App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Screenly Logo

Raspberry Pi based digital signage solution

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Screenly Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

27

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.8/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

telemetrytv
optisigns
quickesign

Pros and cons

We have used Screenly for years now and everything from ease of use to the minimal times we've needed customer support has been fantastic. Great company, with an even better product.
The screens and resolution were beautiful on this product. Additionally, we were able to deploy hundreds of custom assets and playlists in a matter of hours.
We are very happy with our partnership with Screenly. The customer service is excellent with a "can do" attitude to solving any operational issues.
We received the wrong software in the first place - then it took over a month to fix their software as they had a bug which showed all images in the wrong sizes and didn't display any videos.
Sometimes the images will shrink from full size and that can be frustrating.
We were siloed in to only using raspberry pi units and there were no transitions between graphics.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


27 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jamison C.

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It is just simple to use.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy of access, dependability and updating

Cons

It would be nice to auto update playlists by adding a folder so that anything in the content folder is automatically added to the playlist, but that may not apply to all people.

CW
AvatarImg

Cameron W.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Screenly Review

Reviewed 2 months ago

it has all been good- easy to use user experience and dashboard great customers service as well

Pros

easy to use and good customer service great user interface on desktop and mobile

Cons

the only issue i have experienced is when a device goes offline but usually that just requires recycling the power on the Screenly device ... does not happen often overall it has all been good

RS
AvatarImg

Randy S.

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Beautiful screens, not-so-beautiful features

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The screens and resolution were beautiful on this product. Additionally, we were able to deploy hundreds of custom assets and playlists in a matter of hours.

Cons

We were siloed in to only using raspberry pi units and there were no transitions between graphics. When we changed the infrastructure of our wifi systems, the support documentation was zero help. We instead had to flash each of our 20+ units manually and reconfigure each on the new wifi. There should be an option built in to the ScreenlyOS image on the raspberry pi to modify wifi configs.

IB
AvatarImg

Imogen B.

Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Works but costs for voluntary sector

Reviewed 2 months ago

Support is good but occasionally a little slow. We actually went back to screenly after using the free Kiosk.show for a while as budget is our issue. This product is not in your list to select from in the next item of the survey. It's been very good but not being updated now.

Pros

Saves time, remote editing, plays nice with Google slides.

Cons

Cost for voluntary organisation is high.

TM
AvatarImg

Timmy M.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Screenly

Reviewed 6 years ago

Excellent

Pros

Really easy to use very functional. The fact that you can time and queue the digital elements is fantastic. The turnaround time from when the media is sent to when it actually plays is very impressive. We are very happy with our partnership with Screenly. The customer service is excellent with a "can do" attitude to solving any operational issues.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike and at the cost it is better than anything other platform we have used on the market.

Vendor response

Hi Timmy, Thank you for taking the time to review our software and we value your feedback. If you have additional questions about Screenly, please feel free to contact support@screenly.io. We appreciate you being a loyal Screenly customer.

NO
AvatarImg

Nfon O.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Screenly is simply impressive

Reviewed 3 years ago

Screenly is a software that i love cos it schedules my videos for a really long period of time and I can share my content to multiple screens and in multiple places that has helped solve a lot of my problems. But if the free and the commercial were more similar it will go a long way.

Pros

The fact that I can schedule content weeks in advance is a mazing. Also i can check the status of my screens, and get in control of your signage is simply impressive.

Cons

The only thing I did not like is the fact that you cannot use the free version to know the functionality of the commercial version. If this could be a little more similar it really would go a long way.

TC
AvatarImg

Trudy C.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Screenly quality is excellant with affordable pricing

Reviewed 3 years ago

We wanted to be able to digitally promote our programs and group fitness schedule throughout the fitness center and locker rooms. Using Screenly has improved our communication with members and has helped us market new programming and training events to our members more effectively.

Pros

I think the features of the Screenly software are helpful in being able to manage videos and graphics so you can promote what you want when you want. It's very customizable.

Cons

When there is a communication issue with one of the screens oftentimes we have to reboot the whole player. Unfortunately, our screens are hung up very high so this is not convenient. I have tried the reboot within the software but rarely works.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Goodbye to Free

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very disappointed that first they cancel their free one-screen option to new customers but then turn around and disable accounts for pre-existing customers like us. No warning either. I discovered by noticing nothing was on the display and then when logging in to see the “account disabled” notice. Nothing I can do except purchase their monthly package that was overkill for our small organization. Since we can’t afford to pay, I’m switching over to info-beamer.

Pros

Was a really great option for our non-profit that couldn’t afford another monthly cost.

Cons

Nothing I can think of. It was easy to use and the free version had all the options we needed.

BR
AvatarImg

Brooke R.

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We Love Screenly!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Screenly is very easy to learn and use. It takes only seconds to upload and swap images on our screens.

Cons

Sometimes the images will shrink from full size and that can be frustrating. I also wish there was a way to link the screens with the software we use for our website so images would automatically populate.

CC
AvatarImg

Cyrus C.

Medical Devices, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple and Easy to Use Digital Signage

Reviewed 3 years ago

Screenly has been a great service for us. Any time we've had an issue their customer service is quick and straightforward.

Pros

The ease of use. It's very straightforward to add images and assets to our folders and get them on our company TVs.

Cons

I only wish there were more tools, such as a way to add a pop-up banner on the bottom of the TVs. Thankfully, I've talked with one of the employees and they said this and more are the works!

SP
AvatarImg

Sam P.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Perfect for multi-location deployment

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have 15 devices deployed in retail stores across the country and we rarely experience any issues.

Pros

It’s easily deployed, easily managed, and the user interface allows for easily configuring things like video playlists.

Cons

It’s still has some bugs and it would be nice to have a more robust scheduling apparatus. Occasionally the devices will drop off the network and have to manually rebooted.

JW
AvatarImg

Jarrod W.

Restaurants, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have used Screenly for years now and everything from ease of use to the minimal times we've needed customer support has been fantastic. Great company, with an even better product.

Pros

This product is both easy to use and deploy fairly inexpensively as well. We use it daily for various tasks and it doesn't get much easier to schedule and deploy content.

Cons

I have no qualms with Screenly, everything has been great and only gotten better over time.

GK
AvatarImg

George K.

Research, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Original signage program

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Screenly provides a comprehensive infrastructure for our digital signage requirements.

Cons

Our experience with Screenly is quite positive so far, I have nothing negative to add here.

BK
AvatarImg

Brent K.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

In house advertising and employee communications campaign

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very satisfied with the product and support they've provided.

Pros

Ease of deployment, scheduling, and no complicated firewall configuration.

Cons

Single administrative login. However, this was recently resolved in an update.

MI
AvatarImg

Murtaza I.

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Free Digital Signage

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We have been using screenly at our business places the good thing OSE (open source edition) is free forever and it can be installed on Raspberry pi which works flawlessly. it is very easy to set up the marketing content that can be uploaded through the web browser with the option to modify the air time that's a very interesting thing I can display an image on a TV with a duration of my choice. The weather and clock widget is awesome it detects the time zone and shows accurate information.

Cons

1. it doesn't support hi-res images like HEIC files. 2. This OSE version only works on Raspberry Pi it should also have been made available to Windows as this can be very easy for us to utilize existing Intel Sticks. 3. Screenly doesn't have a proper news widget by default or should have a news ticker option I think it lacks such options as of now it is very basic signage software.

LT
AvatarImg

Linda T.

Semiconductors, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Integra Technologies

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall I am extremely happy with Screenly Pro and would not hesitate to recommend this product.

Pros

The Screenly Pro software program has made a positive impact within our organization by allowing us to reach our employees throughout all four locations on all shifts. With Screenly Pro I have the ability to make changes and send messages as quickly as clicking a button. The recent updates have made this process even easier.

Cons

The updates to the Screenly Pro are immediate. When I remove a slide from the Content it is automatically removed from the Playlist which is immediately removed from the display screens. I wish there was a 1- or 2-minute delay. The employees are aware when I am updating the presentations.

AK
AvatarImg

Ashley K.

Biotechnology, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Makes our business functional!

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software has been deeply beneficial to our manufacturing plant to keep all employees up to date with company information. We are also in process of implementing Screenly to our other sites across the US.

Pros

It is incredibly easy to use and provides instant delivery of the media/information we post.

Cons

Everything is great! The only sometimes unfavorable this is the different folders for content versus playlists, sometimes I wish we could just drop the media directly onto the playlist.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mark L.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great Idea; failing to deliver (all screens down)

Reviewed 6 years ago

right now, I would just like it to work; all screens are currently down.

Pros

Fills a need, looks to be great, easy setup and easy to use interface overall.

Cons

Paying for something that is not working.

Vendor response

Hi Mark, Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We strive to do everything we can for our customers and apologize that we were not able to resolve this despite our repeated attempts. We have released new updates that address the issue you were having and do see that your screens are currently active and in sync. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience. If you'd like to discuss this matter further, please send us an email at support@screenly.io. Thank you again for your honest feedback and we look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Samantha Richards Screenly Inc.

DN
AvatarImg

David N.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Review for OSE

Reviewed 5 years ago

Excellent. Will definitely consider a paid version when it comes time to replace the OneLAN digital signage we have elsewhere. I'd like education pricing and possibly local asset storage rather than cloud. We're a school and not a high turnover business

Pros

Free and can run on a Pi, can use Google slides. Everything a poor inner city school needs for a reception display

Cons

Again, just the OSE. Can't actively reboot it from the web interface, no means to check if it's still running (i.e. preview of what's on screen), which would be very handy if administering a screen from another building. I've had a couple of black screen incidents while playing about with the software setting it up.

AD
AvatarImg

Amanda D.

Furniture, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Screenly - All your screens in one place

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We use this software to manage content in multiple locations and find it is easy to use and everything you need is at your fingertips.

Cons

My only complaint is that you are unable to have multi-level subdirectories for content.

CJ
AvatarImg

Conrad J.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for advertising in my store!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall a very useful platform for advertising.

Pros

That it’s manageable from anywhere in the world and the very easy initial setup!

Cons

That there’s no functionality for PowerPoint files or to let the pages turn from one to the other.

BG
AvatarImg

Bastian G.

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Great idea - software crashes constantly.

Reviewed 6 years ago

I was sold this software as an easy plug & play solution which it is not. We received the wrong software in the first place - then it took over a month to fix their software as they had a bug which showed all images in the wrong sizes and didn't display any videos. Half the time support does not read the email properly and only starts to help & assist when you make threats...very disappointing! The one thing that was positive was our account manager who constantly was in communication and tried to fix the issue, we have been with them for 3 months and are still facing issues.

Pros

Easy to set-up if it works - our account manager

Cons

Customer Support & actual software - not working.

VN
AvatarImg

Vincent N.

Consumer Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great but could be better

Reviewed 5 years ago

for still images and as a photomenue board it is great

Pros

the ease of use, it is simple to add and change photos

Cons

That I can not put up a functioning time and temp when and where i want it.

CG
AvatarImg

Chad G.

Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Increase Warehouse Visibility

Reviewed 3 years ago

It has been a useful tool. We use it to display daily info, messages, and even quick facts.

Pros

It allows us to create separate data on the different screens. We use this to help the different areas of the business keep track of their progress.

Cons

The software is a little harder to setup Wifi. It would be nice to be able to directly access the device after setup to configure the wifi.

OM
AvatarImg

Olegario M.

Automotive, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great app

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to install and use. The free versión is fully functional.

Cons

Do not refresh the URL when there is only one asset

Vendor response

Hi Olegario, Thank you for taking the time to review our software and value your feedback. If you have additional questions about Screenly, please feel free to contact support@screenly.io. We appreciate you being a loyal Screenly customer. Best, Samantha Richards Screenly, Inc.