App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ManageEngine Network Configuration Manager Logo

Simplify network management with NCM

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

ManageEngine Network Configuration Manager Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

196

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.62/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

qualio
powerdms
intellect

Pros and cons

Ease of use and great customer support see our entire asset base for one of our Projects built and backing up in less than 8 hours.
After looking into various other solutions I found that NCM was the best fit for my needs as a Network Administrator.
The ability to track changes and backup are very useful as well as the ability to alert and monitor interfaces.
When it comes to PCIDSS compliance, our organization was suffering with configuration backup and auditing.
Not able to view and troubleshoot the problems during the network.
I moved from RANCID to NCM this year as RANCID gave me the bare minimum with no support.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


196 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

What I think about ManageEngine NCM

Reviewed a year ago

Using it, we can manage our network devices, backup and restore configurations, and even automate the deployment of configurations to group of devices at the same time.

Pros

Our IT infrastructure benefits greatly from backup and restores features. In case of disaster or power outage, we are so concerned about saving our devices' configurations.

Cons

The backup process for Huawei devices was a bit challenging for me, but apart from that I was satisfied with the product.

DC
AvatarImg

Daniel C.

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good product for Cisco Users

Reviewed 3 years ago

I recently completed a cybersecurity audit which identified a lack of automated network config backup. This product was purchased to fill that whole, but it ended up being much more useful. I have used it to clean up all of my configs and it made increasing the security of my configs much easier.

Pros

This software is great for Cisco Users as it has a bunch of pre-defined templates available. I haven't found any Cisco equipment without a template so far. I really like the ability to create my own compliance rules and then easily create config-lets to automate correcting problems. For instance when I want to make sure that https access is disabled I create a rule that scans the config for "ip http server" and if it finds that it flags it as non-compliant. I can then create a quick script that will login to the switch, go to config mode, enter "no ip http server", write the config, and logout.

Cons

There are a few areas that could use some polish but nothing major. It doesn't always recognize new equipment during the discovery process. It will know that a device is there but not know what type of device. Once you manually assign the product type it works fine.

PR
AvatarImg

Prashanth Reddy M.

Gambling & Casinos, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Review after using two years

Reviewed 2 years ago

In terms of config back-up and configlets it has done fantastic job whereas in terms of compliance and vulnerabilities it is not up to the mark.

Pros

Config back-up set up is the most liked feature in the application

Cons

Since there is the compliance report in the tool it should give the report for all the devices which are on-boarded to tool. In my case it was unable to give the compliance report for the HP Aruba devices

SR
AvatarImg

Sandeep R.

Retail, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NCM is better and simpler than DevOps

Reviewed 3 months ago

Amazingly satisfied with NCM. We have been able to get by with relative quicker learning curve when we have new team members joining the team. NCM was something they could adopt to easily as compared to Rancid or learning devops tools for managing networks.

Pros

- It alerts us almost immediately when changes are made on critical device. - Ability to be assured that the backups of the devices are happening and alerting in place if there's a failure due to a connectivity issue. - Point in time snapshot of backup of CLI configuration - Ability to investigate a block of configuration and create reports for multiple devices.

Cons

When the remote devices don't connect, the product is little un-forgiving and doesn't give much information. You have to invoke support to troubleshoot.

PS
AvatarImg

Pawan S.

Machinery, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

NCM Make Life Easy

Reviewed a year ago

NCM as a produce is very nice, affordable and easy to manage.

Pros

Auto configuration options and reporting

Cons

Support team and their way of resolving the issue.

GG
AvatarImg

Greg G.

Hospitality, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Manage Engine Config Management

Reviewed 2 years ago

overall good experience

Pros

overall appearance of app quick responsive and detailed

Cons

some device setup challenging not able to see what is needed at times

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Media Production, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Takes patience to get right, but overall a great product

Reviewed 3 years ago

It took some time to get it set up right, and had to jump through a few hoops to get it to backup the WLCs. But once all was setup , the product runs great and is very usefull.

Pros

Support for multiple vendors. Easy to configure templates. Quick and responsive UI.

Cons

Discovery and addition not very accurate. Adding a node is not straight forward. Can't modify names of nodes. Can't search through nodes.

JD
AvatarImg

Jesse D.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent network management and auditing

Reviewed 2 years ago

So far our experience with this solution has been excellent. We needed a custom script wrote for some of our newer HP AOS-CX switches and support had that completed for us in less than 3 days. The customization and audit ability of this product is excellent and highly recommended.

Pros

The ease of setup, overall capabilities, and potential for in-depth customization in this product is unmatched in my experience. We have tried other manufacturers but they all lacked the ability to interact with such a wide array of products.

Cons

What I like least about this product is the amount of clicking required to change switch version baselines. This could be made more simple by providing shortcut selections on the devices screen.

PM
AvatarImg

Prodromos M.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Quick , easy , accurate product to control your devices

Reviewed a year ago

I almost login every day to the console , because i still implement new things. Generally i am trying to create reports to read them everyday and take the appropriate actions . The product has save me a lot of time from accessing each device one by one to make config and fine-tune actions .

Pros

The user friendly gui interface where you can do anything you want . The reports and the policies you can build to align the config , but also control your devices with one-click .

Cons

The license schema regarding the users , especially to give to more users just view options .

DG
AvatarImg

Devin G.

Legal Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ManageEngine Review

Reviewed 2 months ago

It has worked great for our needs and filling a stop-gap of retired software.

Pros

Ease of use and ability to easily add/remove devices

Cons

I didn't like anything less than the most liked thing.

SK
AvatarImg

Suresh K.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

NCM review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The software is easy to install and offers a user-friendly interface that is simple to navigate. The tool's automation features allow IT teams to save time and reduce errors, as the system can automatically back up configurations, detect changes, and perform configuration changes across multiple devices simultaneously. The tool also offers comprehensive reporting capabilities, enabling IT teams to...

Cons

I don't have personal preferences or experiences. However, some users have reported that the software's user interface can be overwhelming at times, and it may take some time to get used to all of its features. Additionally, the tool's pricing structure can be a bit complex, and some users may find it challenging to understand the various licensing options available.

SJ
AvatarImg

Surendra J.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent Tool for Network Management and Monitoring

Reviewed 9 months ago

It has given us a chance to monitor our inter-office MPLS traffic.

Pros

It is very detailed, and flexible supporting almost every single networking product. It keeps track of firmware versions of all appliances on your network.

Cons

Very complicated for new novice users. Not for a non-technical person

ts
AvatarImg

tharanga suranjith U.

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ManageEngine NCM

Reviewed a year ago

comparing technical support and features Manage Engine ncm is better than other products.

Pros

Device configuration backup is an important feature in ManageEngine NCM. It allows organizations to automatically and regularly back up the configurations of their network devices, ensuring that critical network configurations are always safe and available in case of a failure or other issue.

Cons

ManageEngine NCM supports a wide range of network devices from various vendors, including Cisco, Juniper, HP, Fortinet, and more. It is available as both an on-premises and cloud-based solution, making it accessible to organizations of all sizes.

WS
AvatarImg

Warren S.

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

One Pane of Glass

Reviewed 4 years ago

My overall experience is a positive one and I think once the small bugs are addressed it will be a very popular product at a third of the cost of some industry leaders such as Solarwinds. Perfect for businesses that sit on the threshold between medium and large business.

Pros

NCM, along with its supporting packages gives you a very powerful toolset. NCM is amazing at providing all the necessary management features all in one pane of glass. The ability to track changes and backup are very useful as well as the ability to alert and monitor interfaces.

Cons

There isn't one specific feature that i didn't like however I would say that there appears to be a mixed experience when it comes to implementing. There appears to be a bug with running backup and change detection at the same time, some switches tend to repeat certain syslog messages and this in turn creates a backup loop.

DB
AvatarImg

Donald B.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed a year ago

I love manage engine products. In addition, I love how you can combine multiple products.

Pros

I like the customer support and ease of deployment. You can't find a better product in this price range.

Cons

I really cannot think of anything. This is a great product.

AZ
AvatarImg

Anton Z.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

It works as expected

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

We primarily use this tool for network equipment backups (Cisco switches, ASAs, F5s, etc)

Cons

Some advertised features did not work as expected, lacked actual functionality, or supported only partially.

JG
AvatarImg

Jaime G.

Semiconductors, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

NCM Experience

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Compliance and Firmware Vulnerabilities.

Cons

Having a hard time with the Config Automation

ML
AvatarImg

Miles L.

Building Materials, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Configuration Management Tool

Reviewed 2 months ago

So far I'm satisfied with the NCM since it will suits my networking tools.

Pros

Easy to configuration and control the changes each switch.

Cons

Lots of perquisites to fill in in order to fully use the NCM.

AS
AvatarImg

Anand S.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good tool for NCM

Reviewed 2 months ago

Its helps to manage the backup and do the configuration of devices on large run

Pros

Its helps to manage the backup and do the configuration of devices on large run

Cons

No proper tech reference.we need to raise a tac and that is also take much time

MS
AvatarImg

Martin S.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Network security by enforcing best practices and compliance standards

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

It offers a range of features and capabilities to streamline network configuration tasks and ensure network compliance. The solution allows for the automation of routine tasks, such as firmware upgrades, to save time and reduce the risk of errors. The solution allows for the automation of routine tasks, such as firmware upgrades, to save time and reduce the risk of errors.

Cons

Creating highly customized configuration templates or reports can be complex.

mr
AvatarImg

michael r.

Mining & Metals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Linux version and integration is more difficult to upgrade and install.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

Linux version and integration is more difficult to upgrade and install.

AD
AvatarImg

Arun D.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good

Reviewed 10 months ago

Great

Pros

Automated backup works great and helpful

Cons

Some templates need troubleshooting as they font work as expected

AW
AvatarImg

Adam W.

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Discover your Network

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Device discovery makes my life so easy, by discovering and recording devices on the network so i can find devices quickly and also provides informative inventory to help when auditing. Config Backup allows me to ensure all configs are backed up and ready to use in case of diaster.

Cons

Not the least favourite but compliance to industry standards is not required for my network and my company.

RN
AvatarImg

Raghu N.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

NCM review

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall satisfied with NCM product. as well as customer support.

Pros

Ease of Management and initial setup. Good to keep us MSB and configurations backup

Cons

Multiple options sometimes confusing.sometimes hard to find Troubleshooting documents

WR
AvatarImg

Willy R.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NCM makes everything simpler

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I can automate scripts and schedule deployments to all my switch or only a subset of them if I need to. Scheduled backups and also alerts are really useful.

Cons

I would love to get more communication from ManageEngine when they release new product upgrades.