App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

HSI Logo

HSI

HSI, the #1 Online HSEQ Management Solution

see alternatives

(1)

HSI Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

53

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.08/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

I am really glad we switched over to them. Not only do they provide a great level of support but they saved our company a lot of money.
HSI is an excellent training platform for our organization but the outstanding customer service is the primary reason I would recommend HSI to others.
Our Customer Service Representative, Account Executive including tech support are just really awesome and provide amazing support.
There are almost too many features now, if that can be considered a negative.
Instructions can be difficult to obtain on how to use the product.
Sneaky salesmanship, difficulties with the built in reports, extra-ordinary amount of time employees needed to put into the coursework. Overall, not for a small manufacturing company.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


53 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kiara W.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome Software!

Reviewed 2 years ago

HSI has been a great benefit to my company and really helped us out in a time of needing a great LMS and online training. Our Customer Service Representative, Account Executive including tech support are just really awesome and provide amazing support. None of my questions have gone unanswered and they are always on point to provide us with new updates they've released. HSI will even reach out to make sure our company is doing well and if there's anything they can help us with.

Pros

I really love how dynamic the software is. It's easy to keep track of all my students, courses and even manage reports including purchasing additional credits. I also really like that HSI continues to provide updates and improvements to their software. It's very much so a "point and click" system with easy navigation.

Cons

Nothing bad to say about this software.

Vendor response

Thanks for the kind words, Kiara! We really appreciate the review!

MT
AvatarImg

Melissa T.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very satisfied with HSI training videos

Reviewed 2 years ago

I did not have any negative experiences during the entire process of setting up an account with HSI. Their customer service reps are super friendly and very responsive. They check in on you periodically and they let you know when new training videos that may be relevant to your industry are available.

Pros

My university contracted with HSI to supply training videos for students, staff and faculty. The videos are high quality, up-to-date and easy to navigate. The training videos are created by subject matter experts and update automatically when regulations or industry standards change.

Cons

It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Vendor response

Thanks, Melissa! We really appreciate your feedback and kind words.

CK
AvatarImg

Cheryllee K.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Low-Grade Quality and Sneaky Salesmanship

Reviewed a year ago

Sneaky salesmanship, difficulties with the built in reports, extra-ordinary amount of time employees needed to put into the coursework. Overall, not for a small manufacturing company.

Pros

I thought it would be easy to use for my employees but the course work took some employees hours out of their day.

Cons

The sales team was sneaky and tried to make our company renew the program after they were told it wasn't working for us. We paid for a year and didn't like it. As a "Leader in their industry" they should, in good faith, understand and allow us to find something that fits our company.

MC
AvatarImg

Margaret C.

Mining & Metals, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Quality content in an easy to use format

Reviewed 2 years ago

HSI has been great to work with. They provided lot of information during the set up phases and are quick to respond to questions regarding the system.

Pros

HSI has quality content in an easy to use format. Users can easily access and take their required training. Supervisors monitor progress through premade reports that are easily customized. Administrators set up a system and only have to do short regular check ins.

Cons

Our organization doesn't have an email for each employee so updating passwords requires and admin but we've gotten a good system in place.

Vendor response

Hi Margaret, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

JC
AvatarImg

Jeff C.

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Refreshing Change to HSI and Vivid Learning.

Reviewed 2 years ago

My experience with Vivid Learning and HSI has been exceptional. From the first call into HSI / Vivid to investigate the available course library and opportunity to use the SCORM course packages was a welcome conversation. All avenues along the way was a focus on one thing, the satisfaction and success of my project and timeline. Rare do you find a company that is in partnership to meet the budget...

Pros

The variety of safety OSHA Awareness courses within the available library and the options to either use the SCORM files to load directly into our existing LMS or utilize the HSI LMS which is outstanding.

Cons

Can't really say I have a "Least" desired attribute, but given our Oil & Gas Industry needs for OSHA safety courses, it would be perfect to have the content specific to Oil & Gas (imagery & some other topics). However, the courses we use are sufficient to meet our needs and we have the option to custom build courses in partnership with Vivid Learning / HSI team.

Vendor response

Hi Jeff, thanks for leaving us a review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

BB
AvatarImg

Brandy B.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Safety, HR, and Computer Training

Reviewed 2 years ago

Saves the EHS professional time for in-person training (minimizes this). It is also a great way to track all trainings and a leading indicator.

Pros

The software allows new employees to be entered into the system quickly to get their training started immediately. The software is user friendly. If the users have problems, customer service great at helping. The content is accurate and is updated often. The storylines and animation are also great. From an admin side, the software allows reports to be run, and makes a leading indicator easy to have (the % of people who are in compliance with their training). It helps decrease the number of working hours that the EHS Professional or Supervisors have to put in for training, because this system does it. They also track any other trainings that you want to have (live events) that are not included in the software. I would 100% recommend this training software to companies.

Cons

It would be nice to send an email out to all delinquent users (they may already have this and I do not know of it). I know the email goes out for 1 day overdue, 15 days overdue, etc, but I would like to make my own and send it out.

Vendor response

Hi Brandy, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

BR
AvatarImg

Ben R.

Public Safety, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Resource for EMS Training

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are extremely pleased with our purchase. It has allowed us to provide needed continuing education to our EMS providers at their convenience. Most work out of our satellite stations and this has been essential to maintain their professional licensures, as well as, allowing them to keep sharp on EMS knowledge. This ultimately leads to high quality patient care. Our providers have given very positive feedback about our purchase of HSI online training. Very soon, we plan to start taking advantage of their other great features, such as, creating custom classes. Customer service has been exactly as promised, top notch! [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] continues to impress and deliver, help every time I call. One can imagine how useful it has been during this year of 2020.

Pros

The online training is easy to assign to my EMS providers. The classes offered are full of useful and current information. Providers are able to receive CEU's for state and national recertification on their own time. They offer a wide variety topics to choose from that challenge all levels of EMS certifications.

Cons

During a training session, providers are able to pause and resume the class you are taking overall, but not in the middle of the video. Must watch again, in its entirety, if you log out of class while watching this portion. Fortunately, the length of these segments are kept reasonable, so issues with this are very minimal.

Vendor response

Hi Ben, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

DV
AvatarImg

Daniel V.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Incredibly Versatile

Reviewed 2 years ago

We started using this solution as a safety software solution, but quickly started utilizing additional custom features and benefits as we became more familiar with the site and support team.

Pros

The best part about this software is how customizable it is. The content can be tailored as robust or as generic as needed down to the individual employee for course enrollments. The ease of reporting for compliance and performance as a result has been a tremendous benefit.

Cons

The best feature is also the worst feature. The site is very robust and flexible in that if you do not have a solid plan on how you want to internally administer the site it can be somewhat overwhelming and challenging. Fortunately they have a great support team that helps you through these challenges as they arise and tailor it to meet your needs.

Vendor response

Hi Daniel, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

SW
AvatarImg

Shirl W.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Elevating Training Program

Reviewed 2 years ago

The level of customer service provided by HSI/VIVID Learning Systems has been exceptional. I appreciate their level of commitment to helping us solve training challenges and provide new tools and materials, on a regular basis.

Pros

Employees at all levels of the organization were able to adapt to the user interface quickly. The EH&S training material that is an integral part of the licensing agreement added a lot of value by ensuring continuity in training, flexibility for employees, and compliance to regulatory and other legal requirements.

Cons

The reporting features need to be more robust, including having a dashboard that shows performance to planning real time.

Vendor response

Hi Shirl, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

DD
AvatarImg

Dominic D.

Wholesale, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Corporate Safety Manager

Reviewed 2 years ago

HSI (Vivid Learning) has been excellent in providing me with helpful information and suggestions on training content for our employees. This include materials outside of our package content, at reasonable prices. Their customer service people have gone above and beyond my expectations.

Pros

Topics are current and meet todays training and educational requirements. Because we are able to load them onto our own LMS site, student/employee access is convenient and makes it user friendly.

Cons

We do a lot of classroom training at our DC's and sometime the classroom (handouts) are a little sparse.

Vendor response

Hi Dominic, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

KD
AvatarImg

Kristina D.

Import and Export, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great value for a superior product

Reviewed 2 years ago

The team at HSI has been great to tailor the system to our needs. Everyone is very professional and courteous and they always provide a response in a timely matter.

Pros

The software is very easy to use considering the wide variety of employees at our business. The multi language option is key with our workforce. I like how there is the ability to upload your own content to supplement the training lesson. Most importantly, the support team is very quick to respond.

Cons

Sometimes it lags on the speed, but that could be an internal issue with our network.

Vendor response

Thank you, Kristina! We'll pass along your kind words about our support team - we love them, too!

MW
AvatarImg

Michael W.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

As a User

Reviewed 2 years ago

As a client of theirs for over 23 years I find their materials superior to others in many ways. The customer service is impeccable and I will continue to use their product for years to come.

Pros

HSI's material are very user friendly and their customer service is outstanding. If there is ever an issue (which is very, very seldom) the issue is dealt with and resolved almost immediately.

Cons

Can't think of any issues that create any problems. As I stated earlier, if any arise, they address them immediatley.

Vendor response

Hi Michael, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

DB
AvatarImg

Dave B.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

HSI/VIVID Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very satisfied so far, HSI customer service has been good. HSI was smart not to completely change over VIVID during the acquisition and it made for a smooth transition.

Pros

Ability to generate the reports that I need to inform employees and Admin about our performance.

Cons

Instructions can be difficult to obtain on how to use the product.

Vendor response

Hi Dave, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

SO
AvatarImg

Sue O.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vivid Software Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

The team is very quick to respond when any issues or questions arise and offers good suggestions to facilitate changes, user experience, etc.

Pros

The software is easy to deploy, track and create reports with.

Cons

There's 3-4 weeks of downtime as you're moving into a new calendar year while the team makes the training updates. There have been a few glitches where the software can't be programmed to accommodate individual company training needs.

Vendor response

Hi Sue, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

DP
AvatarImg

Danella P.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We have been using HSI for 3 years now, the platform for training their chemical database are very user friendly and easy to navigate. Their customer service team works quickly to resolve any issue that may arise.

Cons

Training videos could be updated, but they serve the purpose we need them for and are interactive.

Vendor response

Hi Danella, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

JT
AvatarImg

John T.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HSI is the choice to use for LMS training

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been fantastic!

Pros

Very easy to set up to get people the training they need. They update the training, so it does not become stagnant

Cons

Some reports are not exactly what I need....but one call to customer service and they will run it for you

Vendor response

Hi John, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

WG
AvatarImg

Walter G.

Commercial Real Estate, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Diverse National Training achieved

Reviewed 2 years ago

Have been able to deploy National training for various different teams to achieve overall improvement in training quality and delivery, improved compliance, and improved ability to report on training.

Pros

Content, ability to add content, and flexibility

Cons

Course assignment and on-going changes are a bit complicated (but plenty of support from the team)

Vendor response

Hi Walter, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

LT
AvatarImg

Linda T.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HSI is Great!

Reviewed 2 years ago

HSI is great! I am really glad we switched over to them. Not only do they provide a great level of support but they saved our company a lot of money.

Pros

I really have enjoyed using the HSI platform. It makes it easy for me to administer our First Aid/CPR program for all of our employees and instructors. If I have any questions, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and her team at HSI are so fast and responsive about getting back to me. They are a joy to work with.

Cons

It took me a minute to learn it and some of the options are not in the most obvious of places. But once I learned the program, I can now use it easily.

Vendor response

Hi Linda, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

LP
AvatarImg

Laurel P.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A good answer to safety training needs

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'm excited to see how we can use the new supervisor development training options.

Pros

It is easy to use, and the customer service is great!

Cons

I need to learn more about how the software works when I alter assignments.

Vendor response

Hi Laurel, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

JO
AvatarImg

Jeff O.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My experience with Vivid

Reviewed 2 years ago

My Sales Rep is great and has been great at asking and answering questions. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been great! I have a Customer Service Rep that is both knowledgeable and responsive. He also knows how to ask the right questions without being condescending. He is a know-it-all, but doesn't act like one.

Pros

The ease of use and the quality of the graphics and animation

Cons

I'd like more lessons, but I don't think I like anything the "least"

Vendor response

Hi Jeff, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

WS
AvatarImg

Walter S.

Warehousing, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Quality Control Supervisor

Reviewed 2 years ago

I think the overall experience has been great, the staff is very helpful. My only complaint is not all classes are translated.

Pros

the features I like the best is the training its self, the videos or short and to the point, I recently noticed that as you go through a section it is now highlighted to let you know you have covered that section.

Cons

Not all the classes are translated into spanish

Vendor response

Hi Walter, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

RS
AvatarImg

Richard S.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HSI OSHA

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

My experience with HSI has been great. We were not able to hold in-person OSHA 10 and 30 classes so we were in need of a trustworthy online host. HSI has the pricing and service that our electrical apprenticeship needed. Kudos HSI and thank you!

Cons

There were no issues that I would report as unsatisfactory

Vendor response

Hi Richard, thanks for leaving us a great review! We are happy to hear that you love the product.

KM
AvatarImg

Katie M.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

10/10 Recommend

Reviewed 2 years ago

HSI has helped my company increase safety training compliance. My team is so much more willing to complete the HSI classes than the online classes we had used before through a different program. The amount of classes and the variety of topics covers everything we could need for our diverse workforce.

Pros

I highly recommend HSI. My company started using this software for our monthly safety training classes about a year and a half ago. The product is great - the classes are interactive, interesting and easy to digest. The site is very user friendly. The customer service team at HSI is also phenomenal. Anytime I have an issue or a question, they have been responsive and extremely helpful. They made the transition to this software easy and painless.

Cons

In the initial rollout there were a few bugs in the software. The team at HSI actively worked to resolve those though and everything is working fine now.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Katie! We're happy you've had such a great experience since switching to HSI!

RL
AvatarImg

Rich L.

Machinery, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

VIVID/Pillar computer-based safety training

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience with HSI personnel has been excellent. Very personable and willing to help. Support has always been prompt.

Pros

Functionality is flawless; not glitchy at all. Ease of use for students is very good; even my less PC savvy people have no issues. Ease of use from an Admin standpoint is a little more involved. There is a somewhat steeper learning curve with the refreshed software.(Pillar) Most of this is due to the level of options available to you. You can report on virtually every facet of the program, and configure it in every way imaginable. While this is great from a flexibility standpoint, until you figure out exactly what you need and what you don't, it can be a little daunting. Overall though, very well laid out and easy to navigate.

Cons

There are almost too many features now, if that can be considered a negative.

Vendor response

Hi Rich, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.

MR
AvatarImg

Michael R.

Building Materials, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great Customer Service

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

What I like most is the level of support and engagement of our support staff.

Cons

The cost and maybe the available training.

Vendor response

Hi Michael, thanks for leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you love the product.