DreamFactory Reviews

DreamFactory

Comprehensive API lifecycle automation & management platform

4.09/5 (11 reviews)

Anonymous

Expose your database with an API

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-02-04
Review Source: Capterra

We implemented Dreamfactory to integrate Salesforce with an ERP software that didn't have an API, constrained by a limited budget which didn't allow us to go for a more complex middleware. The solution allowed us to quickly send and retrieve records from the ERP, and run processes using SQL stored procedures which gave us a bit of a headache at the beginning because of lack of full support.

Pros
Authentication and API is out-of-the-box The free version includes many features It saves a lot of time if you just want to use the basic REST API features

Cons
Upgrading to a new version can be a massive pain Debugging problems is very difficult if not impossible sometimes Stored procedures are not fully supported The API options to query a database are not as powerful as the options a SQL language provides

Response from DreamFactory Software


Hi, thank you for your review - DreamFactory does support stored procedures, it is just not meant for managing the stored procedures and functions themselves. For a more sophisticated project requirements we also support custom business logic via our powerful scripting engine that supports four different languages (PHP, NodeJS, Python, and V8JS).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


DreamFactory

Comprehensive API lifecycle automation & management platform

Taj Ahmed

Useful but hard to use

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-02-06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I liked the concept of the product. And it is good at what it does.

Cons
1. Nested Object filter for database tables apis is hard. more often we had to write custom code to implement. 2. Alternate authentication setup is hard. we tried adding alternate authentication and failed, Also connected with customer support and still failed to add customer authencation. 3. Installation steps do fail to setup it smoothly i got into a lot of issues even after following exact steps for installation on ubuntu16

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 4/10

Minimize review


DreamFactory

Comprehensive API lifecycle automation & management platform

Phil Bate

Dreamfactory API Use

Used monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-01-30
Review Source: Capterra

It allowed us to quickly develop a API for use for one of our sites, giving us better visibility of everything going on, and at different levels of operation.

Pros
Was easy to setup, and is quick to increase the functionality of the API. Has a very understandable Roles and services, which allows for great control on what people can do. Also had a few sessions with some of the team, and they are very knowledgeable and supportive.

Cons
It was easy to expand the system with clones (for example, a dev, stage, production, client specific access). Once you setup all the roles and services for one account, you couldn't easily clone this but pointing to different credentials. Only work around I found was doing it all the DB, but you would have to figure out what means what, as everything is stored as IDs, so not easy to understand.

Response from DreamFactory Software


Thank you for this detailed review. With regards to replicating your DreamFactory environment across multiple instances we have an Import/Export feature. This feature allows you to package up everything from your Services, Roles, and much more to be imported into a fresh instance without frustration.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


DreamFactory

Comprehensive API lifecycle automation & management platform

Anonymous

Great platform, well done!

Used occasionally for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-01-29
Review Source: Capterra

Overall a great product that will assist you to speed up your development process!

Pros
Great Security and very complete and user friendly documentation. Example apps get your going quick!

Cons
I cant think of anything not to like. In the beginning it might be a little overwhelming, but once you have read the documentation and looked at the samples apps, you on your way.

Response from DreamFactory Software


Thanks for your feedback & glad you are able to shorten your development cycles with DreamFactory! That's why we were founded in the first place.

We have been working very hard to augment our security and compliance feature sets - keep your eyes out for big improvements in Q2 2019 ;)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


DreamFactory

Comprehensive API lifecycle automation & management platform

Dan Stringer

Does the job, easy to use

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-01-30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Easy to use Straightforward integration to SQL backends Simple UI Post / Pre Processing Features

Cons
Limitations on SQL features via API (e.g; multiple filters)

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


DreamFactory

Comprehensive API lifecycle automation & management platform

anjumol kuriakose

My view on dreamfactory

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-02-04
Review Source: Capterra

Making my work simple and user friendly. good customer support

Pros
I'm using dreamfactory for past 6 months, actually its one of the most simple and user friendly software package i have used so far. If I got some doubt will contact customer care and they will respond immediately. Re-usability of API services makes my work much simple.

Cons
I'm using latest version of dreamfactory, I tried creating services on Python, its not supporting. So I'm using node to create my services.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DreamFactory

Comprehensive API lifecycle automation & management platform

Pallavi Tammana

Very helpful tool for Project Management

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-07-21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Building the documents and sharing them with Team and Business is very easy. Able to track the Project status.

Cons
Compulsory training needed in order to use the tool. Especially for Business and also for the teams to get used with the tool

Response from DreamFactory Software


Hi Pallavi, thank you for your review - I would like to point out that this review is for a product no longer run by DreamFactory. DreamFactory is now an API Management service featuring API frameworks with automated generation & advanced orchestration features, without the need for a dedicated team to run an enterprise bus.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


DreamFactory

Comprehensive API lifecycle automation & management platform

Pallavi Tammana

Excellent Snapshot feature

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2016-12-16
Review Source: Capterra

Creating Snapshot for migrating the components easily to all environments. Components can be exported easily through the package.

Response from DreamFactory Software


Hi Pallavi, thank you for your review - I would like to point out that this review is for a product no longer run by DreamFactory. DreamFactory is now an API Management service featuring API frameworks with automated generation & advanced orchestration features, without the need for a dedicated team to run an enterprise bus.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


DreamFactory

Comprehensive API lifecycle automation & management platform

Anonymous

DreamFactory is like Ruby on Rails for APIs

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-01-30
Review Source: Capterra

Their support team is excellent! We had some difficulties connecting less common databases and they helped us navigate a solution in an amazing time. Thank you!

Pros
DreamFactory is the definition of convention over configuration! It has a great user format that allows us to build and streamline our APIs in a simple and rapid method without coding. I honestly couldn't imagine building APIs without DreamFactory in the future.

Cons
When we first started using DreamFactory, I was frustrated with its short time to live, but we were quickly able to change a setting that extended the session time - I think we'll be using DreamFactory for many years to come.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DreamFactory

Comprehensive API lifecycle automation & management platform

Lankika

DreamTeam Project Management

Reviewed 2012-10-03
Review Source: GetApp

good one

Rating breakdown

Minimize review


DreamFactory

Comprehensive API lifecycle automation & management platform

Christopher Garcia

Great API Management Software

Used monthly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-02-01
Review Source: Capterra

This was the first free software for API Management that I loved. It met my needs as a App Developer. Keep up the good work!

Pros
Very easy to link to your database and to setup your API endpoints. Software does a good job explaining what each endpoint can receive and information shown.

Cons
Free version doesn't include e-mail, phone or chat support.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


DreamFactory

Comprehensive API lifecycle automation & management platform