Workshop Software Features

Workshop Software

Auto Shop Management Software for any sized Auto shop.

3.97/5 (64 reviews)

Workshop Software Feature Summary

  • Labor rates
  • Parts management
  • Payables & receivables
  • Service module
  • Service history
  • Time clock
  • Accounting integration
  • Automatic reminders
  • Client database
  • Customer history
  • Estimating
  • Invoice management
  • Time tracking by project
  • Quote management
  • Search functionality
  • SMS integration
  • Supplier management
  • Third party integration
  • Price management
  • Stock management
  • Online booking integration
  • Job scheduling
  • Booking management

Retail & Consumer Services Feature Comparison

Most popular features of all Retail & Consumer Services apps

API (74 other apps)
Activity Dashboard (78 other apps)
Automatic Notifications (79 other apps)
Barcode Scanning (60 other apps)
Credit Card Processing (61 other apps)
Customer Database (77 other apps)
Customer History (67 other apps)
Discount Management (77 other apps)
Employee Management (69 other apps)
Gift Card System (66 other apps)
Inventory Management (99 other apps)
Inventory Tracking (97 other apps)
Invoice Management (60 other apps)
Loyalty Program (85 other apps)
Multi-Location (86 other apps)
Order Management (67 other apps)
POS (126 other apps)
Reminders (64 other apps)
Reporting & Statistics (104 other apps)
Sales Reporting (70 other apps)

Mobile apps

iOS App


5 reviews

See all iPhone Apps

Requires iOS 7.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Android App


15 reviews

See all Android Apps

Workshop Software Feature Reviews

25 reviewers had the following to say about Workshop Software's features:

Herb Schobben

Not a great start with staff leaving during our setup & first few weeks & ongoing.

2018-01-20

It helps us operate more efficiently, with invoicing etc & the email/sms features are great.

Pros

Very user friendly for invoicing & general workshop management & Staff have always been friendly.

Cons

MYOB integration - has some issues (mainly balancing with w/shop). Cust credits go to Trade creditors & we have to do journals?

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hi Herb,

Thanks for your feedback.

Not sure that we could do much about staff leaving ;-).

Great to hear that Workshop Software is user friendly.

Thanks for the suggestions, I'm sure you can appreciate that we cannot implement every suggestion that we get, and we prioritise what we feel might be best to add to the system.

I wish you every success in the future of your business.

Thank you

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Cliff O'Regan

Having used many workshop programs we find Workshop Software is feature packed and very user friendl

2018-01-22

Easy vehicle and customer service management with great ability to recall vehicle service history and future repair work due.

Pros

The new vehicle history report and the ability to email and SMS our individual clients easily. the ability to store quotes and easily turn them into invoices

Cons

Waiting for the SMS option or email option to be added so we can send out specials or news letters straight from the software to our full data base.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hello Cliff,

Thanks for your feedback, glad to hear that Workshop Software is feature packed.

As for the SMS and email, you can do that with the MailChimp integration. If you need more information with this, please email the support team

All the best for the future success of your business.

All the best

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Brad Walker

Workshop software

2019-05-07

its a good system all round but needs a few things ironed out.

Pros

Good parts management , easy to setup and input customers etc , costs jobs with all related costs for actual profit per job.

Cons

No decent timesheet feature for my technicians.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hi Brad,

Thanks for the feedback, appreciate you taking the time.

I'd need a bit more info on your reference to timesheet, not sure if you are referring to the booking diary or mechanic clocking, both of which are quire strong areas of the system, so it seems interesting that you see that as a challenging area.

Thanks

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Mark Faranda

I would find it difficult to run my workshop without this software.

2018-01-19

Pros

Customer tracking, service reminder reports, Repco Navigator integration, SMS reminder service, easy to add users.

Cons

Customers unable to respond to SMS, when customer and/or vehicles are deleted from the software - they still present on the service reminder report, Customers receive SMS reminders for vehicles that have been deleted from the system - I pay for those SMS also.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hi Mark,

Thanks for your feedback, appreciate you taking the time to respond.

Great to hear that you could not live without Workshop Software.

For the Dashboard, there is a setting on each user that allows you to show a full, or limited view of the Dashboard.

I wish you every success in the future of your business.

Thank you

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
BILLY STEVENSON

WE HAVE USED WORKSHOP SOFTWARE FOR 18 MONTHS NOW. WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND.

2018-01-16

IT RUNS OUR PURCHASES, SALES, ACCOUNTS AND INVENTORY. IT ALSO STORES CUSTOMER INFORMATION, ENABLES US TO SMS CUSTOMERS MESSAGES AND EMAILS INSIDE THE SOFTWARE.

Pros

UPDATES ARE CARRIED OUT INSTANTLY WITH NO DOWLOADING AND RELOADING OF THE PROGRAM.

Cons

THERE ARE VERY FEW CONS WITH THIS PROGRAM, OCCASIONALLY WHEN AN UPDATE IS RELEASED THERE ARE MINOR BUGS THAT ONCE REPORTED ARE HANDLED AND RECTIFIED QUICKLY.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hi Billy,

Thanks for the feedback, appreciate it. Glad to hear that it's providing great value for your business.

All the best.

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Lia Weston

Time-saving and flexible

2019-05-13

We haven't yet utilised the full extent of program, but are looking forward to finding even more benefits.

Pros

Being able to email invoices and job notes directly to customers is a huge bonus, too.

Cons

On the wish-list front, it would be great to be able to export reports such as follow-ups to Excel as you can't do much with a PDF, and we also need a way to print out barcode labels for our retail shopfront.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hello Lia,

Thanks for your feedback and taking the time to provide some detailed info, it really does help.

Great to hear that it's so much easier than before, and we will take on board your enhancement feedback.

Thanks again,

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software.

Read more
Cathy Campbell

MOSTLY GOOD, A FEW HICCUPS AT THE BEGINNING, BUT ALL SEEMS TO BE FLOWING NOW.

2018-01-18

Pros

ITEM SALES REPORT IS EXCELLENT, AS IT SHOWS COMMITED STOCK ON JOBS.

Cons

CAN'T EXPORT TO EXCEL, WHEN SEARCHING LIMITED DISPLAY, HOURS REPORTING STILL NOT CORRECT, CANNOT REPORT ON LOCATION, WHEN PRINTING INVOICES, IT WOULD BE GOOD IF COMMA'S CAN BE DISPLAYED IN NUMBER FIELD,

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hi Cathy,

Thanks for your feedback, good to hear that you see some of the additional updates providing value for your business and we will continue to expand and grow Workshop Software to provide even more value in the future.

All the best for the future success of your business.

Thank you

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Melanie Smyth

Easy to learn to use

2018-01-24

Assisted with creating a whole new POS system

Pros

It syncs with MYOB, easy to use, every staff member is capable of operating workshop software.

Cons

If an emailed invoice was sent unsuccessfully would be nice to receive a notification

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hello Melanie,

Thanks for your feedback, glad to hear that Workshop Software is very easy to use and that you get great value from the support team.

All the best for the future success of your business.

All the best

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Sandra Usher

still quite a few improvements needed specially in the reports section and invoice notes area

2018-01-15

easy to load vehicle details.

Pros

quick to find customers and vehicles .

Cons

invoices need a "payment due date" for account customers, the notes section of the invoice cant be edited even though the options are there and would be handy to run a report to show all account customers and their balance for each month is on one report rather then having to go into each account and running separate reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hi Sandra,
Thanks for your feedback, appreciate it.
In relation to the reports, I think you might be missing some info.
The customer balance report will give you what you need, plus there are statement reports and transaction reports.

if you need further help with this, please contact the support team.

Thanks again.
James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Caroline Davis

mostly good

2018-01-16

Pros

easy to find past customers, easy to use when processing invoices, like the fact it gives you day sales and monthly sales on the dashboard

Cons

sometimes if you need to cancel a finalized invoice for what ever reason, it wont let you on the odd occassion very frustating.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Thanks for your feedback Caroline, appreciate it.

Glad you find it easy to use and easy to search.

In relation to the finalised invoice, can you please contact support, as I am unsure what the issue is.

I hope that Workshop Software continues to provide you great value and with you every success in the future.

Thanks again.

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Indra Gerhardy

Will never use another program for the workshop

2018-01-16

Pros

Easy to input supplier and customer invoices.

Cons

Hoists so they could be listed as an inventory item.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hi Indra,

Thanks for the feedback, appreciate it. Glad to hear that it's providing great value for your business.

All the best.

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Lindsay Allan

Workshop Software is a great progam, it does most of what we need it to do.

2018-01-19

Was easier for my staff to use than Xero

Pros

Calender/diary is good Dashboard is good

Cons

Needs more inventory control - ie negative stock report Needs to be cheaper to ad extra users - ie we have two counter terminals the second one gets used every now and then so is not worth paying for another user.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hi Lindsay,

Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that Workshop Software is a great program for your business.

In terms of the price, at $49 per month, I'm sure you'll agree that Workshop Software is by far the best value for money application on the market. We want to be sure that we keep the initial price as low as possible, and to pay a small monthly fee for an additional user, we believe is fair.

Appreciate your support and I hope Workshop Software continues to provide great value for your business.

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Mitch Allen

Workshop software has given us a great confidence in the potential of our small business!

2018-01-19

Pros

Being able to generate work/stock orders helps us stay up to date with parts supplier pricing, speeds up or parts ordering process.

Cons

A nice feature would also be being able to select and add an already generated job card into the diary.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hello Mitch,

Thanks for your feedback, glad to hear that Workshop Software has increased the confidence in your business.

Regarding the work order, you can do that by setting up a Labour type. You can also add a job card into the diary (Star, and choose "Create Booking"). If you need further help/info, please contact the support team.

All the best for the future success of your business.

Thank you

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Neoton Yousif

Makes work easy

2018-01-23

Alot. Get heaps more free time. Can work check things from home or anywhere. Very simple to learn and everything is only a couple of clicks

Pros

Easy to use and almost does everything in 1 program. Good information on customers.

Cons

Be able to choose what info you want and make it more simple. Be able to choose the layout you want.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hello Neoton,

Thanks for your feedback. Great to hear that Workshop Software makes work easy!

I wish you every success in the future of your business.

Thank you

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
CHERYL BYERS

Have had difficulty getting started. Still in trial stage.

2018-01-17

Pros

Being able to find the history on all customer vehicles.

Cons

Inability to design our own job cards and invoices.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hello Cheryl,

Thanks for your feedback, I'm sure that once you get past the initial learning phase that Workshop Software will be a great asset to your business.

If you need help, feel free to contact the support team.

All the best for the future success of your business.

Thank you

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Raniera Rakete

Very good program, love the constant updates that are relevant to what the customers want.

2018-01-17

Pros

1/ very relevant updates 2/ easy to use 3/ friendly help staff 4/ company listens to the customers wants and updates as needed. 5/ price doesnt change -can access info anywhere in world(i wish reporting was better with that though)

Cons

1/ reporting features are not good enough(needs to be specific) 2/ inspections should be printed on to one sheet, not multiple sheets. 3/ workshop software servers seem to slow down everyday around 3-5pm 4/ have to constantly clear chrome history when program has problems 5/ cant search for specific customer/ report info. 6/ if internet goes down, no way to use system from desktop 7/ cant customize jobsheets and invoices to suit our own systems, so they almost cant be used efficiently in our workshop. 8/ needs more integrations for nz based parts suppliers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hi Raniera,

Thank you for your feedback, appreciate you taking the time to provide this review.

Good to hear that the system is easy to use and that the support team are looking after you.

As for the reporting, might be good to get some specific info on that, as there are many reports in the system. Also, finding a specific customer? Not sure about that, as you can search for a customer top search bar that includes name, phone etc.

Again, thanks for the feedback, appreciate it. All the best for your future success.

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Darren Sheldrick

Horrible company to deal with, system didn't work cancelled after 1 week

2017-07-01

absolutely none

Pros

NONE the program would not allow us to login, we have a email trail of them admitting fault and that they would rectify , weeks past never got back to us They are very quick to call when you enquire and sign you up but after sales is ridiculous Still taking money out of my credit card

Cons

System wouldn't work have emails from them confirming fault 3 months later they are still taking money from my credit card DONE DEAL WITH THESE PEOPLE Thieves and can't even be honest enough to cancel direct debit after admitting faults in software

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hello Darren,

Thanks for your feedback.

Workshop Software we prides itself on the service we give to clients. I've reviewed your account and have some notes for you:

1. The account (as stated in this review) Double Jacks Garage was never charged.
2. Sun City Hot water was not charged after you notified us to cancel on July 5th.
3. The issue you report that you were unable to login is not correct. You were using the incorrect login details to login via the phone app.

Your feedback is not a representation of the facts, and I request you change it or take it down.

If, by chance I am wrong, please email me the proof and I will refund 3 times the payments you made to Workshop Software and I will humbly apologise.

I'm happy to receive negative criticism, and sometimes we don't always get things right.

In this case, your criticism is plainly incorrect. Look forward to you rectifying this situation.

Thank you
James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Leonie Vellar

Transition from our old system was very quick and the 2 were so different, but the support was AAA

2018-01-16

To early to tell

Pros

We used our old system for many years and it was completely different.

Cons

Once invoice processed it can't be changed We would like to be able to go through a list of invoices and print a list of invoices numerically

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hello Leonie,

Thank you for your feedback, very much appreciated. Glad you find it easy to use and I know the support team love to know that they are doing a great job.

Thanks again

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Pat Tasker

Generally pretty good overall

2018-01-16

A better billing and job tracking system

Pros

The product entry database is good too especially now it has been modified to include GST

Cons

The save feature where you loose data sometimes if saved in the wrong order. The print feature which seems to use a 3rd part application to print from.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hi Pat

Thanks very much for your feedback, it really does help.

Glad your finding easy to search. Not sure what you're referring to in regard to GST as the system has always been able to include GST (maybe you changed the system setting that includes GST in the price. That's been in the system since inception).

I note that you gave one star for Support. We pride ourselves on support and I trust you will have an improved view in the future. I looked at your log, and can see only one support request back in May 2017.

You may also want to contact the support team about losing data and printing. There is no known issue with data. If you login to another device with the same user name, it will log the original user out, maybe that's what you're seeing.

Thanks again, appreciate the feedback, it really does help us to ensure we are providing the best product and service possible.

All the best.
James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Emma O'Loughlin

Have been using WS for 12 months now and it has been super easy to use.

2018-01-23

We are only a small business and its great that we can all use the program with ease

Pros

How much information you can store in each customer or supplier file.

Cons

I find it quite slow to save or process invoices and go from one page to the next.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hello Emma,

Thanks for your feedback, glad to hear that Workshop Software is very easy to use.

All the best for the future success of your business.

All the best

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Bobbie Sellar

Easy to use, but basic functionality.

2018-01-23

Easy to use and integrate with other programs.

Pros

It integrates with accounting programs to make life easier and its easy to use and teach to other employees.

Cons

You can't make part payments after the invoice has been closed, you can't edit an invoice once its been closed, and you can't add workshop consumables or tools to the system unless you add them as a part.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hello Bobbie,

Thanks for your feedback.

You can make a part payment. Please checkout the help knowledgebase for details on how to do this. You can also separate parts and labour. If you need further help, please contact the support team who will be able to help you through these processes.

Hope that helps.

All the best for your future success with Workshop Software

Thank you

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Catherine Cooke

Sewing machine sales & service and craft store

2019-05-28

My business needs to track serial numbers both in sales and service, I also needed stock control.

Pros

The search facility within this program is absolutely fantastic.

Cons

E.G. create a customer then add one machine then have to go back to customer to add another machine.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hello Catherine,

Thank you very much for your feedback, really appreciate it.

In reference to adding machines to customers, the easiest way to do that is in a Job/Invoice by clicking the Plus in the Vehicles section. This should be very quick and easy, and you can add multiple if you need (if that does not make complete sense, please contact the support team).

I look forward to seeing your ongoing success in your business.

Best Regards,
James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Frank Terranova

great work shop soft wear

2018-01-19

Pros

managing your stock and customer service keeping records and reports it does every thing i m looking for in software

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hi Frank,

Thanks for your feedback, glad to hear that Workshop Software is everything you are looking for!

All the best for your future success.

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Ryan Crofts

Been there since the start. Mostly works well but we have had our hiccups.

2018-01-16

Pros

We can keep track of open jobs easier, if the job card goes missing it is easily picked up in job centre.

Cons

This is a very slow process. A start all today's jobs and create job cards would be great.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hi Ryan,

Thanks for the feedback and appreciate your continued and long support.

When you say Bugs, I think you might be referring to wish list items. We get lots of feedback about all sorts of things for the system, some good, some not so good and we prioritise according to what we feel is the best for the general user base.

I'm sure you'll agree, having used the system for quite a while, that there has been some great.

As for starting a job, it should take as little as 3 seconds. Maybe contact support and show them your process, as we do not generally get feedback that this is a slow process.

Thanks again, I hope you continue to get great value from Workshop Software.

All the best.

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more
Kael Stein

Very easy to pick up and staff have answered all queries in a fast and knowledgeable manner

2018-01-22

Pros

Ease of use and being able to order parts from the one place and track workshop income.

Cons

Also it would be good if when you are completing a service that you could enter details in so that when the vehicle is next serviced they automatically come up on the new job card for items that need attention that were noted during the last service.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Workshop Software


Hello Kael,

Thanks for your feedback, happy to hear that it's easy to use and that you've got great support.

All the best for the future success of your business.

Thank you

James Mitchell
CEO Workshop Software

Read more