App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Geotab Logo

Software that saves time, money and the environment

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Geotab Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

82

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.69/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

keeptruckin
calamp
elite-extra

Pros and cons

Very good from first call and through onboarding. Customer service has been responsive and helpful.
I absolutely love the support we get from our local representatives like [SENSITIVE CONTENT] , [SENSITIVE CONTENT. Any issue that arises is always resolved in a matter of hours or days.
This has worked pretty good. Some like their smart phones and others like to use the tablets installed in our trucks.
I hate searching addresses or seeing how far away a tech is from their destination. It is hidden and hard to use.
Customer service was horrible. Every time I had to deal with them, I couldn't get an answer to my question.
Difficult to answer, we haven't found any major problems with the product yet.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


82 reviews

Recommended

TA
AvatarImg

Terri A.

Executive Director

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Helps with grant requirements!

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Terri A.: Hi, my name is Terri. I work for the Point Arc of Northern Kentucky. I'm the executive director...

KC
AvatarImg

Keanu C.

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A leader in GPS & Fleet Management.

Reviewed a year ago

The biggest issues before was having a reliable service provider that gives top of the line data. A near 0% failure rate on hardware with consistent communication on updates has been a gem in the Fleet Management industry.

Pros

The features that stand out are- OBD connected vehcile data, collision reconstruction & the g sensor for driver behaviour insights.It gives businesses real data that are important to making insightful fleet actions

Cons

The biggest issue may be the wait time for the product development team to implement any feature requests. While it's understood it has to be evaluated and seen feasible for all users Some requests take long.For example: Adding more currencies to represent the LATAM & Caribbean Regions.

MG
AvatarImg

Manny G.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Support

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I absolutely love the support we get from our local representatives like [SENSITIVE CONTENT] , [SENSITIVE CONTENT] . Any issue that arises is always resolved in a matter of hours or days. Thank you for your hard work.

Cons

False vehicle idle reports. Example, vehicle shows that it idled for a minute at 3 am on a Saturday. I get an email and immediately think the truck is getting stolen.

CH
AvatarImg

Chelsea H.

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Great hardware, software is a little old-school but immensely feature-heavy

Reviewed 6 years ago

We could not have had so much success with our Fleet Management project without MyGeotab. We picked them because of their integrate-ability and large list of features. We have grown from 1 to 8 vehicles in the last couple of years and could not keep up without a real system. We have direct access to real-time vehicle location, get instant notification of policy violations (we didn't even have policies...

Pros

MyGeotab has enabled our small fleet management team to more easily gain vital insights into the health and safety of our fleet (about 10 vehicles). The feature-set is immense and very broad - it can be daunting when you first get your fleet set up. We have been able to set custom rules and triggers that have allowed us to match our fleet policy. These rules, such as instant notification of speeding violations or engine codes (via Geotab Hardware), have saved us money and time in vehicle repairs and downtime.

Cons

Geotab is a titan in the industry; they're the biggest name out there and they know it. However, they have lost their focus on usability. This application, for those unfamiliar with Fleet Management systems or new to the industry, is quite difficult to adopt. Fortunately, their direct Support is great (we had a troublesome, confused re-seller) and they have an expansive knowledgebase with videos and guides. We use this system in conjunction with Fleetio (direct integration!), and the difference in usability is overwhelming. I actually set up our system so that we never have to log in to MyGeotab because it's so darn hard to use and reconfigure.

ID
AvatarImg

Ian D.

Renewables & Environment, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Geotab 9

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very good from first call and through onboarding. Customer service has been responsive and helpful.

Pros

The ability to quickly know if one of our people is in a hazardous situation so we can send help. It also integrates with another platform (JESI) to give us even better visibility and safety for employees who are travelling for work.

Cons

Difficult to answer, we haven't found any major problems with the product yet. One shortfall is that we don't have a good solution yet for our people who are hiring a vehicle for a single journey - there's a risk they'll plug the GeoTab unit in but forget to take it out at the end of their journey.

Vendor response

Ian, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate hearing how we make a difference in your business and the areas we can improve.

DC
AvatarImg

David C.

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Geotab - Best Telematics Solution

Reviewed a year ago

Best Telematics Solution

Pros

Reliable, User Friendly and Intuitive, Integrates easily with other systems

Cons

Nothing. It is a great solution Always improving

Vendor response

David, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate hearing how we make a difference in your business and the areas we can improve.

JP
AvatarImg

John P.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

GPS software

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have been satisfied with GeoTab, but I am not sure that we would purchase again, if the need arises. We have over 70 vehicles on the product. The mbile app has been very helpful for our mechanics and dispatchers when they are out of the office. It does what we need it to do, but I think it could be more user friendly.

Pros

The product does what it is supposed to do--no more and no less. The customer service is OK. It does get a little confusing for our use because we have this synced with our Routing and Planning software. The reporting is pretty powerful and most importantly spot on accurate. The mobile app is good.

Cons

The best way to describe the reporting is that it is a perishable skill with this software. We have always been able to get what we needed--but if you don't use it on a regular basis, it is difficult to figure out how to manipulate the data that you need. I don't know that I would call the product user friendly as compared to others that I have seen.

GD
AvatarImg

Gerry D.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Pro's and Con's

Reviewed a year ago

I've been using it fir the last 10 years + i find most of this software useful and easy to use, but i feel it falls short on the maintenance side

Pros

Tracking trends, fuel usage , drivers reporting for IFTA, driver congregation

Cons

Its compatibility with other software i use. Also not like the drivers reports i would like to have the drivers checklist emailed to me daily. I have trouble explaining this to GEOTab support

Vendor response

Gerry, thank you for your review! We focus on improving our products and solutions and your feedback is important to our success.

TO
AvatarImg

Tom O.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Does just what we need

Reviewed a year ago

Stopped speeding the first day we used the program. Stopped extreme idling times. Very helpful for our dispatchers to see exactly where our trucks are.

Pros

Easy to use. I have my entire fleet at my fingertips. I love the phone app.

Cons

When I open the app it starts at a complete USA view when all of my trucks are within 50 miles of each other.

Vendor response

Tom, thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience. We're thrilled to hear that our product and solutions are meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and helps us make improvements. Thank you again for your review.

LM
AvatarImg

Luis Miguel M.

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The bes on Telematics

Reviewed a year ago

I've been working with the Geotab tech for +10 years.

Pros

Their philosophy of an Open platform and the High-security protocols leverage a very flexible solution for all sizes of fleets.

Cons

no at all, I think they are very willing to improve any problem facing in the operations.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Quick Implementation/No Contract

Reviewed 6 years ago

If you are looking for a quick and easy ELD with no commitment Geotab is your huckleberry. If you want a pretty highly captivating platform that will engage drivers and staff no so much. It menu based not icon based which is hard for users in this ultra clicky world.

Pros

No contract!!! Hardware is inexpensive and implementation is quick. And no commitment. It’s cheap enough you can keep a couple extra on hand just in case. Which is nice.

Cons

It’s not as user friendly as other platforms. It gets the job done but has a bear bones feel. There is a lot of functionality but you have to dig. If you aren’t a big company you don’t get your own customer rep. So you just leave a message and wait for the sales rep to call back. Ours was super responsive but it would all depend on his work load.

IG
AvatarImg

Ingalore G.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GeoTab Survey

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

How easily it is to find specific units when needing to quickly find valuable information as to HOS

Cons

Not tapping into the reporting side due to not understanding it’s value.

NS
AvatarImg

Nolan S.

Logistics and Supply Chain, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Geotab has fallen behind their competition

Reviewed 8 months ago

I felt like I was working with an out of date software.

Pros

GPS tracking was accurate and but without camera capabilities at the time, it felt very limited.

Cons

The customer UI was atrocious, and the entire software felt needlessly bulky.

RC
AvatarImg

Raphael C.

Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed a year ago

Great

Pros

Precise information - accurate. Ease of installation.

Cons

Lack of integration with other systems and speed limit accurate informartion

Vendor response

Raphael, that's great to hear. We're excited that Geotab is making a positive impact on your business. We strive to provide the best products and solutions possible, and reviews like this let us know we're on the right track. Thank you.

MM
AvatarImg

Michelle M.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

It's okay

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ease of use

Cons

GPS and power constantly disconnected, always asking for a 30 minute time off during the day, that is an american rule not Canadian. Cannot add a generic driver for when a dealership drives the truck or a mechanic drives the truck that is not part of the company

JM
AvatarImg

Julio M.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Alpha Medical

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Geotracking is by far the most important for our company. Unfortunately not everyone is trustworthy so this helps us maintain a top notch crew buy trimming the fat

Cons

At first its alot to take in. Not really a con but that the only thing that i could say 'least'about

CD
AvatarImg

Cat D.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to set up, easy to use (very intuitive), well organized and simple to pull up a user or unit number.

Cons

Doesn't travel "with" the vehicle, so we are refreshing often to see a driver's ETA. Sometimes need to click a few times to ensure just that one unit is selected.

DC
AvatarImg

Dan C.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Inexpensive Way For All Your Needs

Reviewed a year ago

The whole Geotab Experience has been great, Great people and great support for success

Pros

Easy to use, even for the non technical individuals

Cons

Very difficult to know if a device is faulty right away.

AA
AvatarImg

AYREN A.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Not worth the money spent

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience was not good since I expected a better customer service and better software for the price I was paying

Pros

Software was ok but like complicate it at first. Not very user friendly but had good integration with ELD in trucks

Cons

Customer service was horrible. Every time I had to deal with them, I couldn't get an answer to my question. They will put me on hold and sometimes calls had to be escalate it

Ac
AvatarImg

Alan c.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Partner review

Reviewed a year ago

Really good experience so far

Pros

The visual dash panels it’s for me the best feature for a final users

Cons

It’s not easy to use for all type of users, most be personalized features for every type of users

AM
AvatarImg

Anthony M.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Future Ready

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

open api and sdk flexibility, eld support and ev support

Cons

diversed distribution channel, finding the right geotab reseller for you industry is key to satisfaction

DD
AvatarImg

Dominic D.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great asset for what we do!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy access and great reporting for our team.

Cons

Sometimes speeding reports show assets in an area that could not be doing that speed.

JS
AvatarImg

Jeffrey S.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Transit Integration

Reviewed 5 years ago

been trying to learn all features

Pros

live location and tracking of buses, history,speeds, cornering

Cons

cant communicate, can i text message? dont know how to alter vehicle number or highlight bus routes on the map

JP
AvatarImg

James P.

Events Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Tool for Fleet Management

Reviewed 5 years ago

Geotab is an excellent way to track and monitor your drivers. It monitors all the analytics on the truck as well as the drivers DOT hours and ontime logs. this is a great tool.

Pros

Plenty of details and graphs for everything critical to your business

Cons

Can be a bit cumbersome at times trying to fix different DOT violations if there is a driver error.

BS
AvatarImg

Brenda S.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Geotab

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

This product offers a lot of different features. Our company has used it to alert drivers to potential bad driving habits. This has resulted in savings on insurance and vehicle maintenance.

Cons

I can't think of a con. It is easy to use and the cost is offset by actual savings in other areas.

JE
AvatarImg

Jesus Emmanuel M.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

More than a good product, it is a good service

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Basically the geotab app is useless if you don't buy its product, but once you have the GPS product it is a great fleet management tool, it has reports, alerts, notifications and helps with real statistics on the behavior of my vehicles.

Cons

There are large functionality and appearance updates very often.