App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Datto SIRIS Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

87

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.18/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

comet-backup
idrive
solarwinds-msp-backup-recovery

Pros and cons

The software is top quality, the best in the business. Also the support team is American based and has personality and is very good.
Datto has been good to me for my needs. Anytime that I have a question, someone is there to help.
The most important thing with regards to business continuity services is speed and quality of support when it is required.
Support for the product and warranty that should cover if the unit fails but Datto support person chose to arbitrarily ignore the warranty and no explanation of why not.
Cost is usually a problem when we suggest them to clients and its a twofold problem. The monthly infinite cloud retention fees as well as the hardware itself can be quite exorbitant.
Staff who responds to a question: "I have no idea - go back to the person who sent you email" about our missing equipment. Tickets are open forever with no one taking responsibility and actions.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


87 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Matt K.

CEO

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Datto Siris - for backups that just work

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Matt K: Hi, I'm Matt, Director of Operations. I give Datto SIRIS a five out of five rating. For more...

CA
AvatarImg

Carl A.

IT Manager

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Best Backup solution

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Carl A.: Hi, I'm Carl. I'm a network engineer and I give Datto SIRIS a five out of five. For more reviews...

Id
AvatarImg

Ivan d.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent solution if you can afford it

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We really like how powerful this product is for a Managed Services provider. It really can be a very strong solution for remote backup and disaster recovery of our customers, with very fast recovery to a VM on the appliance itself, or online at Datto's Datacenter if the appliance is lost as well. We really love this product, and we would use it more extensively if it wasn't for the cost, that makes it out of reach for most of our customers.

Cons

Definitely the price. It is a very expensive solution. Not necessarily that it is not worth the price given the capabilities and quality, but it does limit the set of customers willing to pay so much. Maybe Datto could consider some tiered solution with some reduce capabilities that could provide for an easier sale or entry point.

IB
AvatarImg

Ian B.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reliable Backup Service

Reviewed a year ago

We have had dependable backups of our files and devices in Datto. The admin portal can be taught to engineers without to much hassle. The configurations are easy to manage and the support has been helpful when we had to reach out to them.

Pros

Datto Siris backups is able to backup our physical and virtual machines. It is easy to add and manage machine from the management console. Disaster recovery on the local Datto physical server has enabled to run domain controllers and other servers that are critical to the infrastructure when the on-site hosts have gone down.

Cons

Screenshot verification doesn't complete on some machines. The backups for newly added machines take a while to complete and the roundtrip process can take some steps and time to complete. Uploads to the cloud depend heavily on the clients internet connection speeds.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Joseph M.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Datto software can take and store excellent backups, but their interface routinely doesn't work.

Reviewed 6 years ago

The local backups are very reliable, they do offsite in a way that support can retrieve your data when needed, and the company if very polite and friendly, and will gladly explain why the part you need doesn't work.

Pros

Backups are easy to review and set up. If you are setting up a local backup and have simply server setups (Such as a stand alone Windows server) it is easy to take backups, manage images, and even get to files for fast restores.

Cons

Many features are published before they work, and if your server has any type of complication, such as encryption or being Linux, the backups fail. Support will routinely close a ticket just saying that they are aware something a feature doesn't work, and they suggest that if you would like them to work as advertised a feature request should be put it.

JR
AvatarImg

Jason R.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

More than just a backup

Reviewed 5 years ago

This solved both data backup and disaster recovery all in one. Disaster isn't just an act of God, but hardware failure can be a disaster. Had client that was 24x7 that dealt with suicide hotline, their server allowed them to communicate with others across the country. This server allowed them to notify others when they had someone on the line that was suicidal. If they place the person on hold that person may not pick back up. When the server hardware failed, able to spin that server backup in a virtual environment and allowed them to continue showed me right there why to use this product.

Pros

Knowing that it is more than just a backup solution, it is a pure disaster recovery solution. Data recovery is great but when hardware fails knowing I can be backup and running in less than an hour is actually life saving.

Cons

Not much I don't like about the software. Once its up and running it works and support is wonderful, can't honestly think of con.

CA
AvatarImg

Carl A.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Backup solution

Reviewed 4 years ago

From the time we chose to use Datto, the setup and implementation was a breeze. I have had several interactions with the Technical support team and their responses are always swift and accurate. When using previous products, we received confirmation that backups completed, but Datto actually boot the backup and sends a screenshot verification of the successful login screen.

Pros

Ease of setup and use Dashboard to see all backup statuses Quick response from support for remediation of backup issues. Daily verification that backup can actually boot if needed.

Cons

I haven't found any downside in the short time that we have been using the Datto product. We are still fairly new to it, but consider it a solid option

RF
AvatarImg

Rick F.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Peace of Mind

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The self-testing, and reliable results allow us to protect our customers as well as ourselves.

Cons

Cloud continuity cannot be scheduled, and reporting events for continuity cannot be separated like they are for SIRIS hardware devices.

PK
AvatarImg

Peter K.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Datto SIRIS Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall Experience is good

Pros

Ease of Deployment, Configuration and description were clear and concise

Cons

Screen shot backup failures, and having to manually to a differential merge

MD
AvatarImg

Mark D.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Teltech Datto Siris Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

very good - gives us that extra peace of mind and can spend more time on other projects.

Pros

I love the fact that this not only rolls in the backup but also disaster recovery into one easy to use platform.

Cons

integration issues between the dashboard with RMM - seemed to have issues when we rolled out RMM and still have issues when it comes to raising tickets however this is more of an RMM area where the problem lies.

AW
AvatarImg

Adrian W.

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A must have for any business

Reviewed 3 years ago

I recommend this product to any company with data (basically everyone).

Pros

Dattos range of backup devices offer total protection from day-to-day file deletion to complete Disaster Recovery scenarios. Some great features like the screenshots of backups, unlimited retention and malware scanning during backup are superb. Support from the manufacturer has always been first class when needed but to be honest it's quite simple to deploy and maintain

Cons

Non that I've found yet, the web based user interface is simple to use.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Datto excels

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Datto is very easy to set up, easy to use, and easy to test/verify backups. RPO/RTO improvement was remarkable. There is a sense of security that comes from knowing all of your servers can be virtualized in the cloud should a local disaster strike.

Cons

We had some issues initially that were eventually determined to be hardware related. While the device was replaced, it took a very long time to convince support that hardware was the issue. They seem to always want to blame the network.

JD
AvatarImg

Jeff D.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Cost effective cloud storage with unlimited users

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Cost effective, both browser and desktop client capable. Various ways to share your data through shared links or group permissions setup by the admin. Unlimited user potential, only pay for storage space used. Generous amount of storage initially at a competitive out of pocket expense.

Cons

Can only purchase through Partner Channels. Trying to find a Partner Channel is way more challenging then it should be. Pricing is a little deceiving if going by their advertisements online as I have yet to find a partner that would honor their advertised Tier 1 price points. Admin visibility can get somewhat confusing as admins cannot see all data stored in accounts created for their employees thus losing some data retention securities along with it.

JB
AvatarImg

Jeffrey B.

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Use Datto for most of our clients and has made us look great on more than one occasion

Reviewed 6 years ago

Fantastic backup system with easy use to bring up specific backups from any backup or ability to spin up entire servers in case of an emergency

Pros

Great features and pretty easy web support page to be able to remotely manage. If a full server goes down, can spin up a backup of that server in the cloud or on the local device to keep production going while recreating the downed box. Even had a client have their servers seized for 2 weeks and we were able to run their servers from the cloud until they received them back. Then was able to merge the data back onto their local servers so they were able to continue working the whole time.

Cons

Can sometimes get broken connections on the local end and have difficulty getting backups to start up again. Usually support is pretty good with finding the issue or replacing the product (though this does put the information at risk for that time being)

MN
AvatarImg

Mark N.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Remote monitoring made easy

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall I am very satisfied with Datto. This tool is single-handedly the most powerful weapon against support tickets. The only thing Datto could do better is by adding a better in-app interface to navigate to other machines.

Pros

Datto makes everything manageable remotely. It comes with built-in scripts for easy installations as well as having a fully functioning remote control feature called Splashtop. The app opens on startup before a user logs in, giving you full functionality to work on multiple users on the machine. An overall incredibly powerful tool.

Cons

Datto sometimes has severe memory leaks. This is typically when you are connected to a computer that is no longer online and Datto is still trying to reach it pro-actively using a lot of memory, so far this is the only issue I have run into that recurs.

BM
AvatarImg

Brad M.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Datto Siris backup opinions

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our main purpose in using this class of software is to get cloud backup as easily as possible with a product that comes with solid support. Datto seems to have achieved those goals.

Pros

It does cloud backup pretty seamlessly without much intervention. Their support is very good and they are fairly responsive and available.

Cons

The user interface is less than intuitive.

DA
AvatarImg

Daniel A.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Datto has a solid and reliable solution that you can count on.

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have been saved from cryptlocker more than once thanks to this product.

Pros

Back verification screen shots as proof of working backups Option of Local an/or Cloud virtualization and restore. Service and Support is great. Highly Configurable.

Cons

Datto is only available via registered re-sellers/partners so you are not able to get this service direct to your internal IT department.

Ai
AvatarImg

Alexander i.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Datto SIRIS: best choice for a proffesional BCDR solution

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Besides the ease of use and install, DATTO gives top quality support and allows you to configure alerts when backups have not run or successfull virtualisation fails. So you're always in the know.

Cons

Drive consistency checks are real strict and are not always fixed with checkdisk.

JK
AvatarImg

Jon K.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic product, Redundancy and Virtualization all combined.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Fantastic. Service and support is awesome.

Pros

It just works, It's pretty much set and forget. I know that Datto has my back when I have a device like this in place.

Cons

There is really nothing that the device does not have.

JW
AvatarImg

Joe W.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best product.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our experience has been great. Their support always comes through when needed.

Pros

Its feature rich and the simplicity is great.

Cons

The cost is about the only thing I don't like but looking at the big picture its worth it.

RB
AvatarImg

Richard B.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Datto Siris Review - The Ultimate Data Recovery Solution

Reviewed 3 years ago

Amazing products, Amazing Support, amazing Stall Designed to protect my enterprise clients from the threat of Ransomware

Pros

Easy and Fast. Simple yet powerful Portal

Cons

Sometimes the Portal reporting can be a bit buggy

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael S.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Datto is great

Reviewed 6 years ago

Datto pushes the philosophy of Business Continuity, not just Disaster Recovery, and they provide it.

Pros

Datto finally makes backups as close to set it and forget it as you can get. When there are problems, their support team go the extra mile to help you resolve the issue. It is a wonderful value.

Cons

I don't have anything negative to say about Datto backup.

MH
AvatarImg

Michael H.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Datto Good!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Painless with good RMR.

Pros

Setup was painless and has run flawlessly for over 3 years.

Cons

There was nothing to not like. Simple setup and works well.

JH
AvatarImg

James H.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Unbelievable functionality

Reviewed 5 years ago

My company has had a great experience with Datto Remote Management.

Pros

The full functionality for everything from software deployment, patch management, security baselines, etc.

Cons

There is a learning curve to get familiar with the dashboard, however once you see how it all works it makes sense.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bradley T.

Management Consulting, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great product ... but has a ways to go..

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I love the ability to manage all of my devices in one place, from running components to patch management. Datto has made my life easier!

Cons

Many many bugs .... The software tends to send the wrong signal and causes problems with determining which jobs have ran and which are scheduled. We are still unable to edit multiple components at once, which causes extreme slowness in day to day tasks.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Do it with Datto!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Ticketing, Task tracking, monitoring project status.

Pros

All task is integrated. Much easier to use than previous software we are using. Makes things so much much better.

Cons

Kinda slow sometimes, but support has been assisting us if there is any issues. Hoping no other issues will arise.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sarah U.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Everyone should have Datto!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Have used it for clients over the last few years. I love their support is always on top of things 24-7 if there are any issues and quick to help.

Pros

I like how easy is to use and how great customer service is!We use for the file and backup

Cons

Nothing everything about this software is fantastic!!