SolarWinds Backup Reviews

SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

4.63/5 (16 reviews)

Eli Person

Very solid, but expensive with some restoration hiccups

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-05
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, I have been happy with the product. The online backup option has decreased the amount of time spent working with clients to connect local backup drives. Support has been very helpful.

Pros
Overall, Solarwinds Backup just works with little intervention needed. I was skeptical of what was promised by the sales people, but after using it, I was very impressed. The online backup function helps to ensure backups always complete if local hardware is disconnected or failed.

Cons
I have run into some problems that have delayed restores, but in each instance, support has been able to help restore the device successfully. It would be nice if there was a local only option for backups. The price of the product is higher than other options.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Mike Mueller

Simple And Effective Backup

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-02-15
Review Source: Capterra

SolarWinds saved the day when disaster struck one of our clients, we were able to restore everything quickly and easily as if nothing had happened. Common backup and rescue media is easy to create. Customer support was easy to deal with. We have experienced no issues using SolarWinds Backup and recommend it to all of our clients.

Pros
SolarWinds Backup is easy and efficient to use. The web interface is easy to use. Just simply install on the devices and you are ready to go. You own your own data. There are no storage limits which is an asset.

Cons
There are a few limits on the scheduling features but we have managed to work around them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Mark Smith

Solid and reliable

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The best thing about this solution is that you don't have to babysit it much. 95% of our client backups work without a hitch. Never had any problems restoring from backups.

Cons
The Exchange restore is kind of a challenge, especially if the database is large. No built in tools for granular restore of mailboxes, You have to use powershell.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Anonymous

Simple and Easy Backup Tool for MSP's!

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-10
Review Source: Capterra

Coming from a backup provider where we continually experienced issues both with the product and support, it was a relief to finally not spent an hour or two a day resolving issues and/or working with support. This was defiantly a great solution to move to!

Pros
We have been using Solarwinds Backup and Recovery for a couple years now. It just works! We like how it is VSS based, very simple to setup and run into very few backup issues. This allows for our backup margins to be high since we simply install it on the devices and sit back and watch it work! The web interface is simple to use and the support has been fantastic.

Cons
One thing we wish it did is truncate the SQL logs while in Full Recovery mode.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Bob Watson

Solar Winds Backup reasonable price a the secure backup

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-11-20
Review Source: Capterra

Started with the Solarwinds backup and later moved to RMM. Only thing I wish is that I wish it would be easier to move from the Solarwinds backup to the RMM Backup. If you want to move from one ot the other you loos past backups.. so timing is crucial.

Pros
Once installed it just does the job. Often going several months without any issues in backing up the system.

Cons
Somewhat difficult to learn, but is logical and the support is good.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Brad Mousseau

Been using the product for over a year now for our MSP customers, works awesome.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-08-23
Review Source: Capterra

Local and remote backup for our clients with easy to use single pain of glass for problems.

Pros
Ease of use is the KEY to this software. Further you can use your OWN offsite dataVol, a lot of products force proprietary dataVols or their cloud storage.

Cons
Some scheduling limitations. Interface could use a couple "tweaks". Can not replicate local to more then ONE remote dataVol.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Wayne Scoins

It's a great product which is fully supported 24x7 both by email and speaking with a live support.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-08-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It's a great product for client with both large and small amounts of data. Easy to install and configure.

Cons
Not easy to setup if you want passing clients to run a free trial and download the software and create their own account without contacting someone in Administration.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Mark Chesher

It's a great Hybrid (local/remote) data protection product for SMB clients.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-08-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Cloud Management Console includes great monitoring and alerting capabilities for entire customer base. Very knowledgeable 24/7 support. Proven to have easily recovered clients from Ransomware attacks.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Jeff Olejnik

Fast, professional backup

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-08-23
Review Source: Capterra

Hybrid backup. On-site and cloud backup included. Saved the day when disaster struck at a clients site.

Pros
Simple to use, enterprise class features, very fair on the storage limits, no gimmicks. 24/7 support. Above all I saved a clients burning building from this backup service. You can schedule backups nightly, twice a day, or down to every hour if you choose.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Solianny Antonieta Fernández Zaragoza

Complete and reliable backups with powerful additional features.

Used occasionally for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-05-13
Review Source: Capterra

Practical solution that provides a backup and recovery tool to prevent reconfiguration in the event of system failures.

Pros
It is very accurate in the creation of copies of the entire computer including user, application and configuration data, as well as the operating system, it allows the planning of common backups and creates rescue media that are necessary in case of incident with the workstations.

Cons
It has a wide range of configurable options so it is necessary to study your options calmly so that the data backup is reliable and adequate according to each requirement.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Robert Wanjohi

Reliable data archiving and retrieval software

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-06-08
Review Source: Capterra

There is worrying and complains over data loss in case of a shuttering cyber attack

Pros
There is a free software available for demo to enable the buyer make an informed decision to buy the product Its easy to install and use the software

Cons
In organizations that do not have secure foolproof mechanisms, an attack on their servers may lead to leakage of crucial and confidential information

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Oliver Staunton

Brilliant backup

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-03-17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
backing up my work is very easy to do. the software is especially good with office 365. which i use a lot.

Cons
backing up takes a very long time. i don't know if it's my computer but it just takes so long.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Opeyemi Olaniyi

solarwinds review

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-12-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The installation time take the lead as it is pretty straightforward and less complicated when compared to other softwares have used. Branding of clients is one feature i find intriguing and useful plus the entire process is easy to do.

Cons
I am disgruntled by the fact that solarwinds backup does not allow for multiple backup sets and the inability to choose whether data is to be store locally or in the cloud is also pretty annoying

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

mark renwick

Simple

Used occasionally for free trial
Reviewed 2019-02-21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
very easy to understand through the use of the dashboard

Cons
it can be a bit cluttered on the dashboard.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Anonymous

More than enough

Used monthly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-02-18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Backup and Recovery is very intuitive and easy to use, the support is always available to help you in case you face any issue. great set of features.

Cons
there is limitations on the scheduling feature, and while the interface is good it still needs some touches to make it perfect.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service

Fibras y Normas de colombia S.A.S

Rating only

Reviewed 2018-07-31
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Minimize review


SolarWinds Backup

Cloud-first data protection service