This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Backup Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Data is easily accessible from everywhere and backups are generated automatically and efficiently. The ability to access old versions of backups is especially helpful to never lose progress.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Solid file and database backup feature. Versioning is built into the product with customization of schedules and standardization across customer base is excellent.

KW

Kelly W.

Very good customer support, and useful online backup function.

JB

Joshua B.

Cons

The load of functions can be overwhelming, especially with all of the cryptic abbreviations. Honestly though, this is not a real con, but rather my own problem.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Lack of support SQL Server 2017, Difficult to review backup manage stats vs billed amounts.

AT

Andrew T.

Inability to RESTORE to "another location" OTHER than the local C: drive of the computer you are administering from.

RM

Rick M.

Overall rating

4.6

5

4

3

2

1

20

10

1

0

0

97%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


31 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple And Effective Backup

Reviewed 3 years ago

SolarWinds saved the day when disaster struck one of our clients, we were able to restore everything quickly and easily as if nothing had happened. Common backup and rescue media is easy to create. Customer support was easy to deal with. We have experienced no issues using SolarWinds Backup and recommend it to all of our clients.

Pros

SolarWinds Backup is easy and efficient to use. The web interface is easy to use. Just simply install on the devices and you are ready to go. You own your own data. There are no storage limits which is an asset.

Cons

There are a few limits on the scheduling features but we have managed to work around them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Backup Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall is being great, a few glitches but support try there best to meet your expectations.

Pros

Baremetal recovery is amazing it just works.

Cons

Recent Updates where it does not tell you what is the issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

N-Able Backups

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

The dashboard makes use of the product very simple.

Cons

There was not anything that I did not like.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

backup and restore

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

tried this tool to have it integrated with other SolarWinds products and its a pretty decent solution.

Cons

There are better products out there with more features and alesser cost.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy and clean

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Easy to use. Very straight-forward. Clean

Cons

Nothing to complaining about this product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Solarwinds backup made my life easier

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is easy to setup and maintain and works mostly without any problems.

Cons

The portal is sometimes down due to maintenance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simplicity and Trust

Reviewed 2 years ago

Solarwinds set a stand and bar for the industry to match at minimal and best if capable.

Pros

Simplicity. It just works. Thats a huge plus.

Cons

Help and how-to sections are a bit flaky to navigate around.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Never regretted the change to SolarWinds Backup

Reviewed 7 months ago

I recently made the "big step" to set up an external server for my work. Since then, smaller, non-business optimized cloud services didn't seem to scale up in pricing and protection, so i subscribed to SolarWinds Backup. It obviously has a ton of tools, that i might never need. But since my daily work routine is based on different projects with different customers, it's crucial to have a central storage point, that is easily accessible from everywhere and reliably saves all the steps of editing.

Pros

With several backup-steps SolarWinds Backup assures a complete protection from dataloss. Data is easily accessible from everywhere and backups are generated automatically and efficiently. The ability to access old versions of backups is especially helpful to never lose progress!

Cons

I didn't encounter any real problems with this software. The load of functions can be overwhelming, especially with all of the cryptic abbreviations. Honestly though, this is not a real con, but rather my own problem!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reliable backups, excellent interface.

Reviewed 6 months ago

I've used other backup software in the past and I can say this is the best one I've ever used, hands down.

Pros

Backups are reliable and easy to implement at any time. You can store multiple weeks or even months of backups at a time, and restoring data when needed is a snap!

Cons

Getting help from SolarWinds support can take a few days if they're busy; a very good knowledge base is available to all users and can usually resolve most issues, but speaking to an actual engineer for difficult troubleshooting can be difficult to get started.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solar Winds Backup reasonable price a the secure backup

Reviewed 3 years ago

Started with the Solarwinds backup and later moved to RMM. Only thing I wish is that I wish it would be easier to move from the Solarwinds backup to the RMM Backup. If you want to move from one ot the other you loos past backups.. so timing is crucial.

Pros

Once installed it just does the job. Often going several months without any issues in backing up the system.

Cons

Somewhat difficult to learn, but is logical and the support is good.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Must recommended flexible and reliable product for SMB or Enterpraise

Reviewed 10 days ago

plays a crucial role in Disaster recovery as we follow strict compliance. Managing Multiple VM servers, backup, encryptions, or restore easily in operations in though a bit worried about its console.

Pros

It is a next-generation product in backup very flexible and feasible to handle. backup solution's primary use case is to handle multiple products which can be able to support multiple platforms and along with scalability and feasibility in utilization.

Cons

Console to user roles created like especially admin is not such great in performing actions and Multiple servers handling is also a challenge.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very solid, but expensive with some restoration hiccups

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, I have been happy with the product. The online backup option has decreased the amount of time spent working with clients to connect local backup drives. Support has been very helpful.

Pros

Overall, Solarwinds Backup just works with little intervention needed. I was skeptical of what was promised by the sales people, but after using it, I was very impressed. The online backup function helps to ensure backups always complete if local hardware is disconnected or failed.

Cons

I have run into some problems that have delayed restores, but in each instance, support has been able to help restore the device successfully. It would be nice if there was a local only option for backups. The price of the product is higher than other options.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solarwinds Backup

Reviewed 2 years ago

Fantastic product

Pros

Easy of install and setup, ease of Use, accuracy, recovery option

Cons

Lack of support SQL Server 2017, Difficult to review backup manage stats vs billed amounts

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

N-Central & SolarWinds Backup

Reviewed 2 years ago

Solid file and database backup feature. Versioning is built into the product with customization of schedules and standardization across customer base is excellent. I've used many different products and consider SolarWinds backup to re reliable and dependable.

Pros

It is fully integrated into N-Central, SolarWinds RMM product. This allows for centralized management from the RMM console and easy templating and monitoring of the backups themselves.

Cons

When compared to Veeam or other mature products it is lacking in features. However, direct apples to apples comparisons it does a very good job of file level and database level backups.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great backup software!

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's been great so far! I've recovered several customer files that were inadvertently deleted with very little trouble.

Pros

It's very reliable, especially the VDR restore tests that you can run on a ESX or HyperV box. I have very little issues with the product after the initial deployment.

Cons

I wish that the RMM version had as many features as the standalone version. Not having the capability to restore to the cloud would be nice.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solid and reliable

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The best thing about this solution is that you don't have to babysit it much. 95% of our client backups work without a hitch. Never had any problems restoring from backups.

Cons

The Exchange restore is kind of a challenge, especially if the database is large. No built in tools for granular restore of mailboxes, You have to use powershell.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple and Easy Backup Tool for MSP's!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Coming from a backup provider where we continually experienced issues both with the product and support, it was a relief to finally not spent an hour or two a day resolving issues and/or working with support. This was defiantly a great solution to move to!

Pros

We have been using Solarwinds Backup and Recovery for a couple years now. It just works! We like how it is VSS based, very simple to setup and run into very few backup issues. This allows for our backup margins to be high since we simply install it on the devices and sit back and watch it work! The web interface is simple to use and the support has been fantastic.

Cons

One thing we wish it did is truncate the SQL logs while in Full Recovery mode.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great backup product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great product, cost effective solution.

Pros

Software is easy to use, set up, and administer. Also the cost is so much better than competing localized products

Cons

1. Inability to RESTORE to "another location" OTHER than the local C: drive of the computer you are administering from.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Been using the product for over a year now for our MSP customers, works awesome.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Local and remote backup for our clients with easy to use single pain of glass for problems.

Pros

Ease of use is the KEY to this software. Further you can use your OWN offsite dataVol, a lot of products force proprietary dataVols or their cloud storage.

Cons

Some scheduling limitations. Interface could use a couple "tweaks". Can not replicate local to more then ONE remote dataVol.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It's a great product which is fully supported 24x7 both by email and speaking with a live support.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's a great product for client with both large and small amounts of data. Easy to install and configure.

Cons

Not easy to setup if you want passing clients to run a free trial and download the software and create their own account without contacting someone in Administration.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It's a great Hybrid (local/remote) data protection product for SMB clients.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Cloud Management Console includes great monitoring and alerting capabilities for entire customer base. Very knowledgeable 24/7 support. Proven to have easily recovered clients from Ransomware attacks.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fast, professional backup

Reviewed 4 years ago

Hybrid backup. On-site and cloud backup included. Saved the day when disaster struck at a clients site.

Pros

Simple to use, enterprise class features, very fair on the storage limits, no gimmicks. 24/7 support. Above all I saved a clients burning building from this backup service. You can schedule backups nightly, twice a day, or down to every hour if you choose.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Complete and reliable backups with powerful additional features.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Practical solution that provides a backup and recovery tool to prevent reconfiguration in the event of system failures.

Pros

It is very accurate in the creation of copies of the entire computer including user, application and configuration data, as well as the operating system, it allows the planning of common backups and creates rescue media that are necessary in case of incident with the workstations.

Cons

It has a wide range of configurable options so it is necessary to study your options calmly so that the data backup is reliable and adequate according to each requirement.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reliable data archiving and retrieval software

Reviewed 3 years ago

There is worrying and complains over data loss in case of a shuttering cyber attack

Pros

There is a free software available for demo to enable the buyer make an informed decision to buy the product Its easy to install and use the software

Cons

In organizations that do not have secure foolproof mechanisms, an attack on their servers may lead to leakage of crucial and confidential information

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Useful online backup tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Very good customer support, and useful online backup function

Cons

No local only option for backups, and relatively expensive complete product

Vendor response

Thanks for trying SolarWinds Backup. I would like to clarify one point - we do provide the ability to keep an optional local copy of your backups, using the storage hardware of your choice. Our backup process is direct-to-cloud, and not dependent upon a local appliance or aggregator, which eliminates a potential single point of failure.