App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Cove Data Protection Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

37

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.79/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Solid file and database backup feature. Versioning is built into the product with customization of schedules and standardization across customer base is excellent.
It's a great product which is fully supported 24x7 both by email and speaking with a live support.
Very good customer support, and useful online backup function.
Being charged for storage not actually used. My very first backup was a server.
The load of functions can be overwhelming, especially with all of the cryptic abbreviations. Honestly though, this is not a real con, but rather my own problem.
Lack of support SQL Server 2017, Difficult to review backup manage stats vs billed amounts.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


37 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mike M.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple And Effective Backup

Reviewed 5 years ago

SolarWinds saved the day when disaster struck one of our clients, we were able to restore everything quickly and easily as if nothing had happened. Common backup and rescue media is easy to create. Customer support was easy to deal with. We have experienced no issues using SolarWinds Backup and recommend it to all of our clients.

Pros

SolarWinds Backup is easy and efficient to use. The web interface is easy to use. Just simply install on the devices and you are ready to go. You own your own data. There are no storage limits which is an asset.

Cons

There are a few limits on the scheduling features but we have managed to work around them.

JW
AvatarImg

Joseph W.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Be careful before implementing

Reviewed a year ago

Being charged for storage not actually used. My very first backup was a server. Someone had a 5TB external plugged in as I set up the backup. It was then excluded from the backup. It never backed up the external drive, but I was still charged for the storage because it was "selected" for a single day. I explained this to their support team, and their response was, "This is how we charge." I will...

Pros

It was easy to setup for office 365 and easy to recover items in 365. It was easy to locate and restore files in server backups

Cons

Difficulty in setting up. No help in setting up. How they charge. Poor customer service

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

backup and restore

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

tried this tool to have it integrated with other SolarWinds products and its a pretty decent solution.

Cons

There are better products out there with more features and alesser cost.

RG
AvatarImg

Ramon G.

Management Consulting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Backup Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall is being great, a few glitches but support try there best to meet your expectations.

Pros

Baremetal recovery is amazing it just works.

Cons

Recent Updates where it does not tell you what is the issue.

ss
AvatarImg

shabbir s.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Must recommended flexible and reliable product for SMB or Enterpraise

Reviewed 3 years ago

plays a crucial role in Disaster recovery as we follow strict compliance. Managing Multiple VM servers, backup, encryptions, or restore easily in operations in though a bit worried about its console.

Pros

It is a next-generation product in backup very flexible and feasible to handle. backup solution's primary use case is to handle multiple products which can be able to support multiple platforms and along with scalability and feasibility in utilization.

Cons

Console to user roles created like especially admin is not such great in performing actions and Multiple servers handling is also a challenge.

RC
AvatarImg

Russell C.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cloud backup that works well for Hyper-V or VMWare.

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Our Hyper-V backups work very well. We get a daily report about each backup with detailed analytics and information. We love the cost and value of the product as well as the peace of mind of having immutable backups off-site. It also allows for a local "Speed vault" so local copies of the backups can be used for quick restores.

Cons

I misunderstood some of the initial setup of the product and was using it incorrectly. My fault, but support made me aware of the changes I needed to make and now we have it humming right along!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple and Easy Backup Tool for MSP's!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Coming from a backup provider where we continually experienced issues both with the product and support, it was a relief to finally not spent an hour or two a day resolving issues and/or working with support. This was defiantly a great solution to move to!

Pros

We have been using Solarwinds Backup and Recovery for a couple years now. It just works! We like how it is VSS based, very simple to setup and run into very few backup issues. This allows for our backup margins to be high since we simply install it on the devices and sit back and watch it work! The web interface is simple to use and the support has been fantastic.

Cons

One thing we wish it did is truncate the SQL logs while in Full Recovery mode.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Music, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Never regretted the change to SolarWinds Backup

Reviewed 3 years ago

I recently made the "big step" to set up an external server for my work. Since then, smaller, non-business optimized cloud services didn't seem to scale up in pricing and protection, so i subscribed to SolarWinds Backup. It obviously has a ton of tools, that i might never need. But since my daily work routine is based on different projects with different customers, it's crucial to have a central storage point, that is easily accessible from everywhere and reliably saves all the steps of editing.

Pros

With several backup-steps SolarWinds Backup assures a complete protection from dataloss. Data is easily accessible from everywhere and backups are generated automatically and efficiently. The ability to access old versions of backups is especially helpful to never lose progress!

Cons

I didn't encounter any real problems with this software. The load of functions can be overwhelming, especially with all of the cryptic abbreviations. Honestly though, this is not a real con, but rather my own problem!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gary G.

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reliable backups, excellent interface.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've used other backup software in the past and I can say this is the best one I've ever used, hands down.

Pros

Backups are reliable and easy to implement at any time. You can store multiple weeks or even months of backups at a time, and restoring data when needed is a snap!

Cons

Getting help from SolarWinds support can take a few days if they're busy; a very good knowledge base is available to all users and can usually resolve most issues, but speaking to an actual engineer for difficult troubleshooting can be difficult to get started.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bob W.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solar Winds Backup reasonable price a the secure backup

Reviewed 5 years ago

Started with the Solarwinds backup and later moved to RMM. Only thing I wish is that I wish it would be easier to move from the Solarwinds backup to the RMM Backup. If you want to move from one ot the other you loos past backups.. so timing is crucial.

Pros

Once installed it just does the job. Often going several months without any issues in backing up the system.

Cons

Somewhat difficult to learn, but is logical and the support is good.

AB
AvatarImg

Arjan B.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Solarwinds backup made my life easier

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is easy to setup and maintain and works mostly without any problems.

Cons

The portal is sometimes down due to maintenance.

DC
AvatarImg

Dustin C.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cove Data Backup is a set and forget backu product.

Reviewed a year ago

All in all I am very happy with this product, I am not looking for an alternative for my basic file and folder backup and restoration for our clients

Pros

Super easy to deploy, doesn't even require a reboot; and you are up and running.

Cons

Restore is great; but the disaster recovery options are limited.For clients with 100s of thousands of files; restoring files that you are looking for is not searchable from the restore GUI; and the virtual disk can be really slow to index.

JG
AvatarImg

Jaden G.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

great product for workstation backups

Reviewed a year ago

We use this software for everything from full server restores to single file restores. It always does its job.

Pros

This product is extremally easy to use. In just a few minutes you can restore a file or folder to a users machine to to a server.

Cons

Other than it working a bit slow sometimes which it to be expected with a backup software, I do not have any real complaints about it.

BC
AvatarImg

Brian C.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simplicity and Trust

Reviewed 4 years ago

Solarwinds set a stand and bar for the industry to match at minimal and best if capable.

Pros

Simplicity. It just works. Thats a huge plus.

Cons

Help and how-to sections are a bit flaky to navigate around.

EP
AvatarImg

Eli P.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very solid, but expensive with some restoration hiccups

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, I have been happy with the product. The online backup option has decreased the amount of time spent working with clients to connect local backup drives. Support has been very helpful.

Pros

Overall, Solarwinds Backup just works with little intervention needed. I was skeptical of what was promised by the sales people, but after using it, I was very impressed. The online backup function helps to ensure backups always complete if local hardware is disconnected or failed.

Cons

I have run into some problems that have delayed restores, but in each instance, support has been able to help restore the device successfully. It would be nice if there was a local only option for backups. The price of the product is higher than other options.

AT
AvatarImg

Andrew T.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solarwinds Backup

Reviewed 4 years ago

Fantastic product

Pros

Easy of install and setup, ease of Use, accuracy, recovery option

Cons

Lack of support SQL Server 2017, Difficult to review backup manage stats vs billed amounts

KW
AvatarImg

Kelly W.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

N-Central & SolarWinds Backup

Reviewed 4 years ago

Solid file and database backup feature. Versioning is built into the product with customization of schedules and standardization across customer base is excellent. I've used many different products and consider SolarWinds backup to re reliable and dependable.

Pros

It is fully integrated into N-Central, SolarWinds RMM product. This allows for centralized management from the RMM console and easy templating and monitoring of the backups themselves.

Cons

When compared to Veeam or other mature products it is lacking in features. However, direct apples to apples comparisons it does a very good job of file level and database level backups.

JR
AvatarImg

Jacob R.

Computer Hardware, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great backup software!

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's been great so far! I've recovered several customer files that were inadvertently deleted with very little trouble.

Pros

It's very reliable, especially the VDR restore tests that you can run on a ESX or HyperV box. I have very little issues with the product after the initial deployment.

Cons

I wish that the RMM version had as many features as the standalone version. Not having the capability to restore to the cloud would be nice.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mark S.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solid and reliable

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The best thing about this solution is that you don't have to babysit it much. 95% of our client backups work without a hitch. Never had any problems restoring from backups.

Cons

The Exchange restore is kind of a challenge, especially if the database is large. No built in tools for granular restore of mailboxes, You have to use powershell.

RT
AvatarImg

Romil T.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use for backups

Reviewed 10 days ago

It takes automatic backups for the mailboxes and files. Also provide error if there is any failure. Its fast, recovers in minutes.

Pros

This is easy to use. Easy to restore files. Easy to see backup status and other the information. Would recommend it to all.

Cons

Nothing that I can think of. Just if it has multifactor option with notifications factor, its easy to tap on it and put number.

RM
AvatarImg

Rick M.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great backup product

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great product, cost effective solution.

Pros

Software is easy to use, set up, and administer. Also the cost is so much better than competing localized products

Cons

1. Inability to RESTORE to "another location" OTHER than the local C: drive of the computer you are administering from.

BM
AvatarImg

Brad M.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Been using the product for over a year now for our MSP customers, works awesome.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Local and remote backup for our clients with easy to use single pain of glass for problems.

Pros

Ease of use is the KEY to this software. Further you can use your OWN offsite dataVol, a lot of products force proprietary dataVols or their cloud storage.

Cons

Some scheduling limitations. Interface could use a couple "tweaks". Can not replicate local to more then ONE remote dataVol.

WS
AvatarImg

Wayne S.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It's a great product which is fully supported 24x7 both by email and speaking with a live support.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It's a great product for client with both large and small amounts of data. Easy to install and configure.

Cons

Not easy to setup if you want passing clients to run a free trial and download the software and create their own account without contacting someone in Administration.

MC
AvatarImg

Mark C.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It's a great Hybrid (local/remote) data protection product for SMB clients.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Cloud Management Console includes great monitoring and alerting capabilities for entire customer base. Very knowledgeable 24/7 support. Proven to have easily recovered clients from Ransomware attacks.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JO
AvatarImg

Jeff O.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fast, professional backup

Reviewed 7 years ago

Hybrid backup. On-site and cloud backup included. Saved the day when disaster struck at a clients site.

Pros

Simple to use, enterprise class features, very fair on the storage limits, no gimmicks. 24/7 support. Above all I saved a clients burning building from this backup service. You can schedule backups nightly, twice a day, or down to every hour if you choose.

Cons

No cons were added to this review