App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ISL Light Logo

ISL Light

Remote support software & unattended remote access

see alternatives

(1)

ISL Light Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.7

/5

497
98%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.01/10

See full reviews by rating

Top 3 alternatives

Pros and cons

Using ISL daily to help my work colleagues is easy and funny. I like making groups of computers and getting all organizated.
Easy and great remote support solution , secure and stable for our remote connection needs.
Having tried many other remote products finding one that has all the features I required and delivering them at such a competitive price was a natural winner for me.
The client interface on the website is increasingly ambiguous - we find often clients download the wrong code - the client side.
Switching monitors is also a drag as it's also very, very slow to display the content of each individual monitor.
It is a little bit difficult to set up the On Prem version and personalize it.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


497 reviews

Recommended

MH
AvatarImg

Markus H.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ISL, Support nach unseren Vorstellungen.

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Wir betreiben den Server selbst bei uns im Haus, wir können dem Kunden eine Peer to Peer Sicherheit geben. Die Always ON Software ermöglicht problemlos Zugriff auf Kunden mit NAT Beschränkung. WOL ermöglicht Support selbst für ausgeschaltene Geräte. Filesharing per Drag&Drop super easy zu bedienen.

Cons

Leider muss am Smartphone beim Kunden erst die IP-Adresse (Hostname) unseres Fernwartungsservers eingegeben werden, da bei der Standardinstallation immer auf ISLOnline verbunden wird. Ersteinrichtung am selbst gehosteten Server etwas aufwändig (eventuell wäre dort ein Wizard hilfreich)

Showing original review in German. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Martial B.

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very Quickly and simple for our customer

Cons

Multiuser management and shared AlwaysOn Connection

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Stef M.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product and great support (lot's of extras)

Reviewed 4 years ago

Remote support to users on Windows platform. Users are working on different version of Windows (like: 7, 8, 10 and some server editions too).

Pros

Most important of course is that ISL Light delivers the goods when it's about remote support. I've looked at multiple other products (after deciding to leave Teamviewer) to find a solution that fits my requirements. One of them is remote support to individual Windows users on a virtual Windows Server. ISL Always On basically is the only product that could do this easily. Also many other products have different products (or subscriptions) for attended and unattended support. With ISL you get ISL Light (attended) and ISL Always On (unattended) and all for a very good price.

Cons

You only get one concurrent session with each licence. This might be just not as flexible as you would like. You can however add an option to allow multi-sessions. You have to pay a little extra though. It would be nice to have a list of users that previously asked for support so you don't need a sessioncode to get connected. Than again it might be more secure this way.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Markus K.

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Powerful tool with the possibilty to install it on our server

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

On prem installation, easy to use and full-featured

Cons

Integration with Solarwinds Remote Management is highly desired

JP
AvatarImg

Jassen P.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Remote Software Tool

Reviewed 2 months ago

It is an amazing tool that I can't do without. It was instrumental in supporting users during the pandemic, and continues to be invaluable in my day to day administration tasks. Heartily recommended.

Pros

I can convenient access and remote support all users and devices within the business. I can use this from any location with Internet access, and feel secure knowing I'll be able to get to a machine whether unattended, or through user authorisation.

Cons

I'd like more mobile support features. This looks to be in development.

IG
AvatarImg

Ian G.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ISL Light - Great Product

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

ISL is incredibly easy to use, intuitive and there is virtually no training required other than a quick overview. We use the On Premise version and the updates are incredibly easy to run through and it's all handled by us so we can do them at a time that's convenient to our business, minimising the impact on our global user and customer base.

Cons

The big thing that's missing from ISL is a great record session feature. You can do this in the product currently but the recordings are a proprietary file type and whilst the product does have a relatively easy to use recording viewer, it's a clunky experience to pass recordings to users who don't use ISL to watch and review as they need to download and use the viewer. Using a more widely used and common file format would really improve this experience.

Vendor response

Hi Ian, thank you very much for your user review. Regarding the session recording, you can export the .isr recording to an .avi file and play it with a player of your choice. Here is a link to the user guide that shows you how to do that: https://help.islonline.com/19924/166630

MI
AvatarImg

Martin I.

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use remote desktop tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's easy to use. We at the customer support department can create a list of our customers' computers and remotely connect whenever needed. It's also easy to use from the other side that we just send a link or tell a code to join the session. We like that you can have more simultaneous sessions and invite another operator to join you if needed.

Cons

Sometimes when there are more desktops or higher resolution, the remote desktop could be harder to read.

AU
AvatarImg

Alessio U.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The most secure and stable remote connection sofware

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's very easy to use and to configure. You have the integration of this software on your portal You can use it also on smarthphone. Above all it hasn't reported any data security flaws

Cons

The grafical interface should be improved in terms of modernity, but it's a detail

BM
AvatarImg

Bob M.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very good product.

Reviewed 2 months ago

I'm very happy with the product, it just works.

Pros

The software is very easy to user and deploy. The service is very reliable.

Cons

Issues with MacOS deployment, probably not the fault of ISL, more of a MAC issue.

MZ
AvatarImg

Marko Z.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, great to work with

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

In 20 years in IT I have tested a lot of remote support applications. But I found that ISL Light is the best of them to use and recomend. Also customers find it easy to run and recive support from our team.

Cons

The only option I miss is SMS notification with support code so it would be able to connect one-time later if you dont want to install ISL always on.

RV
AvatarImg

Reginald V.

Food Production, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ISL online : safe and solid

Reviewed 9 months ago

Zeer tevreden EN betrouwbaar. makkelijke interface en OS onafhankelijk.

Pros

Het gebruiksgemak en de stabiele verbinding. OS onafhankelijk, zowel voor de client als de server.

Cons

Soms wordt de download-client (automatisch foutief) hernoemd en moet je de klant ( als leek ) het file laten hernoemen, wat dan soms niet (direct) lukt door lokale firewall veiligheidsinstellingen.

Showing original review in Dutch. See translation

RC
AvatarImg

Richard C.

Automotive, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nice set of features for a fair price

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I found ISL Light easy to setup and use. The ability to distribute the ISL Light client with your application makes it easier for clients to get ready for a support session. Having access to support, webinar, and remote login through a single portal and included as part of the package is great.

Cons

My least favorite functionality are the steps required to copy files to/from a clients system during remote support. It is not difficult but requires a few more steps than some remote support software I've used which allow simple drag and drop to transfer files.

Vendor response

Dear Richard, thank you for your review! As regards the file transfer, this might be of your interest: The newest ISL Light version, which was released yesterday, added support for our new File Manager functionality. This functionality will allow you to simply transfer files between the local and remote computer by drag and dropping files in a simple-to-use graphical interface. Currently, the...

JW
AvatarImg

Jim W.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Remote Support

Reviewed 4 years ago

IT Support for clients - been using for over 5 yrs and very happy with it. Some improvements in certain functions would be useful

Pros

Reliability, secure, fast, professional branding, easy to use

Cons

Occasionally issues with copy and pasting, file transfer is confusing to use, remote logging in to Macs is confusing for user on the other end

Vendor response

Hi Jim, we would like to let you know that the newest ISL Light version added support for our new File Manager functionality. This functionality will allow you to simply transfer files between the local and remote computer by drag and dropping files in a simple-to-use graphical interface. Currently, the File Manager functionality is available for ISL AlwaysOn connections, as well as on-demand sessions...

MH
AvatarImg

Martin H.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An Easy to use Alternative to Teamviewer

Reviewed 5 months ago

I would not be without ISL Light - it is my go-to connection software. I do use Teamviewer via my RMM software but I always have this as a backup!

Pros

Software just works - never experienced any downtime with this product and the ad-hoc functionality is great - go here put in session code and run and I'm in - so easy!

Cons

It can be a bit of pain on MacOS... mainly due to Apple's restrictions, I don't know how Teamviewer get around this - but it would be good if ISL could match them here too

Jv
AvatarImg

Johan v.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ISL is a proper tool for IT professionals / consultants to support their clients

Reviewed 4 years ago

We actually resell the product besides using it for ourselves. I still believe its a good piece of software, support is good and the dutch distributor DCC is very friendly and gained a lot of knowledge about the products of ISL. Way better product then Teamviewer although i keep on waiting for a better experience with mac.....

Pros

To be able to log in remotely without manual inteference from the client. Support reacts with knowledge and content. (no auto-message nonsense) The mobile app to give emergency support from a tablet/phone

Cons

With mac clients there is no easy way to run the software from the desktop with an icon. Your client needs to download the software, run it and give consent, accept a securitywarning etc.. before you can actually take control of the remote PC / Mac

Vendor response

Hello, thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear the experience with ISL software on a Mac computer is proving to be difficult. I have raised this issue with our team and we will look into ways of improving this functionality. Let me know if you will have any further questions or issues! Best regards, Domen Vidmar ISL Online Team

MB
AvatarImg

Marjan B.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ISL Light during coronavirus lockdown

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have been using ISL Light to support AJPES users for many years. At the time of the coronavirus lockdown, system administrators had to quickly establish new VPN connections for most employees from their laptops or home computers, requiring additional ISL licenses for a short time. Provisional licenses were provided to us by the service provider immediately upon the first phone call, without additional payment and administration, for which we thank them very much. It's nice to know that you can count on a business partner when you need him.

Pros

Easy to use Support in Slovene language

Cons

No cons were added to this review

MB
AvatarImg

Mark B.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

So Glad I Switched To ISL

Reviewed 3 years ago

Always works as expected

Pros

The features, the reliability, and the price

Cons

Ease of setting up WOL, more columns to show more data in computer list view

OF
AvatarImg

Oliver F.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ISL ... weil wir alles in unserem Haus haben

Reviewed 7 months ago

Ausgereift und zuverlässig. Durch eigenen Server weiß man das niemand mitliest und was mit den Daten passiert.

Pros

Wir sind von Teamviewer umgestiegen weil wir im Unternehmen keine mietsoftware einsetzten dürfen. ISL bietet alle Funktionen die für Fernwartung nötig sind. Der einmal-Preis ist fair und man hat volle Kontrolle über den eigenen Server.

Cons

Das Filehandling funktioniert.... könnte aber besser sein, deshalb nur 4 Punkte. Trotzdem eine klare Empfehlung!

Showing original review in German. See translation

MH
AvatarImg

Mark H.

Computer Networking, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Continued improvements

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very positive for myself and simple for end users too...

Pros

It really does do what it says 'on the tin'....I have used this product for several years and find it invaluable for supporting SME clients around the South of England, but I know I could equally easily deploy it to users anywhere... I also love the fact that the development team are continually coming up with extra features.

Cons

None that I have discovered...it really is easy & intuitive..

JC
AvatarImg

James C.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ISL Light - Amazing tool and Equally amazing price!

Reviewed 8 months ago

Easy setup, excellent connectivity. This tool ticks all the boxes for our team. Thanks again ISL

Pros

The price was amazing for what you get. We needed something quick and the ISL Team delivered. Their support has been awesome as well. Overall A++

Cons

No cons for this offering. Yes, you can pay more for more, but for our needs, this tool is perfect!

KF
AvatarImg

Kees F.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ISL Light in de praktijk

Reviewed 9 months ago

Maximale ondersteuning van onze klanten op afstand.

Pros

Wij kunnen met ISL Light onze klanten optimaal en veilig ondersteunen. Er blijven na afloop van de sessie geen onderdelen achter bij de klant. Met een sessie verbinden door een klant is relatief eenvoudig. Alle tools die je maar nodig hebt zijn beschikbaar.

Cons

Ik heb tot nu toe nog geen minpunten ervaren.

Showing original review in Dutch. See translation

EZ
AvatarImg

Erwin Z.

Industrial Automation, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Top product

Reviewed 9 months ago

De ideale oplossing voor kleine mkb gebruikers

Pros

Eenvoudig en stabiel. Ook met klanten die slechte internet verbindingen hebben.

Cons

Onze server hangt zich af en toe op. Dit hangt tesamen met het kpn account dat af en toe herstart waardoor isl dan vast loopt.

Showing original review in Dutch. See translation

AK
AvatarImg

Alexander K.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best TeamViewer alternative I have ever seen

Reviewed 2 years ago

I use ISL nearly every day and the experience is very nice. The support with ISL is fully functional, fast and easy.

Pros

This software is very fast, functional and the best, it could be self hosted.

Cons

There is nothing worth to say about ISL online

WR
AvatarImg

Will R.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ISL review

Reviewed a month ago

Really good and easy to use software for both us IT and the End user, not overcomplicated and I think anyone could use it

Pros

Remote restarts are really good, we use when quick assist does not work on the client machine and being able to log into the admin account remotely is a life saver

Cons

Session codes being 8 digits is a bit of a pain sometimes, I think a 6 digit code is good enough.

BL
AvatarImg

Brendan L.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy and reliable to use

Reviewed a month ago

Our clients find it easy to get us connected, and we have all the tools we need to administrate their devices. Our experience has always been positive.

Pros

Restart and resume is essential for our help desk and it works really smoothly.

Cons

Overall the product does everything we need it to, our only main issue would be the cost. We'd like more available licenses for our team for the amount we pay. But it is comparable to other products.