App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Layer2 Cloud Connector  Logo

Data integration and synchronization solution

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Layer2 Cloud Connector Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

48

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.46/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

edi-hq
tableau-software
onehub

Pros and cons

Have had no reason to engage with the support team until the upgrade, and the support has been same day and great, much appreciated.
Great product to work with: fast, reliable and great support.
I like how you can easily sync data from a SharePoint list or document library to a SQL database. It’s also great how it splits out lookup columns into their ids and values.
For this purpose no specific functionality missing.
Enterprise version is very expensive in comparison with annual fee, and without that FTP is limited to 25 transfers per sessions.
No the Connector runs every 2 hours. I have set up bi-directional syncs also as simple one-side-to-another.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


48 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Roy B.

Mining & Metals, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use for transferring data between Systems

Reviewed 2 years ago

Layer2 is easy to use and high flexible to transfer data between different sources.

Pros

It was easy to implement the layer2 connector. and to setup data connections and exchange data between systems.

Cons

The Layer2 could connector didn't measure our expectations for data migration for Lotus Notes platform.

Vendor response

Hello Roy B., thank you very much for your feedback - it would help us if you tell us more about your expectations for Lotus Notes. Nevertheless we are happpy Layer2 Cloud Connector helps you to transfer data between different sources. Greetings from your Layer 2 team

AW
AvatarImg

Andy W.

Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Robust Product that meets our data sync needs

Reviewed a year ago

It's been great overall, we can get data we thought we previously could not as it was stored in a different database. Have had no reason to engage with the support team until the upgrade, and the support has been same day and great, much appreciated.

Pros

The ability to schedule syncs, to have multiple syncs. We use it to bring SQL data into SharePoint online which we loved as there was no other way to achieve what we needed. With Layer2, we can schedule syncs to take place overnight without interrupting business activity. We can then do an afternoon sync and switch data sources in our in-house apps so we have 24/7 data availability. Integration with SharePoint is great!

Cons

Found on occasion the job would fail due to throttling (429s). Have just upgraded from v8 to 10 and hopeful that some tweaks have been made. Ran one job already and no errors. This was annoying as it had to be communicated to relevant users within the business whilst the job re-ran taking around 2 hours to complete.

Vendor response

Dear Andy W., thank you very much for the good review and we hope that everything is running smoothly again since the update. We are pleased that the support is so appreciated and that we were able to help. Best regards from your Layer 2 team

MW
AvatarImg

Michael W.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

L2CC for sharepoint

Reviewed 2 years ago

syncs randomly fail. JSON script error... or other. then sync fine next. no indication as to the cause.

Pros

quick and easy setup to get local files synced with sharepoint site

Cons

program sometime just does not respond. High memory usage!!!

Vendor response

Hello Michael W., our support team will be happy to help you if you need assistance or if something does not work. Usually the cause can be found and the problem can be solved. Thank you for your review. Many greetings from your Layer 2 team

DC
AvatarImg

David C.

Business Supplies and Equipment, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Developing SharePoint Smart Solutions

Reviewed 3 years ago

We develop "smart solutions" in SharePoint online to meet a variety of business needs. This could include submitting purchase requisitions or requests for a new hire with the use of SharePoint forms and workflows to handle approvals, notifications and processing. The forms include lookup fields from data we maintain in other SharePoint lists. These lists needed to be manually maintained by the process owners since we had no way to sync the data from our business systems. With Layer2, we can now automate the sync of data from our business systems to the SharePoint lists. This frees the process owners from having to manually maintain them. This also ensures that the data is up-to-date and accurate since it now comes from the systems of record.

Pros

Layer2 has connectors to a large variety data sources, which makes it easy to extract data from line-of-business systems for import into SharePoint. We use the SQL database connection the most, and being able to write custom queries to pull the data for import into SharePoint lists allows us to use the same database table for multiple SharePoint sync jobs. If columns in the database do not match the names of the columns in SharePoint, Layer2 allows you to customize the mapping. Finally, the sync process is very fast, and I like that it only updates records when there are changes.

Cons

It was a little difficult to initially get the connections set up because of the security settings we have in place. We are using the Layer2 software on a virtual computer with SharePoint online with access to our databases and the VMs with a service account. It was a little tricky to get all the permissions set up correctly, but once we figured it out everything worked very smoothly. We probably should have contacted Layer2 support for guidance, but we wanted to figure it out on our own so that we are more likely to remember how it works.

Vendor response

Dear David C., we are glad that Layer2 Cloud Connector is helping you. If you have any questions, we're happy when you reach out to our support - but of course we understand if you want to figure something out on your own. Best wishes your Layer 2 team

PK
AvatarImg

Pelle K.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Best support ever!

Reviewed 9 months ago

We needed a product that copied files from SharePoint online to a local drive, for processing the files to a server based software program. Layer2 Cloud Connector worked perfectly and was easy to set up for this purpose.When contacting support, the response was Quick and the answers given have always solved our issues.

Pros

The Cloud Connector works quick and is easy to set up. The support response is awesome!

Cons

For our purpose, we haven't found any issues. A licence had to be renewed after a software upgrade, but we assume this as a natural prosedyre in the life cycle prosess of software products.

Vendor response

Dear Pelle K, you are right. From time to time the software needs to be updated because of changes and improvements. :) Thank you for your understanding. And many thanks for the compliment to our support. Your satisfaction is very important to us. Kind regards from your Layer 2 team

PH
AvatarImg

Pilvilampi H.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Layer2 Cloud Connector

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The Layer2 Cloud Connector ensured that the integration between our ERP and SharePoint was smooth. The support team at Layer2 deserves a special mention. Whenever we had questions or faced minor hiccups, their team was right there, ensuring we had the answers and solutions we needed.

Cons

The current UI gets the job done, but there's potential for a more modern, intuitive, and visually appealing interface. A more refined UI could make the process even smoother.

Vendor response

Hi Pilvilampi H., many thanks for your review. Great that our tool and our support are helpful for you. Offering good support is very important to us. :) We are happy to continue working on improving our tool and for this reason your comment about the UI is also very relevant for us. Greetings from your Layer 2 team

EM
AvatarImg

Eoin M.

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Review of Layer2

Reviewed 6 months ago

OK but as a new server live we couldn't transfer the original license from the decommissioned server

Pros

Works in background, allows clients connect and review their data we host

Cons

Original license non transferable when server upgraded

Vendor response

Dear Eoin M, thank you very much for your review. We are happy when Layer2 Cloud Connector helps you and your clients. Regarding your comment about moving the license: when moving the license to a new server, a new license file is required. Because the file contains the server name, the file must be changed. We will continue to improve and optimize such topics. Best wishes from your Layer 2 team

RP
AvatarImg

Ranjith P.

Maritime, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fantastic product suites your pocket

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall its good, But lot to improve in terms of stability and memory management.

Pros

Ease of use and price was ok compared with other products

Cons

It was stable a year back and latest versions started giving errors in terms of data types of special characters in the data. application is crashing once after your connections increases

Vendor response

Hello Ranjith P., thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you like our support team and our tool so much. There is a potential for improvement and we are happy to work on it. Many greetings from your Layer 2 team

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Data Extraction tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have solved the issue of not being able to directly query our SharePoint data by being able to extract it into another database. This also allows us to read data from this extracted database using code quicker than when reading directly from a SharePoint list

Pros

I like how you can easily sync data from a SharePoint list or document library to a SQL database. It’s also great how it splits out lookup columns into their ids and values.

Cons

Syncing data from SharePoint can be slow, especially for document libraries and large lists and libraries.

Vendor response

Thank you very much for the nice feedback. For larger amounts of data, it may actually take a little longer. But we are glad that your problem can be solved with Layer2 Cloud Connector. Many greetings from your Layer 2 team

GS
AvatarImg

Guy S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

L2 usage

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It’s stable and doesn’t involve too many releases

Cons

Debugging issue remains a challenge and understanding the functionality is not always intuitive.

Vendor response

Hello Guy S., thank you for your review and your comments. We will continue to improve and automate our tool. :) Many greetings from your Layer 2 team

MD
AvatarImg

Mario D.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Gute Alternative für die Cloud

Reviewed a year ago

Gute Grundlage um die Kollegen / Kolleginnen mit Daten im Homeoffice zu versorgen

Pros

Eine gute Alternative, wenn es nicht gewünscht oder möglich ist, den kompletten Datenbestand der Firma in der Cloud vorzuhalten.

Cons

Ein transparenteres Management bei Synchronisationsfehlern wäre wünschenswert. Wenn von den Usern mehrere Dateien gleichzeitig geändert werden, an beiden Seiten, gerät das System an seine Grenzen. Leider kein Telefonsupport.

Showing original review in German. See translation

Vendor response

Hello Mario D., thank you for the review. We are pleased that Layer2 Cloud Connector improves your everyday work. A constant improvement of the tool is very important for us. If you need support beyond the included email support, you can find it here: https://www.layer2solutions.com/support Greetings from your Layer 2 team

JM
AvatarImg

Justin M.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Product - Easy to use and rock solid

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I have some processes that sync 100K+ rows. Prior to this we had to utilize SSIS to do these syncs which was cumbersome to create and the performance was terrible. What used to take 1 hour to complete in SSIS takes less than 10 in Layer2.

Cons

Parameterization of the data selections (at the destination) would greatly improve this product. Example, when sending data to a SharePoint list, I have to create (and maintain) a separate configuration for each folder that I want to send data to. If we could parametrize the select statement in the destination based on the source I could populate the folder in the source and have 20+ connections consolidated into one. Also, the ability to launch a job remotely (via a webhook or some other method) would be fantastic. If there was some way to trigger the jobs other than the schedule, this could be a game changer of a product.

Vendor response

Hello Justin M., thank you very much for your ideas to improve the software and also for the feedback. Great that we can save you time. Many greetings from your Layer 2 team

RR
AvatarImg

Reto R.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Der Support ist awesome

Reviewed 3 years ago

Das Produkt, die Firma und vorallem der Support sind einsame Spitze. Hatte schon lange nicht mehr solch einen guten Support bei anderen Produkten. Macht weiter so.

Pros

Die vielen Sync und Einstellungsmöglichkeiten. Obwohl es so vielfältig ist, ist die Einrichtung von neuen Verbindungen ein Klacks, auch die Dokumentation im Internet dazu ist sehr gut.

Cons

Keine, kann aber auch nicht gross welche nennen, da wir zuvor noch niche mit einem anderen Sync Tool oder ähnlichem gearbeitet haben. Abgesehen von selbst geschriebenen Scripts. :)

Showing original review in German. See translation

Vendor response

Dear Reto R., thank you very much for the great praise to our support. We are very concerned about good support and happy when you are satisfied with it. Kind regards from your Layer 2 team

CS
AvatarImg

Chris S.

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Layer 2

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Layer 2 makes it very easy to keep data in sync between multiple sources. Our primary use for this product is syncing data between SharePoint and SQL and it does this flawlessly. The product is very reasonably priced and support is quick to respond if you need help. We have used this for about 4 years now and it is one of the few product we have that you can set and forget.

Cons

I think the only improvements would be an improved interface that offers help right in the window you need. I don't end up in this application very often though so this is a pretty small con.

Vendor response

Dear Chris S., great that Layer2 Cloud Connector simplifies your everyday work. We'll keep your comment about the interface in mind, because we want to improve the tool constantly. Thank you very much for your review. Greetings from your Layer 2 team

KS
AvatarImg

Keith S.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cloud Connector meets our needs!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Was very easy. I downloaded the trial and within 15 minutes was syncing data between SharePoint online and local data sources. I found it to be very intuitive and easy to use.

Pros

When we moved to SharePoint Online, we needed the ability to "sync" data between multiple sources/targets. Working with 3rd party consultants, they wanted to custom develop ways to do this. We had previously used your BDLC with SharePoint on-prem, so I looked and that's when I found Cloud Connector and it did exactly what we needed it to.

Cons

For what we need, I honestly do not have a 'CON' to list.

Vendor response

Dear Keith S., amazing that Layer2 Cloud Connector helps you with data synchronization. We are happy our software is intuitive to use. Best wishes from your Layer 2 team

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Super Software mit allen gewünschten Connectors und top Support

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

- Unzählige Connectors - Tolle Anpassbarfähigkeit durch Custom Columns und Select Statements - Vorlagen - Top Support für sehr spezifische Fragen

Cons

- Logs sind manchmal etwas kryptisch, falls etwas aber unklar ist, ist der Support sehr hilfreich

Showing original review in German. See translation

Vendor response

Thank you for the great review. We note your comments on the logs for our improvements to Layer2 Cloud Connector. Our Support is very happy about your kind words - thank you very much. Kind regards from your Layer 2 team

Vv
AvatarImg

Vera v.

Mental Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

layer2 review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Layer2 helps us to sync SharePoint data to external websites. We also use it to import data from databases in to Sharepoint. This all works great.

Pros

Product is easy to use. We use it to connect SharePoint to external databases. The product makes sense.

Cons

In case of errors, it's sometimes difficult to figure out what exactly goes wrong. Also, one connection became kind of corrupt: we couldn't remove the corrupt field and still haven't figured out why the field was giving trouble.

Vendor response

Hello Vera V., great to read your nice feedback. :) Thank you very much. Thanks also for the hint with the errors. We will include it in improvements of our tool. Kind regards from your Layer 2 team

SM
AvatarImg

Simon M.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great way of passing data between a whole variety of services

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Good selection of connectors to choose from. I've used Sharepoint, file system and FTP in particular. Decent documentation and easy to setup

Cons

Enterprise version is very expensive in comparison with annual fee, and without that FTP is limited to 25 transfers per sessions. Also it saves the passwords unencrypted in the XML config files on the hard disk

Vendor response

Hi Simon M., thank you very much for your review. We are happy about your great experience with Layer2 Cloud Connector. We changed our licensing model and now you can choose between three annual subscriptions. Best wishes from your Layer 2 team

DS
AvatarImg

Dennis S.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Layer2 data synch

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was able to use a combination of onedrive sync and layer2 cloud connector to more quickly and accurately sync data from onedrive/sharepoint to a target server then sync that server with a local file server for a cloud/local repository implementation with fewer error and conflicts than onedrive sync tool

Pros

Easy set up, clear logging. Integrates with MANY applications, I am using for onedrive/sharepoint specifically as well as server to server synchronization

Cons

Nothing really bad, just took multiple steps to enable and turn on scheduling for continuous synch

Vendor response

Dear Dennis S., great to hear that Layer2 Cloud Connector is easy to use and provides you with a good solution. Thank you very much for your review. Best wishes from your Layer 2 team

DM
AvatarImg

Daniel M.

Food Production, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ein gelungenes Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Wir synchronisieren Daten aus einer SQL-Datenbank nach SharePoint Online.

Pros

Das Produkt macht was es soll und das ziemlich stabil und fehlerlos.

Cons

Die Benutzeroberfläche, bzw. die einzelnen Optionen sind manchmal etwas unglücklich korrekt zu verstehen

Showing original review in German. See translation

Vendor response

Hi Daniel M., thank you very much for your review - we are happy that Layer2 Cloud Connector helps you. :) Best wishes from your Layer 2 team

SA
AvatarImg

Simpson A.

Oil & Energy, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed a year ago

Good product which needs few improvements.

Pros

Easy to transfer files. Easy to transfer files. Easy to transfer files.

Cons

Error alerts cannot be customized. All errors have the same alert which does not give us any idea what has failed.

Vendor response

Hello Simpson A., thank you very much for your comments and the great review. We are continuing to improve Layer2 Cloud Connector. :) Best wishes from your Layer 2 team

SP
AvatarImg

Samuel P.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

NoCode Tool zum Verbinden von unterschiedlichen Systemen

Reviewed 2 years ago

Stammdaten können zwischen Systemen einfach ausgetauscht werden. Die Konfiguration kann auch vom Fachbereich durchgeführt werden.

Pros

Die Konfiguration kann einfach zwischen Systemen portiert werden. Die Verbindung kann gleich in der Konfigurationsmaske getestet werden.

Cons

Schalter funktionieren nicht, wie sie in der Dokumentation beschrieben sind.

Showing original review in German. See translation

Vendor response

Dear Samuel P., it's regrettable that we received only 2 of 5 stars. We hope that with our improvements to Layer2 Cloud Connector we will be able to help you even more. We always try to keep the docus up to date - when something changes on the system side, we are happy to update them directly. If we were a little late with our update of the system documentations you are using, we are very sorry. In case you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact our support. Many greetings from your Layer 2 team

MG
AvatarImg

Matt G.

Environmental Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for integration

Reviewed 2 years ago

we use it to move data in and out of B2B teams we have with our customers and suppliers.

Pros

being able to move data in and out of office 365 and being able to integrate with many platforms

Cons

not sure if this is fair to say, but id like to be able to do automation, some sort of workflow/orchestration would be great, but I like that you can integrate with jira and flow, so maybe that's the more sensible option

Vendor response

Hello Matt G., great that Layer2 Cloud Connector improves your collaboration. We are always happy to hear about the use case of our software - thanks for the information and positive feedback. :) Kind regards from your Layer 2 team

JE
AvatarImg

Joachim E.

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Das Perfekte Tool für O365 und Unternehmenplattform

Reviewed 3 years ago

Das Perfekte Tool für mich

Pros

Ganz Einfach Daten von Microsoft Online zu mir in Unternehmen und wieder zurück zu bringen.

Cons

Hab zu wenig Zeit mich noch mehr mit der Software auseinander zu setzen :)

Showing original review in German. See translation

Vendor response

Dear Joachim E., thank you very much for your review. Great that Layer2 Cloud Connector can help you. Kind regards from your Layer 2 team

GH
AvatarImg

Garyth H.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

CloudConnector for 365

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our aim was to provide an interim solution to synchronise Active Directory File Share to a specific (external) user via their OneDrive account so that production labels could be reliably printed at multiple sites across the country. Once we got our heads around the authentication, it was an easy process to complete.

Pros

Our aim was to provide an interim solution to synchronise Active Directory File Share to a specific (external) user via their OneDrive account so that production labels could be reliably printed at multiple sites across the country. Once we got our heads around the authentication, it was an easy process to complete.

Cons

We struggled with the URL to OneDrive and the authentication, so maybe some better example especially about copying and pasting OneDrive/Sharepoint URLs from 365 would help others?

Vendor response

Hi Garyth H., thank you very much for your review and especially your idea to show more examples. It's wonderful that Layer2 Cloud Connector and our videos help you. Kind regards from your Layer 2 team