Medrio Reviews

Medrio

Electronic data capture (EDC) software for clinical trials

Medrio

Review Summary

Pros

Medrio is perfect for animal research studies and they provide fantastic customer support.

Anonymous Reviewer

Building in Medrio is intuitive and quick, while still providing a powerful and flexible platform. Their customer service is the best in the industry with rapid replies to all our needs.

Brian H.

Very flexible, user-friendly and easy to set up. Great system for our early phase studies which can be up and running in 3 weeks, including edit checks programmed in and validated.

Sandrien L.

Cons

Separately, when problems arose post updated release, and threatened to push back our first patient in timeline, Medrio again responded with tremendous effort to investigate a deployment issue.

Susan M.

There are still a few features that some of the largest (i.e. most expensive) systems have that Medrio is missing, such as a very robust targeted SDV / Risk Based Monitoring module.

Brady G.

I can quickly bring databases on and off-line to suit the needs of my clients, which has been a game-changer in the medical device, start-up community.

Laurie H.

Overall rating

4.6

(49)

5

4

3

2

1

32

16

1

0

0

98%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


49 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Value in EDC

Reviewed a year ago

We deal with many life science companies that have budget constrained clincal trials. There are 1000's of these studies that need, easy to use, solid EDC at affordable prices. Medrio fits this niche and then some. We have used the product for all phases and size of trials. We have many customers that require Medrio for is capabilities and budget friendly approach to EDC.

Pros

Medrio has all the features necessary to capture data for any clinical trial. They present it in an very easy to use interface that sites like to use. The design features allow for rapid setup and deployment which is key for many type of clinical studies. Make updates and changes along the way is easy and their business model if very transparent and affordable for all budgets.

Cons

The randomization capability is nice but does not handle complex study designs and trial supply management. This is an area that can be expanded.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Medrio for CROs

Reviewed 10 months ago

We use Medrio to capture data enter for Clinical Trials. Medrio has all the tools needed to ensure a successful submission.

Pros

Ease of use. Very easy to learn and pick up.

Cons

Limited functionality when compared to other systems.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Deploy Studies Quickly With Medrio

Reviewed 2 months ago

I have done about twenty clinical studies with Medrio. It is easy to configure a study, design the forms, and deploy. If mid-study changes are required, they are easy to accomplish in Medrio. The customer service team is first rate. This is one of the few remaining companies where a real and qualified human answers the customer service phone or calls you back in very short order.

Pros

Medrio is feature rich with plenty of tools to configure a clinical study and develop online forms for data capture. Development is quick and intuitive. There are lots of data validation features. Custom Queries allow the developer to flag inconsistent and missing data. All changes to the data are tracked and recorded.

Cons

There are some overall reporting features (e.g. a separate listing of all data changes with the date and name of user making the change) that I would like to see, but the great thing is Medrio is very responsive to customer input. Their regular releases include improvements suggested by the user community that continue to make the product better.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Medrio- Best

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Extremely user friendly... System Navigation, Query resolution or data base build etc...very easy to learn

Cons

Coding Module Would be great if we can have indication/Route populating with the coding term. Will become much efficient while coding avoiding going back and forth

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product, great team!

Reviewed 3 months ago

As a small biotech company, we needed to build our first in-house EDC systems for several upcoming studies. For our needs, Medrio has been the perfect product. Great experiences with the Medrio team all around, and I look forward to our continued partnership.

Pros

Medrio is an incredibly intuitive system to learn, much simpler to learn than other traditional EDC systems I have used. Very efficient workflow for quickly building a clinical database, with lots of more advanced features that can be leveraged as needed. Also the cross-functional team has given positive feedback about the user interface. Onboarding was smooth and easy, thanks to a series of helpful meetings and active followup from our Medrio Project Manager.

Cons

Certain features from other EDC systems have not yet been developed in Medrio (i.e. complex custom function query logic, dynamic search list fields). However, the support team was very helpful in developing workarounds in these situations and they pro-actively seek client feedback for new features to add with future product releases. Overall, Medrio EDC is a great product and will continue to get better!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Medrio is easy to use

Reviewed 10 months ago

Medrio is an essential part of the data collection for our studies. It makes the data collection and cleaning (remotely) much more efficient than paper data collection.

Pros

Ease of use. The speed with which a study database can be set up and deployed. Also, the ease of implementing mid-study changes without affecting existing data.

Cons

Some of the configuration modules are still inconsistent in the way they look and function. Laying out case report forms could be easier.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed a year ago

Overall our team enjoys the creation of our different databases and eCRFs with Medrio. The ease of use and the appealing concept of the system makes it worth selecting it above its competitors.

Pros

The ease of work. Almost anything you think of its doable within Medrio.

Cons

Sometimes you just need a tip, an advise on how to do or implement a small change and you're required to purchase a whole training session. It would be great if at least basic, guided information would be available through support.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Medrio in Clincal Research Trials

Reviewed 4 months ago

I have been heavily involved in trial development on a variety of different indications for some time now. Medrio can be implemented quickly and get up and functional faster than other data management systems I have supported. Getting a trial up is really just a portion of the challenge - often the real challenge comes from how well the system can be adjusted once the initial study is live and mid-study adjustments are required. Medrio seems to be adjusting to these well without throwing up to many roadblocks and requiring significant re-work.

Pros

Medrio is fairly easy to learn and leverage to advantage. Many of the features are useable and configurable by relatively inexperienced users - like any software once you begin to really dig in a more focused and dedicated setup person in beneficial. That said - it is powerful and allows for a great deal of design and setup flexibility with out advanced coding or programming knowledge.

Cons

There are some interface inconsistencies that require the developer to adjust to a slightly different look and feel as you move from section to section. This is to be expected as a product matures and moves forward adding features and function. I'd like to see the incorporation of a more robust Lab Normal component (this is in development and components are rolling out with each release). I have also run into a few restrictions with Skip Logic that could benefit from a slightly more robust solution. Most of the issues are minor little things like not coming back to the same page when you complete a configuration or not being to dynamically control the number of items on a page - all minor and easily adjusted to.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Medrio: Outstanding EDC software from an amazing company that cares

Reviewed 9 months ago

What impresses me the most about Medrio is their desire to be the best... not to make money, but rather to help people. Keeping within this mission, their ability to listen and react to input from the community not only results in a more capable piece of software, but also provides a sense of ownership in all who use it. The ultimate goal for all of us: to be as fast and efficient as possible in collecting accurate and reliable data that can easily be analyzed in an effort to find treatments for those who often have very little time to wait.

Pros

Medrio has a lot going for it. From a user's perspective, the software has excellent UX design and is extremely easy to navigate. The interface is not overwhelming like some and the data is presented in a very methodical and logical manner. This is a huge reflection on how well Medrio set up the data in the back-end. Medrio has additionally implemented superior skip logic, form rules, and custom edit...

Cons

A good review has a balance of Pros and Cons, but honestly, there is nothing I dislike about this software. As with all systems, there are of course technical limitations here and there, but the number of issues we experience are minuscule. The real issue is that because Medrio is constantly listening to the user and as a result, improving the software and adding value, it makes it almost impossible to list any Cons about the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easiest to use, most cost effective well-recognized EDC system on the market

Reviewed 6 months ago

Building and running many, many EDC trials for so much less than any other system and doing so in a very time-effective manner.

Pros

It is very easy to set up and for the end-users to use. Anytime I need the system to do something that is not straightforward their help desk is able to program it and they build the feature into their next upgrade. All users can see data and reports in real-time. It is also so much less expensive than most other systems. Updating and validating the database due to protocol amendments is easy and quick. Their helpdesk is always timely to respond and answers their phone right away.

Cons

There are sometimes limited capabilities for when a trial has a unique data collection requirement, however, there has always been a workaround for when this has occurred.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The use of Medrio in the medical device, start-up community

Reviewed a year ago

Being able to support small, start-up medical device companies in their clinical trial projects, with an EDC database platform that helps address varying needs, with short timelines, and in a cost-efficient manner is critical. The flexibility of the MEDRIO products enable me to design efficient and scalable databases to accommodate different development phases of projects from early feasibility studies through pivotal trials. I can quickly bring databases on and off-line to suit the needs of my clients, which has been a game-changer in the medical device, start-up community.

Pros

The flexibility to design and implement EDC databases that are tailored to the needs of medical device start-up companies in an efficient and economical manner is the main aspect of Medrio that appeals to me and my clients.

Cons

Does not have some of the features (i.e. dynamic fields) found in other EDC database platforms; however, this is not a must-have feature for me.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Medrio for the Little Guys

Reviewed 4 years ago

I'm a huge fan of Medrio! I have used other EDC systems and have also previewed some but in the end, I have always found Medrio to be the best fit for me. I think the best part about Medrio is that it is extremely user-friendly. Just about anyone can pick up the system and start using it with very little training. Most of the training needed, I think, is on the study building end. But if you are the...

Pros

Simple, easy to use.

Cons

Lacks some features and functionality that other EDC systems have

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Mad for Medrio!

Reviewed a year ago

My experience with Medrio has been positive to date. My calls to Medrio support have been met with great concern for my needs, has been followed up with emails/calls/zooms and even on-site training to ensure that my concerns/training needs were addressed. It is this type of care and professionalism that has given me the privilege to create long and lasting relationships with a few of the Medrio team members. They are a wonderful team!

Pros

Medrio is a software system that is easy to understand, allows for fast setups of studies, provides the tools for simple builds and minimizes design complexity as well as providing full customer support.

Cons

Medrio does have some limitations in functionality. However, the Medrio Community feature can be of great assistance and the team at Medrio allow their customers to submit feature requests to enhance the Medrio products. Medrio is a team that is continuously at work to improve their products while providing ease of use, speed, efficiency and flexibility for their customer base. It is without doubt that they keep their customers in mind at all times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Intuitive, easy to use software

Reviewed a year ago

Phastar have a close working relationship with Medrio and our feedback on issues is already documented

Pros

Ease of use for database builders and site users. It is intuitive software, well presented which facilitates training and familiarisation for users. The Medrio team are on hand to answer questions and provide support.

Cons

Interrogating data and preparation of bespoke reports. The BYO report facility has improved the situation, but it doesn't run on live data.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great, User-friendly System

Reviewed 9 months ago

Overall, I'm very satisfied with the system. I've used it for over 10 years, and I've seen it continually improve each year. I really enjoy how easy and intuitive the system is.

Pros

It is very easy to use for both the end-users (i.e. site data entry people) and the back-end programmers. It is very quick to get a database up and running. Building the database only takes a couple weeks (counting time for review cycles and UAT). Mid-study changes can be completed in as little as a day or two.

Cons

There are still a few features that some of the largest (i.e. most expensive) systems have that Medrio is missing, such as a very robust targeted SDV / Risk Based Monitoring module. In addition, it has a cumbersome re-querying method. That said, we've still used this system successfully for 700+ patient Phase III studies that included Risk-Based Monitoring, so those issues are not too limiting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Medrio Review

Reviewed a year ago

Medrio has been a fantastic tool for us. The ease of use has allowed us to get clinical studies up and running in significantly less time than it would take with its competitors. I can't use it for every study, but I'm glad I can use it for most. Would recommend considering.

Pros

Medrio is an intuitive easy to learn and use EDC system right out of the box. Very customizable to meet most sponsors' needs. The simplicity of the system allows for lower training costs and faster build times. Great EDC choice in most situations.

Cons

Like most EDC solutions, Medrio cannot be all things to all people. Medrio does lack a number of key 'modules' and some of the modules it does have cannot handle more complex studies. What Medrio does, it does well, but as it continues to grow, it needs to continue to add to its package and keep the product at high levels.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Medrio is a great product!

Reviewed a year ago

Overall Medrio is a great product and I enjoy using it.

Pros

Medrio is so easy to use. It allows someone without a programming background to build databases quickly and efficiently. The ability to use forms across studies without having to set up a formal library makes thing easy. I love that this software makes building a study with a very short timeline very doable. Medrio Support is TOP NOTCH! The support staff are knowledgeable and respond quickly and genuinely want to assist. I also appreciate the company's stance on taking customer feedback and requests and actively incorporating them into the product on a regular basis.

Cons

There are some bugs with Medrio but nothing that is insurmountable. The things I would have previously listed as cons are being added currently like Lab Management and others are improvements are in the works so I have no real complaints.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

CRO developing and Implementing Medrio's EDC system

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Using the Medrio EDC system has given us the ability as a CRO to control and customise each eCRF, create our own template forms and reduces the intial build time surpassing client expectations.

Cons

The Initial userbility of the program. Not very intuative.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Super Fast Study Builds!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Using Medrio, we are able to help our clients reach the database go-live milestone quickly, and that equates to significant cost savings for our clients.

Pros

The study configuration tools are very intuitive and well laid out, making the EDC build/validation process super quick and easy. Mid-study changes are also simple and fast to complete.

Cons

We have found that although this software doesn't have as many built in features as others may, the basic tools that are available are flexible enough to allow one to get very creative and build out features that may not be pre-built as they are in other systems. If some of those features were already built in, it would make the builds go even faster and allow for even more checks and balances that can be done within the system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to set up and end users friendly

Reviewed a year ago

For a simple study design, I prefer Medrio over other bigger systems that has a lot of bells and whistles I don't need. And Medrio is very end user friendly. In the past 3 years of managing the Medrio EDC database, I haven't heard any complaints from any site users that they have difficulty of using Medrio EDC.

Pros

Easy to navigate and is very user friendly. I especially love the skip logic, it saves a lot of time to create edit checks.

Cons

At the Tabular view, I have to go to either 'Home' or 'Enter Data' tab to choose a different subject within the same site. The other one is the tutorial was removed from HELP. Those tutorials are a very good for site users to refresh their memory for using Medrio.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Medrio - the best EDC product on the market

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Medrio is very reliable and easy to use. It allows for quicker turnaround times on database build and database lock. The customer support team is very knowledgeable and is always quick to respond. This EDC product is very affordable in comparison to other EDC vendors, and does not nickel and dime you with hidden costs. Most importantly, Medrio listens to the needs of their customers and implements the necessary system updates.

Cons

There are a few system limitations within Medrio. Would love to see the platform improve lab integration and add an invoicing module. Having said that, Medrio is constantly updating their platform and it becomes more sophisticated after every product release.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent EDC for Clinical Trials

Reviewed a year ago

We have been using Medrio for Clinical Trials data capture since 2016 and found it to be probably the easiest to use and best EDC tool we have used to date and enables compliance with CFR 21 Part 11 (Annex 11). Medrio EDC is powerful yet much simpler to use than other products of a similar nature and has incredible customer support.

Pros

Fantastic Customer support Easy to design, build, configure and manage clinical trials Excellent range of reporting options Excellent trial monitoring facilities Excellent analysis options Easy for users for data entry Looks good Easy to set roles and permissions Excellent Multi-Site control Easy Mid-Study Changes and Reporting

Cons

Randomisation Options/Configurations could be better

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Long-term user

Reviewed a year ago

We have been using Medrio as our EDC platform since 2011 and have locked > 100 studies. We have seen some great improvements over the years as the industry changes and we are keen to see what the future holds. It really feels like we are part of their team, they listen to our feedback and we learn a lot from them.

Pros

Very flexible, user-friendly and easy to set up. Great system for our early phase studies which can be up and running in 3 weeks, including edit checks programmed in and validated.

Cons

Anything that we have any issues with gets flagged and discussed, with any possible improvements being part of their feature roadmap.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for basic research needs!

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, my experience has been favorable compared to other systems. There's room for improvement, but that's not to say that Medrio isn't a great product.

Pros

I most appreciate the simplicity of Medrio and the fact that this translates across any project within Medrio. One you learn the ins and outs of one project, you can step in at any point of another and know exactly where to find what you need.

Cons

I least like the reporting mechanisms and the dashboard. For my role as a data manager, I've noticed that some of the reporting tools either function incorrectly or don't exactly give me what I am looking for. I also would love if the querying function could be changed to allow the user to change the "reason for closing". All other things about the query can be changed by someone with access to initiate and close queries, except this function-- which is a performance metric for my department. Being able to make that change would be beneficial.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Medrio Review - Great product

Reviewed a year ago

Medrio is very easy to work with in terms of building clinical trial databases from beginning to end. I've also heard that the end users are happy to use this product. The customer service is amazing!

Pros

My favorite feature in Medrio is the skip logic (field dynamics). This feature eliminates writing a large number of edit checks and aids the end user in data entry, as the fields they do not need to enter are hidden.

Cons

I would like if some of the design portions could be done in bulk, for instance copying forms and editing variables. The current release allows one variable to be edited at a time and can copy one form at a time.

page 1 of 2