This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

RFgen Mobile Unity Platform

Fixed asset and inventory management solution for businesses

see alternatives

RFgen Mobile Unity Platform Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Fanatastic integration and "screen scraping" capabIlities, fairly easy to navigate and program. Fun to write scanning functions for users.

Nancy W.

RFgen has helped to speed up our warehouse transactions, also it has helped to reduce differences between system and real. End users are pleased with the ease of use and how intuitive it is.

Eduardo L.

Developing and deploying an application to handheld has never been this easy. Customer support is also very reliable and easy to contact.

Erwen Y.

Cons

We used to take manufacturing orders and have them completed, held on the floor until a planner could go around and pick them up, and then complete the orders. Highly inefficient and lost costs.

Anonymous Reviewer

The only downfall we have with this software is that our initial custom programs have no documentation whatsoever.

Nancy W.

This is logistically a hard endeavor because our handhelds are all over our branches in the US.

Erwen Y.

Overall rating

4.8

5

4

3

2

1

11

3

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


14 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

RFgen is great for MRO control

Reviewed 3 years ago

RFgen has helped to speed up our warehouse transactions, also it has helped to reduce differences between system and real. End users are pleased with the ease of use and how intuitive it is.

Pros

The ease of use either for end user as for it's configuration.

Cons

None. All has been very easy to work with.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

RFgen

Reviewed 3 years ago

Developing and deploying an application to handheld has never been this easy. Customer support is also very reliable and easy to contact.

Pros

I like the ease of use/developing application for our specific needs. The applications created can be easily tested and deployed to demanding users. Integration to database is very easy. (we use Oracle databases) Applications can be deployed to multiple platforms via different clients built in. Windows CE, Windows Mobile and Android are the ones I have tried so far.

Cons

Originally, when there is a major update, you would have to go to each client (handhelds, PC, etc) to update the client. This is logistically a hard endeavor because our handhelds are all over our branches in the US. I believe this has already been resolved in newer version. We started using version 4.2 now we are on 5.0.8.9

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Works great for standard scanning functions

Reviewed 3 years ago

RFGen drives all our scanning functions - receiving, physical inventory counts, shipping, all warehouse movements, manufacturing production receipts and backflush transactions, etc. These are interfaced with with our EDI software, Oracle shipping software, and our ERP, making it the hub of our company's day to day activities. The more I work with it, the more I like it. It currently runs on SQL Server, so query and updates are fairly straightforward when necessary.

Pros

Fanatastic integration and "screen scraping" capabIlities, fairly easy to navigate and program. Fun to write scanning functions for users.

Cons

The only downfall we have with this software is that our initial custom programs have no documentation whatsoever. Whenever we attempt to modify or even read the code, we spend much of our time muddling around the great ball of spaghetti. I don't think this is fault of RFGen, since I do believe these modules were written by consultants (before my time). It would be great if there were some "where used" features for modules and tables, which would help us map out programs and determine which tables are actually being used in each module.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solid RF software to power your logistics

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's been solid and overall I would recommend it to anybody who asks. It was our first experience with RF software and it's definitely simplified accounting, inventory, and our manufacturing output process.

Pros

It works exactly like it was sold, which is a nice change. It nicely integrates with Microsoft Dynamics and allows us to accurately keep tracking inventory, which was a headache before.

Cons

You're essentially beholden to the licensing fees from RFgen. Make sure you truly know how much an RF solution will save you, since there will be hidden costs that pop up after implementation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Long time user

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use RFGen to track equipment repair time. The applications are used to check for open request for service and to track the repair. Data stored includes problem, solution, etc. We also use it to interface to our WMS by the materials team to order and track delivery of stock and supplies used on the production floor.

Pros

The ease to create custom forms. Interface to multiple databases. Easy to switch to new user devices without any code changes.

Cons

Upgrading software can be a pain sometimes but their support team is always very helpful during the process. This is an issue with any software though so it really not unique to RFGen.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The RFGen experience

Reviewed 3 years ago

RFGen has been very helpful all through our development process and beyond. They communicate with you aside of support calls to make sure everything is running smoothly. When there have been technical issues, they have been able to solve them in 2 calls or less.

Pros

Easily communicates with our applications. Reduces time and manpower needed to perform necessary data entry.

Cons

Our specific connection requirements require much SQL scripting, causing us to outsource a lot of scripting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very flexible data collections software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall experience has been outstanding. We ripped and replaced an older system that was preventing us from being able to upgrade to the latest and greatest version of JDE. Now we are in position to make that move.

Pros

The biggest benefit for our organization is the fact that we can make changes in house or have RFgen do the work. This allows us to move quickly on hot items or save our internal resources for different projects when needed.

Cons

Development environment lacks a true version compare function that would be useful prior to moving to changes to production.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

RFgen/Snyder Paper

Reviewed 3 years ago

RFgen has provided Snyder with receiving, picking, packing, proof of delivery and cycle counting within the warehouse operations and has enhanced our use of the JDE ERP system. Warehouse personnel are able to carry out data collection functions on the floor and off-site in real-time.

Pros

GUI interface and portability across numerous types of O/S and hardware devices.

Cons

Interface relies on JDE World screen scraping technology to handle business functions and data manipulation. Would rather interact directly with JDE tables to fine tune the product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great program!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have had to contact their support for various issues and they have been very quick to respond

Pros

flexible easy to setup multiple databases supported

Cons

removing telnet support in newest version

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Senior Programmer Analyst

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have greatly improved the accuracy of our inventory and traceability of components being used in the finish goods we produce.

Pros

Coded in VBA and easy to understand. The design studio is easy to understand and debugging code is simple and very helpful.

Cons

The upgrades don't always go as smoothly as I would like them to, but support is good.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Carlisle Interconnct

Reviewed 3 years ago

the software allowed for a more stream lined warehouse operation, that plus the cycle counting transactions has put our accuracy above 99% since its inception.

Pros

the ease of it use and the many different transactions.

Cons

we spent allot of time blueprinting and testing, with that said we have not come across any cons.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quick configuration and excellent reliability

Reviewed 3 years ago

User friendly and adaptation by staff was quick.

Pros

Easy to install, easy to configure and use. GUI was user friendly and adaptation by staff was quick.

Cons

Limited ability to be more creative. Looking forward to a .Net solution in the future which can provide more flexibility.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Costpoint connectivity makes it

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are increasing our efficiencies and gaining lean savings by decreasing the time to complete transactions. We used to take manufacturing orders and have them completed, held on the floor until a planner could go around and pick them up, and then complete the orders. highly inefficient and lost costs.

Pros

The fact that you can take transactions down to a very basic level and complete complex tasks that typically have to wait for a higher level person to complete and gain cost savings and accuracy at the user level.

Cons

software is great, it all comes down to equipment being user friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Flexible and Reliable

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have implemented RFgen to gain efficiencies and increase the accuracy of our inventory in our spare parts supplies. We have increased the accuracy of our quarterly cycle counts by 50% and eliminated the paper and clipboards from the inventory issue process.

Pros

RFgen was flexible enough to meet our custom requirements. In application to the standards apps delivered with the platform, we built a couple applications from scratch to meet our business needs.

Cons

No complaints so far. Support was very helpful every time we ran into an issue.