This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Firmex Virtual Data Room Logo

Firmex Virtual Data Room

Securely store and share highly confidential documents

see alternatives

Firmex Virtual Data Room Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.7

/5

90
99%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.24/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

I like that it is user friendly and cost effective relative to alternatives. Also excellent customer service.

MS

Michael S.

For the price, this product is a fantastic value. Easy to use and has most of the features we need without all of the unnecessary functions that some other providers have added to their platforms.

MS

Michael S.

It is an essential service used for mid market m&a. Overall experience has been great, with exceptional customer service and ease of use.

HK

Huzaifa K.

UX seems boring and outdated. Cannot set viewing restriction for single file.

MS

Mitul S.

Few cons, but select users have had trouble receiving Firmex automated emails due to spam filters.

DH

Douglas H.

Had to replicate file uploads each time; no tag to put same file into different folders automatically.

JR

Joseph R.

Firmex Virtual Data Room users...

Intralinks VDRPro-logocaret
listing-logo

Intralinks VDRPro

Compare both
SecureDocs Data Room-logocaret
listing-logo

SecureDocs Data Room

Compare both
How would you rate Firmex Virtual Data Room?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


90 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Firmex is a Data Room Gem

Reviewed 6 years ago

Firmex's customer service is truly exceptional. It's always a pleasant surprise whenever an agent replies to our questions and comments so quickly and efficiently. The system itself is amazing, and a joy to use.

Pros

Ease of use, reliability of system, implementation of innovative new features with each update, and of course the excellent customer service.

Cons

Not applicable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Strong customer service orientation

Reviewed 3 years ago

Use on multiple projects, seamless toggling and customer service ALWAYS responsive and has solutions to issues

Pros

Reasonably easy to navigate, intuitive platform

Cons

Drag and drop features not always as responsive as desired

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

VDR Superstar

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

This product was easy to learn, the customer onboarding support was spectacular, rolling it out to the team was smooth. Adoption into our document management system was a good move. We use it for most external sharing.

Cons

Some of the features could be less of a hunt-and-find. Adding Users and editing their information with permissions can be hard to find sometimes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

International Collaborations Simplified

Reviewed 6 years ago

We're using Firmex to exchange documents with law firms (e.g. when we did our public listing), as a repository for regulatory documents (drug submissions) and mainly, exchange documents with our multiple international partners (Spain, Germany, Finland, US). Our setup is simple: One project, one VDR. Simple access control and simple document management makes this solution optimal for us. We had...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Firmex

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ease of use, quality of customer services

Cons

Need more clarity around bulkdownload characteristics

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Firmex Virtual Data Rooms review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use, fantastic customer service - rep. has been brilliant & always available if we have any issues at all. Also, very easy to create indexes etc. and very straightforward to upload documents. Overall we are extremely pleased with our experience.

Cons

Timestamps on documents cannot be changed to local times, only EST is available. As we are based in Ireland, it would be a good addition if we can timestamp documents in GMT/BST.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Firmex

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ease of use and customer service rapid support

Cons

I don't have any cons about Firmex. .

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great enterprise shared storage

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use for all member of the team, even those who don't understand

Cons

Lacks some functionality for the everyday user, which could be a good thing, depending on who's using the service.

Vendor response

Hi Cory, Glad you enjoyed using Firmex! We are always looking to improve our service and would love some clarity around your comments. Could you be more specific about what, if any, features you found lacking? Regards, Edward Stephen

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Avid User

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Customer service, ease of setting up, functionality

Cons

UX seems boring and outdated. Cannot set viewing restriction for single file

Vendor response

Appreciate the positive feedback in regards to our support team and the ease of use of our platform. We currently are in the process of refreshing our UI/UX to make the platform look more up to date and modern. In terms of our permissions, we permission on the group/folder level. We understand some of our competitors can get granular to the document level but our support team is more than happy to work with you to find a solution. Feel free to reach out, my email is james.lehuquet@firmex.com - James Le Huquet, Director of Sales

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Pretty user friendly and convenient.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Pros: sharing, filing, posting, easy uploading/pulling into system Cons: cannot view as others/assume someone's profile to view only

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks for the review! Just to clarify, Firmex allows Project Managers and Administrators to view project content as another member of the project. See - https://support.firmex.com/hc/en-us/articles/204467598 A member of our client success team will be reaching out to you shortly to discuss your specific project. In the mean time please don¿t hesitate to contact our support team anytime (http://www.firmex.com/support/contact-support/). They will be happy to answer any questions you may have. Again, thanks for taking the time to review Firmex. We appreciate the feedback!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review regarding Firmex

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use. If there is anything that you don't know how to use the website is very self directing.

Cons

The numbering down the left hand side can get confusing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fairly comprehensive and intuitive VDR Platform

Reviewed 6 years ago

I've used Firmex on one deal. The functionality was great, but customer service does not make it easy to assist with the VDR setup if you are not the Admin, but rather trying to assist your client/the Admin.

Pros

Secure and simply.

Cons

Customer service, permission settings.

Vendor response

Thanks for taking the time to review Firmex. With regards to your comment, for security reasons we cannot change permissions that our clients set as the main administrators without their permission. It looks like this is what was happening in your case, but its hard to comment beyond that without knowing more specifics. Please contact me at jason.soo@firmex.com. I would love to learn more about your specific case, and how we can improve in the future.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mid market sale/purchase due diligence

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Easy to upload files, create folders, add users

Cons

I looked for, but could not find a search function; therefore, some docs were uploaded several times. A feature which advises if a doc exists already would be great

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Firmex - Virtual Data Room

Reviewed 6 years ago

We've been using Firmex as our M&A VDR solution for about six years. The software subscription allows us the flexibility to use the VDR to accomplish different objectives (i.e. traditional M&A due diligence, data collection, large file transfer, etc.) as well as flexibility with respect to project length (i.e. clients that we'll work with for years prior to going to market). The two biggest pros in my eyes has been the constant improvements through the years and the friendly customer service. The company is always receptive to suggestions on how to make the product even more user friendly.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Not a big user

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's aways easy to create and use. Very intuitive.

Cons

Nothing to point out. I'm only using it very sparsly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I use this software on a daily basis to share documents and control access to those documents

Reviewed 6 years ago

The pros is this is an easy way to share documents and organize our deals and control who has access to them. It is secure and safe. The cons is I find it difficult with the new user groups to be able to do what we need as efficiently. If we were able to control this function by having the ability to turn it on or off, or create user groups with users from different companies that would be great. Also, the option to use a group that was already created would be great, as we normally have many of the same people going into one group.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Firmex Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The access controls and the redacting tool feature

Cons

Would be good to send notifications out on specific documents

Vendor response

Thank you for the review Nicholas. We're glad you're enjoying the use of our group permission setup and the redaction tool. On the notifications front, we do have the ability to send notifications on a document and user level. Providing you have the correct level of permission, hover over the document and select the menu drop down, then click notify users. I will reach out to you to see if you'd like us to run through the process in full detail. George - Director of Sales & Operations, EMEA

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love this product

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Customer service is excellent, ran into an issue and had it solved without delay

Cons

Nothing that I can think of at the current time

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great product for sharing information/data with high-caliber product support team.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Pros: Ease of use. Great features/capabilities for sharing information and collaborating with both internal and external members. Very positive experience with usage of the software. Top notch support team with high degree of availability. Suggestion for improvements: Expend the concept of groups across the data room (currently project specific). Document version control. Real-time document editing capability

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Firmex makes it easy to collaborate

Reviewed 6 years ago

Firmex is designed for personal customization to suit any project I have going and at any stage. I find it's overall easy to use, set up, upload and share. Being able to set up individual parameters for each user and for each room is vital to allow proper access at the proper time. Whenever I have a question or need help with something, the Firmex team is quick to respond and always friendly and professional.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent tool for data room management - sell side

Reviewed 6 years ago

We used Firmex for 3 months during a sell side data room need. Software was very intuitive to configure and use. Our lawyers had comparative experiences with other pieces of software, and they said this is the best one they have ever used. I recommend Firmex for their tooling and attentive customer support. I requested it twice, and I was promptly supported.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Firmex makes collaboration easy

Reviewed 6 years ago

I am using a Firmex data room to compile tax forms for foreign beneficiaries. The forms are sent to one office, and I am in another. The data room offers a secure way for one office to file the forms and I can access them from another location. I get notified by email that new forms have been added so I am always in the know.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Use this software daily.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Firmex is a great piece of software that we use daily in our financial institution. It makes sharing large amounts of secure data, easy, efficient, and foolproof. The drag and drop functionality makes this software as easy to use as your OS. This is a must have tool for anyone who shares significant volumes of documentation.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to use and the best customer service I've ever experienced

Reviewed 6 years ago

We've been using Firmex as our M&A data room for over 5 years and I'm always impressed with the platform, the company's constant improvement, and the amazing customer service. If I ever have a question, I receive a call back within 3 minutes. Intuitive use and stand-up customer service keep me a satisfied customer.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The Definition of Intuitive

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have utilized Firmex as our primary extranet portal for years now and never are we disappointed by this platform. It is the epitome of user-friendly and the round-the-clock customer service is just another example of how efficiently this company manages their product and client-relations.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review