App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

AutoCAD Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.7

/5

2.7K
97%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.75/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

WOW, all that I can say is that probably this is the most important software to make blueprints in the world.
The AutoCAD is very good to be used for many industries like construction and industrial / manufacturing process as well, good for beginners and professional level as well.
I use this program all of the time because their Features are awesome powerful tool and easy for professional and beginners.
The biggest disadvantage of AutoCAD is that it comes with a lot of problems, which is to be expected from a tool that can do so much. It seems reasonable to me.
Sometimes the user interface becomes annoying, file can get very big and may crash the computer, drawings can get corrupt.
It is frustrating when in the AutoCAD updates over the years that the interface has changed so much that it makes it hard to adjust and find things.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


2,741 reviews

Recommended

JD
AvatarImg

John D.

Structural Engineer

Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating

AutoCAD For Drawings

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Speaker 1: Hi there. My name is John. I'm a structural engineer. I give AutoCAD a five out of five. And...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Paul L.

Principal

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating

AutoCAD is the De Facto CAD Standard

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Paul: Hi, I'm Paul and I am a computer specialist and I give AutoCAD a four out of five. For more reviews,...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Geoffrey L.

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

develop digital works with the best tool

Reviewed 2 months ago

My experience with the use of this AutoCAD program is of high quality because it was possible to develop plot plans with great accuracy to detail and describe them with many characteristics, I like its design and I consider that it improves over time

Pros

I like this AutoCAD program because it is of good quality for making plans in the workplace, such as developing digital surveys of land or plots, it can be accurately verified and detailed to the maximum, it maintains many features to keep the plans with good designs to achieve the desired effectiveness

Cons

What I don't like about this software is that at first it is a bit complex to use, but over time you can develop great designs in very attractive plans with good work.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Consumer Electronics, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

3D model and 2D drafting

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall, for normal sketching and drafting it is more than enough to work on. It is one of the best in the market to create designs in drawing sheets. Still, in many firms, Auto CAD is widely used in major fields such as city planning, Architecture, 2D drafting, electrical and electronic designs, etc. It is the basic software that every engineer working in the field should self-teach themselves with the tutorials provided. It is always the necessary tool to implement and create drawings as an engineer.

Pros

AutoCAD is the easiest 2D drafting software for the mechanical field of enterprises. It is easy to install and deploy from individual PCs to the communication servers. All the tools are readily available to create drawings to final prints. The commands and shortcuts are used widely to perform quick functions and they can also be customized according to the user's needs.

Cons

It cannot be used in place of larger machine structures or complex designs. There are other competitors with advanced CAD tools for 3D modeling with the surface, solid, sheet metal, welding, Plastic injection molding, and die-casting design segments for easier access. Also, too much manual intervention is required during operation. The software is more expensive than competitors in the market. Larger files are crashed during the operations which had to be recovered and there will be huge data losses without auto save.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Arlex G.

Verified reviewer

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Autocad, it was my design school.

Reviewed 5 years ago

With autocad I learned to design with a computer, I learned to model, I learned CAD, it was my initial school.

Pros

Working in AutoCAD is much easier than working on paper. We saved a lot of time and it's much simpler than that. Doing it by hand can be tedious and we also have to consider our prolixity when it comes to doing it on a sheet. As Autodesk is launching new versions, they do not change much with respect to the previous ones so that the user does not have to update to something completely unknown. The...

Cons

The main disadvantage is the high cost of the program, since the license costs a few dollars. Knowing how to use the software fully requires a lot of time since there are many functions that are not so well known, and even that they are of little application, since they are very specific. It requires a very powerful computer to work with the latest versions (especially in 3D). At least 2GB of RAM,...

SC
AvatarImg

Subodh C.

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

WATCH this before installing Auto CAD

Reviewed 3 months ago

Drafting, designing and overall needs of our company is cleared with this app, also mechanics and plumbers are using this software.

Pros

everything is overall best and maybe the only problem with people nowadays is they think's they're perfect after a design or after some days. It takes time to dig down, keep practicing more, there is free trail period available for student's. verify and do it. don't wait. keep going.

Cons

This app provides all new features and functions of AutoCAD' so there is not much problem i can say but when you keep working and working into it you can find some problem but u can solve it. make your own code and it all available. And the thing needed is time and practice.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Facundo A.

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Evaluando AutoCAD

Reviewed a month ago

AutoCAD ha sido mi paso de la mano alzada (lápiz y papel), a trabajos mejor desarrollados y con acabados profesionales (todo con la posibilidad de corregir al instante, sobre todo, errores importantes que condicionan todo el proyecto).Es una herramienta que utilizo a diario, y que me da la posibilidad de generar piezas gráficas de forma correcta para ser llevadas a obra.

Pros

Es un software que me ha permitido avanzar en mi carrera como arquitecto y constructor. El mismo me dio la posibilidad de realizar trabajos de una manera más eficiente, prolija, controlada y segura. Siempre he dibujado a mano, sobre todo, en cuestiones técnicas, pero AutoCAD, me dio la posibilidad de corregir grandes errores, sin tener que tirar todo un plano entero, a la basura.

Cons

La curva de aprendizaje es totalmente lenta, y se requieren horas de uso para aprender a trabajar en el. Es un programa con renombre y prestigio, para el cual, es necesario hacer capacitaciones, con el fin de aprender a utilizarlo. Otros software permiten realizar buenos trabajos, con acabados adecuados y prolijos, de forma más rápida, intuitiva y con una interfaz más amigable.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Troy S.

Verified reviewer

Broadcast Media, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

AutoCAD usecase after 20 years

Reviewed 2 months ago

It helps when yo have to make a presentation to your manager or you want to get the info you have compiled across to your co-workers AND above all when you have to find that ONE cable or that elusive piece of equipment .

Pros

Extremely useful when you finisha major project and you connect yourlaptop or smartphone to 65 or 85 inch and you want to demonstrate new additions or major changes OR in the case of where I work when our guest engineers finished with the major upgrade recently as soon as I connected his laptop ALL the racks and equipment were simple to absorb on the 65'' tv plus the space at the bottom of all the racks where hopefully the powers that be will purchase and install the equipment upgrades we currently need .

Cons

Now the negatives . On a 14 or 16'' laptop it's easy to find a cable or a label to a switch or router you're trying to troubleshoot IF you're patient . Anything smaller you will get frustrated and just go for a tv witha coworker to troubleshoot the issue . I know it might be asking too much but an android version , optimized for a small scren would help IMMENSELY when you're on the road . The there's the subscription path tat ADOBE has taken as with their other products . Annoying .

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lucas C.

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

AutoCAD - market maker

Reviewed 2 months ago

We use AutoCAD basically everyday in our design office. Everyone started using CAD since the first contact with technical drawing and it's very easy to find other collaborators to integrate within the design process.

Pros

It's the most used, integrated, precise and trustable tool in the construction market. Engineering, Architectural, Structural, Electrical, Hydraulic and other complementary design can be made in the same tool.

Cons

It could be way better integrated with 3D, scheduling and budgeting features. Yet, it's so precise and amply used, that it only "loses" when it comes to a few BIM tools.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Audrey B.

Verified reviewer

Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Autocad est cher, mais il est vaut la peune

Reviewed 25 days ago

Je trouve que c’est le meilleur logiciel pour des documents complets et super détaillés. Il est facile de faire toutes les angles de ton dessin en 2D.

Pros

C’est le meilleur logiciel pour présenter des plans clairs, professionnels et techniques. Il est facile de faire beaucoup de pages donc beaucoup de pièces dans un même dessin.

Cons

Les points négatifs que j’ai trouvé est vraiment pour faire des plans en 3D ce n’est pas le meilleur logiciel. De plus, faire un cartouche est quand même assez difficile à faire.

Showing original review in French. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Abirham B.

Verified reviewer

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Dream drawer autocad software

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Its quality and perfectness about the required input

Cons

Using this software is luckynees no doubt

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mawiz Muaz T.

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Autocad is a great program for creating 2D and 3D drawings.

Reviewed a month ago

It is easy to use and has a lot of features that make it very powerful. The program is also very stable and rarely crashes. Overall, Autocad is an excellent program and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good CAD program.

Pros

It is easy to use and has a lot of features that make it very powerful. The program is also very stable and rarely crashes.

Cons

The learning curve can be steep, and it can take some time to become proficient in using all of the features and tools.

HS
AvatarImg

Hicham S.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AutoCAD: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

Reviewed 5 months ago

I had a hard time getting started with AutoCAD. The interface is not very user-friendly and the learning curve is steep. Once I got the hang of it, I found that it was very buggy and would often crash. Overall, I was not impressed with AutoCAD and would not recommend it to anyone. It has limited features, crashes frequently, and can be difficult to learn. On the other hand, I think it could be useful...

Pros

AutoCAD is the industry standard in CAD (computer-aided design) software. It has been around for over 30 years and has changed significantly during that time. With each version, new features are added, existing ones are improved, and the interface changes to accommodate those changes. I've been using AutoCAD for about a year now, and I have to say that I'm really impressed with it. It's very user-friendly,...

Cons

Overall, I was really disappointed with AutoCAD. I found the interface to be confusing and difficult to use. The software crashed a lot and was really slow. Plus, the learning curve was really steep. I wouldn't recommend this software to anyone. It's just not worth it. There are so many other programs out there that are better than this one. The price is outrageous for what you get. If you're looking...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lívio Bernard V.

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best solution for construction designer

Reviewed 7 months ago

A reliable software that attends to the most exigent aspect of construction

Pros

The software has compatibility with multiple operating systems and it is not necessary to have professional CPUs because the software works smoothly even on very basic computers. Another great aspect is all the features work great at a high professional level for fulfilling the needs of the construction sector. All the best professionals are aware of the powerful features that this software offers, so the use of AutoCAD will guarantee the quality of construction designs.

Cons

The downside of AutoCAD is the price. Although the software is great it is overpriced considering the use for individuals even in very small businesses. I think there will be plans with affordable prices for these situations. I could only starting to use it after I was hired by a big company.

KB
AvatarImg

Kelsey B.

Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love love love

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

I honestly love the commands in AutoCAD, they're pretty intuitive without being overly complicated. I like that the command bar also explicitly spells out additional options for each function. I feel like the overall ease of use is relatively good. If you're familiar with programs in general, CAD will be no big deal. However, the return on the project is exponential for the ease of use, so that's wonderful. I use the program daily, even above doing simple linework in Adobe products, for example. CAD has become so ingrained in my workflow that I really can't do without it.

Cons

The biggest con I can think of has to do with the consistent functionality of certain commands I use. For example, the hatching command does not always read linework as complete/joined even when I know that it is, which results in a wildly skewed hatch. As well, the draw order command does not always function properly. Basically, I don't have a huge complaint - more like I think there's still bugs that need to be worked out. Overall, I love CAD.

ae
AvatarImg

ahmed e.

Civil Engineering, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AutoCAD

Reviewed 8 months ago

This program is an essential partner in all the reconstruction of the earth He is very excellent, noble and the greatest assistant to any engineer in particular We rely on it very mainly now and we hope to give more to Autodesk

Pros

• Save a lot of time, effort and thought • High quality in drawing and directing • High accuracy in execution • Very good safety in storage and transmission • Ease of use after good training You can draw and remember commands greatly after interruption of work on it for periods • One of the most beautiful things about the program is the diversity of drawing methods, data entry and output, and ease...

Cons

• Expensive startup costs. Software can be very expensive with upfront costs such as hardware and training • It takes a long time to understand the use of this software This is the biggest hurdle in the program is the beginning In order to understand how the program works, you need to know all the details about it, and then things will be easy * New versions need great specifications, the most important...

AD
AvatarImg

Amira D.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The most reliable tool for preparing drawings and designs with precise engineering scales.

Reviewed 8 months ago

AutoCAD has been and continues to be the application on which I spend hours each day working on architectural designs and evaluating the many Shop drawings of the projects that I supervise, since my undergraduate studies and during the previous years. Your faith in the ability of construction workers and technicians to apply this is boosted by the clarity of the engineering standards that are included on it.

Pros

Whether you're a novice or a seasoned engineer, it's one of the best technical drawing tools ever created. You have helped me become an expert in engineering drawing and have helped me generate the best structural and interior designs over the last few years. Many new features have been introduced to this tool in recent years, including the ability to keep files in the cloud and collaborate with others...

Cons

Once you have completed the exercises that help you acquire the necessary abilities, AutoCAD will be a joy to use as well as easy to learn. The only issue is that you'll need a computer with a fast processor and a large screen if you want to create complex designs with a variety of different elements.

AM
AvatarImg

Akhil M.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple AutoCAD review

Reviewed 10 months ago

AutoCAD is hard to get and learn, nonetheless, this can be said for any displaying programming with such huge abilities. AutoCAD's trouble is very even out with the quality you can accomplish inside the product, and the wide conceivable outcomes it offers. AutoCAD is an incredibly powerful instrument to help originators and drafters to make drawings that look extraordinary and are not difficult to control, it can battle to deal with weighty venture responsibility with numerous 3-layered items in a single drawing. You can commodity and import pictures between programming which I love the most.

Pros

You can do nearly everything with AutoCAD, from the straightforward sketch of a space to the arrangement of a task without making a qualification assuming that it is power, building or structural designing. AutoCAD is exceptionally adaptable, and I truly like the client's capacity to set up their own default climate that can be utilized for new ventures going ahead. The upsides of the program incorporate,...

Cons

AutoCAD is hard to advance particularly for outright amateurs. additionally, while chipping away at weighty records, it very well may be hard to make changes on the document without the danger of your framework slacking or in any event, crashing. AutoCAD doesn't give full Building Information Modelling similarity. Its substance has just Geometric properties. It doesn't give full parametric demonstrating and add a material trademark to the model. AutoCAD can't turn out to be excessively parametrically determined or it will subvert Autodesk different contributions.

LH
AvatarImg

Lyle H.

Utilities, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

AutoCAD is great but at a price

Reviewed a year ago

We are an engineering firm and have used AutoCAD as our main drafting and design program for almost 30 years. Even though we have moved on to Revit, we still use AutoCAD for certain projects where 3D parametric design may not be needed or practical.

Pros

I've used it for 30+ years so I know it inside and out. It's heavily customizable and AutoCAD is a great tool for just about anything you need to design. It's THE industry standard for CAD. If you work with lots of other companies and are sharing drawings frequently, AutoCAD is the way to go. AutoCAD LT may be an option as well at a fraction of the cost.

Cons

While AutoCAD does offer some parametric and 3D features, it's not the best thing out there if you are wanting to do parametric 3D design. Also, after using Revit, the disconnection between drawings (other than xrefs) is rather annoying. But, if you're a skilled drafter, you can do great things with AutoCAD.

AF
AvatarImg

Ahmed F.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best applications for drawing all designs and implementation plans.

Reviewed a year ago

It is a very enjoyable experience, as the capabilities provided by AutoCAD support imagination, allowing the user to think more about every diagram he looks at so that he can find creative solutions. For me , for more than ten years and until today I have used AutoCAD daily to complete my work by calculating quantities and percentages of completion. Therefore, I cannot find words that can describe the extent of my appreciation and thanks to those in charge of AutoCAD, because without the effort made by them, the construction workers would not have been able to complete their work so easily and also the implementation of wonderful buildings like the ones we see today all over the world.

Pros

I like how AutoCAD reliable, easy to learn and use, as I was able, during my study of civil engineering at the university, and throughout my career in the field of contracting, to achieve the greatest possible benefit from using AutoCAD, as it helped me in design and read various construction plans and also measure areas and Quantity. AutoCAD is characterized by high accuracy, which made it the first...

Cons

In fact, there is nothing to say in this field, I love everything about AutoCAD, the interface of the application is distinctive, and all the tools that help the user to perform his tasks can be added to it, also the settings for printing, saving and sharing are very easy, add to this the speed of response of the support team to any problem that the user may face. In all honesty, I want to say, that AutoCAD has provided a great service to mankind and has played an important role with all the achievements made in the last decades.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Yerko A.

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Un gran software de diseño

Reviewed a year ago

Optimiza la realizacion de planos electricos en la empresa las cuales hace dejar el papel de lado de los planos antiguos y nos genera planos de forma mas ordenas exactas y demarcadas visualmente, generando un mayor entendimiento.

Pros

La amplia gama que puede abarcar un software como este, tanto para el diseños de planos electricos, como para layout, el uso es sencillo de ocupar y no es necesario un curso para su utilización, uno mismo puede aprender al utilizar el producto. El software trae la opcion de generar planos 3D para un mejor diseño e entendimiento del dibujo que uno quiere implementar, a la vez trae normas de dibujo y de plano. Un software excelente para profesionales que buscan implementar planos de cualquier indole y de forma que buscan dejar el papel de lado.

Cons

Las funciones que dejan que deciar son el modo 3D, puede ser engorroso en un momento debido a que el eje de profundidad con el de altura se confunden por lo que al dejar el dibujo terminado se ve el error, falta demostrar o recalcar mas esa caracterisitcas.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AF
AvatarImg

Abdallah F.

Civil Engineering, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Autocad is the drawing board, it's up to the designer to show more creativity

Reviewed a year ago

Since I started my career as an engineer, I have always or almost always used Autocad as a work tool. I must say that in the engineering environment that I lived, we only spoke the AutoCAD language.

Pros

You can do almost everything with Autocad, from the simple sketch of a room to the plan of a project without making a distinction if it is electricity, building or civil engineering. If we master the integration of georeferenced images we can even speak of GIS. I said "if we master" because in autocad we have everything we need to make our project emerge, but we need the appropriate users. It is absolutely...

Cons

Autocad is a tool that adapts to all situations but which requires a continuous investment in self-training. You have to learn good habits and ask the right questions knowing that it always offers the right answers. This requires either hard-working designers or knowledgeable supervision.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Engr Md. ABS k.

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Drawing for AutoCAD or AutoCAD for Drawing- “AutoCAD is software 3D & 2D, I'm so recommended

Reviewed a year ago

AutoCAD is the first modeling software I learnt. it was a bit difficult at first but, i am happy i was patient enough to complete the tutorials because it gave me the solid foundation in 2D sketching which has helped me a lot.

Pros

Ease of use. Allows you to keep the interface the same throughout the years while still adding features. I have been using AutoCAD for over 20 years. It's the only system I would use. AutoCAD is very versatile, and I really like the user's ability to set up their own default environment that can be used for new projects going forward.

Cons

AutoCAD is difficult to learn especially for absolute beginners. also, when working on heavy files, it can be difficult to make changes on the file without the risk of your system lagging or even crashing. the user interface is frustrating but, i hope they review it and make it more interesting for users.

MW
AvatarImg

Marta W.

Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Pros and cons of AutoCAD

Reviewed a year ago

Most design studios are still relying on AutoCAD, and even if other programs (e.g. Revit) are appearing in studios, it does not mean elimination of CAD applications. Even when design offices boast that they model fully in 3D (including BIM), in fact, AutoCAD still plays a supporting role, and in some areas it may be the other way around, and it is AutoCAD that dominates as a proven and fast tool for drawing details. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Pros

The advantages of the program include, first of all, a large number of created tools, thanks to which it is possible to design various, arbitrary elements. Thanks to the extensive library of materials, which is available to the users of the program, it is possible to select such materials and textures, which are characteristic for a particular design department (e.g. architecture and construction)....

Cons

Cons: The program takes up a lot of disk space and is quite expensive.

AM
AvatarImg

Aditya M.

Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

If you can imagine it, AutoCAD can draw it!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using AutoCAD for more than 8 years. I have used it for CAD modeling, drafting, building design and construction detailing. I and my company has always used this program for any construction-related work. We have been using it as step one for creating a base model to be used in the Building Information Modelling process. We use it to develop Revit Model. Use it in Civil 3D for civil design. AutoCAD has always supported our needs.

Pros

The freedom that AutoCAD gives you is one of the most important. If I can imagine any drawing/component/part in my head, then AutoCAD can draw it. There is no more easy explanation for it. AutoCAD is the most versatile and compatible software for any engineering problem. It works with Revit, it works with Bentley Suite, it works with Google package, it works with almost all software. AutoCAD is a basic building blocks for drafting, design and engineering analysis.

Cons

AutoCAD does not provide full Building Information Modelling compatibility. Its content has only Geometric properties. It does not provide full parametric modeling and add a material characteristic to the model. It is simply a program that draws stuff. No intelligent modeling.

AvatarImg

Mirza Č.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AutoCAD is very easy to use!

Reviewed 2 years ago

First time I got introduced to AutoCAD it was in high school, second grade. Since I went to high school which is specialized for training construction workers I have used many software's for drawing and one of them was AutoCAD, which I found very easy to use. I used it for 2 years in that period of life and it was very amusing for me to find something like that to ease my handwriting , drawing and...

Pros

Accuracy and precision with really ease of use, that is exactly what AutoCAD is. With just computer mouse function and a little bit of keyboard usage the things you can draw without holding a pencil and without any need for all that drawing and drafting equipment on your table. Any kind of 2D drawings or 3D modeling drawings you can draw with AutoCAD, which helps you to visualize the objects better...

Cons

Some add-ons might be hard to install, but not necessarily. File transferring sometimes can be a little difficult especially if files sizes are bigger and because of that sometimes you won't be able to load some of the received documents, so you will have to find a fix for that, but still I did not have many problems of that kind or any other. One more information that could be useful is that AutoCad's files only can be opened with its own extension which is DWG ( I don't know is that a problem for some users or not, but there it is, truth is out there).

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mitchell C.

Verified reviewer

Motion Pictures and Film, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Industry Leader with a Legacy

Reviewed 2 years ago

For all its foibles and annoyances Autocad still offers a comprehensive design and drafting solutions for an amazing array of applications. I have had a love/hate with Autocad over the years dealing with its growing pains and Autodesks struggle to meet the many and varied needs of its users. For large scale projects there is still very few products that have the extensibility of Autocad to integrate into modern company quality, workflow and project management systems.

Pros

Autocad was the first CAD program I ever used. To give you an idea of the time period, it was before MS Windows existed and we did not have mice! Thus, using Autocad under DOS was all about command line input and scripts. This aspect of Autocad remains unchanged today. There is a huge array of scripts, tools and add-ons for almost every niche application you could imagine. Autocad is essentially the...

Cons

Autocad suffers from the same issues as does Microsoft Windows. When you have a large long term user base it's hard to innovate without upsetting users who have settled on a certain workflow or script integration. This has left Autocad lagging behind its competition in terms of modelling capability and performance. I find myself using other packages to create 3D models, then exporting the 2D drawings back into Autocad for final drafting and client distribution. Part of the issue is also crossover with products like Inventor and Fusion360. Autocad cannot become too parametrically driven or it will undermine Autodesks other offerings.