App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

PDF Studio Logo

PDF software for document creation, editing, and review

(8)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

PDF Studio Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

59

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.54/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

jotform-4-0
logicaldoc

Pros and cons

This app is the best in pdf making and with all the other unique features. Very good interface and user friendly app.
It have optical character recognition capabilities. The best thing is that it is cross-platform and works flawlessly on Linux, Windows, and Macbooks.
I would say the best part of this product is that is affordable while maintaining all the capabilities the more expensive products like Adobe Acrobat brings.
Sometimes finding support for the product is difficult. Their user guide and knowledge database is difficult to navagate and a little cumbersome.
Honestly, the only negative that I can see is that it is not free.
No way to add keyboard shortcuts (like most of other applications unfortunately). Poor options to customize interface.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


59 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Luca D.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Super complete, fast and powerful PDF editor

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to edit a pdf, do everything I did with Acrobat Pro without a problem Very fast and include a lot a functionality, maybe more than Adobe

Cons

Integration with onedrive not fully working on my ubuntu

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ray A.

Research, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PDF Studio 2019- solid choice for Linux users, researchers, who want a cross-platform solution.

Reviewed 4 years ago

PDF Studio is reliable tool for annotating PDFs. It is fast, easy to use, has a good UI that allows users to switch between the tradition menu bar and a ribbon bar. I use it daily for reducing the size of PDFs and converting them to png image formats for distribution.

Pros

It is truly cross-platform- I used it on my Linux, Windows, and Apple systems without any problem. Its one of the few PDF editors for Linux. It's easy to use- the menu is well designed and its much easier to find the tools I need than Adobe Acrobat with its convoluted odd menu system. It has reliable OCR built into the software and good tools for optimizing PDFs (reducing size) and for saving as image files (jpeg, png, tiff, etc).

Cons

It cannot open dynamic XFA forms, but considering that most non-Adobe PDF editors can't read them, its not unusual. Dynamic XFA forms are uncommon PDF forms render drawing and layout information. Even Adobe products don't properly support them. Unfortunately, our office used these forms regularly.

KE
AvatarImg

Kev E.

Environmental Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Does not work on Mac Studio M1 Pro

Reviewed a year ago

I used it daily for years and then upon upgrading last year it continually disappoints. Since I had used it for a long time and spent a lot of time and effort with customer support to try and get the 2022 version running properly, I figured that the 2023 offering would have fixed all the issues that I had highlighted to the Quoppa people, but no, it's exactly the same.

Pros

Great feature set. Adn ability to use scaled drawings and measurements

Cons

Back in 2012 (PDF Studio 12) it was fully reliable, but the recent iterations (2022 and 2023) do not work on Mac Studio M1 Max computer. Simple copy / paste errors, can't delete some annotations, print to JPG often misses some annotations, so exported jpg's are incomplete, can't re-order objects (send to back or bring to front does not work)

RW
AvatarImg

Robert W.

Consumer Electronics, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Finally a PDF editor that is fast and smooth even on huge architectural drawing.

Reviewed 7 months ago

Fantastic. Because of the tab tool bar interface, I can find tools I did not know existed and try them and because of the tap tool bar, it is not overly cluttered.

Pros

Love the interface and ease of finding the tools.

Cons

App does not respect my Logi Options mouse settings. Zooms to fast with mouse wheel.

EL
AvatarImg

Emil L.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PDF Studio: A Review of its features and limitations

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have mixed feelings about the software. On one hand, the software has great features such as creating, editing, and annotating PDFs, creating PDF forms, merging and splitting PDFs, adding and editing bookmarks, links, headers, and footers, adding and editing digital signatures and export PDFs to multiple formats. The interface is user-friendly. However, it can be expensive, the interface can be cluttered,...

Pros

Its features have really wowed me. My work has become much more effective because I can easily create, edit, and annotate PDFs. For me, being able to create PDF forms is a game-changer because it eliminates the need for other software to perform this function. Another excellent feature is the ability to split and merge PDF files. I also value the addition and editing of Bates numbers, watermarks, headers, links, and headers and footers. Another benefit is having the option to add and edit digital signatures. Additionally, it is very helpful to have the choice to export PDFs to a variety of formats, including Word, Excel, and HTML. Easy navigation is provided by the user-friendly interface. All in all, if you need a dependable PDF editing program, I heartily suggest PDF Studio.

Cons

Although PDF Studio has some excellent features, it also has some drawbacks, which I recently discovered. Comparatively speaking to other PDF editing software available on the market, the price of the program is high. Some users may find the interface frustrating due to how cluttered and challenging it is to navigate. Some users might find it problematic that the software might need a powerful computer...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Anil P.

Information Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Complete PDF editing suite

Reviewed 2 years ago

PDF Studio has a user-friendly design and is the finest alternative to Adobe Acrobat. It is quick, simple to use, and has a nice user interface.

Pros

It is the best PDF editor and converter available with a low-cost perpetual license. It have optical character recognition capabilities. The best thing is that it is cross-platform and works flawlessly on Linux, Windows, and Macbooks.

Cons

I've never had any big issues using PDF Studio. However, the OCR tool did not always recognize the text.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Pdf

Reviewed 10 months ago

a tool we use every day to read fichesir pdf

Pros

a good tool for converting text, images, formatting to pdf format

Cons

it will have to offer a lot of editing functionality

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Surya P.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best PDF Editor & Converter with perpetual license

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience is pleasant, and it is one of the best alternative if you are finding a perpetual license based pdf editor.

Pros

The best thing about Qoppa PDF studio is that it comes with one time purchase/perpetual license and it provides all the features which are expected of a pdf editor.

Cons

There is no PDF to PPT (Power point Presentation) conversion option, they must improve the GUI, and auto update is of very slow download speed.

MG
AvatarImg

Miguel G.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Probably the best PDF tool for linux

Reviewed 6 years ago

I truly recommend this software to any linux user who need a good PDF software but for reading or edit them, it works solid when PDF converting and it is really god for e signing them.

Pros

It is probably the best PDF program in linux, we use it to edit our pdfs and electronic signing them and both functions are extremely easy to use, they are just one click away. Also it's document conversion is pretty solid and for linux you probably wont find another software that converts pdf as good as this one.

Cons

The free version will add a watermark, which is kind of annoying but I guess necessary for them. Also it would be better if they allowed for more customizing option to it's interface

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jamie O.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Intuitive and comfortable

Reviewed 6 years ago

Linux compatibility, not Adobe. Nothing against Adobe, but I don't need to spend that much money and go through the licensing nightmare for just a few occasional edits.

Pros

Smooth transition from Acrobat, same functionality. Installation on Linux was trouble-free, was running OCR on a document within about 30 seconds.

Cons

Have not found any negatives so far. Honestly, the only negative that I can see is that it is not free. Libre Office is open source and is every bit as powerful as MS Office

JM
AvatarImg

John M.

Online Media, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Professional Top-notch PDF Studio

Reviewed 2 years ago

PDF Studio has become an integral part of our daily routine, enabling us to quickly and easily read all of the relevant data science notes. It has everything you need to read PDFs and Word documents before sending them off to be processed by other businesses. With its help, the drawings are annotated.

Pros

Create PDFs from Word documents, images, and scanned documents with the help of PDF Studio. In my experience using it on a regular basis, it is more than adequate for the PDF-related tasks you describe. Marking up your drawings is a breeze, and you can lock all comments so that nobody but you can make changes to them. In addition, the vault function is useful. This program can be accessed from any device with an internet connection, including phones, tablets, laptops, and even Whatsapp and email.

Cons

The only thing I don't like about it is that it doesn't come with every watermark header and footer needed for construction drawings. I've done a ton of work on this that PDF-XChange can't. We believe the prices are reasonable all around.

MG
AvatarImg

Michael G.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Good Alternative To More Expensive PDF Softwares

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We use this as an alternative to more expensive softwares that require a subscription. Besides a few polish issues, it meets everyone of our needs with pdf documents.

Cons

The UI is outdated and it's hard to convince people who have used other softwares to use this one instead, but that's not the fault of the product.

KM
AvatarImg

Kwok M.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An almost completely paperless office!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Combining image files, spreadsheets, Word docs in to one clean PDF file. Big savings on paper, printer ink and the whole hassle of shredding!

Pros

Qoppa PDF Studio 12 Pro has helped us become virtually paperless. We're able to combine a range of documents from image files to word docs into one single PDF file. No more printing and scanning of client documents. Giving us big savings on paper and ink (and all the time, cost and mess of shredding!). Simple to use. Great customer support. No need to take confidential documents around with you to carry on working on them.

Cons

Due to different sized documents being combined some pages appear smaller than others. This can be adjusted by enlarging the page but would be great if all pages appeared the same size - which they do if the PDF file is printed.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nikolaos Z.

Market Research, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One of the best pdf editors for Linux

Reviewed 3 years ago

In my company we need to use the same tools over different operating systems for security purposes and also for a universal approach to the solutions we provide. However, we have user machines running in windows and remote servers running Linux. As far as I know this is the best PDF solutions that runs smoothly across different OS platforms.

Pros

PDF Studio enables editing in Mac and most importantly Linux OS. It is much cheaper that Adobe Acrobat and has quality signing options. It has optical character recognition features even for non OCR documents.

Cons

I have never encountered any serious problems with PDF Studio and never wanted to do something that this editor couldn't do. In my opinion, what could be done differently is reduce the RAM and CPU consumption of this software.

ND
AvatarImg

Nick D.

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Affordable and great customer services but difficult to use

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The app is cheaper than others and the customer services is great with quick response to inquiries.

Cons

It's really difficult to use, especially if you have used Acrobat before. Text addition: you can't change the font type or size. Once you have added the text, you cannot edit it any more. With Acrobat, I simply double clicked on the added text to edit it.Signature: The signature photo is always on top of the text so it has to resize to fit in the box without covering the line.Convert PDF to Excel: It cannot convert to Excel properly. Mostly it put all the data into a single cell.I haven't tried other tools yet but such above tools make me disappointed.

CM
AvatarImg

Cristian M.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Tool with Great Features

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is more affordable, the tools are easy to find and easy to use, easy to convert to different formats.

Cons

You can't move the text that you are writing in the text. PDFFiller, for example, you can move the text box and by just clicking on top of the text box at anytime, the box becomes available and ready to edit the text. Here, once I finish writing, I can't change the text or move the text around or edit the text. I have to go back and start all over again. It's the only thing that I saw that I didn't like.

HT
AvatarImg

Helia T.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for text recognition

Reviewed 2 years ago

A good and cheaper alternative to Adobe Acrobat. PDF Studio has great quality!

Pros

What I liked more about PDF Studio is the text recognition feature and possibility of digitally sign PDF. At my company we could extract data from thousand of PDF files so it help us to build a solid information data bank.

Cons

I would recommend the developers to build a better help guide and increase the algorithm speed because it should be greater if OCR could run faster.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best PDF Software Available!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Have used it for more than a year along side Adobe and other software and find our business transitioning to PDF Studio for nearly all our work because of it's simplicity, immediate and capable customer support, and support of all major OS'es, including Linux.

Pros

1. Full OS Compatibility (Linux/Mac/Win- Unlike Adobe). 2. Ease of use (gentle learning curve). 3. Customer Support (Immediate capable help). 4. Features for quick and efficient business use (supports Java, quick image signatures etc). 5. Much better than Adobe and other main-stream alternatives. 6. Each software license allowed for use on 2 computers. 7. Software license can be transferred (in the event of computer sales, etc). 8. Regularly updated.

Cons

1. Takes an email to remove old computers from software license (they may be changing this so the user can change the computer(s) the license key is associated with -in the event of sale, etc.). 2. Nothing else comes to mind...

AW
AvatarImg

ALEX W.

Information Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Strong Acrobat alternative

Reviewed 8 years ago

I was looking for a decent alternative to Acrobat, as it was the last thing my dad needed to make the switch to Linux. Tired of paying per month for proprietary software I wouldn't actually own, I went on a quest to find multi-platform PDF editing software. Unfortunately, it isn't FOSS, however, the license is owned in perpetuity and you are helping out lesser known devs who've made a great product. Pros...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

DS
AvatarImg

Dragos S.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This seems to me to be the only real alternative to Adobe Acrobat on Linux

Reviewed 6 years ago

Easily signing digitally PDFs with my hardware token.

Pros

I mainly need a PDF program in order to digitally sign (with a smartcard / digital token) different documents and, as Adobe killed its Linux offering, PDF Studio shaped up as the only alternative. It can use PKCS#12 certificates as well as PKCS#11 smart cards/tokens, which no other Linux program can manage (at least at this level of convenience and streamlining). It is the only Linux program that I found that creates a Sign here field in the PDF document which can then be used to digitally sign with a single click. It also works well to validate the signatures and has a great level of detail regarding it (certificates, trust chain etc.).

Cons

The only criticism I have is the interface - I use it on Gnome 3 and the Java look does not mesh well with the other apps and the fonts are not that good-looking, but it's not too bad either (compared to other Java apps).

KL
AvatarImg

Kenny L.

Security and Investigations, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PDF Studio Professional excellent replacement for Adobe Acrobat

Reviewed 5 years ago

Just take my word and try it before you buy it. You can download and install it onto your computer and try it out for free. I

Pros

I am an avid Windows & Mac man. Now I have switched to Linux Mint and Adobe is not supported on Linus Mint. This caused me to shop around and find the best PDF editor. Well PDF Pro is an excellent product. What I found is how easy it is to use and run this program. It is cross platform and the give you two computer with one license key. This product costs a fraction of what Adobe charges.

Cons

I have nothing negative to say about this software.

VK
AvatarImg

Vadim K.

Legal Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Many useful features, but outdated interface, bulky and slow app, not worth it

Reviewed 2 years ago

They didn't upgrade my licence regardless these problems. Will use it for appending pages, but that's the only thing I might need it. Otherwise built-in MacOS Preview and Foxit does all the rest even better!

Pros

Many useful features, price (one time payment and relatively low)

Cons

Outdated design. Not very user friendly implementation. Renders every page of a multipage documents one by one - for up to 1-2 seconds each!! And even after rendering, doesn't load into RAM properly, so when you going back to it, it rerenders! Absolutely impossible to work like that. Switched to a free and better tool (Foxit). It happens to a 100 pages document (around 200 mb) on a Intel 9 Windows 10 machine, as well as on M1 Macbook Pro... No feature for table of contents that would be recognised in other readers.

si
AvatarImg

sara i.

Design, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Excellent PDF For my work

Reviewed 3 years ago

He helped me with the tasks i work on and it was always the right choice for me because of his easy and speed.

Pros

1. Windows has full OS compatibility. 2. The ease with which it can be used. 3.Updated on a regular basis.

Cons

i dont have anything to dislike in the software until now.

PL
AvatarImg

Philippe L.

Environmental Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Best Alternative

Reviewed a year ago

It is such a relief when a product *just works* how you want it to.

Pros

PDF Studio has all the features without cluttering the user interface. Tools that are usually a little more complicated to use are surprisingly intuitive in PDF Studio. Not to mention they offer a perpetual license at a fraction of the price of popular competitors' annual subscriptions...

Cons

I haven't managed to get the dark theme to work. And I am not really bothered by this.

RF
AvatarImg

Rui F.

Photography, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

PDF Studio my expirience

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've been a Designer for the past 20 years and I never thought I would find a product that would make my life easier. PDF Studio is an amazing tool that has cut down on design time by 60%. It's so intuitive and easy to use that anyone could manage it without difficulty. It's my favorite tool of all time.

Pros

PDF Studio is a great software if you don't have much knowledge of the language and what it can do. What I loved most about this software is that it's super simple to use and has a variety of functions which will make you wonder why you've been using word all these years.

Cons

I am a designer and use PDF Studio on a daily basis. The interface is complicated and it takes time to learn it. I don't like that the features are not easy to find within the software itself.