App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

PDQ Deploy Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

305

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.32/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

Overall this is an excellent software. With ease of use and one click solutions it has produced less headaches then other solutions.
The ability to deploy powershell scripts, install .exe files and copy files is amazing and very easy. We also calls PDQs API to deploy different things making it a central hub for app deployment.
Outstanding value at the price point for the product capabilities.
It can sometimes be hard to find MSI versions of software installers which are required by PDQ Deploy, and making an MSI version can often be painful and tedious.
Patch Tuesday from Microsoft, the updates for Microsoft Office are left off. Only bad thing I can say.
Sometimes a google search can get you the answer, sometimes not. This can make it hit or miss if you do not have the correct switches for the parameters.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


305 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jim C.

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PDQ Deploy

Reviewed 6 months ago

This product was recommended by our security consultant, and we have been quite happy with it.

Pros

Server installation was straightforward. There is no client agent required. We use the product to install security software daily or weekly.

Cons

The license needs to be updated every year, otherwise, the package library does not work as expected.

RH
AvatarImg

Richard H.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PDQ Deploy for Education

Reviewed a month ago

I literally cannot do my job without this software. I daresay that once you try it, you will find that you will agree with me.

Pros

The software itself works really well. The hard part consists of getting all the machines to talk to each other and then figuring out the silent command -line statements that are needed to install the software. For most of the well-known software, the silent switches are well known and for the most popular tools PDQ will even supply their own scripts.

Cons

I'd love PDQ Deploy to re-imagine their local Agent idea. The last time they tried it supposedly didnt meet their standards. I'd say look at other software like Goverlan and even AWS Thinkbox Deadline (a renderfarm manager) to see how they do a local Agent to see if those would meet the criteria. PDQ has no ability to install software that doesn't offer a command-line silent switch. You'd think that...

JW
AvatarImg

Joshua W.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

PDQ- Pretty Darn Good

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Quick to setup deployments and push updated software out

Cons

setting up silent installs and deployments for some software is challenging

SS
AvatarImg

Steven S.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PDQ is awesome!

Reviewed 2 months ago

Everything about PDQ is amazing. Easy to use, its flexibility and continuing improvements. Really no bad things to say about it aside from keep it up and making improvements.

Pros

PDQ is an easy to use tool to scan machines for information on each machine as well as deploying apps. We use it with our deployments to segregate different builds for machines. The ability to deploy powershell scripts, install .exe files and copy files is amazing and very easy.We also calls PDQs API to deploy different things making it a central hub for app deployment. The future will be making a service that users can just call PDQ to deploy an app to them.PDQ connect has a lot of promise, which will allow us to deploy apps that are not connected to our network. Giving us more control beyondAnother plan soon will be to use PDQ for software license counts.PDQ was also easy to setup and migrate to a new server when we wanted to increase the specs of the machine it was on.

Cons

They are working towards it now, but the ability to deploy to machines beyond our network is amazing. Giving us information too and status updates on those machines so we can monitor them.Not a con but I do hope they continue adding to their PDQ inventory and API. A future request/project for us is to beable to use PDQ to keep an accurate license count of software. We have some long ideas but would love to use PDQ to keep tabs on everything for us rather than relying on basic data entry.

SQ
AvatarImg

Syed Q.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Software Patching and Deployment Made Simple with PDQ

Reviewed a month ago

It is helping us to automate our patching;  and remotely installing new software;  and updating systems on a number of devices at once. Patching third-party applications has traditionally been a time-consuming task, but PDQ makes it incredibly simple and quick. Almost no problems have arisen when applying patches or software updates.  It's now simpler than ever to deploy new applications to all workstations.

Pros

It has helped me save time.  Our organization has limited IT staff and your software has immensly helped us to automate patching and installing software on our systems.   We are using PDQ to update some of our applications such as Chrome, FireFox, Notepad ++, and Audacity.As a result of Covid, most of our staff had to move to work remotely. We were able to support our staff remotely using PDQ.

Cons

There is a little learning curve, especially for installations that are more complicated. However, there is excellent documentation, and there is a wealth of data online.   The cost was a bit costly for our organization, but it was well worth it.    Although I don't use the software to its full potential, I'm sure there are some sophisticated functions that others could find useful.    It would also be wonderful to have more software packages included with PDQ right out of the box or at the very least an ability to patch in more commonplace software.

LP
AvatarImg

Luka P.

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PDQ Deploy - Great alternative to SCCM

Reviewed 11 days ago

patch management, it asset management and remote monitoring, ...

Pros

PDQ Deploy is a fantastic tool for patch management, IT asset management, and remote monitoring. It's user-friendly interface makes it easy to deploy software and patches to multiple computers at once, saving valuable time and effort.One of the standout features of PDQ Deploy is its ability to deploy software and patches to both on-premises and off-premises computers. This is especially useful for...

Cons

One potential downside of PDQ Deploy is that it may not have as many advanced features as other systems management tools, such as SCCM, which can be a limitation for larger organizations with more complex needs.

JM
AvatarImg

John M.

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Software for Managing and Updating Windows Computers

Reviewed 18 days ago

Before using PDQ Deploy, we were periodically re-imaging our public computers which was a time consuming process as we have multiple areas in the library each with different software programs installed. In between re-imaging, key utility programs would regularly become out of date, negatively impacting patrons usage of the computers. Now with PDQ Deploy, we are able to easily update only specific software programs across all areas, irregardless of the overall software image in use. Simpler and faster process allows for the computers to be updated on a quicker schedule resulting in a better overall experience for our patrons, and significantly less time expended by IT staff.

Pros

The included Package Library is a fantastic added value to the program providing prepared and tested packages for installing/updating most of the popular/requested software programs. Very easy to use without having to study a lengthy manual. Seemless integration with existing systems and AD. Regular updates to the software, weekly webcasts, extensive video tutorials on usage.

Cons

None that I can really think of. Not a fan of the new program icons which make it more difficult to identify which program is which, but that's really a minor nitpick.

MA
AvatarImg

Michael A.

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fits perfect in our Organisation

Reviewed 2 months ago

Fast Software-Deployment with a few clicks. Easy to handle. No need to visit the Users Desktop. Auto Download helps us to keep all Devices up to date.

Pros

In connection with Inventory it is very easy to deploy Updates and Tools with a few Clicks. With Automatic Deployment we get rid of annoying tasks like check and update Clients. It's nearly fire and forget :-)To create Deployment Packages is very easy. I'm able to deploy nearly any Tool within seconds without the need to visit the Desktop onsite.

Cons

Most of the Tools/Programs we're deploy with PDQ automaticaly detect and uses the OS-Language. But there are some Tools (e.g. Firefox) which does not. It was helpful to extend the Auto Download Package so that we can deploy the appropriate Language Pack. Actually we can convert the Auto Download Package to a Standard Package and modify this Standard Package. Unfortunately we lose the advantage of the auto download feature.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Norma Estela R.

Broadcast Media, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

So good that you can ignore the ifs and buts

Reviewed a year ago

It is a good tool but there are less expensive solutions that, given the rise of remote work, avoid the problems that this software presents. In my company, it has worked well for monitoring and administration but there are difficulties with machines that are out of the office. Software spoofing has disappeared.

Pros

It is a very intuitive software, it is easy to implement, configure and use; its interface is eye-catching and nothing is too much. On the other hand, it is light and efficient, has a great flexibility for the implementation of packages and has a great data processing capacity; in addition, it is quite customizable which makes it a great ally when it comes to controlling how and when to run.

Cons

If you were to try to use it on machines that are out of immediate reach, you would encounter a number of difficulties. It is sometimes difficult to control with off-network systems or by using a VPN; on the other hand, the error messages that are displayed are not clear enough, which makes it difficult to resolve them because a prior investigation has to be carried out.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Harry S.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Handy Deployment Software!

Reviewed 2 months ago

We previously had issues deploying software to a wide range of users due to needing to manually remote onto user machines and installing the software, alternatively using Group Policy but this was a hit and miss due to requiring VPN and at times not having the full information to complete the install, when PDQ Deploy allows us to get these deployments done in less time which allows us to use our time on the more essential issues within the department.

Pros

The ability to deploy software through to our users internally has been so easy to do, also allowing additional parameters to make it a silent install or to include specific login credentials within the software install to allow it to progress without any prompt to the user. There is also a list of softwares already included within the library which are common requirements - Adobe Reader, Java, Microsoft Teams, .NET, Firefox, as well as uninstall packages.

Cons

The only function we least like about the software is the deployments/commands need to be deployed on the network - so for users not within our head office need to be on the VPN for it to be successful, however this then causes it to be difficult for some machines to be updated. However if there was a cloud function for deployment than it would resolve this issue.

RB
AvatarImg

Ray B.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed a year ago

The one challenge that we were able to overcome was identifying our computers that had versions of Windows 10 that were no longer supported by Microsoft.

Pros

We really appreciate the ability to view Windows versioning. It help us identify the outdated computers so we could get them updated. It saved us countless hours.

Cons

I can't think of a con. The only con I can identify is, that we have to take time to learn some aspects of the functionality.

PS
AvatarImg

Piotr S.

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PDQ is amazing.

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Number of options and flexibility of any PDQ product is amazing. Systems are super easy to deploy and work with. There is no better product on the market, and I've been tested multiple and still use some as addition to PDQ.

Cons

There is none, but it will be great if PDQ could work without having clients on VPN in the future. (And I think they are working on it)

MM
AvatarImg

Morton M.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use for deploying softwares to thousands of computers. Deploy and walk away.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Love it. This software is a God sent. Seriously, i had doubts with it when i first tried it, but when i noticed / realised that I can deploy and MSI or exe software to 100 computers, and it only took 10 min, I was just in awe with it. I said to myself, if i can do this to 100 devices, imagine how easy it would be to install softwares on the 1000 computers and the time spent for installing softwares, i could be doing other things. I'll be devastated and don't know what to do if i stop using this.

Pros

Easy to use. Set package for deployment. Test it. If package works, deploy the package manually and walk away, or scheduled the package to have it installed overnight. If deployment fails, it will install once the computer goes online. So many options that can be set and use.

Cons

no Cons. Improvements only. Perhaps packages for deploying windows 10 apps can be included. At the moment, I have to figure out how to use Power shell to deploy windows apps. Also, deploying chrome extension, perhaps this can be included in the pdq deploy software package Technical support is not available in Australia, so when i send and email, i have to wait 24 hours to get a reply, which is a bummer. I wish we had tech support in Australia.

JG
AvatarImg

Jeroen G.

Farming, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Just Get It !! You will never regret it !!

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is an amazing piece of software what takes a huge amount of headache away. It is quick, easy. If you want want to do software install and update deployment quick and easy you need PDQ Deploy !!

Pros

This product is super easy to use. Most standard packages are already build for you (and every new update there is more) what can be super easy rolled out to a test machine and then production. If you want custom installation it is so easy to install/copy - install/ create little batch files or full on powershell scripts. This is super easy comparing to SCCM or even WSUS.

Cons

I had to think long and hard about what could be improved and even asked my co-workers.... and really there is nothing at this moment what needs to be improved. It does what needs to be done and is super easy. (edit: Perhaps the only thing is that the log files with errors could be more detailed to directly been viewed)

SG
AvatarImg

Sean G.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why PDQ Deploy is a MUST HAVE!!!!

Reviewed 2 months ago

We had a great experience with PDQ starting with the onboarding experience. There was plenty of help with setting us up with Inventory and Deploy.

Pros

I like the packages that are already built, I also like how easy it is to build a package into the program for deployment.

Cons

I really did not have any cons with this software, maybe a few more integrations.

CM
AvatarImg

Craig M.

Business Supplies and Equipment, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reliable patching at a reasonable cost

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

What made me look at PDQ was the cost. What made me keep using it was how flexible I could get with deployments when used in conjunction with their inventory product. You really want both of these to take full advantage and the cost still remains reasonable. It is easy to setup something like monthly patching using the packages that PDQ maintains and updates have it auto update these packages on your system after a delay period such as 7 days then push it out to all systems as they come online. We even use it to deploy out base packages on new PC builds as they come online.

Cons

There can be some quirks with a system being detected online and it is very important your DNS is accurate. My biggest con would really be that it does not do a great job with remote users because there is no agent on the device. This is being addressed though in a cloud version of the product.

AO
AvatarImg

Andrew O.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for software deployment

Reviewed a month ago

When SCCM failed, and the admin was unable to resolve issues. Local IT (global company) used PDQ for software deployment as the SCCM admin never got it working for a long time. PDQ simplify software deployment and updates, helped manage devices and setup new machines in no time at all. The main admin of PDQ became the SCCM admin after using this product as a learning curve and step to SCCM. Now SCCM is working with new admin, pdq is not required as much but still a tool I rely on regularly.

Pros

Simple to useFree edition is greatLicences are not expensive Can share xml files for software deployment between users on free versionGreat for deploying scripts

Cons

Cannot manage OS updatesOnly works on internal network/VPN - not cloud basedPdq inventory is a separate program, not integrated

LC
AvatarImg

Luis C.

Food Production, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PDQ is a Life Saver

Reviewed 2 months ago

When you dont have Enterprise budget, PDQ will provide all of the necessary tools to make like easy for sys admins.

Pros

We are able to scan and patch workstations and servers from a single pane.

Cons

It would be nice if this application could also have the ability to be used locally through a web browser.

JA
AvatarImg

Jeremy A.

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PDQ deploy has helped fill in the gaps with application deployment and management

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Highly customizable to fit our business needs. When paired with PDQ Inventory, we're able to target specific groups of endpoints based on certain attributes.

Cons

PDQ Deploy and Inventory could be more tightly integrated.

AG
AvatarImg

Alex G.

Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great, cost effective way to manage software, patch and vulnerability deployments

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Being able to have PDQ automatically scan and monitor our devices allows patches, new software and vulnerability fixes to be deployed in a set and forget method.

Cons

We've had some technical issues that have been hard to get support with as there is no support provided in our time zone, allowing only one question/response a day.

KM
AvatarImg

Kalyan M.

Food & Beverages, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Modern Tool for Deployment

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

easy to use and no prior experience needed and no need of agent

Cons

not all features that sccm offers available in this deployment tool ..no full reporting available

WW
AvatarImg

William W.

Environmental Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software!

Reviewed 5 months ago

I have solved every remote install and patching issue using PDQ, Inv/Deploy

Pros

Deployment, configuration, overall ease of use

Cons

Nothing, I love every aspect of PDQ Inv/Deploy

RH
AvatarImg

Rob H.

Plastics, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Deployment Solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's great for remotely deploying software and patches. Saves a lot of time and effort because you don't have to go to an end user computer or try to connect with them somehow to install anything, you can just set up a package to deploy silently with no user intervention.

Pros

The best part of PDQ Deploy is the ability to deploy software and updates/patches to computers on our network. Pretty easy to figure out how to build a deployment package and works exceptionally well. Also easy to understand.

Cons

I really have no cons to speak of other than sometimes we cannot connect to a computer to perform a scan or deployment but that isn't really the fault of the software, that's more of a network issue. We have users working from home using vpn and deployments fail for them sometimes.

KJ
AvatarImg

Keith J.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PDQ-Lifesaver

Reviewed a year ago

Many updates can be sent out and installed silently while the computer is in use. Makes them think I'm some sort of magician.

Pros

I used to be up at night updating or installing in computer labs until as late as 2am to have the labs ready for the next day. Couldnt do it duing the day because the computers were always in use. Now I can just schedule installs/updates before I leave work and they are done before I go to bed - at a normal time.

Cons

The only thing I like least about PDQ is how long it took to learn about it

LL
AvatarImg

Landon L.

Gambling & Casinos, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PDQ is ready for your enterprise

Reviewed 2 years ago

from Print Nightmare mitigation to installing the latest packages from MS and partners the experience has been great. Great support. Great product.

Pros

what I like most abut the software is the great support. Yes it can deploy remotely to your entire network. Yes it can help you maintain your infrastructure security but showing patching deficiencies and missed updates but what I really like about this software is the customer support. from youtube to one on one sessions, PDQ has the best support in the business.

Cons

could have a larger set of already supported software natively.