Firmex Virtual Data Room Reviews

Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

4.65/5 (54 reviews)

Ian Noel

Simple, yet valuable

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

I've used Firmex DVR on many projects and it's much easier to use than other solutions. Data rooms requiring training will reduce the utilization by the project team.

Pros
Firmex VDR is easy to use. It offers the ability to toggle quickly between projects, has an intuitive folder structure, and allows for easy uploading and viewing of documents.

Cons
Having an embedded version control option would be valuable, with an easy way to distinguish between drafts and final versions of documents.

Response from Firmex


Hi Ian,

Thanks for the review! With regard to Firmex having an embedded version control option, you'll be glad to know that we have one. Here's a quick summary of our versioning and document status options:

Firmex's versioning feature is built-in to our system. You can choose to upload a new document, or a new version of a document. You and your team can always access the version history, while only giving guests users access to the latest version of the document (the "document of truth"). Firmex can also detect new versions of a document based on the content of the document.

Firmex also supports content status on documents and folders. Many of our customers use this content status to designate whether a document is in draft, awaiting review, or final. This usually coincides with our document comment and tag systems.

Your Customer Success Manager will follow up with you to demonstrate these features at your convenience.

Kyle Bardsley
Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Matt Improta

Excellent Choice for a VDR

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-07-14
Review Source: Capterra

Our firm has used Firmex VDRs for dozens of investment banking transactions and are very pleased with the product they put out as well as the support and service we receive.

Pros
The functionality is perfect for running a VDR to share documents and files with many parties while controlling the document flow and accessibility of any party on any document. The product is very competitively priced compared to a lot of the service providers out there. Customer service is very prompt and happy to walk you through any issue, small or large. Firmex is also continually improving its services.

Cons
Security functionality is limited once the files have been downloaded by another party (if you allow them to download). Once a party bulk downloads you lose the ability to track their access and usage of documents and delete the document if you would like to remove their access from the information completely.

Response from Firmex


Hi Matt,

Thanks so much for taking the time to reflect on your Firmex experience.

We very much understand the benefits of being able to track how your users are interacting with files once they've been downloaded. We do offer a selection of Seclore-supported document protection options that can be applied to help monitor the document activity of your users even after the documents have been downloaded from the platform. The Lock to Computer, Expire Access and No Print document protections will give you the insight you're looking for!

I encourage you to reach out to your Firmex rep or Firmex Support to get more information and explore if these protections are right for your project.

Many thanks,

Maren Van Zutphen
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Anonymous

Firmex Virtual Data Room

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-01-10
Review Source: Capterra

For the Real Estate and Investment banking, the sharing of confidential documents within the company and taking on projects being in a group has been made easier. The legal documents and the finances which cannot be exposed can be accessed and updated from anywhere with Login access, for example on my iPhone. Tracking old files is much easier, as we go through sharing hundereds of files everyday with corrections pointed and re-corrected.

Pros
The custom sharing platform which is secured and the visibility control for employees. The best part of software is the document validity & password we can set and the people we can choose from list that can access or view the documents. Also the same document cannot be shared by E-mail or any other non Data-room platform and if done. We can control the share and track of the confidential documents.

Cons
The drawback of this software is that we cannot assign different permission or access levels to people in same group. Also, the time stamp cannot be changes to local time, it's always EST available.

Response from Firmex


Hello!

Thank you for using Firmex. We pride ourselves on our customer service and you having the best experience.

In the future, we would be happy to show you how to set user-based permissions in the data room. It's a function we have to set from our end, as group-based permission is the preference of a majority of our users, it's our default.

In terms of time zones, increased functionality is on our road map. As it stands now all of our reports can be run at any time zone, be it est, your time zone, or anyone you choose.

Happy to jump on a quick call at your convenience.

Thanks you,

Jason @ Client Success

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Emma Stuart-Titchener

User feedback

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I like how easy the software is to use, and how you can set all different levels of users, i.e people can only view documents and other cans download etc.

Cons
At first it was very complicated to use. Should have some demo videos.

Response from Firmex


Hi Emma,

Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad you've enjoyed using Firmex and found the software easy to navigate once you got familiar with the platform.

We do believe that our users could benefit from some videos when they're first introduced to Firmex. We do have a Getting Started video series available on our Firmex Knowledge Base, and I've attached the link to the first video in the series below.

https://support.firmex.com/hc/en-us/articles/204467538-Start-a-new-project-change-the-project-name

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Maren Van Zutphen
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Anonymous

Firmex meets expectations!

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Firmex is easy to use on both an admin and user perspective. The support from Firmex makes it easy to troubleshoot issues. Firmex is by the far the best VDR platform I've used (cost combined with functionality).

Cons
The process of allowing users to view certain documents within the VDR could be improved. For example, not having to setup permissions by group, but by user. Further, understanding when users are downloading information by receiving email notifications.

Response from Firmex


Hi,

Thanks for the review! We hear you loud and clear. The majority of our clients prefer group-based permissions and the advantages that come with it, but we understand that certain projects require user-based permissions.

Our Client Services team would be happy to customize your project to allow for user-based permissions. This will allow you to hide documents inside a folder by user, as well as setting up users instead of groups.

I'd be happy to hop on a quick call at your convenience.

Thanks again for choosing Firmex,

Kyle Bardsley
Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Anonymous

To be or not to be organized!

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent. Easily adapted to our current work environment.

Pros
Ease of use. Simple integration with our current work flow management. Rapid customer response.

Cons
Sometimes difficult to find answers to questions regarding the tool.

Response from Firmex


Hi,

Thank you for your review. We're so pleased our platform integrates with your current work flow smoothly and you've had the chance to speak with our fantastic Support Team!

If you have any questions about Firmex features or functionality, we have our Firmex Knowledge Base available online. It has tons of helpful articles, FAQs and how-to videos.

https://support.firmex.com/hc/en-us

I use the tool myself quite frequently - but I do find that occasionally my search terms don't return the results that I KNOW are in there somewhere. In those instances (and any other time you have a question), please feel free to utilize our award-winning Support Team. They're available 24/7/365 by phone at 1(888)688-4042 ext. 11 or by email at support@firmex.com.

Thank you again for choosing Firmex,

Kyle Bardsley
Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Stacy Camacho

Firmex works for legal practice

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-06
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I've found Firmex support to be outstanding. You get answers quickly and they are helpful when dealing with our clients.

Pros
I like that our clients don't need any special training or hand holding to use the software. Once they login it is very simple to upload/download documents and understand without special training. I also really like the different levels of security, as we often have multiple clients with different levels of access all in the same document room.

Cons
I can't think of anything at the moment that I'm dissatisfied with.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Anonymous

Overall Good, But No Bells & Whistles

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

Overall good, but limited customer support.

Pros
Easy to use. Cost effective. User-friendly. Intuitive.

Cons
Highly limited functionality and user analytics.

Response from Firmex


Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback. We're very pleased you're happy with our platform. We're constantly working on improving our product, releasing new updates each month to bring new functionality to our amazing customers.

We very much appreciate the importance of having clear, easily accessible analytics when it comes to your various dataroom needs. For this reason, one our main focuses for the 2019 Product Road-map is improving reporting functionality.

If you're interested about hearing more about the upcoming releases, or have questions about product functionality, I'd be happy to arrange a call to discuss at your convenience. Alternatively, our award-winning Support Team is available 24/7/365.They can be reached at 1.888.688.4042 x11 or support@firmex.com.

Thanks again for choosing Firmex,

Kyle Bardsley
Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Emily Nesovic

User-friendly and intuitive product

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

We have used Firmex at our firm for over 5 years. Every day I am asked to create data rooms because everyone knows it's the easiest and most efficient way to share documents confidentially.

Pros
Very easy to use, simple, quick, amazing customer service and functional for the various needs of our firm.

Cons
There isn't much I don't like about the software. Perhaps adding some more robust features would be useful but I know the team always has exciting things on their product roadmap so I usually see these enhancements on a regular basis!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

neda sarpash

review July 2019

Used occasionally for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-07-31
Review Source: Capterra

no need to physically be in one office for audit reviews and the information can be easily organized.

Pros
Easy to upload information and the customer service team is very quick to respond.

Cons
Delegation of rights is not very easy to set up - often need to reach out to someone at firmex to walk me through the limits on users.

Response from Firmex


Hi Neda,

Thanks so much for this kind review. Obviously, we remain available to help as required (and thank you for complimenting our CS team, by the way) but if you want some assistance making templates for your audit reviews, that might make it easier to delegate rights in the future.

You can call me at 888-688-4042 ext 253, or the support team at ext 11, to talk about templates whenever you have a moment.

Always good to hear from you, and thanks again!

Jacob Rose
Dedicated CSM

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Nathan Snowie

Firmex Virtual Data Rooms review

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Ease of use, ability to control the permissions on documents, reports showing time of use and activity levels, etc.

Cons
Sometimes difficulty with users not receiving their invitation emails, the inability to assign different permission levels to different members within a group.

Response from Firmex


Hi Nathan,

Thank you for your feedback! We're happy you've enjoyed your experience with us thus-far.

The group permission model was designed and put in place to make setting permissions easier and less difficult to manage for our project administrators. Of course, we understand there are certain cases where it would be more convenient to be able to control access at a user level. For that reason, we do have a User-Level Permissions option that can be enabled by a Firmex rep.

If you'd like to learn more about this feature or have it enabled, I encourage you to reach out to your rep.

Best regards,

Maren Van Zutphen
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Anjuman Gupta

Feedback - Frimex VDR

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-10-05
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, experience has been good and can really recommend.

Pros
Firmex is much easier to use compared to other VDR providers. It is very intuitive to use. Customer service is really good as well. The executives have a good understanding of the system and are quick to solve probelms and answer questions.

Cons
The space provided for answering diligence questions is too small. When responding to a question it will help if the window expands with the answer, so that the user can view the whole answer rather than scrolling within the small window.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Douglas Herman

Firmex Virtual Data Rooms review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-29
Review Source: Capterra

As a longtime user, I have only had positive experiences with Firmex.

Pros
Ease of use and functionality is the most positive attribute.

Cons
Few cons, but select users have had trouble receiving Firmex automated emails due to spam filters.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Anonymous

Firmex

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Ease of use is very good. Speed and customization are good as well.

Cons
Files are not tethered after bulk downloads which limits reporting on how guys are using files

Response from Firmex


Hi,

We appreciate your review. With respect to your comment that, "Files are not tethered after bulk downloads which limits reporting on how guys are using files," Firmex's document protection options do indeed enable administrators to monitor and control documents after they've been bulk downloaded by a user.

Depending on which document protection options are set (e.g., Lock To Computer or Expire Access), you should be able to see if and when a document was opened or printed on a user's computer.

I'd be happy to hop on a call to demonstrate these features at your convenience.

Thanks again for choosing Firmex,

Kyle Bardsley
Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Anonymous

Fantastic VDR's

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Very easy to use - incredibly easy to set up and edit data rooms, add documents to them, and give access to viewers

Cons
Honestly, nothing - I don't think there's much they could improve on!!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Umair Ahmed

Firmex review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
GUI is pretty simple, easy to upload, download files, create folders and navigate.

Cons
don't know if firmex offers any workflow features

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Jamie B

Virtual Data Room

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2016-06-17
Review Source: Capterra

Firmex is User friendly, but the search function could be improved. Sometimes the download speeds are slower on Firmex than other datasites. I typically batch download so I don't have to work on Firmex.

Pros
The software is intuitive.

Cons
The search function does not allow for more advanced searches or searched within documents.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Joe Misleh

Good product

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-07-31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Easy to use and functional. Good organization for multiple deals.

Cons
Cost compared to the more universal data share sites is higher eg drop box

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

J. Moy

Firmex is a Data Room Gem

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2016-07-27
Review Source: Capterra

Firmex's customer service is truly exceptional. It's always a pleasant surprise whenever an agent replies to our questions and comments so quickly and efficiently. The system itself is amazing, and a joy to use.

Pros
Ease of use, reliability of system, implementation of innovative new features with each update, and of course the excellent customer service.

Cons
Not applicable.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Harry Chevan

Strong customer service orientation

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

Use on multiple projects, seamless toggling and customer service ALWAYS responsive and has solutions to issues

Pros
Reasonably easy to navigate, intuitive platform

Cons
Drag and drop features not always as responsive as desired

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Benoit Hebert

International Collaborations Simplified

Reviewed 2016-05-17
Review Source: Capterra

We're using Firmex to exchange documents with law firms (e.g. when we did our public listing), as a repository for regulatory documents (drug submissions) and mainly, exchange documents with our multiple international partners (Spain, Germany, Finland, US). Our setup is simple: One project, one VDR. Simple access control and simple document management makes this solution optimal for us. We had to adapt to the new 'group' feature and got the hang of it. Not the most intuitive presentation of the features. Setting rights access is rather simple and intuitive. So is adding more users. Bulk edit features are also useful. The recent addition of the Firmex Document Exchange for Desktop was also a good idea. One final note - the customer service team has been extremely efficient in the initial training and support. Problems are resolved extremely fast and this is critical for us.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Jean-Pierre Sicotte

Firmex

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-10-03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Ease of use, quality of customer services

Cons
Need more clarity around bulkdownload characteristics

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Eamon McElroy

Firmex Virtual Data Rooms review

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-10-04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Very easy to use, fantastic customer service - rep. has been brilliant & always available if we have any issues at all. Also, very easy to create indexes etc. and very straightforward to upload documents. Overall we are extremely pleased with our experience.

Cons
Timestamps on documents cannot be changed to local times, only EST is available. As we are based in Ireland, it would be a good addition if we can timestamp documents in GMT/BST.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Adell McMillon

Firmex

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The ease of use and customer service rapid support

Cons
I don't have any cons about Firmex. .

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

Cory Christensen

Great enterprise shared storage

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-01-08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Very easy to use for all member of the team, even those who don't understand

Cons
Lacks some functionality for the everyday user, which could be a good thing, depending on who's using the service.

Response from Firmex


Hi Cory,

Glad you enjoyed using Firmex!

We are always looking to improve our service and would love some clarity around your comments. Could you be more specific about what, if any, features you found lacking?

Regards,
Edward Stephen

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents