App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Unitrends MSP Logo

Unitrends MSP

Backup and Disaster Recovery for MSPs

see alternatives

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Unitrends MSP Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

13

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.09/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The thing I like most about this software is the reliability that it presents. Sleepless nights are a thing of the past while using this software.
Reliability and ease of use. We have been able to do full VM and file level recoveries quickly.
It makes for very very reliable backups and restores. Unitrends is a company built on Customer Service.
I hate going through a third party. It was so much simpler going through Unitrends for all of my needs, questions, or upgrades.
I hate when the UI changes significantly and it makes it very hard to find or do what I want to do. I wish they had their own sales.
There are constantly issues with random components that need a redeploy to fix because they don't know how to fix their core. The UI is a buggy mess sometimes and things just don't work right in it.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


13 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mike A.

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It Just Works

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

I like that there are disks and NO TAPES. It makes for very very reliable backups and restores. Unitrends is a company built on Customer Service. When we started with them, the person you got on the phone with brought the issue to resolution. Now things are different, but it does not feel like you are just a number. They really want to make sure you get a satisfactory outcome. Onboarding was pretty simple and painless. I would recommend them to everyone. In the almost 7 years we have used it, there have been very little problems. And the problems we did have got resolved. DO I wish that sometimes they were resolved differently or more quickly, sure. But at the end of the day, we did get to a resolution.

Cons

I hate when the UI changes significantly and it makes it very hard to find or do what I want to do. I wish they had their own sales. I hate going through a third party. It was so much simpler going through Unitrends for all of my needs, questions, or upgrades.

MS
AvatarImg

Michael S.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

unitrends saved us many times

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Unitrends MSP is the best bang for the buck we have found with the features close to Datto BCDR at more than half the price.

Cons

Support can be flukey at times and provide incorrect answers

CC
AvatarImg

Cj C.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Ok backup and recovery suite, good if you use physical appliances

Reviewed a year ago

The portal is nice for managing all clients, but overall user experience is not great. The whole product feels like it was just slapped together and is not polished.

Pros

It integrates with other Kaseya products and the backups are deduplicated.

Cons

The core custom version of CentOS they are using is garbage. There are constantly issues with random components that need a redeploy to fix because they don't know how to fix their core. The UI is a buggy mess sometimes and things just don't work right in it. Support response time is pretty bad, considering they are a backup and DR company. When support does answer, they usually default to a few common solutions that don't address the root cause of the problem.

JM
AvatarImg

Jim M.

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Unitrends Backup Software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Unitrends has provided the ability for fast, inexpensive, reliable and secure backups. On the few times contact with tech support was needed, they provided quick and accurate support to resolve our issues.

Pros

Configuration of the application is quite simple and having the benefit of "incrementals for ever" allows quick backups. The ability to utilize the Unitrends appliance for backups makes it very easy to upload backup data to the cloud as a secure off-site location, and it eliminates the need for high cost massive storage for on-site archival of data.

Cons

Truthfully, there is NOTHING I dislike about this software

EO
AvatarImg

Eddie O.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

great backup software

Reviewed a year ago

It's been a key product for years when it comes to DR

Pros

love how simple it is to setup and configure a new back up and how nicely it integrates with VSA

Cons

Lots of issues with cold copying backups and the support for such issues doesn't seem to get looked into or gets bounced to the external company even when the issues are proven to be in the unitrends client., Now that Kaseya has merged with Datto it's becoming less useful for MSP's and the being bound in contract makes it impossible to switch without incurring fees.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andrew M.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Unitrends is a Great Backup Appliance

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Ease of Use. Great Tech Support! Support will be your best experience. They have the best people there. Not only do they fix any issue you have but they also double check how you've setup your backups to make sure they will successfully backup. When I took over from the prior administrator Unitrends found out for me that several of the backups were not being properly backed up. Thus I would have had nothing to restore from. I use the physical appliances and Forever Cloud with DRaaS, and a RXDA to do quarterly archives.

Cons

Cost. All devices like this will have a higher cost. Unitrends was the best price point but expect to spend money for this! Quotes were still less than the competitors!

BG
AvatarImg

Bernard G.

Government Relations, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Unitrends MSP

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Automatic testing of the backups. System will test all components of the server that is required for the backup to be successful.

Cons

Price would be the only issue that I would have with the prpduct.

TM
AvatarImg

Tina M.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Essential to a DR plan

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Incorporating a Unitrends Cloud Backup solution in your disaster recovery plan is essential. Unitrends offers a reliable and proven solution.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Eric W.

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and quick

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Very simple UI, so its easy to use. Backups and restores are very quick. Their support is top notch.

Cons

The SQL and Sharepoint backups can be a bit touchy. Sometimes takes a little extra configs for those. I wish their was better reporting storage for long term lookups

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bartt N.

Government Administration,

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Product, Easy to Use

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Reliability and ease of use. We have been able to do full VM and file level recoveries quickly. Integrates with VM and physical mix.

Cons

Cost of product and life expectancy. Should be building products with 7-10 year life. Onboarding not very automated.

KR
AvatarImg

Kenneth R.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use

Reviewed a year ago

We use this for our day to day for supporting all aspects of our clients

Pros

It is easy to use and pretty self explanitory

Cons

Multiple displays in PAM with the ability to see both monitors at the same time

DH
AvatarImg

David H.

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Awesome product!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The thing I like most about this software is the reliability that it presents. Sleepless nights are a thing of the past while using this software.

Cons

I've not ran across any issues while using this software. I don't have any cons about this software. It just work for me.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Once you get your head around retention policies its a joy to use

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

physical and virtual backups all under one roof Customer service in excellent easy to navigate and informative UI

Cons

Retention policy take a but of getting used to Loosing connection to any storage media can cause corruption to all backups held on the device