Alpha Anywhere Reviews

Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

4.77/5 (31 reviews)

Philip Samuels

THE Application Development Platform for Web and Mobile

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-14
Review Source: Capterra

First, a confession: I'm a former MS Access developer (please don't judge me!). I converted to Access from DOS-based dBase IV. I discovered Alpha 5, several years ago, from an e-mail ad (that's what it used to be called... it became "Alpha Anywhere" a couple of years ago in order to highlight its ability to develop on multiple platforms). The offered a free trial, so I decided to give it a try. Well, after 2 weeks, I was hooked. The applications I develop now dwarf those I'd developed previously. I'm doing things that would never be possible in Access... and giving my customers "cloud" access to their apps. If you're a serious business application developer, you should certainly give it a try! Here are some things you should know (the good and the not-so-good): As an Access developer, I loved that could use the back-end tables and queries in Alpha. That made the transition much faster. Now, most of my new applications, use SQL Server (added security, reliability and scalability), but I wouldn't fault anyone who stuck with Access tables (they're easier to create). Alpha lets you use almost any SQL-based application (MySQL, Access, SQL Server, Oracle, etc.) for your data set and even includes its own "dbf" format. They advertise Alpha as "codeless" development. Well, that's a bit misleading. YES, you can develop basic applications with little or no coding, but I've found that you'll need to learn some javascript and XBasic, if you need your application to do more than rudimentary data entry and retrieval. That was my biggest struggle. With Access, I really needed only VBA. XBasic and javascript are more powerful and more complex. Even now, I feel like I have a lot to learn about javascript. Alpha still needs to work on its documentation (their new documentation site is much improved), but their "message board" is great and the Alpha community is a terrific resource to help you get ideas and resolve issues. I've fully installed more than a dozen full-scale applications (on public servers and my own servers) and I couldn't be more satisfied with the experience. I'd recommend Alpha Anywhere to any developer that's in it "for the long haul." It will grow as you do.

Pros
Flexibility in choosing the platform and destination and flexibility in choosing the back-end data set. I love how much you can do, without having to resort to writing code

Cons
I wish there was a place I could call, when I ran into an obstacle. If I can't get an answer to my problem, I have to hire an independent consultant on an hourly basis. I'd rather pay a fee to get access to a phone line that could help me.

Response from Alpha Software


Thanks for your feedback, Philip!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Richard Mumma

Great WEB and Mobile Rapid Application Development software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-01-08
Review Source: Capterra

I have no formal programing training other than self taught knowledge. I was using Delphi to create desktop applications for tracking to progress of building permit through the review and inspection process. I was hoping to move from a desktop application to a web based application and was looking for a easy to use platform to develop Web based application. At some point I discovered Alpha software and downloaded the trial version. I was able to build a fully functional permit tracking application in a very short time, with very little coding in the background. Alpha's development environment was similar to Borland Dephi (using Visual Pascal), i.e., it is an object oriented, event driven, rapid development environment that allows the user to set properties to control desired results. Initially, I used an Alpha mentor to help with some of the coding in XBasic and JavaScript. Now I need little support to work in Alpha Anywhere. More recently, I have been developing mobile based applications using tools included in Alpha Anywhere. The most difficult element of building mobile applications using Alpha Anywhere and Phone Gap has been getting through Apple Developer requirements for publishing. I would recommend Alpha Anywhere to develop web based, client server applications, for developers at any level of programing experience. For those like me, with only self taught knowledge, it works great. For developers with a strong programing background, the application is flexible enough to allow customization.

Pros
The ability to develop very robust web based an mobile applications with little coding. The applications I have developed are very stable in use.

Cons
The development platform has a tendency to be unstable. It is not unusual for the software to lock up during use. I have used the software on a number of machines with similar results, it can just lock up with no recovery at any time. I would recommend saving work often. The platform uses a number of programing languages such as, HTML, JavaScript, Jason, and Xbasic. Each is a little different and can get frustrating when coding.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Randy Pichler

Decent software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2020-01-08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The software makes it easy to create a quick and dirty application in little time as long as it is a simple application

Cons
Complicated applications require a very advanced understanding of javascript and xbasic. The annual cost that Alpha Software charges increases a lot every time that I renew the licence.

Response from Alpha Software


Hi, Randy -
We appreciate your review of Alpha Software. Thank you!

Re: Complexity - Consider Alpha Mentoring for help you with any challenges you run into. Or consider our no-code product Alpha TransForm, https://www.alphasoftware.com/alpha-transform-overview-and-free-trial

Re: Pricing - Historically, we've kept our prices extremely low and have slowly increased price to reflect advanced and industry-first features we're adding to the platform (robust offline, on-device data storage, Alpha Cloud, etc.). I think you'll find we have extremely competitive pricing vs. what you see for other low-code products. We publish our prices online:
https://www.alphasoftware.com/pricing
https://www.alphasoftware.com/alpha-transform-pricing

If you have further questions please contact sales@alphasoftware.com

Thanks again for your business and for the review!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Stephen Gibson

Professional Caliber Rapid Development Software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-08-28
Review Source: Capterra

Have been using Alpha Anywhere for a few years. It has allowed me to build and deploy a completely custom web application with a SQL database backend complete with administration tools, inventory lists, purchasing, email notifications and full featured reporting.

Pros
Development with this software is extremely rapid. I really like that Alpha Anywhere does the heavy lifting in terms of taking care of all the behind the scene coding. Yet at the same time you are completely free to customize any and all code to your hearts content. In that regard it is the perfect software for both the novice and seasoned pro. Alpha is continually moving forward with new and exciting capabilities. Support is great and the online Forum community is vibrant, active and willing to help when needed.

Cons
Maybe a little expensive for non-corporate customers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Michael Cornford

Easy to use yet powerful

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-08-29
Review Source: Capterra

Developed multiple products over a period of 5 years. They all run in the browser so suitable for Intranet and Internet. My applications are always heavy in data. I need tools to connect to databases and tools to visualise the data. Alpha allows custom HTML, CSS and Javascript there is nearly no restriction on using 3rd party libraries.

Pros
Simple to build complex security. Connects seamlessly to multiple data sources. No restriction on how many database connections per page. The message board is well supported. There are 1,000 plus short videos that explain most features. You can always add to the basic structure whether it is Bootstrap or AngularJS

Cons
Sometimes if you are determined to use your own CSS and Html within a component then there is a little work to neutralise the base Alpha page setup.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Scott Moore

A powerful tool that is easy to integrate with external services

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-10-21
Review Source: Capterra

Alpha Anywhere allows you to build powerful web applications (both mobile and desktop) at a fraction of the cost/time vs. using open source tools. One thing that has really improved in the last few years is they have made it very easy to integrate Alpha Anywhere with external services like Stripe, PhoneGap, Mandrill, Amazon etc. and if you want you can easily roll your own integration with their easy to use Node.js tools. End users (at least in my case) expect to be able to integrate their data with the popular sites they use and Alpha Anywhere makes this possible. The ability to code where you want and drag and drop at other times also makes the development environment a pleasure to work with.

Pros
-Includes numerous built-in-features such as mapping integration, calendar, PhoneGap. -Speed to develop. -Supportive User Community -Reasonable price

Cons
None

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Scott Lines

Alpha Anywhere is a great development tool.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-12-13
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using Alpha Anywhere for over 8 years and have developed a plethora of commercial applications for a wide range of industries. I've been strictly a web developer with recent mobile applications development. I cannot say enough good things about Alpha Anywhere and the team behind it. The software is always being enriched with new capabilities and functionality. There is a terrific support team that responds quickly to any request. And there is a community of developers that is always willing to help. I recommend Alpha to every developer and enterprise that has a goal of developing high quality web and mobile applications.

Pros
Full featured and constantly improving.

Cons
There is so much to this product that at times it is difficult to find the functionality that I'm looking for.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

James Talbott

Alpha user for over 20 years

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-12-13
Review Source: Capterra

I have used Alpha Software in its various forms since 1993, starting with the DOS version, then moving to the Windows version, and now the web and mobile version. We use it exclusively in this office to create custom applications for businesses. We are a two person shop and tie this RAD product to MS SQL Server for the back-end database. What keeps us using Alpha is its constant innovation in the product and its response to developers' requests. On at least two occasions, I have requested minor changes to the interface and those requests have been implemented within 24 hours. Keep up the good work, Alpha Software.

Pros
Ease of use, wide variety of features, how it ties into SQL and javascript

Cons
Not widely known and often have to explain to clients who Alpha Software is

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Robin Bennett

Unbeatable multi-platform development environment

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-10-21
Review Source: Capterra

We use Alpha Anywhere in our development shops in the UK and Indonesia having switched from Microsoft products back in 2012. The move to Alpha has meant that we can build systems more quickly, for more platforms (including mobile and apps) and using a wider range of "standard" technologies than we previously had access to via MS development tools. Highly recommended both to software houses and in-house corporate developers.

Pros
great support from developers, multi-platform, "does everything"

Cons
the systems and apps developed sometimes need a visual "polish" (the built-in templates/designs are being refreshed I believe)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Frank William

Alpha Anywhere - flexible, powerful, affordable

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-22
Review Source: Capterra

We use Alpha Anywhere to quickly build very solid apps for clients. This solution ensures speed, flexible and reliability, thus enhancing productivity and leading to happy and satisfied clients.

Pros
The thing I like best about Alpha Anywhere is how incredibly easy it is use it, even for users that aren't experienced. Another thing is that's, considering the features it's packed with, it's really quite affordable. Most other solutions with similar features are far more expensive than Alpha Anywhere. I also love the support I get from the team behind this software. They're great to work with, knowledgeable and constantly improving the product.

Cons
The only thing I can complain about is the rather limited documentation, though it's not really a big problem as the software is very easy to use and they have great support if one ever needs them.

Response from Alpha Software


Thanks for the review, Frank. We're pleased to hear you enjoy the product. We are continually working to improve our documentation and appreciate the feedback.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Spencer Cook

It is powerful, but it is not as easy as they would claim it to be.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-07-13
Review Source: Capterra

Easy application development.

Pros
It is a powerful solution for highly customized applications. It allows creating web pages with dynamic data quickly with little code. It has a lot to offer to developers who need to get information from users and display that information to other users. It connects to many if not all external servers. It allows for a complex security system that gives the access to those that need it and restricts it to those that don't need or shouldn't have it.

Cons
It gets pretty complicated and the pricing just doubled. The application uses a lot of resources, so make sure your computer can handle it when you are dealing with a lot of data and controls. Ther server is stable, but I do need to restart it when I get a lot of users, maybe a once a week, I hope an update will fix that.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Mark Willard

Great and Fastest App Development App

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-01-18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I have been using Alpha Software more than 10 years in various settings (from nonprofit to commercials). It requires very little knowledge to develop an app. The more you create DB apps, the better you get. The best part I like about alpha five is how interactive and less coding the development environment is.

Cons
Which X-basic was more interaction. Sometime I ran into issue with the builtin PDF printer on windows 2012 server. It does not work correctly. Also, I wish the web app development was as simple as creating desktop app.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Frank Zwolinski

MS Access to Alpha Anywhere Transition

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2016-12-13
Review Source: Capterra

I am an old MS Access dog and wanted to learn web/mobile development quickly. I tried many other tools but always ran into a wall. Alpha Anywhere is flexible and easy to get things done. As I learn more, I see many other features under the hood that allow me to refine and customize my apps. I believe I can accomplish any function with Alpha Anywhere without running into a wall. My first mobile development application for a schedule check in/out function for 50+ users has worked as intended. I continually improve and refine features as I learn more. I have also developed several dashboard applications using Google charts embedded in my Alpha Anywhere project. I highly recommend Alpha Anywhere.

Pros
Easy and flexibility

Cons
Documentation and finding the syntax for uncommon features.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Ger Kurvers

Great for developers who prefer to work within one environment

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-08-25
Review Source: Capterra

I't our second development environment in 25 years. Five years ago we started using ist when we needed to make a switch to rewrite our business centres solution for web. Then it was a gamble. We never regretted that gamble

Pros
One tool for web and mobile on all platforms. Regular new features. Outstanding support. Always multiple options to skin the cat.

Cons
Documentation fragmented. Pricy (but bearable). Sales is a bit spamming.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Kyle McNally

Alpha Anywhere speeds up our web development cycle

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-12-13
Review Source: Capterra

Alpha Anywhere does a great job at very quickly getting a solution out into the wild. It's been great using it for years. Overall, it saves us a lot of time and let's complex features be implemented into our application with the click of a checkbox. It also gives us the power to be able to run custom code to make our application even more specialized to our needs.

Pros
Ease of use, speed to solution

Cons
Messy code is created, bugs exist in IDE, slow release cycle

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Lee Haddox

Right tool for the job

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-12-13
Review Source: Capterra

As a software developer, I am always looking for new tools to add to my toolbox, so that I have the right tools available for my customers. Alpha Anywhere is the best tool in my toolbox for Web and Mobile development. With the ease of use and broad range of features, I have been able to develop many systems for many customers more easily, quickly, and made my customers very happy. With the mobile capability, our company was able to develop a couple of mobile applications that we sell using the SaaS model.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Jeremy Scrime

Great Value - Web and Mobile with a single platform

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2016-10-20
Review Source: Capterra

I've used many development platforms and the Alpha Platform is one of my favorites. The product is affordable, flexible, and extremely powerful. The company stands behind their product and the service and support is exceptional. I would not hesitate to recommend this product to anyone looking to develop Web Applications and Mobile Applications.

Pros
Powerful, flexible, and affordable. A very unique combination to have all 3 in 1 platform

Cons
The XBasic backend. They have alternatives such as node.js but I have a .net background and so the first few months it takes a little bit to do any of the advanced stuff while you fumble around learning the equivalent syntax.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Jaco Brooks

A great tool to get things done quickly. Fantastic support, tutorials and documentation

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-09-14
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to rapidly build database software

Pros
The rate at which the product evolves and keeps up with what is current and relevant requirements in the business world

Cons
I am based in South Africa and the user base here is not as prominent as in the USA. More face to face developer interactions would have been great

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Roger Noguera

Excelent software to create bussines Apps. Both for Mobile and for Desktop.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-08-28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Extremly easy to start being productive. Extremely powerful when you become more expert. If you are trying to run away from MS Access this is the way to go.

Cons
It is huge, there are lots and lots of features and is evolving very fast. It is difficult to keep with all the new features.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Russ Brown

A complete solution for desktop, web, SaaS and mobile application development in one package.

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-09-20
Review Source: Capterra

Everything you need in one package to develop desktop, web, mobile and SaaS applications at a very affordable price. Can get results in less time and with far less hand coding and headaches than any other solution out there.

Pros
Provides a one stop solution and a great environment and tools for every aspect of desktop, web, mobile and SaaS application development in one complete package. It especially shines in mobile application offline support. You can be hugely productive without writing any or very little code.

Cons
No drag and drop form designer (but has genies and other tools that make this much less of a problem once you understand it)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Jeremy B.

Fantastic development tool

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-27
Review Source: Capterra

This product makes mobile development quick and fairly easy. I can make certain types of form applications in hours as opposed to a day or two. It's a decent price, but good luck with support.

Pros
- Quick and easy to setup on a development machine - Lots of powerful tools at your hands - Makes mobile development easy to use and teach others to use - Free trial - Well worth the price

Cons
- Can be buggy at times - Support is limited

Response from Alpha Software


Thanks for your review! Glad you like the product. We're constantly working to improve support and response times. Thanks for the candid feedback.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

paul marotta

Alpha Anywhere is our secret weapon

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-01-10
Review Source: Capterra

This software makes it so much faster to create beautiful mobile apps that are functional and user-friendly. VERY POWERFUL DEVELOPMENT SOFTWARE TO SAY THE LEAST!!!

Pros
Its ease and cost

Cons
a lot of bugs in releases

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Bobby Graves

Great Tool

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2016-12-13
Review Source: Capterra

Alpha Anywhere has been a great tool for us. We are able to shorten our development time drastically and ship software quickly. The platform is wide-ranging and allows us to solve many niche problems that our customers face. Alpha's support is incredibly impressive. We usually get a same-day response/solution from them.

Pros
multi-platform, great support

Cons
the UI can be cumbersome at times

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Joel Gol.

Easy to Use

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Smooth sailing, Once setup it worked smoothly

Cons
Depends on very few developers, Limited with updates

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment

Chuck Stewart

Excellent Product

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-12-13
Review Source: Capterra

I've never seen a company that is so focused on the customer. Great product. I recommend this product to everyone.

Pros
Ease of use

Cons
Non that I can think of.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Alpha Anywhere

Low-code mobile & web app development and deployment