DESTINI Estimator Reviews

DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

4.43/5 (14 reviews)

Pros
  • This brought all of our estimating functions into one software package.
  • Flexibility in switching between cost codes / WBS's Integrated Takeoff within suite
  • Highly flexible for sorting and viewing data. Easy to produce custom breakdown reports with the Dashboard.
  • Very intuitive to use. Much more flexible than many of the legacy software systems we have used in the past.
Cons
  • None thus far. Great gains in productivity in the department
  • Takeoff tool could be better. They have committed to upgrading.
  • the survey will not allow me to say that I do not have any cons
  • -Involved software setup period -User interface can be tricky sometimes
100%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague
Jeff Caffery

Great Commercial Contracting Estimating Software

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-06-25
Review Source: Capterra

Great, we are very pleased with Destini Estimator.

Pros
-Easy to use, intuitive -Constantly updated & improved -Customization -Accurate -Targeted to preconstruction, not a suite of software products -Good customer service & training

Cons
-Involved software setup period -User interface can be tricky sometimes

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

Melissa Love

Sundt Construction's Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-27
Review Source: Capterra

Our overall experience with Beck has been fantastic. We started using DProfiler about 10 years ago and have worked closely with the company to develop the features within Estimator. They are a company who listens to their costumers needs and have dedicated themselves to further enhancing the software.

Pros
The greatest pro of Estimator is the ability to easily sort and display pricing, allowing for changes and updates to made easily. The database our company works with includes preset coding for CSI, Procurement Packages, Systems Format, etc. to allow an Estimator to quickly export information into whatever format an Owner or team member may prefer. This preset ability to sort line items, also allows an Estimator to easily access any project within the company and have the ability to easily sort or find information to their preference.

Cons
A con would be the updating of software. This con comes with a pro, in the sense that Beck Tech has listened to the market and our needs and are frequently updating the software to meet the ever-changing market and technology upgrades. However, the added con is the updating of unit pricing and database information as well as someone managing the software updates to be able to use the software to its fullest potential.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

Jason Cagle

Experienced User

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-25
Review Source: Capterra

I have a background as an extensive MC2 and Timberline user. Estimator seems to have the ease of use and robust sorting capabilities of MC2, which I have really enjoyed. Adding/creating line items is easy. My experience with the 2D takeoff tool is that it's not robust enough for me to use on a regular basis and needs significant improvement to be a contender with OST, especially for larger projects that require QTO to be broken out into different zones. I have extensive experience creating takeoff assemblies inside the program and have been pleased with the ease with which it can be done. Creating reports seems non-user friendly. However, that was a challenge in MC2 as well with its Crystal Reports plug-in. Timberline isonly slightly easier in that respect.

Pros
The ease of creating WBS codes and the user friendliness of sorting estimates is its strongest attribute. The ability to program assemblies is also strong. The ability to link the estimate directly to quantity takeoff can be beneficial.

Cons
The 2D takeoff tool lacks some critical functionality that keeps me from using it as my primary takeoff tool. (zones/layers) I'm accustomed to using a QTO tool as a record of an estimator's takeoff that can be accessed by others. The Estimator 2D takeoff tool doesn't seem to allow that functionality.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

Blake Shrauner

Estimator Review

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-07-01
Review Source: Capterra

I think estimator is a great program that will be great once certain features are introduced to assist overall workflow.

Pros
I like that it has estimating capabilities incorporated into the program. Took me awhile to figure out how to connect costs, but once I did it was helpful.

Cons
There are several features missing that would create an easier workflow. I would like to see the program include a drop-down list of some kind for organizing drawings and be able to click on them and jump directly to pages. It would also be helpful to have some sort of indication next to the pages that shows which have takeoff in them. It would also be nice to have some sort of shared file storage so that a network of people could have access to projects and be able to work and see a variety of projects. Another feature that would be helpful is to have a way to turn layers on and off to eliminate clutter in the takeoff sheet. Maybe be able to turn bid tab's on and off.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

Rob Major

Great product & great team!

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-06-17
Review Source: Capterra

We have streamlined a previously disconnected process.

Pros
This brought all of our estimating functions into one software package.

Cons
Takeoff tool could be better. They have committed to upgrading.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

Jonathan Randall

DEstimator Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
DEstimator has been a great tool for us in our estimating process. Great sorting and filtering functions, 2D and 3D takeoff capabilities, estimate comparisons, etc. all have helped make us a more efficient estimating team. Another great pro is the support staff from Beck Technologies -- the best customer service I have ever had from a software company.

Cons
Don't really have any, just the internal struggle to keep up with their releases. Because they listen to their customers, they are constantly testing and releasing new features, which can be hard to keep up with if your internal IT processes aren't as agile.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

Brian Marks

Estimator Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Highly flexible for sorting and viewing data. Easy to produce custom breakdown reports with the Dashboard.

Cons
Currently does not have the ability for more than one estimator to be using the software at the same time. That feature is coming soon though.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

Greg Hurlock

Timesaver

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-09
Review Source: Capterra

We have been able to seamlessly transition to a location/component segregated bid tab excel spreadsheet that the entire staff can use.

Pros
Transfer from D-Profiler. WBS codes, flexibility. Transition to excel bid tab spreadsheet is seamless, resulting in a powerful tool to analyze bids and ensure a complete estimate. Best estimating software I've ever seen and I've used them all.

Cons
Screens are actually a bit complicated to open and arrange. Loses the quantity formulas that originated from D-Profiler.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

Donnie Mixon

Excellent Product

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-24
Review Source: Capterra

Isolating costs for Uniformat vs Bid Tab vs Base/Alt is really handy. You always have a clear picture of what is included in your estimate.

Pros
What I love about Estimator is the ease of sorting estimates. You can find a particular item using the numerous sorting options by WBS properties.

Cons
The 2D takeoff is a little cumbersome. Linking existing takeoff to new items can be a hassle.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

Anonymous

The rocketship to the future.

Used occasionally for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-01-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
DESTINI Estimator helps our business work more efficiently and effectively. We've been doing estimates in much of the same manner for close to 60 years. DESTINI brought our business into the 21st century. We are now quicker and more accurate with our bids.

Cons
Due to the range of options for each aspect of a bid, it takes a little work to understand. The training time for each employee has ranged from 8-30 hours based on their knowledge of computers and how bids are put together.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

Matt Hammer

Forward-Thinking

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-04-09
Review Source: Capterra

We have a great working relationship with Beck Technology. They have Best-In-Class customer service, and are willing to help us long after we have "gone live" with the product.

Pros
Estimator is built around feedback from the industry. The functionality continues to evolve with each new version based on input from its users, which is relatively rare as far as estimating software goes.

Cons
Creating assemblies is cumbersome - too many clicks and inputs to achieve the outputs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

Michael Hurley

Review

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-03-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Flexibility in switching between cost codes / WBS's Integrated Takeoff within suite

Cons
Can be a bit overwhelming at first, I anticipate there will be a learning curve for newer users

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

Alexander Hango

New Estimating Software

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-03-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Very intuitive to use. Much more flexible than many of the legacy software systems we have used in the past.

Cons
None thus far. Great gains in productivity in the department

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution

David Wise

President engaged in the purchase and a high veiw of its performance

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-06-17
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent

Pros
I like that thus far the estimating software and the support have been very much in line with the discussions during the sale of the software. MY estimating team says the software operates as they had expected and that the support from the rep has surpassed their expectations

Cons
the survey will not allow me to say that I do not have any cons

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


DESTINI Estimator

Construction estimating and takeoff management solution