This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Amazon RDS Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

This is a great way to use a relational DBMS without managing it , it is a great experience using this service.

Mahesh K.

The security management is really good, we can set all types of security managements like, subnet, security group, VPC, IAM role etc, which will take a lot of effort if gone manually.

MANAS M.

What I like about RDS is the variety of database options from both a hardware and software standpoint. In addition, it's easy to have a database stood up within 10 to 15 minutes.

Christopher S.

Cons

Not much that I can provide as dislike for this server.

Mike I.

Since it's not a self-hosted service, there are some low level features that are missing.

Anonymous Reviewer

It's very hard to get started. UI is extremely bloated and near impossible to navigate if you don't know what you're looking for.

Miko G.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

124

37

2

0

0

99%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


163 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating

Amazon RDS User Review

Reviewed 3 months ago

Transcript

Justin: Hi, I'm Justin, DevOps engineer, and I give AWS RDS five out of five stars. For more reviews...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cost Effective and Fully Cloud Managed Relational Database Service

Reviewed a year ago

Had A Really Great Experience with RDS, I have been evaluating Aurora with Native RDS so i will be talking more about Aurora in this Review

Pros

RDS provides support for verity of database systems like mysql, postgreSql, Maria DB, Oracle, Microsoft Sql and a hybrid Aurora (supports both mysql & psql) Resizing, network management processes like subnet and security group are easily manageable. Using Aurora it has become easy to transfer data from DB to S3 using "INTO OUTFILE S3" query Aurora is really faster when it comes to executing heavy...

Cons

Can't change subnet of a multi AZ RDS Database directly, to achieve this i had to first change my DB to single AZ Aurora Server less dose not scale up when used with low CPU utilising application, user should have given the flexibility to change the autoscaling parameter for Aurora server less (CPU utilisation 70%) Aurora the use of "INTO OUTFILE S3" query requires some additional setup steps at...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Amazing relational database which is easy to setup and use provided you have the technical know how

Reviewed 2 years ago

AWS RDS can be linked with Victorops/splunk/slack and what not to constantly monitor the state of the database and set up alerts for catching problems. It can automatically save regular copies of the database.

Pros

ease of setup ease of taking snapshots no configurational drainers very easy to set up alerts for monitoring problems in the database debugging is a breeze.

Cons

It is easy to get lost without an UI. also replicating databases can get stuck sometimes if you don't know what you are doing. replication can be pain depending upon whether you want (master-master) or (master-slaves)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazon RDS

Reviewed 2 months ago

We have created MySQL instance in RDS and have been using it for 2 years via My SQL, and it had been a smooth and amazing experience in terms of data backup and the service provided by RDS.

Pros

Amazon RDS allows creating DB instances in a very few clicks with full customization like engine type, size of class required, connectivity, availability, and durability. Also, all monitoring, eventing, and logs are very handy and displayed on the pictorial representation dashboard.

Cons

Honestly, Amazon RDS fulfills all the use cases for me and I haven't spotted any disadvantage in it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Will cost you all yourmoney.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Easy to setup. Very expensive. Play great with other AWS services. The main issue is that metrics collected manually will never meet AWS metrics which are used to bill your stack. And of course AWS point of view will be much costly. Their Enterprise Support can not understand why metrics extracted from DB itself do not meet billing metrics and will endlessly redirect you to yet another expert.

Pros

Requires minimum knowledge or time to set up the database. Everything you need is basically there. Documentation is fantastic. It just works and takes all the burden of infrastructure management from you. A handful of engines, version, and extensions to them are supprted. Integrated seamless to AWS infrastructure.

Cons

Price. It will literally eat 7/8 of your infrastructure budget. Metrics lies. Performance insight simply does not work. Note, this is an opinion of somebody who paid for AWS Enterprise support (sigh, that's me) Backups are not backups per se, this is filesystem rsync. So it is easy to end up with broken DB. Support is very poor.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

RDS is a fully managed relational database system, with different type of DBMS support

Reviewed 3 months ago

This is a great way to use a relational DBMS without managing it , it is a great experience using this service

Pros

RDS support different DBMS's like mysql, postgres, and also a hybrid Aurora, Taking snapshot and creating a new DB with the snapshots are easy, can also schedule snapshot taking, We can set all the network settings to the datable , like VPC, subnet, security groups etc.. to keep the DB secure, Using Aurora we can also setup a dynamically scaling up DB, which runs on server-less system methodology

Cons

I don't have any problems in traditional DBMS's , but have seen some issues with hybrid Aurora, In Aurora, setting up the Copy to S3 future require some additional effort, And auto scaling in aurora should have been configurable, since the default scaling policy is 90% of CPU usage, the system is not responsive for scale down, it never scale down to 0

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

AWS RDS Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

My company need a simple and fast scalable solution for managing MySQL databases therefore we chose RDS. Prior to RDS we were managing DB clusters installed on VMs on Hyper Visors, and it was a cumbersome job. Though switching to RDS does make our life easy but RDS is not a cheap solution though.

Pros

Easily Scalable as per need. AWS manage you infrastructure completely. Fast Disaster recovery if planned the architecture correctly. Multi AZ deployment and Read replica supported. Supported various DB services like MySQL, Oracle, SQL Server and Postgres. Backup procedure is very easy.

Cons

Cost on higher side. Lack of control on your DB instance, though it's good but at times you need some tweaking todo.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Database Management as a Service is well implemented, which is reliable, secure and efficient

Reviewed 10 months ago

RDS is a really good service, I haven't seen any Downtime, the communication between EC2 and RDS is really fast since they are in the same AWS network

Pros

This really reduces the operational time taken to set up a database on a cloud machine, the cost of setting up and managing is really cheep when compared to the native approach of installing mysql or psql on a EC2 and managing it, it exposes us to a verity of options and versions which we wouldn't have been aware of , and setting them up in just clicks without even spending much time in researching...

Cons

I know AWS is in a process of developing new hybrid databases like Aurora, i have noticed some trivial issues in it, its slower then RDS for executing stand alone queries , but its faster than RDS while executing Bulk Queries, there may be a way to SSH into the RDS machine or accessing its DB terminal , it would be better it i can do it on the UI, instead of remembering all the commands to connect

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The easiest database server

Reviewed 6 months ago

RDS is without doubts a complex, hard to master system, but the basics are easy enough to kick off a project in very short time. In the long run you get a best in class reliability and performances without comparison.

Pros

Setting up a PostgreSQL server can be a daunting task and keeping it secure and protected is even more challenging. A managed database solution solves all this problems and many more. RDS in particular is quite easy to set up (at least in the basics) and it is very fast and reliable.

Cons

On the other hand there are a lot (I mean, a LOT) of options and settings, so the service is by no mean intended for causal users. A serious preliminary study of platform's usage is strongly advised.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Enterprise database without the hardware

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall my experience with RDS has been a good one. It's great for a small business looking to scale in the future.

Pros

What I like about RDS is the variety of database options from both a hardware and software standpoint. In addition, it's easy to have a database stood up within 10 to 15 minutes.

Cons

The fact that the database will start from a stopped state after 7 days is particularly annoying. This could be remedied by using lambda to shut it down, but that's added work. A simple email reminding you that the database is still stopped would suffice. Even if the reasoning is to run updates, would it not make sense to start, update, and then shut it back down if it was down previously?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Fair Pricing but worrisome policies

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall the process of setup was fair and reasonable and my fears are likely overblown.

Pros

I liked the pricing and the support was adequate, if not directly then indirectly on forms and the like.

Cons

I worry about policy makers who are willing to police what information can be shown on a hosted site and what they may disagree with in the future.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best managed relational database service in the market!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Choosing RDS was the best strategic decision we made. We saved a lot of time to focus on our company's growth instead of dealing with operations.

Pros

We have been using AWS RDS with MySQL since 2015. It is the best option we encountered in the market to set up, operate and scale a relational database in the cloud. Management Console is really easy to use. You can create, restore and scale any size of database in a matter of minutes. You should however be familiar with the technical term AWS uses. Be careful when you choose between General Purpose and Provisioned IOPS types. Multi-AZ feature is a life saver if you have a database that cannot tolerate any downtime. Point in time recovery saved us a lot. Also RDS takes automatic backups regularly. You should also try Amazon Aurora which is an engine compatible with MySQL and PostgreSQL. AWS built Aurora for itself and the underlying technology is mind blowing.

Cons

You should be careful with the price of Amazon RDS and keep an eye on CloudWatch and Trusted Advisor. It gets expensive depending on usage but still it is worth not to struggle with operational problems.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Setting up a "serversless" database environment inminutes

Reviewed 2 years ago

Since we start using RDS it saves us a lot of time. You can start with a small instance and very easily grow to a larger instance and a multi AZ (High available) setup. No need to worry about disk space anymore for backups or snapshots. Amazon doesn't run out of space. You can setup automated backup with a retention of 35 days max but if you need to keep backups longer you can create manual snapshots and keep them forever.

Pros

- Very easy to setup - Creating database environments including HA in minutes - Creating a HA environment without having to know anything about database replication - Upgrading the DB engine with a click of a mouse - Very ease to create backups (and setup automated snapshots) - Easy to restore - Can be managed via the weg GUI but also via the very powerful AWS CLI - No need to manage an Operating system - Changing instanced types if you need more or less CPU/memory. - Dynamically change the storage - Performance is very good

Cons

- On Aurora the disk spaces grows automatically when the database grows. But when deleting lots of data its not possible to shrink the file system. - No root access to server (which we never missed since using RDS)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Manage database services solution for AWS Cloud

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use RDS with PostgreSQL and MySQL as our backend database for our Application hosted in AWS, they are located in a private VPC and only allow access from our backend subnet.

Pros

RDS allows us easy to create and manage a relational database for our Application hosted in AWS. It supports many different instance type, engine and scale option to select. RDS works well with VPC to keep our database private and only allow to access from specify sources. It has a lot of monitor metrics such as CPU utilization, free storage, freeable memory and read/write latency and well notification system to keep track of our database. Excellent backup, snapshot and restore support by AWS

Cons

Manage RDS's parameter is quite complex since it does not have good UI support. It lacks support tool to run SQL command directly from AWS console

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Database provisioning without maintenance efforts

Reviewed 2 years ago

Personally I am very satisfied by this solution as it makes Database hosting totally painless. Also, Read-Replica and Multi-AZ features, makes it very hard to have a downtime on your side. If you're searching for an HA solution for your Database, consider Amazon RDS.

Pros

Amazon RDS is a very good product if you need a Database solution in your software architecture. Scaling and ensure performance without bottlenecks is definitely a plus value that Amazon RDS offers. Easier to integrate across other AWS products, but also on standalone software through DNS names and port, you can easily spawn a Database in a couple of clicks. Amazon RDS offers also Read-Replicas and Multi-AZ totally transparent to you, which makes it kind of unique in database hosting.

Cons

Price: everybody is well aware of how much AWS costs in the long run. Amazon RDS solution makes no difference, but if you are well aware of the costs, then this shouldn't stop you from trying and using it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazon RDS - The Relational Database Service

Reviewed 2 years ago

Amazon Relational Database allows us to encrypt your data using the Amazon Web Key Management. We manage our databases on Amazon Virtual Private which isolate the service and keep running without trouble. Monitoring of AWS RDS with Amazon CloudWatch is easy and describes details in metrics with no extra cost. Amazon Aurora is one of the cost efficient RDS.

Pros

Amazon Relational Database Service is one of the best product of AWS. The best thing in it is easy to deploy,patch,backup,security and administrate . The distributed architecture provide render the high scalability feature in it. The hardware upgrade is also easy and less time consuming with AWS as it comes with the embed features of it. After switching to the AWS RDS there is a less administration activities needed on managing the databases. Best feature in it is, if you are new to the RDS it also provides the best practices and recommendations. Managing the database snapshot with the help of Amazon S3 is also very convenient.

Cons

Amazon Relational Databases management is easy but it's little tricky also as if you mess up the security group setting to vast, it's not an easy task to solve the puzzle. Best practices is to keep the security group setting simple and as per recommendation by AWS.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Always up, 0 headache database option

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's been a great experience so far. It also helps us manage a lot of our compliance risk living in a fully compliant datacenter.

Pros

We use Aurora, which gives us a lot of flexibility in scale and size. Not having to manage clusters or database consistency across a number of different machines is amazing.

Cons

RDS, and aurora, generally lags behind the current state of postgres, which comes with the territory.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Amazon RDS - Keeping it simple & easy

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall very satisfied. It worked for our use case.

Pros

Easy to setup and running. All cloudwatch metrics made available like other AWS services. Ability to take snapshots, scale up horizontally and vertically across environments and depending upon load. We were able to automate our build and deployments using terraform scripts. Automated Backups are stored in S3 so you can retrieve backups when needed. Pay as you go like traditional EC2 metered cost model. You can predict your montly/yearly estimates before hand. It just works! Supports a wide range of DB's - PostgreSQL, MySQL, MSSQL, etc.

Cons

Security setup may take time as its controlled by security groups. So it takes time to troubleshoot if you are not able to connect from local or any other remote instance. Pricing may start to increase when you upgrade your instance types and add replication nodes etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazon RDS is cheapest database service i have used so far

Reviewed 3 years ago

The benefit we got from using RDS is that we have full control of the RDS instance. Unlike heroku RDS allows me to create any number of databases i want plus it provides 20 GB of PostgresSQL instance in its free tier

Pros

Amazon RDS provides arelational database instance that you can use to create any number to databases. All data are stored in SSD that provides faster read and write compared to conventional magnetic disk. Data can be secured by applying a security group such that the database can get request from within AWS (EC2 servers). RDS provides variety of databases each with their free tier.

Cons

Prices to enable multi availability zones for an instance is just double to their singe availability zone. It is too costly. For beginner the set up of RDS is quite confusing. Sometimes It doesn't display the estimated price of while setting up resources of an instance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great managed database solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

Managing database servers is an expensive time sink. RDS lets you focus more on the business needs instead of managing servers.

Pros

It makes your life way easier by not having to manage a database server. Amazon RDS abstracts all the server stuff away so you just focus on managing the actual database content itself.

Cons

The UI is a bit clunky and some of the parameterization options are a bit difficult to use. There used to be a couple of bugs as well but they were fixed thankfully. With the lack of control over the server it can be a bit annoying if something is broken and you can't fix it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Relational Database Service in the market til now

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall its the best thing we did to choose AWS RDS, we are happy with the service amazon provides & we can focus on other issue leaving our database in amazon's strong hands.

Pros

He been using AWS RDS for like 4 years now, & its the best Database management tool we ever tried. Here its super easy to operate & scale your database. The console is easy to understand & somehow intuitive if you been working with databases in past. Multi-AZ feature gives you power if you cannot afford any downtime. RDS takes backup automatically so no worries of loosing any data.

Cons

Only dark side of AWS RDS is its pricing, do have a watch on what they billing you. Keep track of your usage on CloudWatch and Trusted Adviser. It may get expensive not not affordable if you use it without sincere approach.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Database option for the cloud if you want fine-grained instance management

Reviewed a year ago

Overall Amazon RDS has been a very good solution in our switch to the cloud. Other options have come out that may be better for most people, such as Amazon Aurora, but it's great for fine-grained control over instances.

Pros

Amazon RDS has worked really well for us for our cloud DB solution. It's pretty intuitive and easy to use, and you can choose exactly what instances sizes, storage sizes, etc. you want.

Cons

Amazon RDS has a strange method for determining how many IOPS you get (Input/Output Operations per Second): it's based mostly on your db storage size. So if you have a smaller database that is hit a lot, you can get throttled with the IOPS. But if you have a large database that isn't hit as often, you end up having a lot of unused IOPS.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Super simple managed database solution

Reviewed 3 years ago

Quick and repeatable deployments, wide range of DB flavors, fully managed and supported by AWS.

Pros

AWS provides a fully managed database solution covering a number of DB technologies, so most deployments can utilize this product. MySQL, Postgres, MSSQL, Oracle, MariaDB, are all there, as well as AWS's own Aurora high performance DB. Automated backups, with 5 minute point in time recovery is provided out of the box at no additional cost, as is software patching. If you require high availability spanning multiple data centers, it's there too.

Cons

If there is a downside to AWS RDS, it would be that it does not cover every use case. In the MSSQL world, you cannot use SSRS or SSIS on RDS, so would need to look at MSSQL on EC2 instead .

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Go-to solution for database hosting on AWS

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We're using Amazon RDS PostgreSQL. Our database use case is pretty trivial, so we're entirely satisfied with RDS experience. Database is fast and efficient, very easy to scale by changing instance types, adding more disk I/O, or spinning up read replicas. Backups do not have significant performance penalty. With some careful planning it is very easy to migrate between different software versions. Reserved instances make it a very compelling offering.

Cons

It gets expensive, but if you consider the fact that you don't need to deal with many daily operational issue, it's well worth the price. You can only add storage capacity (no storage downsizing possible without a complex migration process).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best "cloud" rDB implementation so far

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've been using AWS since 2015 and to be fair, it has only improved all this time. Being RDS one of the most commonly used services, I have plenty of experience with it (including the support team behind it) and I only have good things to say about it.

Pros

- Fully managed database - Access to all the configuration options you would usually do when tweaking the configuration file(s) - Top notch support - High-availability is just a few mouse clicks away - Incredible easy to setup master/slave scenarios - Great backup (snapshot) service - Great performance with basic monitoring included - You get the database engine you already know without the hassle to have to set it up by yourself

Cons

- Price? AWS is still expensive - Nothing else I can think of

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Watch out for billing surprises

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Amazon has worked hard to democratises databases, it's easy to set up a variety of different type of databases: SQL, Oracle, MySQL etc and perform things that typically have been a little more complicated with just a few clicks for example snapshots and database mirrors for you analytical platform. Choose the region in which you're seeking to operate with just a few clicks, and it's pretty easy to kick off auto-scaling etc.

Cons

You need to be careful with billing surprises, make sure that you're familiar with Cloudwatch before you start playing with RDS. Keep an eye on how much it's costing you. Amazon may be elastic, but your budget probably lacks the same amount of elasticity.