App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Encyro Logo

Encyro

Secure file sharing and electronic signatures software

see alternatives

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Encyro Reviews

Overall rating

5.0

/5

43

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.51/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Encyro has been an excellent addition to our office. There has been ease of mind that important information is being shared with in a secure and safe manner.
This is an affordable and effective way to send and receive secure emails and documents.
Sending and receiving secure email is very important. I have confidence in using Encyro.
I have to simply send another document with a note that the previous one is in error, and they can delete it themselves if they so choose.
I have had these e-mails get caught in a client's spam filter before. Customer Service gave me quick, simple instructions to pass along to them, though.
Also, when you send a client a document, it goes into their account and I have no access to their account.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


43 reviews

Recommended

JT
AvatarImg

Justin T.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Encyro the excellent solution for this CPA

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great experience. I can quickly and easily send my clients documents with permanent future access to all documents I have sent them.

Pros

The program has a fairly short learning curve. When I finish a tax return, I can quickly upload it to Encyro. When I press send, the client receives an email notifying him/her that a document is available for download. I can included a note the length of my choosing which will be viewable when the client goes into Encyro. I can also includ a note the length of my choosing that will be visible...

Cons

They recently launched esignature capability. It is a good feature, but one problem is that there is an esignature button that the client sees when he goes into Encyro. Unless I have created an esignature document for the client to sign, the button is useless. The client does not know that and will sometimes click on it thinking they can initiate an esignature document. I would that feature happen...

Vendor response

Thank you for your detailed review and for your suggestions. The option to retract a previously sent document will become partially available with our "Delete for all" feature but it will only delete the message for the recipient if they have not read it yet. The ability to do more housekeeping on the client's account is something we need to design for (have noted this new requirement). The ability to e-sign an incoming document without a request is also on our list.

MM
AvatarImg

Maria M.

Accounting, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Secure and affordable.

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is easy to use, you can add security for signatures and to login.

Pros

I like price and how easy was it to use.

Cons

Nothing really. I liked it overall. I recommend it.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind review. Using the latest technologies, an advanced cloud infrastructure, and more modern and efficient operational processes allows us to provide a high quality product at a lower price.

PK
AvatarImg

Patricia K.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy for clients to upload files and files are secure.

Cons

New users can't see previously uploaded documents. It's not clear to recipients that they can open documents without creating an account and establishing a pw.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for the review and the feedback regarding the client experience. Some clarifications: Users cannot see previously uploaded documents if they do not have a password (we cannot give access to sensitive files without a password or an expiring email token). If they do have a password, then the uploaded documents are accessible to them in their account.

RB
AvatarImg

Robert B.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Customer Support

Reviewed 3 months ago

Your support is great! I am impressed with the timeliness and quality of responses. Thank you.

Pros

That my clients do not need a password to send me secure docs

Cons

seems complex to explain account set up to clients

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words! We do realize that offering the option to not use a password at all can add some complexity to explaining the account setup - its a tradeoff for offering additional ease-of-use.

CO
AvatarImg

Cindy O.

Medical Practice, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best secure HIPAA compliant email on the market

Reviewed 3 years ago

I couldn't have a business or run my business without Encryo

Pros

The ease of use, the ease of setting up. Access to support whenever needed.

Cons

Nothing-This is the best I have used and I have used several that cost 4 times as much as Encrto

Vendor response

Thank you very much for the kind review. We will continue to strive to add more and more useful features.

MB
AvatarImg

Mark B.

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An Awesome Product At An Unbelievable Price With Responsive U.S. Based Customer Support

Reviewed 2 years ago

Awesome!

Pros

I was searching for (a) an e-sign solution (b) that offered ID verification using KBA via SMS (c) that met all IRS e-signature requirements (d) and offered responsive, U.S. based live, non-automated customer support (e) at a reasonable price (f) with a free trial (g) without requiring annual auto-renewal and hijacking my credit card info. Encyro met and exceeded all of these requirements. PLUS...

Cons

To date I've not had problems with their product / service. Encyro may be a less mature product than the DocuSign and the Adobe e-sign products but I've been told by Encyro's tech support team that they are working on implementing some of the extra bells and whistles that Encyro does not offer yet. As a professional tax planner and preparer I find that Encyro offers a solid e-sign product that does...

KG
AvatarImg

Kent G.

Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Flexible features, low cost and superb customer service.

Reviewed 8 months ago

We are a small psychology practice and use Encyro to do all our signing of intake documents. It was a relatively easy process to take all our paper documents and convert them for online signature. In addition, we only need to send such documents out a couple of times a month and the cost of other systems seemed prohibitive. Encyro allows us to use the system at the small scale we need with the support required to make it work for us.

Pros

The system is flexible and adaptable for our needs. In addition, the customer support from Encyro has been incredible, and every time I have run into a roadblock setting something up they have been able to resolve it. I have rarely used any online product with this level of customer service. As a small business owner this is really a necessity for me as I dont have in-house technical support or an IT department and have to do this work myself.

Cons

I really struggle to come up with anything I don't like about the system. Clients are typically unfamiliar with the name Encyro so I usually email them in advance of the signature request to reassure them that it is not spam. But in about two years of using the system I have had almost no problems with it.

AC
AvatarImg

Aneisa C.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Tool for Sensitive Info

Reviewed 3 years ago

My tax software offers all of the items that Encyro does, but they aren't nearly as easy to use. I will continue to use Encyro for all of my accounting and file sharing needs.

Pros

I use Encyro to communicate with tax and bookkeeping clients. It's easy for parties on both ends to use. I don't hesitate sending confidential information in messages and clients feel relieved knowing they can share sensitive information safely.

Cons

It was easy to incorporate into my business, but the one thing that I'm not crazy about is how the contacts files are organized and how the messages are viewed. It would be helpful if the interface was more like that of actual email.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review. More flexibility will be coming in the way the files and message are displayed by next year.

AK
AvatarImg

Alicia K.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I often recommend Encyro!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I'm an occupational therapist that contracts to schools and has private clients. I initially started using Encyro for secure messaging with my private clients. The two main reasons I chose them over other HIPAA-compliant messaging services is because they don't require clients to make an account to access their message, and the price. I use it less for private clients now that I have an EMR with secure...

Pros

no account needed for clients, price, ease of use

Cons

I would like to be able to create a folder to store communications from people who are no longer clients.

Vendor response

Thank you for the detailed review and the suggestion to separate out the communications from people who are no longer clients. We are adding a feature to archive messages (in addition to the delete function already available): that will let you clear out the primary view but still retain a copy of the old messages. This feature is expected to be available by early 2022.

VS
AvatarImg

Veronica S.

Financial Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great easy to implement & use option for sharing of confidential information

Reviewed 8 months ago

To date I couldn't fault my experience with Encyro.

Pros

Setup was easy, functionality is great. My clients & I find it very ease to use. Good value for money.I was recently impacted by a Microsoft issue where all my usual outgoing & some incoming emails were being quarantined, effectively crippling my business operations.Encyro's emailed notifications were impacted. The team at Encyro were responsive & worked proactively to help me find a 'work around' that at least allowed me to keep my business somewhat operational, even though the issue was not the fault of their platform.

Cons

To date I haven't found any issues with the platform

Vendor response

Thank you for the compliments!

RA
AvatarImg

Ron A.

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple Soluiton To A Complex Problem

Reviewed 3 years ago

We were getting quotes from file sharing providers and secure email attachment vendors in the thousands of dollars which included funcitionality which was overkill for what w e needed. Encyro was easy to set up and manage.

Pros

Very easy to use when interacting with clients. No need to send passwords to clients who forget how to login.

Cons

I'd like to have an email I send through Encyro show up in my Sent mail insetad of needing to login to Encyro to find an email I sent.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review and feedback. The encrypted emails are purposely not saved directly to the "sent Items" folder because the email folders (including the Sent Items folder) tend to get synchronized to all your devices where you access email, including your smartphone or home computers. We want to avoid the sensitive information from being stored on those devices. If using the Outlook Addin, you do have the option to see a copy of the sent notification in the "Sent Items" folder and then simply click the Decrypt button to view it (you do need to be logged in for that). There is an option to save the message to a PDF file as well in addin versions v1.29 and newer.

KO
AvatarImg

Kevin O.

Accounting, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product...could be improved on

Reviewed 3 years ago

Like it a lot. they seem responsive with any issues and do look to improve services over time.

Pros

I like Encyro a lot. has used other and they always have tech issues while Encyro does not. Encyro also seems to improve over time such as adding the e-signature feature this last year. The one area that would need improvement is audit trail which is why I can only use for tax clients and not for financial clients (strictly speaking).

Cons

Audit trail is not something available and would be helpful for security aspects.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind review and support. Audit trails are available on the Settings page in the Compliance section. Kindly review these instructions to view the available audit trails - https://help.encyro.com/article/104-how-do-i-see-my-account-audit-trails-activity-logs (go to help.encyro.com and search for "audit trails"). Please do let us know if you were looking for some other or additional information in those trails. E-signature audit trails that record e-sign related information are saved along with the signed document. The above settings option is only needed for your account activity audit trails.

TP
AvatarImg

Tina P.

Financial Services, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Wonderful Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

The ability to securely transmit tax and financial information with clients has been a tremendous benefit and time saver (especially during the pandemic). Add in the ability for tax clients to e-sign their documents... they don't have to come in person... I LOVE Encyro, I don't think I could do without it now.

Pros

The ability to transfer tax information in a secure environment is priceless; add in the ability to capture IRS approved digital signatures - it's a winner!

Cons

I have used it quite a bit this last tax season and adapted to using it how it is, I have not given much thought to what could be improved, as I was very happy to find it!

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review and support!

ML
AvatarImg

Marie L.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Solution for our Firm

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

While sending files is easy and secure, my favorite features are the e-signatures and templates. Now, all ACH authorizations and return signatures route through Encyro as well.

Cons

I would love an integration with our tax software, CCH Axcess/CCH Document

Vendor response

Thank you for the review and feedback. We currently have integrations with Outlook and Gmail. We will investigate the integration possibility for CCH Axcess.

BB
AvatarImg

Bryan B.

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Encryption Service Available!

Reviewed 3 years ago

As a mortgage broker, I am required to obtain sensitive documents from my clients such as tax returns, bank statements, W2's, etc., many of them which contain social security numbers and other personal data. To be able to offer this service to my clients is what I've wanted for years, and one that is especially user friendly as many of my clients are elderly and somewhat technologically challenged.

Pros

That it is very easy for my clients to use, and it add professionalism to my company to be able to offer an encryption service for them to send my sensitive documents.

Cons

Can't think of anything I don't like, I love it!

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind review and continued use of Encyro.

PG
AvatarImg

Pat G W.

Accounting, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The importance and the use of secured files and communication.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I love the feeling that clients information are secured. They feel the same also.

Pros

Ease of use, price of the software, makes my clients feel confident in my work

Cons

Everytime I have to use it, I have to reestablish it in my email. It does not stay on as an icon on my email platform.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review and feedback. The Encyro addin can disappear from Outlook under certain conditions that are controlled by Outlook. We have some suggestions under the Troubleshooting section on our help website to help avoid that (help.encyro.com and search "Outlook troubleshooting"). Also, the recently released newer version (v1.29 and newer) have some changes that make it less likely to be hidden by Outlook.

JA
AvatarImg

Jennifer A.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly recommended

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Secure but Super easy to access. Even recipients without accounts can access without hassle.

Cons

I cannot think of anything i dont like about this software as ive been a user for years now

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review and continued use of Encyro.

MK
AvatarImg

Mike K.

Insurance, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Encyro

Reviewed 3 years ago

Positive. I am at my one year anniversary of using Encyro, when I was considering it's use, I sent many trial secure emails to various customers and clients and asked for their input. They found it pretty simple to use from their end and I've had no complaints during the year.

Pros

The ease of use. Depending on the time of year, I send many, many emails to clients and customers with sensitive, personal information. I also like that they can reply with a secure email.

Cons

I do have some insurance carriers who either will not or can not open my secure emails. In every case there is a workaround in that the carrier has their own secure system that can be used.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind review and for sharing your clients' experience as well. Some insurance companies have automated systems to extract attachments from emails and those only work if the file is sent as an email-attachment (not a secure method). Glad to hear that they do provide their own secure option in those cases.

RS
AvatarImg

Robert S.

Accounting, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Encryo

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have used this software for over a year and am very pleased with it.

Pros

This is an affordable and effective way to send and receive secure emails and documents.

Cons

It was a little confusing until I got used to the user interface, but then it was fine.

Vendor response

Thank you for the kind review. We will continuing to improve the user interface to make it easier to use. Ease of use is one of our top priorities in deigning the product.

JJ
AvatarImg

John J.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Why I rave about Encyro!

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is a wonderful tool for sending and receiving sensitive information and to have cloud storage of all interaction with clients

Pros

It is a wonderful tool for sending and receiving sensitive information and to have cloud storage of all interaction with clients

Cons

I have not learned how to easily find archived information.

SO
AvatarImg

Sameul O.

Accounting, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple For Clients to Use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love how clients are easily able to upload files without having to create an account. How this is secure and I am able to also securely send. Also, how the signature function is built in is great for me being a tax practice.

Cons

Having signature boxes being intelligently added. Every time I upload a new 8879 or engagement letter to be signed I have to manually choose where to put the signatures

Vendor response

Thank you for the review. To avoid having to add "signature boxes" manually on every new 8879, please see the steps to save a template (dynamic file option) - that way you would be able to upload a new 8879 for each request and the signature boxes, reminder settings etc. would appear automatically from the template. Steps to save a template are here (remember to set "Include File" to OFF in Step 7): https://help.encyro.com/article/183-save-templates-for-electronic-signature-requests

ER
AvatarImg

Emily R.

Accounting, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect for a small business

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Nice to have a file sharing site that connects seamlessly with my e-mail (Outlook) as that's how most people share files anyway. Clients can easily send me files right from a link in my e-mail signature and I can send files securely straight from Outlook, too - All without a huge cost or setup.

Cons

I have had these e-mails get caught in a client's spam filter before. Customer Service gave me quick, simple instructions to pass along to them, though.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review. Spam filters are never perfect and can sometimes catch perfectly legit emails. We continue to keep up with changing email requirements to reduce these issues. Encyro has been an early adopter for DMARC enforcement and VMC, which many large email service providers are in the process of adopting. This will hopefully help to reduce spam misclassification in the future.

JR
AvatarImg

Jocelyn R.

Financial Services, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Encyro is great

Reviewed 3 years ago

Encyro allows secure transmission of sensitive documents and allows esigning. Overall Encyro has been an excellent and simple program to use.

Pros

I like that i can send and transmit documents securely. For my clients who still prefer simple email it is my go to if clients insist on emailing me documents. I also enjoy that i can send documents for esigning.

Cons

I really have no dislikes with the encyro software.

YS
AvatarImg

Yuliya S.

Accounting, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Yuliya Slavachevsky

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use. Good price. I really like this software

Cons

No many features available. If you can add appointment schedule for example

Vendor response

Thank you for the review and suggestions. We have noted the need for appointment scheduling.

KM
AvatarImg

Kevin M.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great value for tax professionals

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy for clients to use. KBA compliant signatures.

Cons

I would like to have a way to organize client files.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and the suggestion. A feature add subfolders to organize client files is being developed right now and is expected to be released by the end of this year (2021).