App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Medrio Logo
Medrio

Electronic data capture (EDC) software for clinical trials

visit website

(5)

Medrio Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

51

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.26/10

Reviews by rating

Top 3 alternatives

Pros and cons

Many of the features are useable and configurable by relatively inexperienced users - like any software once you begin to really dig in a more focused and dedicated setup person in beneficial.
Building in Medrio is intuitive and quick, while still providing a powerful and flexible platform. Their customer service is the best in the industry with rapid replies to all our needs.
Excellent trial monitoring facilities. Excellent analysis options.
There are still a few features that some of the largest (i.e. most expensive) systems have that Medrio is missing, such as a very robust targeted SDV / Risk Based Monitoring module.
Some small features that do not impact use and have no sway on my opinion.
There are still some system limitations, such as no lab norm module.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


51 reviews

Recommended

SM
AvatarImg

Susan M.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

First In House EDC

Reviewed 3 years ago

To date, we have had nothing but positive experiences with Medrio. That does not mean there have not been challenges and time crunches! We had oncology specific system requests that we needed addressed by Medrio. Our needs were heard and Medrio delivered with an updated release. Separately, when problems arose post updated release, and threatened to push back our first patient in timeline, Medrio again responded with tremendous effort to investigate a deployment issue. As a result, we were able to deploy to LIVE and subjects were able to enroll in our study to receive the treatment for which they were desperately waiting!

Pros

Ease and ability to configure database in a short amount of time.

Cons

System was initially lacking some key features we find common to oncology trials. System slowness at times.

KV
AvatarImg

Kate V.

Medical Devices, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A flexible, simple, easy to implement EDC software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Once your first study is built, it is very easy to copy and paste all your set functionality for your next study. Their support team is also top notch. Really, really helpful all the time.

Cons

Some features are a bit limited but they are continuously working on upgrades and highly value customer input.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Pharmaceuticals, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Loaded with "current" features

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have a great working relationship with Medrio and they are very accommodating with special requests

Pros

Medrio is perfect for animal research studies and they provide fantastic customer support. Latest features added is Building your own report that makes viewing data in a summary like way very easy (without any external data manipulation needed).

Cons

The software is great and loaded with current requirements, but with that comes regular releases/patches that needs to be reviewed by means of migration or CSV validation

ka
AvatarImg

kathy a.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Medrio

Reviewed 3 years ago

I love the ease of asking questions and the support folks. They really do a great job of getting back to me and helping me with my issues.

Pros

Easy to navigate, visually pleasing, programming language and functionality is easy to learn

Cons

I'd like to see more restrictions on roles for queries, I'd like to see the Codes on the coded variables show up in the edc on the form, the I'd love to see the Header Label change for the Monitor Log Report

SH
AvatarImg

Susan H.

Pharmaceuticals, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great little system!

Reviewed 6 years ago

I used Medrio for over 4 years with great success. It is easy to program, easy to use for sites and monitors. Has a great reporting tool and offers flexibility on pricing.

Pros

ease of use, cost structure, reporting tools, lots of functionality built in with no hidden costs

Cons

not as much flexibility and added functionality as some of the bigger EDC systems.

JT
AvatarImg

Jennifer T.

Pharmaceuticals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great EDC system

Reviewed 4 years ago

Medrio is a great EDC system to use for all types of studies from pre-clinical to post-marketing. Study Admins have the ability to design a study with complete flexibility and changes are deployed without causing downtime to the EDC system.

Pros

Easy to build and use but sites, sponsors and clinical teams. Very responsive Customer support.

Cons

Lack of EDC capabilities that other EDC systems already include (Local Lab tool, true diary collection)

BH
AvatarImg

Brian H.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Medrio is a Flexible, Versatile and Reliable EDC Partner

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Building in Medrio is intuitive and quick, while still providing a powerful and flexible platform. Their customer service is the best in the industry with rapid replies to all our needs. My team can always count on Medrio as a reliable and versatile solution.

Cons

We look forward to new features like local lab and integrated IRT modules

AB
AvatarImg

Amanda B.

Research, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Medrio for Small CROs

Reviewed 4 years ago

Working with Medrio has been a wonderful experience. The ability to build a database in shorter timelines and not needing to be a programmer to build. Also, from a Data Management perspective, handling queries and data review are seamless.

Pros

Medrio is extremely user friendly and makes database building a snap.

Cons

There are still some system limitations, such as no lab norm module.

JK
AvatarImg

Jaco K.

Pharmaceuticals, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simplified Data Management

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have been using Medrio's software for the last 2 years. They have a great team to provide support and have incorporated most of our proposed requests in subsequent releases. Easy to setup a study and to train entry users. Very happy with the software.

Pros

Easy to setup.

Cons

That support is only available on US westcoast time

kh
AvatarImg

karon h.

Medical Devices, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

KNH CDM

Reviewed 3 years ago

none

Pros

In the beginning it was a small team and they were very customer oriented, and just all around helpful with start up

Cons

Not enough reporting features or management of sites/monitors features

MN
AvatarImg

Marilee N.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Medrio Clinical Research Software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Medrio is a responsive company that takes customer service seriously.

Pros

Medrio is drag and drop programming so very easy to use. Their customer support is excellent.

Cons

Medrio would benefit from faster new releases.

DE
AvatarImg

Denise E.

Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Clients are happy

Reviewed 6 years ago

Ease of use and robust functionality are a few of the prime points for any user of eClinical/EDC. Our clients tell us they are happy with both of these areas when accessing their studies. And for us as the builders and service providers we enjoy both of these features in addition to the great customer support we received.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

SH
AvatarImg

Susan H.

Pharmaceuticals, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have used Medrio for several years across several therapeutic areas and phases.

Reviewed 5 years ago

lower cost and great functionality with ease of set-up and use.

Pros

Easy to set-up and use, great for small studies and large. The set-up is quick and can be done with little training. The coding module is a plus!

Cons

Some of the functionality could be enhanced for use with larger global studies. For example, the email alerts do not allow formatting of the email with regards to data within the EDC.

NA
AvatarImg

Norvie A.

Research, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Robust System

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love that Medrio is very user friendly. This was my first EDC build and I couldn't ask for anything better to use and learn from.

Cons

As of right now, there is nothing that I like east about the software.

AN
AvatarImg

Amanda N.

Research, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Its ok

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use it everyday. Its easy.

Pros

Out of all of the research sites we use this one is one of the best.

Cons

I do not like the layout but really that is just being picky. It really is ok.

MM
AvatarImg

Moses M.

Pharmaceuticals, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Medrio EDC market positioning

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Medrio EDC is easy and intuitive to set up . It's also very user friendly.

Cons

Cost positioning - The software costing is not considerate for non-profit grant based trials hence we loose business to other providers using cheap and cheerful edc systems.

LG
AvatarImg

Lilyana G.

Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Tool Beyond Data Managers

Reviewed 2 years ago

I really enjoy it and am very happy my company uses Medrio often.

Pros

In my industry, this software is mostly used by data management to build databases and store data for clinical trials. This software is very easy to share, download, and view data even for those who aren't familiar with programming and database structures.

Cons

This software can sometimes be limited in its capabilities, at first glance. But this is highly reconciled by their wonderful and helpful customer service who always try to accommodate needs of the clients.

NW
AvatarImg

Nathan W.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Medrio Evaluaiton

Reviewed 3 years ago

We chose Medrio as a solution to our current EDC challenges with other vendors. We wanted a reliable and well developed EDC that would be well supported by technical expertise on the support side as well as guidance as we were introduced and grew familiar with the system.

Pros

The end to end customer / user / administrator support and instruction. Ease of use - building, using, and administration.

Cons

Some small features that do not impact use and have no sway on my opinion.

KL
AvatarImg

Kasia L.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent EDC application

Reviewed 6 years ago

We've been using Medrio's EDC application for several clinical trials for the past two years. People with no programming background can begin configuring eCRFs after receiving just a few hours of training. It just takes a bit of practice and before you know it, you feel like a pro! The application is powerful and the configurable front-end edit checks will help data stay clean from trial initiation to close out. The product is fantastic and just as importantly, the customer service is phenomenal. I've always had great experiences with anyone I've contacted at Medrio. They have always been helpful and my requests have always been taken care of promptly. I couldn't ask for a better vendor experience! Thanks Medrio!!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

CG
AvatarImg

Carolyn G.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Newbee Loves Medrio!

Reviewed 6 years ago

I am not new to clinical trial software but I am new to Medrio. I was quite happy with the training provided and the ease of use in navigating to forms. It seems to easy to build but I haven't had that experience yet. Good Product.

Pros

Ease in navigation

Cons

Colors

JW
AvatarImg

Jon W.

Pharmaceuticals, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Too much like an EDC system (from the old days)

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The data points you are able to include are remarkable and easy to identify for users

Cons

Dislike the difficulty in use for some of our staff who claim it is TOO much like an old school EDC system

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sayanta B.

Verified reviewer

Research, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An Amazing Eclinic Application

Reviewed a year ago

The overall experience with Medrio is really good. I highly recommend everyone to use it.

Pros

The most amazing thing about this software is the electronic data capture and eclinical technologies that it has to provide customers. Also the data storage with back up and recovery is quite good. The eclinical tools are also really helpful.

Cons

The server latency can be improved for this software along with an interactive user interface so that it can automatically develop the user experience.

AS
AvatarImg

Angelise S.

Research, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is the most user friendly, EDC system I've used.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, this is among my favorite systems to use for entering clinical research information into. All information is well organized and easily accessible.

Pros

I am able to access all of the information I need on the site and entering information into the EDC is very user friendly. IT is very easy to follow.

Cons

I found it difficult to find the printable version of the pages I entered information on. When the system was prompted to generate a file, it actually never did and I ended up having to print the webpage.

JN
AvatarImg

Jose N.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Highly recommended

Reviewed 8 years ago

I have been using Medrio for several years now to capture data for my clinical studies and have been very satisfied with the product. It has excellent customer service...extremely responsive. The product itself is one of easiest to use that I have seen both from a building and an end user perspective. This is why I continue to use Medrio for all my studies.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JM
AvatarImg

Jessica M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Medrio - Easy to Use

Reviewed 8 years ago

Medrio is an easy to use eCRF platform. Clean and simple. Easy to have updates made and deploy to a live CRF database. The look and feel of the text is a little dated looking and not the nicest appearance but the functionality of the system is good.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review