App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Comet Backup Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.7

/5

38
97%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.11/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The pricing is very fair for a product like this and I love that you can brand the client to look and feel like your business.
After a few evaluations we came to Comet, has a good pricing model, it's easy to start with and we are a happy user for more than 2 years.
I was impressed by the ease of use of the server, how to deploy agents and how easy was to extract information from the server to report to our users how the backup was protecting their information.
Storage vaults is bit confusing. Local vault and UNC file might have a problem connecting.
The interface is a little confuse, paths to the options are not directly.
Reporting is a bit weak if a customer sked for a report on their backups.

Comet Backup users...

MSP360 Managed Backup-logocaret
avatar
avatar
listing-logo
+ 2

MSP360 Managed Backup

Ahsay Offsite Backup Server-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Ahsay Offsite Backup Server

CrashPlan-logocaret
listing-logo

CrashPlan

Rapid Recovery-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Rapid Recovery

How would you rate Comet Backup?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


38 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Backup software for MSP or Small Business

Reviewed 2 months ago

My overall experience from the Onboarding Video Call to getting it all setup and running has been great. Any questions or issues have been taken care of quickly, and I can have the peace of mind that stuff is safe.

Pros

We got this software as a solution for our MSP business. It has all of the features that you need backup client's equipment without breaking the bank.

Cons

There are some parts to it that are confusing in the initial scheduling of the backups, but once you do it a few times it gets better.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Comet backup for a Cloud provider

Reviewed a year ago

We were looking for a backup application that should be able to store efficiently the backup jobs to a cloud storage without using local temporal space. After a few evaluations we came to Comet, has a good pricing model, it's easy to start with and we are a happy user for more than 2 years. We are running hundred of backup jobs each day, and a few restores each quarter (we are lucky), and we never had any issue caused by Comet Backup.

Pros

I was impressed by the ease of use of the server, how to deploy agents and how easy was to extract information from the server to report to our users how the backup was protecting their information. Also, every time we opened a case with Comet, response time and quality was top notch.

Cons

It doesn't integrate (yet) with change tracking with the hypervisor so all the virtual disk has to be read each time, and that it'd be nice to integrate with S3 protocol Object locks to hedge against potential ramsonware attacks. I know that they are on it on both things but still not available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Comet Backup is my GoTo for backup products

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Inexpensive, good features, remote control

Cons

If it were integrated with my Datto CRM and RMM product, it would make things somewhat better.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Backup solution

Reviewed a year ago

Overall really good for MSP customers.

Pros

The file backup part is really good. All the options for backup is really good. The features are a must. Work really smooth once its is setup

Cons

Storage vaults is bit confusing. Local vault and UNC file might have a problem connecting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent backup software

Reviewed a year ago

We have used a fair number of backup software, all with some challenges. With Comet we have no issues at all.

Pros

Backup servers are available for Windows and Linux. Installation and configuration is very easy. Setup and executing backup jobs works perfect. Restore also no problems. They make new versions very regular, so many new features over time.

Cons

Overal the product works great. For virtual machine backup we use different software. If at some point this could be integrated in Comet backup, that would be excellent!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Backup for MSPs

Reviewed a year ago

I've been really happy with Comet since the minute we started using them. I'm very happy with the switch! The Web UI is fast and responsive. You have lots of flexibility in choosing either to store backups on Comet Server or on an S3 provider like Azure (or any other that you might want to use).

Pros

The pricing is very fair for a product like this and I love that you can brand the client to look and feel like your business.

Cons

Not too much in the cons field. If I was to list one I would say the lack of continuous backup. You can work around this by scheduling multiple jobs a day but isn't as ideal as solutions we've used in the past.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great self-hosted multiplatform backup solution

Reviewed a year ago

We use Comet to backup key data and systems for our clients as well as for ourselves.

Pros

Comet has a light footprint, native applications (no Java client) and has a plethora of supported backup sources including Windows, Mac, Linux, databases, windows bare metal and more. It works reliably and offers flexible implementation options. The server software includes SSL certificate generation, data sync to other servers and more.

Cons

Server setup and implementation took a bit of work but once it is set up it works well. The management interface takes a bit to get used to. It would be nice if we could have more fine-grained control of server-to-server data sync.. e.g. syncing overnight.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome Backup for MSPs

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have Comet install on a digital ocean server. Customers are managed from this and backed up directly to S3.

Pros

Very easy to use and setup. Runs on Linux. Low resources.

Cons

Interface needs some maturity but it is getting there.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Comet Backup

Reviewed a year ago

We used this to back up a small number of Windows servers at a hosting provider in Germany, it served its purpose well for this particular application but as we have added more servers the time required to add new servers, make config changes and ensure backups go through successfully took a lot of time. We specifically also needed a quick and easy bare-metal restore feature which was at the time still in development with comet backup.

Pros

The price point and flexibility to use a storage backend of your choice

Cons

A fair amount of manual intervention required initially and the agent deployment and user interface is not 100% obvious with regards to storage policies and locations

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A solid choice for MSP’s

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Easy to use. Full control and effective backup system. Implementation is easy and clients and end users like the easy to use interface.

Cons

Server can be a bit tricky to setup but the knowledge base was very good and provided all the answers we needed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A solid modern backup solution

Reviewed a year ago

We use Comet Backup for backing up our own servers and services, and now also provide managed backup services to clients. Being a software company ourselves, we really like how Comet can be configured and customized.

Pros

The combined feature set of Comet Backup is quite unique in this price range. The ability to manage multiple clients, on your own hardware, with your own branding, with data deduplication was something we did not find in other products. The licensing model is not prohibitive as it grows with usage with no initial investment required. We were able to integrate Comet Backup well into our system landscape, even with monitoring.

Cons

Being a "younger" product than some enterprise backup solutions, there are still some rough edges which needed attention from the producer or where we had to implement workarounds. The scheduling part and performance when using the Comet Server as storage destination are some of the parts where we struggle the most with.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed a year ago

I have used Comet Backup for years now and am very happy with it. We have used it for various different scenarios and there is an option for every type of backup needed.

Pros

The support is the best, I always test new features as they are released and have questions regarding them, I always get a response the same day.

Cons

The web interface is a bit clunky, I wish they would redo it, there is plenty of room for improvement.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outstanding customer service for outstanding software!

Reviewed a year ago

Comet makes offering backup services to my clients so incredibly easy. Comet's support team is just completely amazing, my last interaction with support sold me on Comet for life - I've been in IT professionally for 4 years now and have worked with support teams from ISPs to Medical Software companies, and no one even comes close to how fantastic Comet's support team is.

Pros

Account-wide deduplication and compression make storage footprint much smaller and backups much quicker. User interface is clean and easy to use. Administration side of things is packed with incredibly useful features and options. I can customize policies to fit the software for any of my clients, whether they're more techy and prefer to do things themselves or a company that prefers totally managed IT services.

Cons

Linux support is very lacking - I can't use Comet to backup any of my Linux servers to the extent of less-than-a-day disaster recovery. More thorough branding options for the backup client could be nice.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple and effective backup system. Perfect support.

Reviewed 6 months ago

The solution was great for solving problems that were occurring with our customers. Easy implementation, effective support, and attractive prices.

Pros

Clear pricing policy, one of the best value for money for MSP, efficient support and really safe solution.

Cons

Initially it may take some time to understand its concept, which in our opinion differs a little from traditional backup systems, but after a short time everything is working perfectly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

best online data backup platform

Reviewed 3 months ago

my overall experience with Comet Backup is that after trying their services, I can see why they were so highly recommended. They have a simple, easy to use and cost effective solution for data backup.

Pros

I have always been looking for a reliable back up storage on the cloud, that would be secure, fast and easy to use. I was looking for a piece of software that would allow me to back up my clients data, get the most out of the cloud and make sure that my company can grow and support more clients. Comet Backup offers a user-friendly platform designed to help you manage your data in the cloud, along with a reliable back up storage solution. The platform has a Windows version is available in 11 languages.

Cons

what I don't like is that the virtual machine backup is not done with cometbackup, it would be really nice if they thought to include that in their system

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Comet Backup

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Everything. it just works and is easy to use for all functions

Cons

Reporting is a bit weak if a customer sked for a report on their backups

Vendor response

Hi Gary, Thanks for leaving a review! We appreciate the feedback. If you visit our integrations page (https://cometbackup.com/integrations) & filter by "monitoring" you will see a half dozen options that can assist with reporting, including MyClient and Backup Radar. Warm regards, Comet Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Affordable Backup for most use cases

Reviewed a year ago

Great so far.

Pros

Large array of storage options. Large array of supported platforms Native Hyper-V Integration Basic Linux support Great pricing model

Cons

Could use KVM/libvirt integration on Linux as well as support for more Distributions More robust error reporting when jobs fail is needed

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Flexible Backup Service

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

Comet is flexible in their hosing, backup, and restore options allowing us to be flexible with our customer’s needs. The flexibility in hosting options for us is critical. In the last two years of using Comet, we have transferred from using AWS S3 backing to Wasabi + client self-host servers without a single issue. The ability to self-host the server out of a docker container and scale it in our existing compute resources (Kubernetes) is an excellent option that we take advantage of. File backup plus select system images have been super helpful for recovery. We have been able to restore a full system image to a VM for a client well we rebuilt their main hardware.

Cons

- Extra cost for system images backs. - Unable to restore a file from a different account. - Our interface is starting to look outdated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Comet Backup in small MSP Environment

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I liked the cross platform use of the product for mac and windows. I liked the integration into backblaze. I liked the pay per use pricing model where I only pay for customers as I add them into the software.

Cons

Having to run the software on a server instead of managed by Comet as Comets pricing is expensive. Unable to integrate the installer with my Syncro MSP software. Requires multiple steps to setup backup client on client system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Backup Já

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, it works very well, it meets the demands of my clients.

Pros

very easy to use attractive price very easy to use attractive price

Cons

Does not backup VMware Does not backup VMware

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product for msp on super competitive prices

Reviewed a year ago

Great product which we rely on to backup our customers data, and it's doing its job really good

Pros

The web dashboard, the multi os client, the multi tenancy and white label . Is the best thing about comet. At this prices it's a bargain

Cons

A little bit rough interface, not very intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Happy Backerupperer

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Local (NZ) support White label Easy central management

Cons

Linux client support poor Setup wizard needs to rerun for changes

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Perfect software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use and managed, very simple to install en fast product

Cons

We would like to use also for office 365 backup

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Comet FTW

Reviewed 8 months ago

9/10 Best Solution and Fastest we have ever used.

Pros

Quality Data Backups To Multi-Platform and From Multi-Platform

Cons

Non descript Errors when a problem arises.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rock solid backup software.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ability to white label the software, and run our own infrastructure has been fantastic.

Cons

There was nothing we found lacking in what we wanted to use Comet Backup for. The software met our checklist in every way.