This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Jenkins

Automation server and continuous integration software

see alternatives

Jenkins Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

It just need a good UI.I would like to recommend Jenkins for anyone who is wiling to do continuous delivery for their projects. This helps to reduce the workload of the developers.

Nadeera D.

This tool is amazing and perfect for the teams that have continuous integration and continuous delivery. Simple to use and simplify our work.

Sara M.

I like the integrations with slack. It is great to get the alerts when there is a new build waiting for approval.

Kelsey L.

Cons

The report contains all the passes and fails and screenshots of the failed test cases, the consumed time and the percentage of the passed and failed.

zaineb b.

Having lots of intergrations in the project could delay slow down the execution sometimes. Parallel execution could cause problems or errors in the build.

Ganesh S.

As with any other similar tool, maintaining it is a nightmare if you do not do it regularly. It can break easily if plugin misbehaves.

Pavol R.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

199

152

16

0

0

96%
positive reviews
99%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


367 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating

The Nagios of CI tools: old, clunky, but still "works"

Reviewed 4 months ago

Transcript

Justin S.: Hi. I'm Justin, DevOps Engineer, and I give Jenkins two out of five stars. For more reviews...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Powerful CICD tool to handle all stage in pipeline

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use Jenkins as the main CICD in our project, we organize jobs with similar function into Group, we create jobs for the build, compile, and unit test each time a developer check-in their code to a specified branch and build a new version of artifact when having master branch commit. We add some additional plugin and create Jenkins jobs for run system test, automation test, and integration test automatically when having new commit to master and have jobs for deploy our new code to destination VMs on demand.

Pros

Jenkins is very simple to installation and configuration as standalone or cluster, just a few clicks to get Jenkins ready, it is flexible and easy to create Pipeline and Job from UI or by YML file. Jenkins support many plugins allows it easy to integrate with other tool and software such as AWS, Sonar, JMeter... and Jenkins support almost major language and OS.

Cons

Jenkins UI is simple and it is hard for manage when we have a large number of jobs and pipelines. It does not have features for tracking job history, sometimes accident deletes or changes a job and we unable to recover it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Jenkins is great open source continuous integration tool for large scale applications.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have used Jenkins for few projects with team members, we used it because we needed more flexibility at configuration. It is the only choice when you need more control over integration and testing. It is hard to configure and install but that is the trade-off for control over customization and configuration. Jenkins is free of cost itself although you need to server to host it. We use Jenkins only for projects which require more configuration and security.

Pros

Currently Jenkins is the only CI tool which has the largest set of plugins, it gives you more control over how it should work, like you can customize pipeline of continuous integration and delivery. There are plugins allow you to run Jenkins in kubernetes and docker but we never ran it on containers. Huge number of plugins available for Jenkins which allow you to integrate with other tools and customize it to your needs, plugins are available at Jenkins update center. Great thing about Jenkins is it work on windows, Linux and mac OS. Cost of using Jenkins is free because its open source although you need server to host it, you must maintain and update and that's your responsibility.

Cons

Jenkins is not easy to use you need to configure it and host it before using unlike tools like travis CI which is ready to be used. Learning curve is steep because it has lot of features and customization which is little bit hard at start. Hosting server is needed to host Jenkins, which means you also need to pay for hosting. Maintenance and updation is user responsibility.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best Opensource CI tool

Reviewed 8 days ago
Pros

It's an amazing tool that supports software development activities by facilitating Continuous Integration & Continuous Deployment. The pipelines are easily customizable to produce any kind of workflow. It helps us to build and deploy multiple times daily. The community support is great and supports a variety of platforms. The plugins helps to add numerous functionality at will. Overall an amazing product.

Cons

First time, it could seems a bit hard to configure. Also the reporting can be improved. But the merits easily overcomes the demerits for Jenkins.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

The Nagios of CI tools: old, clunky, but still "works"

Reviewed a year ago

Nobody ever got fired for choosing Nagios as an IT monitoring tool, and nobody ever got fired for choosing Jenkins as a CI tool. However, both products are, in my estimation, relics from an age when better options really weren't available. Jenkins is free, widely used, and has a vibrant ecosystem. However, at this point, I feel certain that it's coasting on its past reputation. Before settling for Jenkins, I would carefully examine more modern products in this space such as GitLab CI.

Pros

Jenkins can be set up on-premise and comes with no licensing fees. Considering the cost of some CI platforms, that's a HUGE advantage. There are enough plugins that you can find added functionality for almost anything.

Cons

Jenkins can be kind of like WordPress - there is such heavy reliance on plugins that they can sometimes cause unexpected behavior when interacting with each other. Jenkins is significantly harder to get started with than something like GitLab CI. When tasked with creating pipelines for my own development projects, I opted for GitLab CI, and I feel like I'm missing absolutely nothing. The stock Jenkins interface is absolutely horrible. It looks like a leftover from 10+ years ago. (Another similarity with NAgios...)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Automation made easy with Jenkins

Reviewed 3 months ago

My overall experience has been pretty great. It makes automating the builds and pipelines pretty easy.

Pros

Jenkins is a great tool to automate things. It has a number of features to help you with that - You can select the type of pipeline - You can create jobs to trigger automatic builds - You can integrate multiple plugins in the pipeline - It has support for different testing tools, security vulnerability tools, etc - The dashboard and UI are neat and clean - It can be deployed very easily and has multiple options(docker, jar, cloud) for doing that.

Cons

While installation there are a lot of plugins which get installed. Some of the plugins give error and they are not at all used as well. So maybe the plugin repository can be updated once in a while to keep it up to date. Apart from that I love Jenkins. There are no cons to be listed out in Jenkins. It works well and serves the purpose.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

The best open source solution for build machines

Reviewed 6 months ago

I would strongly recommand to consider Jenkins for your build machines. It's free, powerful and offers a lot of options that payed solution might not even propose.

Pros

Jenkins is fully open source, making it easy to install on almost any system. Jenkins comes with many different plugins that allows you to use it with your favorite Engine, versioning solution, etc... Jenkins offers many different ways of creating builds scenario, easy to understand steps, and strong scripting

Cons

It's not always easy to find support, and you might need to rely on your web searching skills in order to find some help. Updates can sometimes break plugins so you need to be careful with those. Luckly enough, there are ways to revert updates if necessary. It's not for Everyone, since setting up a server could take time and a lot of trial and errors.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Extremely powerful and configurable CI

Reviewed a year ago

I've been quite happy with Jenkins so far, as it allows us to have full control over our CI/CD infrastructure.

Pros

- free - extremely extensible - very configurable - cross platform - easy to get up and running - declarative pipelines - good documentation

Cons

- user interface got stuck in the 90's (there's still hope with blue ocean) - some more complex pipelines are not yet supported (e.g. nested parallel)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jenkins is Mandatory for DevOps Style

Reviewed 2 years ago

Is the better tool to the CI/CD Deployment, for DevOps is a Must.

Pros

I use Jenkins from 2 years now and is the best software con Continuous Integration and Continuous Deploy process. Have a lot of plugins integrated like as JaCoCo, sonar, maven etc. Develop and release are become very simply and automated with jenkins.

Cons

The first Installation is not very simple, with docker can be improved. Any plugins have a problems with legacy version of Jenkins

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best tool for CI / CD

Reviewed 2 years ago

Is widely used in the company and is very stable. maybe complex to manage, but is very good for CI and CD

Pros

Is the most used tool of the market, besides the open source to have a very active community.

Cons

I believe that only the UI could improve

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Automation Server best in class

Reviewed a year ago

Best in class, easy and fast to use and shows value quickly

Pros

Simple to use Highly configurable Largest Community Tons of free plugins for every issue ROI at its best

Cons

No built in support to backup/restore/DR of the product

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Product Build Version Management and Ad-hoc jobs Scheduling

Reviewed a year ago

Jenkins has been a great tool for maintaining build version and scheduling timely jobs

Pros

Jenkins plays a important role in product development and deployment lifecycle, where a developer can build his code and give the build version to QA for testing, ones the build is tested it can be signed off and deployed to prod, Not one but many Different Applications can be created and can be built and maintain the build versions of each applications, Ad-Hoc scripts can be managed and can be triggered...

Cons

Scheduling becomes little complicated if the job has to run in un uniform interval of time, for which we had to set up two jobs with the same build configuration and different cron scheduler, sometimes the application dropdown values disappears when used with different executors , Not a fully cloud-based solution, infrastructure should be managed internally, maintains limited build history,

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool for continuous build and integration in software businesses

Reviewed 3 years ago

We can solve one of the major problems of the deployments as Jenkins can take of our major continuous build and integration process and it is widely used in all the major and minor enterprise applications and the Jenkins source code is very free and is flexible and can be used in almost all the operating system.

Pros

Best of Jenkins is it comes with wide range of the plugin suite and is used as the automation server software that can achieve continuous integration. It supports wide range of the operating system like UNIX,LINUX,Windows,etc. Good thing is it is open source and can we used with wide range of the major tools like CVS,GIT,ANT,Maven etc. Jenkins is easy to use and is very flexible. In jenkins we can integrate large number of the servers as a result team across the world can work continuously integrating the project.Jenkins helps the developers in customizing the tool.In all most all the enterprise applications these Jenkins are used as a main tool for the continuous build and integration tool.

Cons

The least about the software is that there is only the tracking on version control but there is no tracking on jenkins itself which is a major drawback. Cost of the Jenkins is unpredictable and may vary time by time. This Jenkins has another drawback as this does not allow the commit made by one person to be view by another person and tracking the Jenkins build process is bit difficult in large projects

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A open source automation for continuous integration and delivery.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Jenkins helps us in doing the deployment for the 500+ clients server in just few hours but before it would take weeks to do the same. Best thing in it the container can be also helpful in case we need the immediate rollback. Orchestration help to achieve the continuous integration and delivery.

Pros

Jenkins is one of the best automation tool for deployment. It’s easy to configure and maintain. The Jenkins implementation don’t need large code based enchantment to configure and implement it which makes it easy to opt. The build pipeline is easy to manage with it. Jenkins helps in boosting the agile process with automation which helps in speeding the delivery of the product. Jobs are easy to configure the build and deploy the code on multiple servers at once. Various third party pulgins give the wings to it. The large plugin community and easy plugin development make the process easy.

Cons

Jenkins jobs configuration wizard should be more enhanced and should come with some more features which help to setup the jobs faster. Jenkins should also increase the documentation on the plugins development. Before updating Jenkins we always need to check its compatibility with the other plugins we are working with, this process should be simple.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jenkins - Your best friend for CI/CD.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am using Jenkins to implement our CI/CD processes and boost our development team productivity.

Pros

* Easy installation, it's really easy to install and configure, in a couple of hours you can have your Jenkins server up and running. * Cross-platform: You can have your Jenkins master on Linux, and your slaves in Linux/Windows. * It has a plug-in for everything. I am using plug-ins to integrate with Git/JIRA/Slack/Maven/Python/etc. * Manage Jenkins is easy and user-friendly. * You can configure your CI/CD pipelines, it's a very flexible tool. * Schedule jobs are easy to set and reliable, you can trust them to run scheduler tasks. * You can have your automation on Jenkins, once deployment pipeline is done, you can trigger your automation testing. It's great because you have everything in one single place and everything is coordinated.

Cons

*When Jenkins slave is installed on Windows as service, and your server receives a Java update, sometimes your slave will get broken. I have faced this issue several times, and it's difficult to debug what is happening. The best option is to uninstall the slave has service and re-install.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Jenkins for test automation

Reviewed 2 years ago

As a Software Quality Assurance and Automation, my main job after writing and automating the tests, is being able to run the tests daily. When the test base exceeds ten test cases, it becomes difficult and time consuming to execute test cases daily. That's why I use Jenkins, as it allows me to run my test cases daily, and the best part is that I can run mobile and web test cases, and test cases that combine the two. I created a jenkins job to execute the tests daily, and send me and to my team the execution report by email. The report contains all the passes and fails and screenshots of the failed test cases, the consumed time and the percentage of the passed and failed. I simply couldn't find a better tool to execute automated test cases.

Pros

-The execution of the test cases on a daily basis -Executing mobile and web test cases -Recover the automation code from git for the test execution -The high quality reports generated by jenkins, that contain the time exeuction, the passes and fails, screenshots of the failed steps and the exact code line where the test failed -Configuring the email list where the report is sent -The easiness of use when it comes to checking the report -The free Jenkins documentation online On top of all, Jenkins is free :D

Cons

-It is very hard to create a Jenkins job for beginners

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Jenkins - a great build tool for the masses

Reviewed 2 years ago

Jenkins is currently used as a CI tool wherein we can commit to GIT which in turns kicks of Jenkins and it takes care of test cases execution and deployment.. its basically our CI-CD line.

Pros

1. Great plugin ecosystem, has everything we need for a CI tool..great integration with test suites, GIT and other products. 2. Robust ecosystem of developments all year around, quick bug fixes 3. set up on Azure , AWS is a breeze 4. Scheduling jobs has been its strongest forte 5. Auditing capabilities is pretty useful

Cons

Plugins might be needed for the basis task, can improve the out of the box capabilities. UI can be improved, its clunky it needs to be an enterprise level tool set with easy abort for hung jobs... sometimes we need to restart Jenkins to get this going Auditing features can be improved to track user level data Error messaging can be enhanced..its pretty basic at the moment with exception handling capabilities Roles/Security feature around user privileges needs to offered too

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A product for continuous integration and delivery.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Jenkins enhance the product life-cycle with power of automation. Deploying multiple clients servers is a job of few hours now. The Jenkins community or support are the most relevant place to discuss your issues in Jenkins. The job fail notification come with the details of the right place to investigate the issue.

Pros

Jenkins is a powerful tool for achieving the continuous integration and delivery. Jenkins provide the various plugins to build, test and deploy the code. Implementing the application don't need any major code changes. Large scale infrastructure can be easily managed by the distributed Jenkins architecture to build and deploy the projects in faster way. The rich set of plugins help in setting up the jobs steps. The open source code of Jenkins provide the transparency about each module.

Cons

Jenkins should provide the recommendation of pipelines as per the product needs. View filters need more enhancement for customization and Throttle build plugins keep stopping in the latest update. There are a limited plugins for snapshot of configuration as I think it should be an in-build feature of Jenkins itself.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Flexible and constantly developing software for building robust Continuous Delivery

Reviewed 3 years ago

We visualized and streamlined our software release process thanks to Jenkins pipelines.

Pros

Rich set of functions that allow to schedule different software processes execution. Even more rich choice of plugins an ease to develop own plugin. We use Jenkins to streamline software we develop releases. We have changes signed daily for release and this is where Jenkins pipelines come to the stage. As soon as developer code is ready for review, it goes through automatic code quality checkup before other people start to review it. After review Jenkins takes care of the rest of phases such us preparing and deploying integration build and then safe roll out to our production servers

Cons

Not much options available for making backups. We also experienced serious issues when trying to perform major upgrade of Jenkins: the error was that Jenkins can no longer read job configs of older format (while we expected it converts all jobs automatically). As a result we need to perform a piece of manual work to perform an upgrade.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Create and run ad-hoc and timely scheduled jobs

Reviewed 10 months ago

This is a really great tool for storing, managing and scheduling ad-hoc scripts, i had a great experience with Jenkins

Pros

all simple ad-hoc things need a place where it can be deployed, scheduled and run, each of the small jobs can't be deployed on a server like tomcat , so we have a server which supports this kind of use cases called Jenkins, Jenkins is majorly used for OCD deployment processes, and other adhoc jobs ,say you need to do a timely check on resource states etc .. in the Jenkins you can set the executer...

Cons

its a great tool i don't see any flaws, in the input parameters we could have more input types like drop down , radio buttons options etc, and

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best tool for building our application in a continuous integration,continuous delivery with plugin's

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This tool made the business development flow very much easier. Best features include the continious integration with the multiple builds which makes releases easier for better business its installation is also much easier as jenkins is a self-contained Java-based program, ready to run out-of-the-box, with packages for Windows, Mac OS X and other Unix-like operating systems.So we are good with any...

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy Deployment/ Easy Delivery

Reviewed a year ago

It has helped me achieve so many things with so little knowledge. It is the heart of my orchestration system built for a very large distributed system as a software engineering intern. Because of it's reliability, it is still being used as that. Very easy to use and mixing with your creativity you can achieve almost anything .

Pros

Ability to perform any kind of deployment/orchestration.

Cons

Security Vulnerability. It can be attacked from multiple places.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Still king of the hill

Reviewed a year ago

It requires effort and focused attention, but if you put that effort in you can do anything you need. Though you might find yourself stuck for a while the community support is great and somebody has probably already found a solution you are looking for.

Pros

Jenkins can be used for all steps in the CI/CD pipeline. It's flexible and not restricted to a single style.

Cons

Jenkins resource configurations can be hard to figure out at first. You have to grow with usage, and it's not just a quick out of the box solution.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jenkins - A robust way to automate your jobs.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Jenkins make our life easy with removing the risk of manual errors and help in speeding the process. The Jenkins community is the best one stop place where you can discuss the stuff and get the solution. Once you adopt it you will surely feel the difference with the quality and fast delivery of the product.

Pros

Jenkins is an open source automation server that help in pure automation with continuous integration and help in fast delivery of the product. It is highly recommended with Java language application as it itself writing in it. The numbers of plugins make this tool special. We can also configure the mail notification on different events like build failed and unstable build. The best thing in it is easy to configure with the help of web interface where we can check the errors and other important notifications. The integration of Jenkins help in to deliver the product with CI/CD model.

Cons

Jenkins should come with the in-build backup option and I always keep missing it and adding the other third party software to keep maintain the backup before deployment. Multiple Jenkins jobs do need to setup in case of multiple language application is used by the product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

CI/CD at the finest

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, my experience with Jenkins has been great! There isn't much negatives that I could say about this software except that it meets our needs as a software company and it allows us to ship stuff out to production quickly and without errors.

Pros

We use this to automate most of our builds from staging to production, we even use it for unique cases where we can run mobile tests on different cloud devices all at once. It saves our team lots of time from having to make the deployments and configuration changes into different environments. Deployments would be a lot more time consuming and tedious if we did not have Jenkins to do it for us.

Cons

The least thing that I liked about the software is the configuration of builds, it can be overwhelming as there are plugins that you can get to build many different project types. But as you use the software more, you end up just copying the build configuration from another working project to use as a base for your builds.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Continuous Integration Tool

Reviewed a year ago

* We have been using for Dev / Int / Prod deployment for Continuous Integration / Continuous Deployment Jenkins for a long time and all I can say that everything is much more easier than the previous deployment procedure.

Pros

*Among all continuous integration tools , Jenkins is the best. * Deployment is not a problem when you use Jenkins * If a problem happens during the deployment of the process, all the people knows the issue. * You can have Dev - Int - Prod environments and if one fails you won't be able to deploy your product to other environment. * SonarQube integration is great *

Cons

* If two person tries to deploy the product at the same time, we come across with errors. That's why someone should say that please stop the deployment for the environment Development, Integration or Production environment. So the least thing is synchronous deployment should be done for the product in the same environment which will not come with an error.