App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Trail Blazer Campaign Manager Logo

Cloud-based voter management and fundraising CRM.

(3)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Trail Blazer Campaign Manager Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

28

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.38/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

donorperfect-fundraising-software
donorsnap
network-for-good

Pros and cons

What I love most about Trail Blazer is the amazing customer service they offer. I call their support staff about once a week for help and they are always incredibly friendly, patient and helpful.
Good luck talking to someone at NGP or NationBuilder. By far tech support is the best.
The tech support was FANTASTIC, they are incredibly responsive and make the product easy to use.
The difficulty is HTML emails with photos is a challenge.
We had lots of lists with emails and phone numbers which meant we had duplicates. However, when we choose to send mass emails the system is able to ignore the duplicates.
At first, I though the software was intimidating. There is so much to learn.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


28 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chris S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

You guys rock! No nonsense powerful software and great support = You guys rock!

Reviewed 9 years ago

While the interface has a steeper learning curve some other programs, it allows for much more customization and analysis than the other programs I have played with. The support staff (Kevin) is lightning fast to respond to any issue or question. I have been using Trailblazer for almost a year now, and can't imagine switching to another database.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

EG
AvatarImg

Ed G.

Political Organization, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Useful and Effective Automated Solution for Political Committees

Reviewed 2 years ago

Trail Blazer was a HUGE step up from running our committee on Excel, Word, and email.

Pros

As Treasurer of our committee, I use all of the financial functions as well as the campaign finance reporting function. Trail Blazer makes my job easier and more efficient.

Cons

Being a geezer, the lack of ability to increase font size presents challenges at times.

Vendor response

Ed, thank you so much for the review. We really enjoy working with you and your organization. As always, please lean on our team if you need anything, or if you have a product upgrade request. Our development team is always interested in customer feedback, which drives future enhancements.

AH
AvatarImg

Anne H.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Trail Blazer has filled a need for us.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We are able to keep up with donor/grant makers, and adopters and engage them for fundraising purposes. The ability to sell tickets to events or raffles is also nice. I'm pretty sure there's much more I could be doing with this software...just haven't had the time to really dig in further and figure that out.

Pros

I have enjoyed the email campaign feature. The pricing has been appropriate for our organization for the most part.

Cons

I wish it was windows based and more user-friendly. It seems 'clunky' compared to other databases I've utilized in other organizations.

DR
AvatarImg

Daniel R.

Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Candidacy

Reviewed 3 months ago

Excellent. Outstanding support, ease of use, functionality speed to target accurately the market of constituent voters.

Pros

Exceptional support and ability to speed to market data functionality affording at finger tips market voter information strategic to our campaign.

Cons

Not a direct to TB but rather only con is my entry into the campaign and start with TB I should have started sooner.

Vendor response

Thanks, Daniel! We would be happy to assist on your future endeavors.

KH
AvatarImg

Kelly H.

Political Organization, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Essential to adequately track your Fundraising

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Trail Blazer is a user-friendly and straightforward way to track and report all information essential to fundraising - donors / contact info, contributions, pledges, events, and communications. Donors: Easily track contact information, contribution history, log notes, Household information and a MULTITUDE of other areas. Interfaces with our state's voter database to easily import voter data on...

Cons

Email interface takes some time to get used to. Connecting through a Remote Desktop (on a Mac) sometimes presents challenges.

Vendor response

Thank you, Kelly! We really enjoy working with you and your team. If you ever need help with building email templates, campaigns, or anything else, please call or email our tech support team. We can either perform a remote session with you, or schedule a live one-on-one training session that can be recorded.

JH
AvatarImg

John H.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Satisfied long term user

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use 2 licenses because state law requires that we full separate the nonprofit entity from the PAC so essentially we are running 2 entities in it. We are pleased with the fact that for our users it operates pretty much the same.

Pros

We selected it about 10 years ago and have been very pleased with it for membership management for the nonprofit as well as getting a 2nd license to run a segregated state level PAC. One of the things I like the most is the level of customer support we receive and ongoing training.

Cons

There are very few cons about the product. It is being expanded to handle more and more membership unique issues for our nonprofit which takes time but we remain pleased with the product.

Vendor response

Thanks, John! We really enjoy working with you and your organization. Don't hesitate to reach out if there are new features that you need help with, or if you have a development request that we can pass along to our development team.

BK
AvatarImg

Bex K.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Trail Blazer: The Good, The Bad, the Ugly

Reviewed 4 years ago

As our donor database, Trail Blazer is reliable. It is reliable in that it gets the job done, but requires a lot of extra time and effort to execute simple functions, as the names and systems for organizing data logically are often pretty hard to understand. While there is amazing customer support and plentiful resources on their website, I wish it were a more user friendly platform so I didn't have to rely so heavily on their support staff. That being said, because the support staff is so accessible, I'm mostly okay with this system, and am grateful for all the staff who have assisted me over the years.

Pros

What I love most about Trail Blazer is the amazing customer service they offer. I call their support staff about once a week for help and they are always incredibly friendly, patient and helpful. Also, it is a very powerful software with many options for managing our data.

Cons

The user interface is clunky, there are a lot of unintuitive formulas. It is a very powerful software but I find it quite hard to use.

AP
AvatarImg

Anthony P.

Political Organization, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Trail Blazer Campaign Manager Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The software does exactly what I need it to do—store large amounts of distinct voter information in an easy-to-use interface for a fraction of what other software products will cost. The customer service and tech support are also top-notch!

Cons

Tasks can get very repetitive and time-consuming, especially when dealing with multiple campaigns, hundreds of volunteers, and millions of voters. The ability to clone lists or streamline repetitive tasks, like revoking admin rights following a campaign cycle, would be tremendously helpful.

Vendor response

Thanks, Anthony! Your feedback is very helpful. If you are able to send any of these requests to our support email address, that would be helpful so that we can relay them to the Development Team. Here is how to revoke and Admin's account after they no longer need access: https://www.trailblz.com/kb/?action=view&kb=153&cat=0&qq=revoke Don't hesitate to call in if you need a hand with this.

BK
AvatarImg

Beverly K.

Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Canadian mayoral campaign experience

Reviewed 2 years ago

We needed to manage voter information by starting with the voter database provided by the city and then adding emails and phone numbers along with other information such as lawn sign requests. We had lots of lists with emails and phone numbers which meant we had duplicates. however, when we choose to send mass emails the system is able to ignore the duplicates.

Pros

customer support in the early days and throughout has been amazing. the knowledge base is very extensive and very thorough and includes with pictures). I have used client management systems and systems for managing data and this is much more user friendly and intuitive. The "tabs" are all in the "right place" and I like that I can configure the attributes and values. Although there are several videos to get you started, I am able to provide 30 min of training to other users for their specific tasks with the system and new users are good to go.

Cons

somewhat complex for people who have few skills in managing information and since within our campaign we are using all volunteers, some people are afraid to try it.

Vendor response

Thanks, Beverly! Our support team is always here to help as you dive deeper into the tools and begin using new features. Best of luck with the race!

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Bare bones, but affordable

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The price, it's a fraction of other CRMs. The support generally is very good as well

Cons

It's not very intuitive to use, time-consuming, and does not sync with Constant Contact or other major e-mail service.

BC
AvatarImg

Brad C.

Government Relations, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Someone to talk to

Reviewed 2 years ago

FANTASTIC. They are a great team and I'm happy with their service and their commitment to help your campaign succeed.

Pros

Trailblazer's technical support is above and beyond all competitive standards. Guess what, you can talk to a live human being, who knows what the heck they are doing and can fix a problem or point you in the right direction. Good luck talking to someone at NGP or NationBuilder. By far tech support is the best!

Cons

It is a little challenging when first starting, but the team at Trailblazer are patient and available to answer any questions you may have.

Vendor response

Thanks, Brad! We really enjoy working with you and your clients. Our tech support team is happy to help as you dive further into different parts of the application.

JP
AvatarImg

Janet P.

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent investment!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I loved working with it.

Pros

Financial, donor management, and marketing are all in one place. It's a valuable tool.

Cons

Not really any cons. Learning to use the system seemed overwhelming but the training videos were helpful and the step-by-step instructions.

Vendor response

Thanks, Janet! We really enjoy working with you. Please lean on our team if you need help with any part of the system. There's a lot you can learn, and we are always happy to schedule some live training, or you can call into tech support for a remote session.

BL
AvatarImg

Bryan L.

Political Organization, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Has a lot of potential - support was awesome

Reviewed 4 years ago

It was good. While we had issues with the UI and using the application support team was awesome and we were able to use the product.

Pros

The technical support team was awesome. The product was not easy to use, very Visual Basic old windows MDI window format. The technical team was patient and very helpful in getting us to navigate around.

Cons

The UI was old fashion Windows 3.x, 95 style that was not web compliant. The over feel was clunky but navigatable. It required a remote desktop for non-Windows users. Was missing several key features, like customizing map output and I could not find a good API layer to develop our own maps and other features.

BC
AvatarImg

Bhreagh C.

Political Organization, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A Practical and Detailed System with Great Customer Support

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent overall experience.

Pros

This company has excellent customer support, the database functions as promised at a reasonable cost, and the system rarely has any issues that cannot be fixed by staff. Easy onboarding into the system by support staff, makes learning the software easy.

Cons

Limited integrations with third party systems, such as callhub, and others that NationBuilder and other systems use.

Vendor response

Thanks, Bhreagh! We enjoy working with you and your team. We will pass on your request for an integration with CallHub. Please let us know if you have other upgrade requests as you continue learning more about our tools.

LM
AvatarImg

Les M.

Political Organization, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software for campaigns

Reviewed 2 years ago

After nearly 30 years of political campaign management, I have worked with many software programs. Trail Blazer is exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend for your next campaign.

Pros

The software is easy to use and is very customizable to the campaign. The strongest attribute is the excellent customer and technical support provided.

Cons

We have not found any significant problem with the software for our campaigns that hasn't been resolved with the help of their tech support.

Vendor response

Thanks, Les! We really enjoy working with you. As always, please lean on our team if there are any questions on using the software, or if there are feature requests that you would like us to pass on to the development team.

TG
AvatarImg

Toni G.

Political Organization, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

All you need

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The software has so many different ways to use the data entered. There are multiple sort choices for your needs.

Cons

At first, I though the software was intimidating. There is so much to learn.

CL
AvatarImg

Cindy L.

Nonprofit Organization Management, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Absolutely Amazing Support Team!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I transitioned to my current position in the midst of the global pandemic - which was not ideal. Trailblazer has been the ONLY company that I work with that provided immediate, consistent, and friendly training support and admin support. I've worked with several databases in my roles with various non-profit organizations, and the team at Trail Blazer is far superior . Kudos!

Pros

The software is user friendly and understandable.

Cons

I haven't had any negative experiences so far.

RO
AvatarImg

Rita O.

Oil & Energy, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

MDU Resources Good Government Fund

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Some are easy to use, some are not. Customer service is good.

Cons

Sorting, filtering to get the best reports. Difficult to know what steps to follow.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review, Rita. We would be more than happy to walk through some of your reporting tasks, and anything else that you need. Filtering is powerful but does require some training to get the hang of. Please call or email any time and one of our techs and perform a remote session with you.

LC
AvatarImg

Lyn C.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love It !

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The price is affordable. Customer Service is prompt and very helpful.

Cons

More customization options would be nice.

Vendor response

Thanks, Lyn! Please feel free to email us if there are certain fields that you need to customize or if you would like to elaborate on where customizations need to take place: support@trailblz.com

JF
AvatarImg

Jessica F.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

User

Reviewed 4 years ago

It has been pretty good so far

Pros

I think there is a lot we don't use as a company, that we could probably benefit from

Cons

Reports are confusing to do. An easier platform would be nice

JJ
AvatarImg

Jeri J.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best customer service

Reviewed 8 years ago

We've used Trail Blazer for the past year and the customer service is incredible. I watched all the tutorials but anytime I had a question or I couldn't figure out something TB staff would reply to my email within minutes of sending the request. The TB system is robust and allows you to streamline all of your donors, grantors, volunteers and events in one place. It is easy to use and if you are stuck on something there are many tutorials and FAQ pages to help you out, and if that fails the customer service will get you on track. Great company to work with.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

LW
AvatarImg

Lynn W.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Treasurer

Reviewed 13 years ago

This product is easy to use even for those who dont use software. But the most outstanding feature is the customer support; no question is too small, or even strange. They take their time and dont rush through. I had a customer support person on the phone for 2 plus hours as we worked out a problem that really wasnt theirs. They are a great group of people to work with. I would suggest this produce to anyone needing software to deal with FEC filings and all other things related with the election process. Thank you for making my job easier.

Pros

The ease of use. The customer support.

Cons

Some processes seemed redundant

SE
AvatarImg

Sara E.

Political Organization, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Wonderful product

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's been great, I really like the software - what it can do, and how supportive the tech team is.

Pros

The tech support was FANTASTIC, they are incredibly responsive and make the product easy to use.

Cons

Some of the user interface features were not intuitive and required a lot of clicking.

Vendor response

Thanks, Sara! We enjoy working with you, and we are always here to help if you need assistance learning a new feature in the software. If there are tools that we don't have that you want added, don't hesitate to ask.

SN
AvatarImg

Sally N.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Awesome Product

Reviewed 15 years ago

highly recommend for anyone working in political campaigns.

Pros

easy to use and allows unlimited data to be stored. easy interface with louisiana's voter files. customer service is amazing. if they don't have what you need, they will create it for you.

Cons

none that i can think of. if i could, they'd fix it.

Vendor response

Thanks!!

MO
AvatarImg

Maggie O.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Review Title

Reviewed 15 years ago

I have and will continue to recommend TB to anyone and everyone. The ease of FEC filing and searchable fields makes TB better then anyone else out there.

Pros

A great campaign tool for any size team. The uploads are easy, mass emails are fairly easy and support staff is the best.

Cons

The difficulty is HTML emails with photos is a challenge.