App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Picnic Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

13

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.33/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The team helps with functional aspects of your Gamification story and helps you build a good engagement platform.
This gamification system is a great way to better understand engagement across a range of contexts. It is easy to use, with lots of features.
PUG is a solid combination of technology and subject matter expertise. They know engagement and how to create strong brand-customer relationships.
It is an expensive program, but once the investment is made and it is in use, the dividends will pay off.
Hence any issues with the product should be taken care by the PugPharm team only. We certainly did not encounter any major breakages, but this model can be quite frustrating to fix issues.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


13 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Juan Pablo G.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great gamification / customer engagement platform

Reviewed a year ago

Better than expected!

Pros

Picnic has helped to keep customers engaged by having enough fun mechanics that challenge them but help us achieve our business goals

Cons

While the integration is not difficult, it may take a few weeks to get the most out of Picnic

JB
AvatarImg

Jeff B.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

New and better way to think about engagement

Reviewed 2 years ago

PUG is a solid combination of technology and subject matter expertise. They know engagement and how to create strong brand-customer relationships. Going with them was a good decision for us.

Pros

We found that other technologies we evaluated were too niche. We were looking for a solution that would enable us to solve broad engagement challenges across all our segments and channels. Their platform's flexibility in targeting our segments and moving them through key customer journeys was a critical factor in our decision. Scalability and integration were also important.

Cons

Onboarding took some time. In all fairness though, not their fault. We chose PUG for their flexibility in personalizing engagement across our segments. We understood that level of flexibility comes with some complexity in execution. Their team was great, though, in helping us ramp up the skills we needed to support ourselves longer term.

AM
AvatarImg

Andrea M.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great way to explore engagment

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This gamification system is a great way to better understand engagement across a range of contexts. It is easy to use, with lots of features!

Cons

It is an expensive program, but once the investment is made and it is in use, the dividends will pay off!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Vamsi K.

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Picnic is the best product to build rich Gamification aspects into your product

Reviewed 5 years ago

We were able to provide impressive Gamification Systems to our Client, based on this product. The PugPharm team are very knowledgable in the Domain, and are very good at advising you about the overall Strategy for you gamification needs.

Pros

PugPharm provides a comprehensive end to end service to build Gamification into Products. Picnic is the product that is heart of this enterprise. Picnic helps you define Artefacts, Milestones, Rules that power your Gamification workflows. It scales very well to spikes in loads, and is easy to compose / edit the rules. The team behind the product is certainly the best thing about the product. The team does a good job at on-boarding you with the product, as well help you shape up your Game play aspects. We used Picnic to build Gamification Systems for our clients and the results have been very satisfactory. The team helps with functional aspects of your Gamification story and helps you build a good engagement platform.

Cons

The product is very blackbox style to begin with. The documentation can be improved a lot. More examples of using the product will also be useful, and give the users ability to understand product scope. The product we used was in a SaaS model. Hence any issues with the product should be taken care by the PugPharm team only. We certainly did not encounter any major breakages, but this model can be quite frustrating to fix issues.

PD
AvatarImg

Phillip D.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PICNIC has been great for our product

Reviewed 6 years ago

We've been using Picnic for almost 2 years now for our product that targets foster youth. We use it for badging and keeping track of rewards that our members have earned. We worked quite closely with the Picnic team and found them to be professional, helpful and timely. I would say that the model we worked on with them was different than their usual model, as we got into a lot of the development...

Pros

I think it's got a comprehensive feature set that works well overall with a lot of the engagement pieces we wanted for working with our members.

Cons

It's $$, but I would say that when we reviewed similar projects, it seemed to be cheaper than some and about the same as others. Still feels expensive as an ongoing license. However, they need recognize our project's non-profit status so that helped.

FG
AvatarImg

FEDRICO G.

International Trade and Development, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great platform for Kotex, meaningful engagement and loyalty

Reviewed 2 years ago

Picnic was our chosen solution for Kotex's customer engagement program. It is very flexible, stable, and scalable. We delivered much creativity through its capabilities while still driving business success metrics. The end to end experience between customers and the brand throughout the duration of their relationship was exceptional. It printed to the end-user a meaningful connection with the brand.

Pros

Kotex was looking to deepen our customer-brand relationship, especially as it relates to our online audiences. The repeat participation rates and drives on calls-to-action have been the biggest benefits.

Cons

The reporting tools were initially somewhat basic, but these improved as we got deeper into the program and they understood and responded to our data analysis needs better.

WB
AvatarImg

Warren B.

51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reliable, flexible, well-supported

Reviewed 7 years ago

Lots of features, flexible to create a wide range of projects and campaigns. Support staff very easy to work with and documentation was clear and up-to-date.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

PD
AvatarImg

Phillip D.

Online Media, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fit the bill for gaming

Reviewed 5 years ago

We were able to get it up and running quickly which met our user goals. It also did a bunch of things that we would have had to spend a bunch of time building. We got what we needed from it.

Pros

We looked at a number of different software packages before deciding to use Pugpharm. It was a good choice for what we needed, which was a quick implementation. We also needed integration with our Drupal website. Their team was pretty flexible and the gameplay understanding was great. We learned a lot about what was needed for our users.

Cons

Probably the dashboard, as while functional, it seems like it could be more friendly. Probably something that will be improved and to be honest, it didn't impact functionality. The integration was also a chance for both teams to learn though, as I think we were the first Drupal implementation.

MO
AvatarImg

Mirna O.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software and team!

Reviewed 10 months ago

So far, so good.

Pros

Is the best alternative that we found on market, and we looked a lot!

Cons

I think it's just a matter of time for us to get engaged with the software, so we can explote much more the potential that it has.

AT
AvatarImg

Arturo T.

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Miniso

Reviewed a year ago

Very good. They have acomlished every objective we set in the time that we agreed. everything has been working great. Still at the begining of using the software but for know no complaints.

Pros

Easy to use and manipulate. Already tested with hugh results. very freindly for the customer.

Cons

Diferent country so its not easy to get together and the language difference. Our company is from Mexico

AE
AvatarImg

Alfonso E F.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Picnic helped me a lot, simplifying and accelerating the gamification process.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I will help a lot in the implementation that Picnic will have more examples of how it is used and more documentation.

Pros

Picnic is a reliable and safe tool, which allows me to concentrate on other details of my application.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AR
AvatarImg

Andreia R.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

best cost benefit

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Strong point: customizable and adaptable interface

Cons

Improvement point: integration complexity

hr
AvatarImg

honey r.

Public Relations and Communications, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Gamification for Environmental Outreach

Reviewed 4 years ago

Love, love, love them, in the most professional way.

Pros

This platform allowed us to set up the game as a seamless branded activity for our ongoing environmental education and outreach effort.

Cons

It's extremely complicated. Still, the staff are available for ongoing support. They have been there for us since we began interviewing companies to consider this approach. They were most interested, ever-patient with our big learning curve and actively interested in making our game a success.