App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Kaltura Video Platform Logo

Kaltura Video Platform

Powering Any Video Experience

(18)

Kaltura Video Platform Reviews

Overall rating

4.1

/5

31

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.71/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

It is easy to use and allows high quality video to be embedded on-the-go. This is an added advantage for companies who want to onboard video services in their business plan.
This tool has been useful in providing an easy to use interface to record live sessions, welcome announcements, discussion posts, and provide media enhanced student feedback.
Kaltura is a valuable tool that integrates wonderfully with Canvas LMS. We have it set up for Teachers and Students to upload and publish videos.
My overall experience with Kaltura has been horrible. I will never use it again.
Customer Support is the absolute worst. And the KMC is Flash based.
Kaltura is the worst product I have ever used.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


31 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gurvinder K.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

''Awesome platform for learning purpose''

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'm using this platform for a long time. It's my favorite tool for all types of learning. This makes my work fast and easy.

Pros

Best and most powerful platform for all educators who want to make online courses for their students. This platform gives freedom to make PowerPoint presentations and webcam with both screens great advantage of this. Very professional and no type of glitch.

Cons

I never notice any problem while using it. I really like it so much and recommended it too. This makes video upload and embeeding fast.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for the glowing review, Gurvinder! It's always a treat to read positive feedback from long-term customers. It's the ultimate reward for our hard work. Thanks again!

JH
AvatarImg

Jason H.

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Kaltura - Great Experience for the End User - Horrible Experience for a Systems Admin

Reviewed 7 years ago

Kaltura is a valuable tool that integrates wonderfully with Canvas LMS. We have it set up for Teachers and Students to upload and publish videos. Kaltura has also launched In-Video Quizzing, so students watch a portion of a video, and then are prompted to answer a quiz question before they're able to continue watching. This interaction is awesome. Kaltura's customer service, however, is horrendous!...

Pros

Great product for end users, especially the integration with Canvas LMS.

Cons

Customer Support is the absolute worst. And the KMC is Flash based.

BN
AvatarImg

Bojana N.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Horrible experience

Reviewed 15 days ago
Pros

I did manage to create a video/presentation, that´s the only positive thing.

Cons

I spent a lot of time trying to find where to download the program. When I did download and install it, it started automatically opening every time I turned on the computer, which I never gave it the authorization to do. The program itself is very non intuitive and annoying. It is buggy, as it sometimes lasted for hours for a 10 minute video to upload. Eventually I gave up and filmed myself presenting with Zoom. Horrible, horrible experience.

ED
AvatarImg

Erik D.

Research, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Managing video recording of classes

Reviewed 6 months ago

A solid tool to manage video recordings and provide them to our students.

Pros

The ease with which very long videos were loaded and managed made it seamless to offer an interactive access to video recordings of the classes to my students. We used Kaltura integrated with the Moodle platform.

Cons

Sometimes loading speed was average, with occasional (one in twenty times) needs to restart video uploading.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Full-featured and well integrated at my school

Reviewed 3 years ago

Kaltura has been very easy to work with as a faculty member and gives students a good viewing experience.

Pros

Kaltura had integrated with the rest of the university's technology in such a way that it is extremely easy for me to use and highly useful for me and my students. Every one of my classes is automatically recorded and stored in Canvas so my students have access to every recording without even knowing that they are using Kaltura. I have experimented with the desktop screen recording solutions for my virtual classes and it works pretty well. It doesn't have all the features of a dedicated screen recording app, but it does record the screen and camera separately and lets the students choose which to watch after the fact, which is pretty cool.

Cons

On the desktop screen recording tool for Mac, I can select a portion of the screen, but I can't have it record just one window, which I would really like to be able to do.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It's always a pleasure to read about our customers enjoying our products. Improving the teaching/learning experience in a convenient way is our top priority and your feedback reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. We took note of your suggestion about window selection and sent it to the team for review. Thanks for that.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A modern video player for making business efficient and engaging!

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is easy to use and allows high quality video to be embedded on-the-go. This is an added advantage for companies who want to onboard video services in their business plan.

Pros

1) Clean and simple user interface 2) Automated captioning 3) Integration with third-party players 5) Doesn't crash and has a consistent performance

Cons

1) No downloadable video files 2) Support team should be more agile to answer user queries 3) The published video link that a lot of time to generate

Vendor response

Thank you very much for your review. Customer feedback is a crucial channel for us to improve our products and services. We enjoy reading the pros and create action points around the cons. We hope the Kaltura Video Platform will continue to move your business forward for the years to come. Thanks again, The Kaltura team

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, self-employed

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use video production and sharing

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Not sure if I would have selected this, it was part of the suite of programs available at the time, but was pleasantly surprised. The program was easy to use with a minimal learning curve, produced fine quality videos (even with a laptop webcam), and walked you through sharing.

Cons

Took some effort to learn; find the video tutorials and that helps.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Terran G.

Research, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Awesome features for screen captures

Reviewed 4 years ago

I like what the software does, it just seems to be slow when posting videos.

Pros

I like all the features that come with the screen capture capabilities. It allows recording from multiple different cameras and can even let you jump through the video when the lecture slide has changed.

Cons

It takes forever to upload once the recording has finished. I'm not sure what kind of processing has to take place here, but I often can't access videos for hours after the recording has finished.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rahul S.

11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Video hosting with Kaltura

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Open source video platform provider. Another solution to host videos like Youtube, Vimeo. Easy interface.

Cons

Katura lacks in providing a good customer support. To play Kaltura videos you need have Flash on your system.

MS
AvatarImg

Melissa S.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Kaltura

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's a free way to get my video uploaded to a website or classroom platform.

Cons

The functionality for saving video and then uploading it to an outside source was a little confusing at first. The tutorial showed buttons and functions that were not available on the version I was working with so the tutorial was frustrating at times.

AK
AvatarImg

Abby K.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Overall good platform

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The videos were useful and easy to navigate. You could watch in 2x speed or slow it down which was nice and you could put videos into albums or chapters based on topics and watch everything on that topic.

Cons

The problem I ran into the most was having trouble loading the videos. Not sure if this is actually and issue with kaltura or just network issues but I had consistent problems across different networks.

Vendor response

Dear Abby, Thank you so much for the positive review. It's always a treat to read how our customers are enjoying our solutions. Regarding the slow loading times, it's true that it could be due to connection speed, network load, or the size of the video file. Optimal loading time is a factor our developers always keep in mind as they work to improve and update our solutions. However, if the issue persists, I would love for you to notify Customer Support and see if they can help you solve your upload speed. Thanks again, Abby!

GJ
AvatarImg

Gaurav J.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Record your meetings with Kaltura Capture space recorder

Reviewed 3 years ago

easy to record the meetings for future reference and has inbuilt feature to pause/start and upload the recording to the enterprise servers

Pros

Very easy desktop application. 1 click recording of meetings with audio and video and screen recording. Clarity is best and can be directly uploaded to the server from the application itself

Cons

Desktop application is little bit heavy so you need a good configuration machine in order to use it or else you want be able to use your machine properly as it will slow down the machine

Vendor response

Thank you so much for the positive review, Gaurav! We love to read how customers enjoy our solutions. Regarding the speed of your system, I recommend you contact our help desk to give us more details and discuss the specifics of your issue. Maybe together we can find a solution. Again, thank you for awarding us 5 stars across the board. All the best! The Kaltura team

VM
AvatarImg

Valamere M.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Enhance Your Online Classroom Experience with Kaltura

Reviewed 5 years ago

This tool has been useful in providing an easy to use interface to record live sessions, welcome announcements, discussion posts, and provide media enhanced student feedback.

Pros

I love the convenience of Kaltura Video Platform because it is built into my university's learning management system (Blackboard), which does not require downloading any external tools. I like the functionalities of video with screen share capture, audio and webcam recording within an easy to use platform. Also, this platform allows you to upload and store media into your repository to later use across any of your online courses.

Cons

I have experienced technical issues while using the video capture appliance (Personal Capture). For example, after recording, the media library pops up and then my screen would freeze for a length of time. I would switch browsers and enable Adobe Flash, but was unsuccessful. So, I often use a different recording device and use Kaltura Video Platform to upload, edit, and store my media.

SS
AvatarImg

Sidney S.

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Love Kaltura for Online Classes

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, Kaltura is a great program for online classes that require students to submit recorded speeches/videos.

Pros

Kaltura makes uploading and embedding media easy! I used the platform various times to record and upload/embed videos for speech classes and it was relatively easy to use each time.

Cons

Although Kaltura is easy to use and navigate, I had issues embedding videos. The speeches often took long to upload/embed and sometimes were delayed before being available to view.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for the positive review, Sidney! We share these reviews internally because we know our people work hard to perfect our solutions and it's always satisfying to see our efforts pay off. Of course, we also gladly take constructive criticism to help us improve our products, so thank you for that, too. All the best! The Kaltura team

AS
AvatarImg

Alexandra S.

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Kaltura is the worst product I have ever used

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience with Kaltura has been horrible. I will never use it again.

Pros

I will never use Kaltura again, this is my 6th try using the software and I find it impossible.

Cons

Kaltura needs some sort of software update to improve functionality, it is probably the most clunky software I have ever used. Examples of issues I have had with Kaltura include: recording lectures for a class - as I am recording a lecture the software will just quit. When I try to reopen the software to see if the recording saved it will not re-open. It unexpectedly quits regularly. I also has an issue with editing videos. This software and its integration into Canvas is beyond slow to the point of not functional.

DK
AvatarImg

Divya K.

Pharmaceuticals, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

My most used video platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

It’s been good. Have used it in collaboration with other tools and not once did I face problems

Pros

Provides array of video solutions and can be deployed easily. It integrated well with o

Cons

Pricing- as usual the academic quotes for these platforms are a bit high than it should be

Vendor response

Thank you so much, Divya! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Our teams are working hard to deliver the highest quality solutions to our customers. Your review means a lot to us!

AK
AvatarImg

Amber K.

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kaltura Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, Kaltura is a wonderful product that is essential to our learning environment.

Pros

What I like most about this software is that even though some things may record that you don't want to, you are able to cut out anything that you do not want within the video.

Cons

It can be difficult to reach Customer Support at times.

AM
AvatarImg

Amos M.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Kaltura Video Platform

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Kaltura provides a comprehensive suite of tools for video hosting, streaming, and analytics, making it an excellent choice for educational institutions and businesses seeking to enhance their video content delivery.

Cons

Kaltura Video falls short in terms of ease of customization. Customization is often considered a fundamental requirement, yet it can be challenging and less intuitive within the platform. Users may find themselves grappling with intricate settings and configurations, which can be time-consuming and require a steeper learning curve

NL
AvatarImg

Nathan L.

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Kaltura is Easy and as Accessible as it can be

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Kaltura has auto-generated closed captioning software that is pretty accurate that makes this software easier for use and also universally accessible around educational institutes around the world.

Cons

This software does seem a little buggy at times where videos can pause at weird times and I'd have to restart the video.

ND
AvatarImg

Nancy D.

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for making presentations

Reviewed 6 years ago

free

Pros

Allows for ease when organizing and developing a prenarrated presentation. Lets you upload images and take screenshots.

Cons

Short recording time so you have to make sure your narrations are well organized ahead of time and the initial software download takes a while.

DF
AvatarImg

Debby F.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great platform to post videos.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I loved the level of professionalism. Streaming was fast with no glitches. I got my work done quickly thanks to their excellent streaming quality.

Cons

Since I am on the user side of the software, I can't really think of negative things, except when I once had a problem and their customer service department weren't quick to respond.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alex M.

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kaltura Video helped me use my school's LMS more efficiently

Reviewed 5 years ago

learning needs have been met, and that's always great!

Pros

I loved being able to upload videos to my school's LMS using Kaltura

Cons

Clunky design in certain areas made it counter intuitive

LM
AvatarImg

Louis M.

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We ran a trial of Kaltura to see how it would perform in classroom use

Reviewed 6 years ago

Ease of use, good video quality, and more participation from my students watching the films for class.

Pros

I loved the ease of use compared to the old system we used that required login, the proper Java files, and a lot of patience. The video quality was excellent and the ability to set up pages in Canvas was a plus

Cons

I didn't not like anything about Kaltura. Our college decided to go with Ilos, and I never could figure out why. I liked them the same, and didn't find any problems with Kaltura.

MM
AvatarImg

Marshall M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Working with Kaltura

Reviewed 7 years ago

Kaltura is a good option for companies looking to host videos but is not comfortable using Vimeo or YouTube. Kaltura gives control of many aspects important to hosting videos. The web interface and upload process are straightforward and easy to implement into any organization.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dale W.

Consumer Goods, self-employed

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Kaltura can be Kalulating

Reviewed 4 years ago

It was frustrating but took a learning curve to finally figure it out. Upload is slow in my opinion.

Pros

The ability to record a PowerPoint presentation and have another screen with three options for actual presentation.

Cons

The technology adaptability was murder. Could not resolve some issues for the camera yet no way to figure it out.