App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Datto SIRIS Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.6

/5

83
89%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.15/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

The software is top quality, the best in the business. Also the support team is American based and has personality and is very good.
Datto has been good to me for my needs. Anytime that I have a question, someone is there to help.
The most important thing with regards to business continuity services is speed and quality of support when it is required.
Support for the product and warranty that should cover if the unit fails but Datto support person chose to arbitrarily ignore the warranty and no explanation of why not.
Cost is usually a problem when we suggest them to clients and its a twofold problem. The monthly infinite cloud retention fees as well as the hardware itself can be quite exorbitant.
Staff who responds to a question: "I have no idea - go back to the person who sent you email" about our missing equipment. Tickets are open forever with no one taking responsibility and actions.

Datto SIRIS users...

ShadowProtect-logocaret
listing-logo
+ 2

ShadowProtect

Veeam Backup & Replication-logocaret
listing-logo

Veeam Backup & Replication

Acronis Cyber Backup-logocaret
listing-logo

Acronis Cyber Backup

Datto SIRIS-logocaret
listing-logo

Datto SIRIS

How would you rate Datto SIRIS?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


83 reviews

Recommended

CA
AvatarImg

Carl A.

IT Manager

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Best Backup solution

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Carl A.: Hi, I'm Carl. I'm a network engineer and I give Datto SIRIS a five out of five. For more reviews...

Overall Rating

A true Business Continuity solution

Reviewed 9 months ago

Transcript

Michael C.: Hi. I'm Mike. I'm an owner operator and I give Datto SIRIS a five out of five. For more reviews,...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SIRIS Rocks

Reviewed a year ago

The device and services backup as advertised. Safeguarding crucial infrastructure and minimizing downtime.

Pros

Easy to deploy, backups and safeguards your data and provides auto verification.

Cons

one or two of the pages could be easier to navigate to and from

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Datto Siris Review - The Ultimate Data Recovery Solution

Reviewed a year ago

Amazing products, Amazing Support, amazing Stall Designed to protect my enterprise clients from the threat of Ransomware

Pros

Easy and Fast. Simple yet powerful Portal

Cons

Sometimes the Portal reporting can be a bit buggy

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great RMM software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Datto has been good to me for my needs. Anytime that I have a question, someone is there to help.

Pros

Everything is at your fingertips. It is nice to be able to jump back and forth between the RMM software and PSA software with just a click of the mouse. Everything is imported and exported cleanly.

Cons

Right now there is not any support for MS Home products. This really hinders my company as we do a lot with MS Home clients.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Painfree ALTO to SIRIS upgrade

Reviewed a year ago

We love the migration setup and now have access to unlimited servers as our client expands further.

Pros

Our client needed more protection and had outgrown their ALTO3 hence to upgrade to the SIRIS unit, we were amazed at how simple the migration between devices was

Cons

There's nothing to not like with the Datto SIRIS

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Datto is great

Reviewed 4 years ago

Datto pushes the philosophy of Business Continuity, not just Disaster Recovery, and they provide it.

Pros

Datto finally makes backups as close to set it and forget it as you can get. When there are problems, their support team go the extra mile to help you resolve the issue. It is a wonderful value.

Cons

I don't have anything negative to say about Datto backup.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love this Backup Unit

Reviewed 3 years ago

Best backup solution I have used. Ease of use in GUI, backup speeds, agent based backup, screenshot verification, cloud mirroring Quick restore times with lots of restore options.

Pros

Ease of agent for servers/devices, appliance portal easy to use, many restore options, cloud mirroring, export to VHD, CHDX, VMD, VMDK or plain file restore through a UNC opath, local virtualization, support, BRM options with 2 free tests per year, their support provides free device upgrades

Cons

Support sometimes doesn't know what you are trying to do, so escalation a little slow,

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Easy to implement and manage. their customer support is excellent

Cons

don't have much interaction with sales team before purchasing products from Datto

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Datto Good!

Reviewed a year ago

Painless with good RMR.

Pros

Setup was painless and has run flawlessly for over 3 years.

Cons

There was nothing to not like. Simple setup and works well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Backup and store your files with Datto

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Datto has ease of use with the desktop applicaton syncing directly with Windows file explorer and the web access is handy when on the go.

Cons

Syncing with Datto can sometimes sturggle with more complex folders with a lot of files, but this can be managed by storing more single files as ZIPs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Unbelievable functionality

Reviewed 4 years ago

My company has had a great experience with Datto Remote Management.

Pros

The full functionality for everything from software deployment, patch management, security baselines, etc.

Cons

There is a learning curve to get familiar with the dashboard, however once you see how it all works it makes sense.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Datto SIRIS Value

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Great onsite appliance that provides both security and safekeeping of vital data.

Cons

There were some minor adjustments needed to customize the configuration. However, Customer/Technical Service support was very reactive for the assist.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Datto software can take and store excellent backups, but their interface routinely doesn't work.

Reviewed 4 years ago

The local backups are very reliable, they do offsite in a way that support can retrieve your data when needed, and the company if very polite and friendly, and will gladly explain why the part you need doesn't work.

Pros

Backups are easy to review and set up. If you are setting up a local backup and have simply server setups (Such as a stand alone Windows server) it is easy to take backups, manage images, and even get to files for fast restores.

Cons

Many features are published before they work, and if your server has any type of complication, such as encryption or being Linux, the backups fail. Support will routinely close a ticket just saying that they are aware something a feature doesn't work, and they suggest that if you would like them to work as advertised a feature request should be put it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great Experience and great Customer Service

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We use Datto for almost all of our SMBs. They are easy to set up, and reliable and easy to administer.

Cons

Very small form factor, and needs to have good ventilation. We have killed several boxes putting them into a too small area, and then they over heat.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great solution for backups

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Provides on-site backup to hardware device AND backup to cloud. It also allows you to spin up an instance of a server locally on the Datto device--- making emergency recoveries very quick.

Cons

Sometimes it has been difficult for my network support team to get timely or complete technical answers to support questions from Datto.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Do it with Datto!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Ticketing, Task tracking, monitoring project status.

Pros

All task is integrated. Much easier to use than previous software we are using. Makes things so much much better.

Cons

Kinda slow sometimes, but support has been assisting us if there is any issues. Hoping no other issues will arise.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Might be a very good product - but you may never find out

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Not sure if there are any benefits of the backup software product. Datto claims to offer other products and services

Cons

Arrogant sales people who don't know what they sell; Staff who responds to a question: "I have no idea - go back to the person who sent you email" about our missing equipment ; Tickets are open forever with no one taking responsibility and actions I am yet to receive an answer to a ticket that is now 8 months old to get someone to ship the faulty device back to us and remove our credit card from file. The entire story would take too much time to write up. Do they offer a good product? Maybe. The lack of service can turn any product into your personal nightmare.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Industry leader in dedicated backup and disaster recovery appliances

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Datto alerts integrate into our ticketing system and sends notices to our NOC engineers for fast remediation.

Cons

Cost is usually a problem when we suggest them to clients and its a twofold problem. The monthly infinite cloud retention fees as well as the hardware itself can be quite exorbitant.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

If you run a business, this is a must have.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Verifiable backup screenshots and a comprehensive cloud-based product dashboard.

Cons

My only complaint is the fact that if you need additional storage space, you can't add additional hard drives yourself. You have to go through Datto for that.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Everyone should have Datto!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Have used it for clients over the last few years. I love their support is always on top of things 24-7 if there are any issues and quick to help.

Pros

I like how easy is to use and how great customer service is!We use for the file and backup

Cons

Nothing everything about this software is fantastic!!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Beware missing files in backups

Reviewed 3 years ago

When we found files were not showing as expected during browsing or searching of the backups we contacted support. After several back and forth conversations about us using wild-card search or quotes or leaving out dashes and doing a screen share they eventually said that indexing must not be complete, there is no way to know when it will complete and it could take a month or more. At our company we can't wait a month or more in hopes that a file we need to restore will eventually magically show up.

Pros

The software was fairly straight forward to setup and assign licenses for. The setup options were reasonably intuitive.

Cons

Software dashboard showed backups completed successfully, but when we spot checked data there were large amounts of data missing. Since this is a backup solution it failed miserable at its only job - we could not successfully find and restore files from Google Shared Drives.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great All in One tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The abundance of tools that are available

Cons

The complexity of the user interface on the end user side

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Multi-Monitor and back up

Reviewed 3 years ago

I enjoy it, it helps us understand if there's multiple issues on a user PC where we can schedule remote support for after hours or recommend replacements.

Pros

An array of software to monitor computers. Able to to run back end processes without disrupting the current user logged in. Backup software.

Cons

Nagging notifications more than once a day making it seem like certain things are desperate - but they're just warnings.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great product ... but has a ways to go..

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love the ability to manage all of my devices in one place, from running components to patch management. Datto has made my life easier!

Cons

Many many bugs .... The software tends to send the wrong signal and causes problems with determining which jobs have ran and which are scheduled. We are still unable to edit multiple components at once, which causes extreme slowness in day to day tasks.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Datto does everything right, but it basically uses ShadowProtect infrastructure

Reviewed 4 years ago

Virtualizable backups from the backup media, nice BDR with great build quality, and good customer support.

Pros

Their BDR device is simple to set up, and works as expected. You can virtualize from your backup media, and reduce downtime considerably. Their support team is average - expect some wait time, but unfortunately pretty much all backup software we've tried is about the same on support.

Cons

It seems like the BDR box that Datto builds is the only thing unique to the service. It's a lot cheaper to just configure your own BDR and use something like Acronis or ShadowProtect to do your backups. I gave this 4-5 stars on everything except value for money, because I think you can do the same thing for cheaper.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Acceptable Product,Bu There are Better Options

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I would say that Datto is an acceptable product for system backups, but there are better alternatives.

Pros

For the most part, Datto works as expected. Backups are completed and restorations work. Remote management is good.

Cons

The product simply doesn't work as seamlessly as competing products. Support can be hard to work with at times. We have had more backup errors and performance impacts on protected systems then we do with other products.