App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Firebase Logo

Firebase

Mobile and web application development platform

see alternatives

(0)

Firebase Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.6

/5

628
97%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.77/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Super easy to deploy to the server (much better than AWS in this). Great, easy to use UI and advanced features.
I love how easy to use Google Firebase is. My business managed to setup our application to production within a month thanks for the super detailed documentation.
The software integrates seamlessly with other Google products, and the help desk helps you with all your questions.
There could be more mandatory access restrictions, by default open access to data is a bad idea and probably many users leave it that way, which reduces data security.
The execution is deplorable. They make it so confusing and awkward to setup, so much back and forth.
The main disadvantage is the search facility , which needs to be addressed. As the entire database is a json file its is difficult to search particular object.

Firebase users...

Microsoft SQL Server-logocaret
avatar
avatar
listing-logo

Microsoft SQL Server

Google Analytics 360-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Google Analytics 360

Microsoft Azure-logocaret
avatar
avatar
listing-logo

Microsoft Azure

Backendless-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Backendless

How would you rate Firebase?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


628 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

James B.

Digital Marketing Executive

Religious Institutions, 501-1,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

App analytics like never seen before

Reviewed 5 months ago

Transcript

James B.: My name is James. I'm a Digital Marketing Executive. Today we're talking about Firebase, which...

Overall Rating

Great Host!

Reviewed 5 months ago

Transcript

Cory: Hi, I'm Cory. I am a customer service associate. I give Firebase five out of five stars, but for...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing cloud service

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

What I like about this application is its great useful to store my files and project in the cloud, it is a great herranian to solve problems that finds while developing a project, since I always have everything I need to create what I had in mind , whenever I find an error I solve them easily using Firebase's help, it is very easy to find help in this application and the wide variety of free tools is a great help for when you are starting to use this type of applyions.

Cons

I have not had inconveniences used this application so far is very useful

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Amazing To Start With

Reviewed 11 days ago

Firebase has been a part of our routine for more than 2 years now and It is the best go to product for the prototyping and quick development as it provides complete suit from Hosting to Database

Pros

Google makes it really intuitive and easy to work with and do complex tasks such as creating a database, setting up storage, using machine learning algorithms etc, with Firebase. For an early stage product, the pricing is also quite affordable.

Cons

The list is not too long but lets start with Rigidity as the systems sometimes compels the user to do a given task in a certain way only and that way may not be the easiest. For example, the deployments are handled with Firebase CLI but sometimes it does not work as expected. Price can also be considered as a con as when the product grows on a large scale, it becomes difficult to keep up with the given packages of Firebase

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Good for Hobbyists - Product in infancy

Reviewed 3 years ago

This was good because the client then didn't want to pay for an SDK tracking. However in terms of usability and scaling for larger, business campaigns, this is not recommended. If you're a hobbyist delving into apps and SDKs for fun, this is a great platform.

Pros

It's free and a good introduction to SDK, environments and requirements. It also is great if you're on the google stack, as it easily imports into other ad buying platforms like google ads, which is great. Has some integrations with networks, which also is great since it's also free for use

Cons

Highly limited support - don't expect to get any. If you're on the free plan, very limited functionality. You can't even get CSV user reports. Everything is on and limited by the UI. This apparently changes if you're on paid, but the free experience not the best. No integration to other competitors like Facebook,etc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great cloud service.

Reviewed 4 months ago

My general experience with this application is that, it is a great option for new companies or new projects thanks to the fact that much of this apply is free.

Pros

What I like about this application is that Firebase is super simple to use and offers a variety of different characteristics that can be incorporated into its application, which would be difficult to implement using other tools. I used the Firebase for the authentication of the application, the storage of data, as well as the Push notifications and the free level covered everything I need for a large -scale application.

Cons

It is very expensive and sometimes it does not cover the price objective in most users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Suitable Backend Tool for Mobile Application Developers

Reviewed 7 days ago

Firebase saved me a lot of time during development. It is easy to learn, integrate and modify.

Pros

What is nice about Firebase application is that, it is completely easy to create a database with no SQL coding experience.

Cons

The application becomes unstable in terms of speed when working with large databases but for small applications yes, it is the best.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

All in one supportive services provider platform for small apps.

Reviewed 2 months ago

My overall experience is good with the firebase but getting some delays in fcm notification

Pros

A free push notifications, crashlytics, user attributions, realtime user tracking and analytics tool

Cons

User segmentation and support system of firebase shuld be change.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Firebase review

Reviewed a month ago

My overall experience has been very positive with firebase and I have enjoyed using it alot.

Pros

The thing I like most about Firebase is that it is very easy to integrate and add to your app and also everything is prettymuch straightforward and efficient.

Cons

Well the pricing can be a bit high but since it is on a pay as you go basis there isn't much to worry about.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Firebase - Probably the best mobile & web application development platform

Reviewed a month ago

Overall, firebase is indeed one of the best platforms for application development. It is always among one of my first choices when I work on new applications. Authorization & Authentication is also not too complex, given Google login support.

Pros

Firebase offers some of the best services for ease of mobile & application development specially for products that are not too complex or data intensive. Some of the best things about firebase - - Ease of integration with major other platforms & SDK's - Central User management - Customer Engagement Reports - Good UI for better understanding - Fast response & query management - Authorization & Authentication

Cons

As with any other platform, even firebase has some room for improvement - - Reports & Customisation - File storage can be faster - Documenting complex architecture applications for ease of developers - Better data backup & mobile alerts - Competitive cost

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Firebase Review

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall FIrebase is my go-to database connection tool whenever I want to develop mobile apps as it is very reliable and easy to set up.

Pros

It provides an easy solution for setting up a robust no-SQL database. Setting up a Firebase database using Firestore is extremely easy, and getting data from the collections in Firebase is easy as well. They make it easy for beginners to get started with it and get the database connection working right away. The UI element of Firebase makes it easier to visualize and organize data too.

Cons

Lack of in-depth documentation of advanced features. Features such as security have little documentation and it is difficult for users to secure their database with specific rules. As Firebase is constantly upgrading, there needs to be a more in-depth documentation of their most current changes and advanced features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Java developer on Firebase.

Reviewed 2 months ago

I have used Firebase in several projects as an external database and storage.

Pros

What I love about Firebase is the ease of getting started. With great documentation, it's easy to integrate the application you're developing. For low traffic, very good price.

Cons

Dependence on the google platform. Focuses on android. Poor integration with ios.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A fantastic all round realtime app hosting solution

Reviewed 4 months ago

Some of the apps that I have worked on, required items that Firebase offered natively such as realtime communication. I recently needed to build a messenger app and with Firebase, I only needed to configure worry about my front end code. The networking that would normally take weeks of additional work was taken care of by using the realtime database along with the authentication system. I have started to use Firebase as my main data storage for all mobile apps that I make and I relay that data with ease to their respective websites using the various bridges that Firebase have given. In particular, their PHP implementation has been very straightforward to work with.

Pros

Simple to manage and lightning fast, Firebase is great at providing all the infrastructure you will need to host your application. Its realtime document storage method of handling document works like magic and when paired with the built in user authentication options, it can cut down your development time tremendously.

Cons

The only real issue I had with Firebase would have to be the documentation on the auth rules for Firestore. If there is anything more than a simple authentication procedure required, it can be difficult to work out how to develop those rules as there was very little information out there that I could find on this particular part. However, once I had this part worked out, the system worked well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

From database purposes to analytics to deployment, all in one

Reviewed 7 months ago

A lot of the projects I've worked with used Firebase for authentication, this makes things quite easy development wise, as Firebase makes things like email verification, a click of a button. I've used the Firestore for mostly small scale projects, for larger projects, it might be better to set up strict guidelines since the document structure cannot be enforced. This isn't a con of Firebase, that's what a document-based database is, and can be easily overcome by proper tech team practices. I prefer Firebase deployment to anything else because of how easy it makes life for developers. If you're worried about scalability and big data, I suggest you look a bit deeper before you use it, but I highly doubt that Firebase is bad in those areas.

Pros

Firebase offers a wide range of products you could use, from realtime database, to the firestore, storage, deployment, hosting to analytics. All of these products are very easy to get the hang off. Especially, the firestore, if you are new to document-based databases and looking for a pet project to get hands-on experience, Firebase is a good place to start. Speaking deployment wise, links in the...

Cons

The pricing. Things like deploying backends require you to be on the pay-as-you-go tier and not the free tier which makes it hard for people who just want to learn. Most of the other products, though, can be used on the free tier. Another con that I noticed is that the documentation isn't that good, so you have to depend on your debugging skills and pray that someone else had the same bug too, which is almost always the case because it is very popular.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

THE backend for your web and mobile apps

Reviewed 9 months ago

Outstanding. One minor issue in 3 years of use (partial outage), resolved quickly

Pros

they provide SDKs for so many products. Their Angular/Javascript SDK is easy to use, it works INCREDIBLY well, and it facilitates your web apps/mobile apps development needs.

Cons

I wish there was an easy option for the NOSQL database. I imagine a switch where you could use firebase NOsql or firebase SQL mode sort of thing. Other than that wish, oh my this is a great cloud software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A backend-as-a-service that is easy and affordable to get started

Reviewed a year ago

Firebase has been stable and fast, the end-user experience with Firebase Authentication is also good. Getting started is relatively easy for typical usage, by following the tutorials. Some customization is supported. However, if there are edge cases or scenarios not directly supported by Firebase documentation, it is quite challenging to find alternative approaches or solutions.

Pros

Provides a lot of backend features for developing mobile and web apps, provides free plan with generous limits.

Cons

There is a certain amount of lock-in because most features are using proprietary Firebase APIs and protocols. When using Cloud Firestore, you need to be careful with access patterns, as costs can grow much more than you expected. But with appropriate access patterns and engineering strategies, Firebase services are cost-effective.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Google Firebase Cloud Messaging (FCM) is a must-have for an app developer

Reviewed 2 years ago

With a careful research and experimentation, leading to the selection of specific Firebase products which are free or affordable and match a specific custom (i.e., my) product requirements, Firebase easily becomes the best collection of ready-to-use software packages which speed up the app development process by an order of magnitude.

Pros

1. Ease of setup and use, both on the app (iOS) and custom server (ASP.NET Core 3.1). 2. Price: it's 100% free. 3. Reliability: it just works. 4. Integration with other Google Firebase products that I am using in my software. 5. Unmatched highest quality of documentation. 6. The highest, by far, savings in time and money for a small team of developers who are working on a multi-tier software product.

Cons

So far, I have been unable to find a single con of FCM compared to nearly a dozen of competing products from other companies.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tools for almost every trade

Reviewed 2 years ago

We've already used firebase a lot for prototypes and several app projects. Today we use it in a really big project, and it works really well in some aspects and limited in others, as stated before. Documents in firestore can have up to 1MB, so we use these documents to consolidate some reporting data in a few cases, and that works really well, for example. Instead of running reports on the fly, you just load one document or collection. Here at our company, we even forgot all the headache that involves user and session management. I recommend giving firebase a chance.

Pros

Firebase is really easy for creating simple apps. It has a lot of features that helps you get started faster for prototyping or even for large production apps. The Auth feature lets you authenticate users and manage user sessions. Firestore works like a document database, so if you're familiar with it, you're good to go. Firebase storage is Google Cloud Storage, it has a decent price for storing...

Cons

There are a few reasons that we cannot use only Firebase as a complete solution. Firestore charges per reads, writes and deletes. If your user has to read lots of documents mutiple times, your cost can become unsustainable. Also, it has a few limitations when fetching a lot of documents at once, so you must be careful when implementing this. If you need to do batch processing, firebase is not the...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

My Quick Review for Firebase From My Experience

Reviewed 3 years ago

Setup, configuration, and implementation was quite intuitive and developer-friendly with Firebase. In my case, I created my own free Firebase account. This was great since for my case, I only had a few active users and Google has a 'free tier' where it supports up to 15k daily users. Any more than that, Google will charge a monthly fee. From there, I just had to include a script in my app that...

Pros

Firebase can be a great choice for your project or work when building apps. In quick summary, Firebase provides a mBaaS (mobile-Backend-as-a-Service), which in turns helps eliminate the headache for the developer and saves a bunch of time. What may take weeks or months to setup, configure, and possibly more to pay for the infrastructure and hardware - now you can use mBaaS for your app, and get...

Cons

From what I can recall I only encountered one small hiccup where I had to go into the Firebase Console and edit my real-time database security rules (essentially, just a simple JSON configuration file) to improve performance. I can't really come up with many if not any cons at all. I guess you can say that you are going to be reliant on Google/Firebase as part of your tech stack down the road and if anything comes up in the foreseeable future, then that may pose issues. Other than that, it's either you home-brew your own custom hardware and infrastructure or just go with a great mBaaS.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Google Firebase review.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Firebase has helped me to develop my mobile applications at a very cheap price. Sometimes I hardly pay a cent. I do not need to have a server, create a database, get a domain, air-conditioning for servers, physical space and hire an IT expert to maintain these components. Firebase does all these things for free. Also I get information on the demographics of my users, their locations, amount of time they spend doing an activity and the time they spend on my mobile applications. I can now know what needs adjusting and whats working completely find. I also get crash reports and also push notifications.

Pros

Firebase has 3 plans, there is a free plan which is the Spark Plan, a Flame Plan which has a fixed fee and a Blaze Plan which is a pay as you use. Firebase is an online database facility, it helps to lower the costs of operating an mobile application or a website. It also provides database functions, such as push notifications which would require an experienced coder. It is easy to use if you have...

Cons

Coding skills such as Java, JavaScript, Kotlin and even Python are required. The Blaze Plan can run up costs if coder fails to efficiently produce programming codes that resend requests to Firebase database. Example is retrieving data such as username multiple times, which should have been done only once. Tutorials provides basic information. You might need to go to other sources to find solutions to coding problems. This places are Google Books on Firebase, YouTube, GitHub, online forums and freelance coder websites.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy, affordable and reliable

Reviewed 5 months ago

We significantly reduced our setup and implementation time for new projects, added more security to processes and modularized several development steps, with a visible benefit for us and our customers who were very satisfied with the results.

Pros

The Firestore database is fast and easy to use. The authentication system is a gem that gives you several ways to register your customers (even anonymously) on all the main platforms on the market such as google, apple, facebook, etc. You can set up two-factor authentication for your online accounts with sms confirmation at no cost with a generous free tier. It's easy and (in most cases) simple to use and we've been using it for many years.

Cons

But he's not perfect. Documentation on some features is fragmented and not always easy to read. Some examples don't work as well as they should, especially in cross-platform apps. There are some usage and response time limitations that do not compromise performance in small and medium-sized applications, but can pose a problem in large-scale applications. But overall it's a solid and reliable tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Inmensely value service for a startup

Reviewed 2 years ago

In general, I am extremely happy with Firebase as it has given me almost ever resource I needed to build my app.

Pros

Firebase provides almost everything a startyp would need to build a cloud based application. A instantly syncing nosql database, user auth, static hosting and cloud storage, among other things. And you can us all of this stuff for free until you reach certain usage tiers. It's a startup's dev team dream made true

Cons

There are a few cons. When it was bought by Google, all the software libraries were updated considerably. And older versions stopped being supported in a matter of weeks. We were forced to to change all our data access code to adapt to the new libraries. It was very abusive from my point of view. Another con is some of the support people at Firebase are really arrogant and fail to understand that their customer can have widely different needs and use cases from what they assume.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Firebase as a go to cloud backend

Reviewed 4 years ago

To sum up, Firebase is a great and simple tool for complex cloud backends. Especially the ease of use, the fact that the basic rate is free and the platform support is strong makes Firebase a no-brainer for simple or even more complex projects.

Pros

In my experience as a self-taught Android and web developer, I have started using Firebase as a cloud backend for my projects. It is a versatile tool for lots of different problems you might encounter by developing a product. For my projects, Firebase always had the tools I needed in order to create what I imagined - everything from (Google-)logins, to databases, notification management and crash reporting....

Cons

Actually, there are no upsetting cons I went through in the time I have used Firebase. The Android Studio help dialogue is sometimes outdated which forced me to use the website for code examples. Additionally, I sometimes experienced a problem regarding the database syncing on Android devices, which cloud by solved by switching to the improved Cloud Firestore database.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Firebase as a Startup Oriented Cloud Service

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have successfully kickstarted a few of my businesses and projects thanks to Firebase. I love how easy it is to setup Hosting, Database and Cloud Functions. However, some further advanced setting more suitable for high traffic application is still not effective.

Pros

I love how easy to use Google Firebase is. My business managed to setup our application to production within a month thanks for the super detailed documentation. The price for a Blaze Pay-as-you-go option is also acceptable for startup and small business alike.

Cons

I think Firebase still lacking heavy-duty functions in their line of services. Compared to other competition like AWS and Azure, Firebase is a tone-down version of their Google Cloud Service with a lot less flexibility like Load Balancing, Server hardware configuration,... etc. Still enough for small scale business in my opinion.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

is Firebase better for mobile/web apps development ?

Reviewed 5 months ago

So far i've been really enjoying working with firebase as an android apps developer because of some amazing features that it has, for instance the firebase authentication, it's just the perfect backend plateplatform for me

Pros

well, it's actually crazy when i think about this, and there is quiet more to consider as its pros, for its reliability cause it's fast and safe, the easy google analytics, and moreover it's " free " for small projects or newbies

Cons

the disadvantage with firebase is that cause it's google product they tend to emphasize more on the android documentation, so it's quiet easy to work with as newbie if your project is android centered, because unfortunately there is less support for IOS

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Get up and running quickly with Firebase

Reviewed 2 years ago

Its been good but there are definitely some pain points. For a simple out of the box solution its a fantastic product but if you are thinking about using their realtime database and need to scale I would not recommend it.

Pros

I liked the fact that it comes with out-of-the-box authentication sdk's. Building authentication is a very repetative process and Firebase comes pre packaged with everything you need to quickly build your entire auth flow as well as tap into 3rd party API's for authentication.

Cons

The real time database is great for building MVP products but quickly realized that it is a nightmare in production. After releasing v2 of our product, we quickly realized that there are some rather large limitations of Firebase Realtime DB. Particularly when you hit the 100% load usage.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A great piece of software to help manage your deployed mobile projects and monitor stability

Reviewed 6 months ago

Excellent software that massively supports modern app development

Pros

A large suite of software with many uses, I will focus on my own particular uses. First and foremost, the software provides crashlytics support (Crash reporting, debugging and monitoring) for iOS and Android mobile apps. This helps detect and debug issues of our iOS app in a way that saves me lots of time and effort and provides a level of security to our use cases of the app. It provides our team...

Cons

The software is mostly free of cost, but I am skeptical of what exactly google is doing with our data. I would like to see more clarity on what they use it for and some transparency. This would put my mind at rest particularly when it comes to EU data protection laws