App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Adobe After Effects Logo

Adobe After Effects

Motion graphics and VFX solution for graphic designers

see alternatives

(9)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Adobe After Effects Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

411

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.83/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

When integrated with illustrator it makes great animations, when integrated with premiere pro it makes great videos. It can do much in both worlds, which is great.
I love the ease of use when working with effects. And if you know any other Adobe product then it's pretty easy to understand how this one works since a lot of the options and keys are the same.
Thanks to After Effects I was able to vastly improve the final quality of our videos and webinars, supporting myself with the variety of templates found on the net for free and/or paid.
This software can be very very intimidating if you're a complete beginner, so much stuff and feature key.
If the system has lower specifications and suppose you are rending an highly complex video that is just edited, it will take very very long time to render and sometime software will even crash.
Rendering out a finale project is a slow process and can sometimes crash.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


411 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tchameni C.

Design, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Versatile and powerful software for motion graphic animation

Reviewed 7 months ago

It helps me with motion animation both for business and fun. It's a great tool to use

Pros

I sued After Effects for creating visual effects, motion graphics, and animation.- It enables me to create advanced motion graphics and animations using keyframes, expressions, and effects. It provides a powerful timeline-based interface for precise control over animation timing and movement.- 3D integration which enables me to import and easily manipulate 3D models, and apply lighting and camera effects...

Cons

-After Effects can be hard to learn as there are advanced concepts to explore.- It requires devices with high memory to function properly

AC
AvatarImg

Anthony C.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Want to make stunning animations? Try Adobe After Effects.

Reviewed a year ago

As an IT department intern at the University, I had the opportunity to use Adobe After Effects on several occasions for audiovisual content production. Although at first, it seemed like an overwhelming software, after some time practicing, I was able to understand its main features and create impressive animations and visual effects.

Pros

Adobe After Effects is a highly versatile software that allows you to create high-quality visual effects. It offers a wide range of tools for video post-production and animation, including options for color correction, lighting effects, motion graphics integration, among others. It also has an intuitive interface that facilitates work and allows for greater efficiency in content production.

Cons

Adobe After Effects can have a steep learning curve for beginners, and may require a significant amount of time to master its advanced features. It can also be a fairly heavy and demanding software in terms of hardware requirements, which may limit its use on certain devices.

JE
AvatarImg

Jordan E.

Music, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

An expensive but nonetheless high-quality motion graphics software

Reviewed 3 years ago

All in all, I found After Effects useful for creating my own videos, but I found it overpriced for someone like me who barely used it. And, within the four years I used After Effects, I only ever produced seventeen videos with it (roughly 0.34 videos per month). So, after four years of minimal usage, I decided to cancel my subscription and stop using it.

Pros

With After Effects, there are almost no limits to how you can create and produce your videos apart from your technical skills and knowledge. I was really pleased with its incredibly wide range of usable tools, parameters, filters and transitions to make almost any video I wanted.

Cons

I found making my videos using After Effects fairly time-consuming due to its advanced and highly-customizable nature. Due to my limited video editing skills, I could only create and produce very basic music videos for my music. Also, I believe its monthly subscription was overpriced for someone like me who barely used After Effects at all. That's why, after using it and staying subscribed for four years, I eventually cancelled my subscription and stopped using it.

DN
AvatarImg

Darrjel N.

Motion Pictures and Film, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Is a joke of a software but is a monopoly

Reviewed 2 months ago

Theres no software I hate the most, I came to this website just to vent how much I want to slap everyone that has worked on this program

Pros

How well integrated with everything inside the adobe package

Cons

AE is a jack of all trades. It does nothing well except motion graphics. VFX is bad, 3D is bad, and video editing is bad.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Whatever idea/concept you have - you can make it on this software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Likely the best editing software for amateur-professional video editors. It's so in-depth that I am still CONSTANTLY learning new things/features on this software and I use it almost daily. You can use it with other editing softwares as well.

Cons

It's a little hard to learn. The learning curve is steep, but once you learn the basics, it's pretty simple to catch on to new things.

TR
AvatarImg

Tiago R.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Journey with Adobe After Effects

Reviewed a year ago

As a long-term user of Adobe After Effects, I can confidently say that this powerful software has revolutionized the world of motion graphics and visual effects. Over the years, I have witnessed its evolution and improvements, making it an indispensable tool for professionals and enthusiasts alike. The app has been an indispensable companion throughout my creative journey. From creating captivating...

Pros

Adobe After Effects provides an expansive canvas for imagination to flourish. With its vast array of effects, plugins, and tools, the possibilities for creating stunning visuals are virtually limitless. From simple animations to complex compositing and 3D motion graphics, the software empowers users to bring their visions to life. One of the standout features of the software is its seamless integration...

Cons

Due to its extensive feature set and complexity, Adobe After Effects has a steep learning curve, especially for beginners. Mastering the software requires time and dedication, as well as a solid understanding of animation principles and visual effects concepts. However, with perseverance and the availability of learning resources, this hurdle can be overcome.

OO
AvatarImg

Oussama O.

Computer Games, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My Overall Experience with Adobe After Effects

Reviewed a year ago

Adobe After Effects is an excellent software for creating stunning visual effects. It is a powerful and versatile tool with a comprehensive suite of features, but it does come with a hefty price tag.

Pros

Adobe After Effects is an extremely powerful and versatile software which provides users with a comprehensive suite of tools for creating stunning visual effects. The software offers excellent features and options for creating a wide range of effects, from basic compositing to complex 3D animation and particle effects.

Cons

One of the drawbacks of Adobe After Effects is its cost, especially when compared to free alternatives. Additionally, the software can be quite difficult to learn and master, especially for beginners.

RG
AvatarImg

Richard G.

E-Learning, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Create outstanding motion graphics with Adobe After Effects

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, this an Excellent motion graphics software and everyone who desires a great video intro just as the intro videos of Hollywood, Disney, Netflix, Apple etc. should try this.

Pros

The drag and drop feature of the software and also the ability to edit key frames to my own specification. The effects library also has a lot of different effects which makes me achieve an amazing video like I always wanted.

Cons

Adobe After Effect can be very complex if you are just starting with, the team can look into simplifying some process we go through to achieve certain special effects. Also, I don't know but if I try direct rendering from After Effect its very slow as compared to exporting to(adding to Queue in) Media Encoder

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Luciano Z.

Telecommunications, self-employed

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Performing, but greedy (of resources and money)

Reviewed 3 years ago

The overall experience is positive. As a MacOS user, I try to use Apple software as much as possible, but when more complicated work and compositing are needed, or when working in a team with Windows users, After Effects has been a good choice. I think it could cost less and have an even more simplified approach.

Pros

What I appreciate most about Adobe After Effects is the common approach to the other software in the Adobe suite. Working on the time line is a common and assimilated experience where you get your bearings after a few seconds. After Effects once again confirms itself as the leading platform in advanced video compositing, representing in its latest incarnation a more complete solution and, now more than ever, 3D oriented by virtue of the integration with Cinema 4D, offered in bundled light version. Even on Mac it enjoys a fast track, given the lack of an Apple product truly able to compete in terms of versatility and completeness.

Cons

What I dislike very little, however, is the resource consumption and the price. Being a MacOS user, I've ended up preferring Final Cut Pro with Motion, thanks to which I can carry out similar works consuming much less resources and with shorter working times. In this case, however, I have to give up working with team members who don't use MacOS. In my opinion, the pricing could also be improved to be more user-friendly.

MS
AvatarImg

Marco S.

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best software to create animations

Reviewed a year ago

It was the best software I found to animate images for use in digital signage.

Pros

It is the best software to make animations. Personally I use it to make animations for digital signage. It really has a lot of options and produces excellent results.

Cons

It has some bugs and is very heavy. If you don't have a good machine, it will be very difficult to work with it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ankit B.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Tool which you actually need!

Reviewed a year ago

Experience with After Effects is really very good. One can play around with different things in After Effects like Video Editing, Motion Graphics, and VFX. Making things scratch feels great. I usually add third-party software with After Effects to save time. I would highly recommend it to my fellow friends.

Pros

I have been using After Effects for a while now and I'm really enjoying all of its feature.- Can be used for Video Editing, Motion Graphics, and VFX. Not every Video Editing Software can do this.- The Rendering Speed of this Software is really nice. Saves a lot of time.- Can be interlinked with Adobe software like Illustrator and Photoshop. It really helps a lot when you're trying to make something related to Motion Graphics.- You can make transitions and effects from scratch and can control it as per your choice.

Cons

After Effects is really good but there are a few things that I don't like about it.- The Ui of After Effects is little tough for Beginners and it really needs some good practice of yours if you genuinely want to learn about it.- It consumes a lot of RAM if we're running the software. Thus it makes the system run slowly.- After Effects Crashes lots of times resulting in the loss of unsaved projects. There is no way you can retrieve the lost data.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

César C.

Computer Hardware, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The #1 animation software

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've used After Effect for a long time and it's the best experience I've ever had in terms of creating animations and transitions, the number of tools it has is simply ridiculous, and the plugins and integrations with other software improve what seems unbeatable. The video creation is very good, and even the text animation is excellent. It is a 10/10 service, if you want professional jobs this should be your first option.

Pros

After Effect is the best tool to work with animations and transitions, you can do everything with After Effect, from editing, creating, and animating videos, to modeling and rendering 3D animations. Integration with the Adobe ecosystem is key because it helps compliment the entire experience. The ability to install plugins is also a big plus point. The export and import tools are very powerful and efficient. It has all the fundamental tools of Photoshop and Premiere, so we can only expect a quality experience. In conclusion, After Effect is the king when it comes to animations and transitions, it is the best option in this area.

Cons

The learning curve when starting the program can be slow and it can be scary because the interface is not quite minimalist. Animation rendering is very slow, which can make the whole process tedious and stressful. It is a program that requires very sophisticated specifications that cannot be accessed by the general public.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Géovanny N.

Graphic Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Adobe After Effects the powerful tool for creating visually stunning animations

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It offers a wide range of features, including sophisticated animation tools, special effects, advanced compositing options and more. With an intuitive user interface, it's easy to work with layers, masks and effects to bring your ideas to life. Plus, it's compatible with other Adobe suite software, like Photoshop and Premiere Pro, making it easy to work across projects. I highly recommend it

Cons

the software is complex to use, especially for beginners. It can also be expensive for users who do not use it regularly or for personal projects. In addition, it may require powerful computer hardware to run smoothly and without problems.

TM
AvatarImg

Timothy M.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

After Effects is very powerful

Reviewed 2 years ago

I absolutely love this software. Adobe has really created a wonderful product.

Pros

I've been working in the motion graphics and video editing for over a decade and this is the best animation software I have ever come across. It has so many different options to create stunning visual effects that it's really hard to get bored with this software. The best part is, it's not expensive and there are plenty of tutorials online to help you learn how to use it. Adobe has really gone out of their way to add interactivity between products. For instance, pulling in resources from Audition, Illustrator and Photoshop are a breeze. It even allows you to make real time edits inside those apps. Getting help is also very easy. So powerful!

Cons

There is not a lot of negative things to say about the interface. One thing that really bothers me are the automatic updates. On several occasions, after the update completes, After Effects freezes on the splash screen and will not proceed to the main screen. Closing out of the application and reopening, did not solve the problem. Unfortunately, rebooting the computer didn't seem to do the trick either. I eventually had to place a helpdesk ticket with an application support specialist. After working with support for a few hours the problem was resolved, but this has been a reoccurring issue that continues to this day.

TV
AvatarImg

Tran V.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent choice for Creative Media Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was able to dramatically increase the final quality of our movies and webinars using After Effects, aided by a range of free and commercial templates available on the internet. Feel free to make your own decisions when using Adobe After Effects; it will take some time to learn and adjust to the user interface, but you will become familiar with it and be able to do whatever you want with it.

Pros

The best video editing software is Adobe After Effects. Complex and advanced editing are simple to accomplish; it's as if it was designed just for making amazing video edits. There are numerous features for altering videos in various ways. Not only are there a lot of functionality, but we can also create new features via plugins. The rendering speed is likewise incredible.  The interface is excellent, and the tabs with functionality are well-maintained, allowing you to edit video more quickly and effectively. So, if you're looking for video editing software, After Effects is the greatest option.

Cons

If your computer's requirements are low, and you're rendering a highly complicated video that was recently altered, it will take an extremely lengthy time to render, and the software may even crash. As a result, a high-end system is always required. Because the system heats up quickly not just during rendering but also while editing, a cooling mechanism is required to prolong the system's life.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Magic to make movie effects yourself

Reviewed a year ago

This tool allowed me to make outstanding productions

Pros

It's easy to use and integrates with other Adobe products very well.

Cons

The version I use doesn't have all the devices to export in the options. But that is only because it's an older version.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Amazing software for fx and animations

Reviewed 3 years ago

In general, it seems to me to be one of the best software on the market in terms of fx mainly, it has tons of tools and there is a very large community that uses this software, so if you have any questions, someone has probably already answered it on the internet.

Pros

It is excellent for making animations and all kinds of special effects. It is a very powerful software, with a lot of customization down to the smallest detail. I don't recommend using it only for editing as it is very heavy.

Cons

Like most Adobe programs, we are talking about very expensive software, which does not even have a student version, the only thing it has is a discount. Merely speaking of the software, it is called quite a bit even on very powerful computers, you have to remember to save at all times.

VM
AvatarImg

Vanessa M.

Design, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Not for the casual user

Reviewed 5 months ago

It is a good solid software that gives great results if you put in the time, effort, and lots of resources. This can be said of any software but it is particularly important in After Effects because it needs lots of time to learn it and to use it correctly, and it is quite expensive. It is not my case because my needs were much simpler and my work is not focused on video editing or animation. Even this being the case, I find that the price of all Adobe products is absurdly high these days, especially when there are so many alternatives that do similar work and are cheaper or even free.

Pros

- It has a high number of available features which gives lots of room for creativity - Further features can be added via Plugin - Great integration with other Adobe products - The quality of the videos produced is very high

Cons

- Unless your work is focused on video production/editing/animation, this software is not for you. The monthly plans that Adobe is currently offering are making it impossible for freelancers and small businesses to access, especially when many cheaper/free alternatives might not do everything After Effects does but can do a pretty solid job. - For the same reason, the learning curve is steep, so unless this will be your livelihood it might not be worth the time for simpler projects. - For its correct functioning, solid hardware is needed, otherwise, the app crashes or glitches and makes it hard to work.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Abhinav B.

Media Production, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

After effect the father of VFX

Reviewed a year ago

I am very happy with functionality provided further ado after-effects. It is the fantastic software.

Pros

Template wise editing, text animation, camera tracking, image Presets Are few of the widely used options

Cons

If you are not using the cards like black magic then you tend attend me increase to many folds

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Brian G.

Online Media, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

After Effects is what separates your project from the rest!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I truly love after effects and enjoy learning something new on every project, its versatility knows no bounds!

Pros

I use Adobe After Effects on a daily basis and I absolutely love it! All the newest updates the last several years have really made it fast and easy to use, and necessary tool for every editor to have in their arsenal and like all Adobe programs it’s simple enough for beginners to get the hang of yet complex enough for every professional to learn something new each use

Cons

It is nice having constant updates and not having to constantly buy updates each time there’s a fix needed but I do wish the monthly price was a little lower as the ticket is high. Having said that it is still worth every penny

ZB
AvatarImg

Zakaria B.

Computer Hardware, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

After effect is the best video editing software

Reviewed 2 years ago

overall experience i would say after Effects is the best editing software for quality production.

Pros

After Effect is a really common software for a very long time, I'm using this software for more than 6 years, and the software playback and interface look easy, After Effect has really useful stock plugins and you have the ability to add more professional plugins, you have advanced tools to make transitions smooth, you can change the playback quality for a good experience, cause the software is huge and need a good pc

Cons

the thing that i didn't like, that the software sometimes crashes, and if u didn't save your project,maybe you are going to lose everything.

MS
AvatarImg

MikeToon S.

Design, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The go-to Tool for Motion Graphics!

Reviewed 6 months ago

By far the best Motion Graphics software you can use, despite it being a bit pricey.

Pros

Being the industry standard, you can't go wrong with this great tool from Adobe. We've been using it for the past 10 years for various client work, and it has been a great choice!

Cons

From time to time, the new updates may cause some crashes, so you might need to downgrade to the previous version until the bugs are fixed by Adobe's team, so keep an eye on those!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Software for Creative and Attractive Animations

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using After-Effects for the past 3 years. And in these 3 years, I never relied on any other software than after effects. It fulfilled my all requirement with the best customer support service.

Pros

You can almost do anything related to animation in the After-Effects. I like simulation, visual effects, and a variety of text animations. People from different backgrounds can easily learn how to use this software.

Cons

There are lots of external plugins which can be used in After-Effects but they are not free to use. If possible, the development team can work on this to provide these plugins for free in the software itself. Other than this, there are no dislikes of this software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Subarna D.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

After Effects review by a Video Editor

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

After effects let you create stunning visual effect and animations along with seamless transitions and enhanced visuals.

Cons

Least favorite feature of After Effect would be the drag and drop for me which can mess up compositions and materials present in the timelines sometime.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Parwinder K.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Video Editing and Animation Tools for everyone

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am using Adobe After Effects for more than 2 years and it has been an amazing experience for me. It helps me edit small stuff in videos. Making media content, animation presentations etc.

Pros

1) It's easy to use and learn. 2) Timeline is very easy to understand and use. 3) Applied filters are very easy to customize and manipulate. 4) Ram preview works awesome. 5) I love the shortcut keys that Adobe After Effects offers.

Cons

1) Rendering process inside Adobe After Effects is not so good. It makes file size very huge. 2) After Effects doesn't work very well. 3) obviously Pricing.