AlumNet Reviews

AlumNet

Cloud-based alumni management software

AlumNet

Review Summary

Pros

Wonderful product for our specific needs with wonderful people behind the scenes.

Annaleen M.

Excellent functionality. Excellent service from Hennie and team.

Andrew C.

I have only used AlumNet as a user not administrator but it is a great tool to keep in touch. It is simple and user friendly.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

We have come to realize that people are hesitant, without knowing what it's about.

Joanie v.

Still a lack of communication within the network.

Marieta v.

I do not like that I cannot attach files to it and that it actually a pain when you are trying to stay connected with people.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

4.4

(22)

5

4

3

2

1

11

8

3

0

0

86%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


22 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Andrew Clayton review of Alumnet

Reviewed 2 years ago

Fantastic for communication, event scheduling and store of single data base of old boys

Pros

Well priced Excellent functionality Excellent service from Hennie and team

Cons

Digital user experience could be more friendly

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Andrew. I am glad you like the Features/Functionality we already have. Please advise how we can get a higher rating on the "Value for Money" section, please.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Grey 't Experience

Reviewed 4 years ago

From the admin side, we find the system very efficient, user friendly and a necessity for any organization who want to manage a database. We experience that members do not use the network as they should. Still a lack of communication within the network.

Pros

The advance search options - not always necessary to open the network to search eg a town, specific occupation or industry. Very user friendly.

Cons

Not to have the option to attach something to e-mails. The link given to open, when sent via the media, cannot be opened by a number of members.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

User friendly, easy to navigate, queries addressed with ease

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is relatively easy to use and navigate. The calendar and announcements are easy to upload and edit and there are no unnecessary delays in posting and the switch between Dashboard and admin just made life easier

Cons

This software program does not allow me to upload PDF files and it is frustraring to keep changing over to JPG when you're in a hurry

Vendor response

Hi Sianca, Thanks for the feedback. Please could we arrange a Online training session to address your PDF issue, as PDF's are allowed to be imported and shared with AlumNet. Regards Vivien

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Software to Manage our members

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very well thought of software to make our lives as Admin a lot easier. Event ticket sales is also going to make the Annual Conference management easier for the host of the year.

Pros

So much, but the following stand out for me: Advanced Grouping and Communications. Event and Ticket Sales Management, with Online Auction built in. Communication via Email, SMS and PushNotifications.

Cons

Nothing that I can think of now. Hope to soon see the new Voting in the system, that would make Surveys for the office and the committee a breeze to get info. Go Team AlumNet !

Vendor response

Thanks for the positive feedback. We want to keep improving and thanks to clients like yourself and your input, we keep on growing the product to everyone's benefit. Regards V

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Most recommendable program

Reviewed 2 years ago

Friendly and efficient staff. Fairly quick on-line shopping but unfortunately transaction cost a bit high and 30 days+ waiting time to receive fees.

Pros

Quick & easy access to profiles. Quick & easy maintaining info on profiles User friendly

Cons

Allignment of e-mails Program "hangs" from time to time

Vendor response

Thanks Elza, for the review. Our new Email editor is already in testing and should be rolled out in October. The Online Shopping cost is as Low as we can get it now, but the Additional feature to get the Admin fee sponsored by the Buyer, reduces the fee significantly. We will keep on looking at reducing costs in the shop where we can. You are also able to get monies from the Shop after 5 days of the transaction, if you didn't know, or on the Monthly bases we currently operate on. Regards V

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for keeping in touch

Reviewed 4 months ago

Generally good. It is a simple tool and not too shabby.

Pros

I have only used AlumNet as a user not administrator but it is a great tool to keep in touch. It is simple and user friendly.

Cons

I do not like that I cannot attach files to it and that it actually a pain when you are trying to stay connected with people.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Make the circle bigger

Reviewed 2 years ago

This user friendly system enables us to maintain our members. With all the new features on its way we will be able to connect members with one another and broaden some of their horizons as well. Mentoring young members is something to look forward to.

Pros

The fact that we can find and add more members to our alumni everyday. This enable us to keep the school and members in touch with one another.

Cons

To date I have not found any dislikes unfortunately.

Vendor response

Thank you Maryna, for your review. It is clients like you that gives us feedback and request new features, which keeps us relevant and on top of our game. V

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rondebosch Old Boys

Reviewed 2 years ago

General pleasant experience, good service (also very prompt).

Pros

Easy of use. In the cloud. Semi-automatic weekly email. Extraction of data.

Cons

Difficulty on formatting ad-hoc emails The formatting if the weekly email is not great (mine is received all in Times New Roman and all in one para per item)

Vendor response

Thanks Andre for the feedback. We have planned development for the Customized Weekly Mails in the Fourth Quarter 2018. Thanks for your feedback. Regards V

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Effortless and very effective!!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The fact you can "group" your individuals in certain lists and/or categories which make it so much easier when you want to target a specific group, class or demographic via email or sms.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Software Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

I enjoy working with this system, it is easy to use and to understand and the support is great! Very few technical issues too.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Wonderful product for our specific needs with wonderful people behind the scenes.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The fast and friendly service. Constant development and change. Specific for our needs as an alumni association. Ability of members to interactively update their details.

Cons

Not yet able to link family members within the system. Portal update newsletters do not include the pictures.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Alumnet Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great!

Pros

Continual upgrades and changes to adapt.

Cons

Cross referencing families and contacts.

Vendor response

Thanks Annaleen. The family tree is in the development schedule for the 4th quarter of 2018. Hope to grow the product even more, with great input like yours. V

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Meeting the needs of running a Alumni Association

Reviewed 2 years ago

Has really taken our piecemeal system/s and managed to bring some functionality that was sorely lacking over many years. We have also been given some functionality that the experiences of other alumni have allowed us to jump the curve so to speak

Pros

Was designed specifically with an Alumni in mind

Cons

Changes and suggestions can take a while to get approved and implemented

Vendor response

Thanks Grant for your feedback. We will look at making the Request process and delivery of that more transparent to all Clients. Thanks you for you and your alumni's input in making the software as great as it is already. Regards V

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A useful tool - but is cumbersome to customise for specific school/alumni needs

Reviewed 3 years ago

Getting a single database of members

Pros

Interface direct for community - new look customisation for MCOBA is a great addition. Some of the stats are easy to pull -

Cons

Cumbersome to get specific customisation for our needs - or to amend current layout or add additional fields. Need central support - some more statistics and analyitics would be great (e.g payments, numbers of members per months - seasonality etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AlumNet Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

we have no complaints with regards to AlumNet. It is a great tool and an absolute must for any organisation that requires the support of their alumni to function. the only suggestion we have is maybe for AlumNet to provide a short media file/video clip for organisations to use as promotional tool for alumni to buy into the registration process. We are relying on alumni to register themselves as our data basis is not effective to upload ourselves. we have come to realize that people are hesitant, without knowing what it's about.

Pros

It allows multiple facets of one organisation to be a part of the system. E.g alumni can connect with current parents.

Cons

This is just a personal observation, as we are new to the software and need more time to learn our way around some functions.

Vendor response

Thanks Joanie for your feedback. I will get our Team to see how they can get a Video together to assist and attract more Alumni to your database. Regards V

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A powerful tool to connect with your Alumni

Reviewed 3 years ago

Better management of data

Pros

I think it is wonderful that Past Pupils can update their own information. It is also great to see which communications have been sent to them. We have not yet used the billing function, but this is a very useful function.

Cons

All the failed/undelivered messages in my inbox after sending an email to the entire database. I just have not had time to go back to each one and remove the incorrect email addresses.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I've had a great experience from the beginning, our data integrity seems to have held.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It has given us more power to manage our database - we originally ran the database through the school, now the alumni has more control and we don't have to wait in a queue to send comms.

Pros

Easy to use. System is always up. Lots of Functionality. Ability to generate income through selling advertising space. Refer a friend capability. Only minor glitches on importing data - all resolved.

Cons

Can't create event-specific outgoing email templates. It might be nice to include a accept/decline button on event invites that populates a spreadsheet with responses. It might be nice to be able to track hard/soft email bounces without having to sift through each and every bounced email manually.

Vendor response

Hi Nicola Thanks for your feedback. I will add your E-Mail Templates suggestion to our development schedule. Kind Regards Vivien

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Could not get my password accepted, but the personal telephonic backup service was fantastic

Reviewed 3 years ago

It took 2 1/2 years to convince the relevant parties that this was a solution to many challenges that we faced with 2 different Excel spreadsheets, that were out of date and data did not correspond. Still learning about the Software, but can see it's potential for communicating with our Alumni.

Pros

Easy to use the site and visually appealing. Clear and concise structure. Documents and photographs can be shared.

Cons

Couldn't find the save button - too small. Also was not looking for a 'disc'. Maybe that needs to change and a different symbol/button used that is bigger

Vendor response

Thanks Geila. We will be in touch to see how we can address the items listed in "Cons".

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

On the whole, the system is user-friendly and easy to use.

Reviewed 4 years ago

* The support from the Silver Sky team is wonderful. * Upgrades and technical 'down time' should be scheduled to take place in the afternoons or evenings whenever possible as schools are mostly busy with their systems during morning office hours. * The process of extracting and creating lists can be tricky and cumbersome. * Our members really enjoy receiving birthday sms messages! * The system is improving communication with our community tremendously.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

AMAZING

Reviewed 4 years ago

The package is user friendly and quite frankly just amazing. After sale service is excellent.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very user friendly

Reviewed 4 years ago

Although correct spelling of names are important, the rest of the communication is effortless.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Recommended

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Very user friendly and it's easy to update and create a profile. It's also very easy to find and grow our alumni database.

Cons

I have no immediate cons about this product.

Vendor response

Hi Johnetha Thanks for the time to review our product. Please let me know if you need any assistance. Regards V