

Pros
24/7 access. Security and support from Athena Reporting feature allows us to see our organisation Real time results

Cons
Moving from laptop to tablet the forms don't resize well. Would like ability to sort and filter my home page more..perhaps a search function

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Hannah Bekermeier

Innovative product for Behavioral Health Services

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-04
Review Source: Capterra

Overall Penelope has been a great match for what our organization needs.

Pros
The software has grown as our organization has grown, and continues to implement new innovative features

Cons
Can be difficult to teach new users the organization behind the software, not always intuitive, billing statements are incredibly complicated

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Diamond Trice

It's a great software that's easy to use once you've learned how to use it.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-30
Review Source: Capterra

Being able to keep track of documentation.

Pros
It holds Records. It allows all staff to complete documentation. It's very easy to navigate once you get use to the features.

Cons
It takes some time to learn how to use the features of the software. It's only allows a certain amount of people to sign in at once.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.