This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Acunetix

All-in-one automated web application security solution

visit website

Acunetix Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Also, the GUI is very pleasant and user friendly plus you don't have to be an expert on the subject matter to use this.

Anonymous Reviewer

With self-explanatory reports, the assessment procedure is easy to setup and configure. Prioritization and classification help resolve issues that are vital to the organization.

Darshana K.

Easy to use, good quality and possibilities to config your own scans.

Bo L.

Cons

The only con I found in this software is lack of support. The response time of the customer service team is poor.

Brittane R.

Currently you have the "Allowed hosts" settings which is crappy in setting up. I need to set all (sub) domains to a different target.

Anonymous Reviewer

The interface is built as "point a shoot", idiot proof. Currently, If I want to configure things I need to change xml config files on the server and reload acunetix.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

4.5

5

4

3

2

1

18

10

3

0

0

90%
positive reviews
90%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


31 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A well priced, cloud based vulnerability scanner

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I can schedule daily, weekly or monthly scans of targets which checks for vulnerabilities in our cloud infrastructure from one control panel. The ability to send different types of reports to various parties, for example a 'Board level' report or 'Developer' report is handy for tailoring content to the audience.

Cons

It perhaps could be improved by adding a section for commenting on how a vulnerability was fixed and a link to a relevant URL to confirm this. Pricing is good for a small amount of targets, but quickly becomes expensive for multiple target locations.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple, but very powerful web vunlerability scanner

Reviewed 3 years ago

Good thing for a web application pentesting, can give You insight of a present vulnerabilities. Would recommend using in tandem with infrastructure scanner (like Nessus) to create a complete testing solution. Also presence of continous scanning and scheduler could be used for a regular security assesment of Your web applications.

Pros

Ease of use, good customer support, very insightful reports (especially Developer raport), good vulnerability management. Also continous scanning option is an interesting thing for having continous security awareness of Your vulnerability level. Also login sequence recorder is an awesome tool.

Cons

Not a lot of scan options to configure - especially in comparison to Nessus - every check is done in default, You can't choose specifically which test is done in selected scan, only the type of scan (full, high-risk vulnerabilities, xss, sqli, weak passwords, crawl only ) or technology in which the scanned web app is written.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback ¿ we¿re glad that Acuneix is working for you. Regarding your comment about choosing what to scan for ¿ you can already do this in Acunetix, although the feature is slightly hidden away in Settings > Scan Types. Here you can create your own custom Scan Types, and you will be able to choose which vulnerabilities to check for. When creating a new custom Scan Type, you can filter the vulnerability checks from the top right hand corner of the page. Remember that you can also easily retest for a specific vulnerability identified in a previous scan.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ok tool, but fix your business model and add more settings to the interface

Reviewed 3 years ago

Continuation of the cons section (number of chars was limited). * Settings are sometimes unclear, an info icon with a popup would be nice. Example 1: In the "Site Structure" of a scan it is possible to press "exclude", does it exlude the path from futre scans? If so why don't I see anything in the target settings? Or does "exlude" exclude vulnerabilities from the report? BTW after pressing exlude I'm not able to "include" it again. Example 2: "scan speed", how many threads per setting are we talking about? * Would definitly like to get some more feedback from scans directly in the interface, what is it doing, why did it fail, did all the "allowed hosts" got scanned etc. I know you can debug a target, but this is not what I mean.

Pros

* The number of checks that take place. * The quality of the issues found. * After years it is finally possible to pause a scan, hallelujah.

Cons

* As a pentester I absolutely miss a more flexible way to configure settings like it was possible in v10. The interface is built as "point a shoot", idiot proof. Currently, If I want to configure things I need to change xml config files on the server and reload acunetix... * After the release of v12 we were called by a sales agent as we suddently couldn't add targets anymore. The license model suddenly...

Vendor response

Thank you for your honest feedback: As you rightly say, we try to keep an easy to use interface, with the intention of automatically detecting the best way to scan the site. There are some settings which are not used by most of our customers, and which can be manually tweaked from the settings file. I think you might have missed the little help icon at the top right corner of the Acunetix interface....

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to setup, nice results

Reviewed 3 years ago

As a scanner it is quite good, relevant and well described findings, so far no false positives. Following an initial trial and PoC with couple of competitors, Acunetix had the best features, most suitable licensing model, good support, so we purchased a three year license. However, at some point, it all changed. The license became based on other criteria, the testing and verification tools were removed, there is no support or way of reverting to a previous version, after you realise that the changes introduced and making the software unusable or insufficient. Overall, unless there are guarantees that it won't happen again, I will be very reluctant to renew.

Pros

Very easy to setup initially, running scans quite fast, good crawler, very nice and understandable results.

Cons

The license model changed somehow in the middle of the three years, so it became impossible to continue to use it as planned without paying much more. Tools were removed.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. You can download the free Acunetix Manual Pentesting Tools from https://www.acunetix.com/vulnerability-scanner/free-manual-pen-testing-tools/. You can copy the Request done by Acunetix from the Vulnerability details, and use this in the Acuneix Manual Tools

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Acunetix always gives me a very good first impression

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We are using Acunetix now for more than 5 years. It is very easy to create new targets and quickly start automatic scans. The AcuSensor often gives me a good hint where I should take a closer look manually. Our management likes the well structured reports.

Cons

If a web application is very complex, the scanner sometimes does not really manage to find its path through the process. Since the application changed to the web gui, it is more complicated to specify pre-recorded login sequence. The user has to log into the server, where Acunetix is hostet and start a different application to record the sequence.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. We are planning on integrating the Acunetix Login Sequence Recorder in the Acunetix web UI. This will make it easier to record login sequences moving forward. If all goes well, we will have this feature in place by the end of Q3 / beginning Q4 this year.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great audit tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

after using the tool for several years I can say that it is one of the best web vulnerability scaners on the market

Pros

Faster analysis, low false positives and intuitive interface

Cons

Take out the manual tools from the acunetix web has been an error.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. You can download the free Acunetix Manual Pentesting Tools from https://www.acunetix.com/vulnerability-scanner/free-manual-pen-testing-tools/. You can copy the Request done by Acunetix from the Vulnerability details, and use this in the Acuneix Manual Tools

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Automated Web Vulnerability Scanning with Acunetix

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use Acunetix to scan our Websites and web applications, usually on the test machines, in order to spot vulnerabilities before moving things to production. The nice thing with Acunetix is that you can schedule automated scans, daily, weekly or monthly, so you can just check the reports with the affected items.

Pros

I have been using the On Premises version for a few years now. Acunetix is really easy to use with a very user-friendly web portal to manage the targets, scans, reports, settings, etc. I really like the reports, after every scan, from which you can easily spot the important and high risk vulnerabilities, with recommendations on how to fix each issue.

Cons

nothing, everything is perfect! the only catch is the price change, but I believe it's worth it.

Vendor response

Thank you for an excellent review. We are really happy Acunetix is working out for you

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

excellent quality!

Reviewed 3 years ago

We worked very well with Acunetix in the last years, we look forward to go on this way

Pros

an intuitive, efficient, affordable application

Cons

customer support is quite slow to answer; network scan has been removed, it was a useful function; price increase didn't make us happier

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. Network Scans are still available with Acunetix Online. We will work on improving our Support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Vulnetability scanner

Reviewed 2 years ago

Cool tool and deserves to get tried once.

Pros

- No doubt, easy to setup - Easy to manage vulnerabilities - Network level scanning is cool - Good for Blackbox testing

Cons

- I believe post authentication scripts need improvement as it still throws duplicates and few bugs are duplicates the accuracy rate is quite high but still need improvement in existing scripts. - Needs more modern vulnerabilities detection it might got lots of vulnerabilities in the existing database and its good but not sufficient.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. We will look into improving our vulnerability detection.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best Web assessment tool

Reviewed 10 months ago

Acunetix is quite a strong tool for web assessments even though it did not support other types of assessments. Both on prem and cloud scanners are available. Less false positives compared to other tools and price is a bit expensive. Lots of options available to download reports. Overall its a good tool for web assessment.

Pros

User-friendly simple graphical interface with point and shoot approach makes the assessment conducting easy even for non-technical people. Provide detailed vulnerability assessment reports with testing examples. It provides reports for developers for developing options and reports can be generated according to the required compliance standard like

Cons

Acunetix doesn’t provide comprehensive CSV format downloads. Provided CSV files format needs to improve. Accunetix currently supports only web assessment. It can.not be used as all in one tool. Recently they have changed their licensing method and price is quite expensive compared to other tools.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for developers for self evaluation

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I have been using acunetix web vulnerability scanner since last 2 years as I develop Web apps and Websites in my professional career so I like to test it by myself for the vulnerabilities. It gives me scope for improvement in my programming skills. As it gives the developer report as a part of the report its very indepth report and very useful for me to develop secure web apps I really like the web interface they have provided It reduces the dependancy of a device to carry. really good.

Cons

There is nothing so far to dislike this software. As my needs are getting fulfilled by the available functionalities. Looking forward to new updates.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Most user friendly vulnerability scanner i've used

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Acunetix user experience (UX) is one of the best i've encountered. The dashboard feature is very useful for technically inclined and non-technically inclined users. The user interface is appealing and you can find all your statistics on the dashboard. You don't have to look very far to see a summary report of previous or current scans. The dashboard can show you an app's vulnerabilities based on severity by colour coding severities. You can also generate easy to read reports with a click of a button based on the type of report you want.

Cons

The only con I found in this software is lack of support. The response time of the customer service team is poor. I waited weeks to get a response from the team and even then, the back and forth was not helpful as I was not able to get help fast enough.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to review Acunetix. We are glad you like our new dashboard. We will look at improving our support process.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Overall Review of Acunetix

Reviewed 3 years ago

This is the best and easiest tool to Scanning for Penetration testing

Pros

Ease of use Features and Functionalities

Cons

Scanning time Concurrent Scans Pricing and license timing

Vendor response

Many thanks for your feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

I've been using Acunetix for 5 years already, and it's getting worst instead of getting better..

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- easy to use - friendly UI - easy to read reports - the support is all right - price used to be a pro

Cons

- they removed a lot of functionality in the last 2 years (starting with version 10): you are not able to crawl and scan only some of the parts of the website, based on the crawling made, you were not able to pause the scan (they re-introduced that in v12), not able to see the reply from the server for found vulnerabilities, in order to confirm them, it's not properly working for some login pages, it's not properly working on big websites, webshops, etc (the crawling takes ages!)

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. Most of the features that you are missing have been re-introduced in newer updates. You can now select to exclude parts of a site using the Site Structure identified in a previous scan. As you rightly say, you can Pause scans in the latest version of Acunetix. You can also change the Target Settings and resume the scan with the new settings. Response headers have also been re-introduced recently. We would appreciate if you can provide more details on the issues with the Login of some sites and larger sites. Please send this info to our support team at support@acuneix.com

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Amazing Pentesting tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is a very fast and stable tool, Acunetix allows you to perform a security audit in an easy and intuitive way.

Cons

Does not allow to audit webservice in the latest version

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. In the most recent versions, the auditing of a web service has been integrated in the scanner. You can just create a normal scan for the web service, and Acunetix will proceed with scanning it as it used to do before.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Quick and easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very positive, support top. Software perfect for a quick, general overview of the web application security.

Pros

Quick setup, with a wide range of tests.

Cons

The built in login broweser, as it is outdated and does not support technology like index.db etc.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. We are currently working on a new version of the Login Sequence Recorder which will be able to support a large number of new technologies

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool supporting secure SDLC process

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

+ Ease of use + Point&shoot approach allowing for quick validation of target's overal security + Support for various login mechanisms (including OAuth/SSO) + Great as part of SDL process

Cons

- Scans might sometimes be slow when run over the internet

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you are satisfied with the product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Delivers what it promises | Automated Web Security Scanning

Reviewed 2 years ago

Modular and complete application level testing of agreed upon domains is usually done with ease and reports are generated with rich content.

Pros

With self-explanatory reports, the assessment procedure is easy to setup and configure. Prioritization and classification help resolve issues that are vital to the organization.

Cons

Since a comprehensive scan takes place with advanced crawling and authentication capabilities, the process might take a bit longer than expected, which is nothing in comparison to the information rendered.

Vendor response

Thank you for submitting your review of Acunetix on Capterra, we appreciate your time and are glad to hear we are of service to your business. Regards Acunetix Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good web application vulnerability scanner but not recommended.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This is a good tool for performing web application scan vulnerability assessment. It’s as automated tool which supports application scan provided the URL of applications. It can give compliance reports including PCI DSS, HIPPAA, OWASP TOP 10 etc. Acunetix can do credential based scan for web applications.

Cons

Al tough its good tool, from the past experiences of using it, Sometimes acunetic automatically logs out of session while performing the test. Also, acuneix could provide many false positives, as result have to cross check manually about the details of the scan results.

Vendor response

Thank you for your candid feedback. During an automated scan, Acunetix will make a lot of requests, some of which will invalidate the session. Acunetix is able to automatically detect this and will login to the web application to continue scanning the restricted area. As regards false positives, we would be very interested in getting to know about these. Would you be able to forward samples to our team at support@acunetix.com?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Scanning made Simplified

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Acunetix has a variety of network vulnerability scanning methods called "tests" which can be easily configures with a quick setup. Also, the GUI is very pleasant and user friendly plus you don't have to be an expert on the subject matter to use this.

Cons

Does not support Active Directory and static review process. And scan time is highly dependent on your down-link.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Accunetix in Education

Reviewed 3 years ago

Dynamic Application Security Testing.

Pros

Ease of use and cost makes this product's RIO right on the money.

Cons

LAck of AD support, and static review process.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedbcak

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Acunetix Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The network and web vulnerability scanning.

Cons

Better scheduling for scans e.g. happen on the first Monday of each month

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Acunetix Vulnerability Scanner

Reviewed 2 years ago

In general Acunetix is part of the security strategy in order to test all our applications before being promoted to Production

Pros

With the Vulnerability Scanner the company had audit almost every site and web application, detecting every vulnerability and planning how to fix it. This had help to keep safe all the information managed on the web applicantions.

Cons

One of the issues with Acunetix has been the price. It had incremented more that we expected.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of Acunetix.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Great product but grossly over priced for small businesses

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease of use. Easy reporting. In depth penetration tests.

Cons

The price has increased incredibly which is pricing my customers out of this product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Acunetix perfect vulnerability manager solution

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use on premise solution. Great solution for small and big enterprises

Pros

User friendly interface. Fast scan. Great on premise and cloud solution

Cons

The solution work great. I don`t have something that i like least

Vendor response

Thank you for your positive review