App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ABELDent Logo

ABELDent

Dental practice management software for Canadian market

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

ABELDent Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

102

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.07/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The best part has to be the support, the staff at Abeldent are always ready and willing to help in a timely manner and are very knowledgeable and kind.
Outstanding customer service, very curteous and helpful anytime you call. An amazing product that makes our life soo much easier even during the busiest days at the office.
The automated messages by email and text are a huge time saver for the admin staff to confirm upcoming appointments and an amazing way to communicate with patients quickly and effectively.
The only downside I feel is that when printing the primary and secondary insurance you have to go in and do it separately instead of before you can click both to print at the same time.
After sending the claims to insurance , sometimes the amount is sitting under the patient balance not under the insurance. Sometimes sitting wrong amount under insurance or patient balance.
Billing / financial section tends to be a bit difficult to use.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


102 reviews

Recommended

JR
AvatarImg

Janis R.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Abeldent LS+

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been a client with Abeldent for more than 35years and from their business office to technical support they have always been a pleasure to work with. The new Abeldent LS+ has been easy to learn and adapt to, all of our staff have taken to it very quickly.

Pros

Installation was seamless. Tutorials and education provided was easy to follow. In house training the best! Support always helpful and available.

Cons

Needs more information on the business end for accounting. Daily Summarized Totals need to break down as previous programs did. Grand Totals of patients accounts not available in financials.

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing our dental software! We appreciate your long-time loyalty to our product and patience in letting us evolve into the all in one practice management dental software solution we are today. We are pleased that our modern version, ABELDent LS+, has been so easy to learn for your whole team. We look forward to continuing to provide you with top-notch educational content as well as unmatched live answer support. Regarding the accounting aspect, this is great feedback. If possible could we have one of our trainers reach out to you, or you are welcome to contact us. We would like to review these requirements with you and see if there is any insight we can provide to you with future updates.

KS
AvatarImg

Ken S.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AbelDent at Stonley Dental Studio

Reviewed 5 years ago

Patient data and reporting are completely paperless. Reports are very useful and can be run for any and all time frames. The software is excellent for our purposes.

Pros

Software has been specifically designed for dental practices and the training and support has been excellent and very timely.

Cons

Occasionally issues have arisen after an update has been installed that have taken a while for the AbelDent to resolve. The issues never stopped our business from being able to operate. Once reported to AbelDent follow up was immediate and a resolution followed shortly thereafter.

Vendor response

Dear Ken: Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience using ABELDent. We are glad to see the software is meeting your needs and you have had positive experiences with our training and support teams. Our goal when providing updates is to improve existing features as well as provide new functionality but as you have pointed out, sometimes issues arrive glad we were able to resolve them to your satisfaction in a timely fashion.

AC
AvatarImg

Anysah C.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

review

Reviewed 2 years ago

its good but the long hold times for support is CRAZY

Pros

ease of use, good support staff, somewhat of good upgrades

Cons

updates that take away good features and new features that take longer steps

Vendor response

Thank you for leaving your honest feedback of our software. We apologize for any delay you may have experienced with our support team. We have recently upgraded to Canada's #1 phone system, and we are continually trying to improve our processes to minimize wait times for support. We are also continually improving upon our software's features to better promote your practice's productivity. If you require any help with learning to use the new features to their best capabilities, please feel free to contact us for tips and training.

MB
AvatarImg

Manuela B.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

great product

Reviewed 6 years ago

Outstanding customer service, very curteous and helpful anytime you call. An amazing product that makes our life soo much easier even during the busiest days at the office

Pros

It is very user friendly and most tasks are very intuitive and require minimal effort to complete. We keep track of our proposed treatments in a very convenient manner by creating contacts that facilitate the job of the secretary when the time comes to schedule appointments.

Cons

As an office located in Quebec, the fact that it no longer provides french customer care and it cannot send claims to RAMQ directly... things that i think are going to be finally fixed very soon

Vendor response

Your positive feedback validates that we are on the right track and it encourages us to continue providing great system features and customer support. Unfortunately, we are no longer able to provide French customer care but we do continue to provide English language software that includes support for Quebec-specific features. In 2018 RAMQ implemented a new version of their claims system. We are now certified to support that new system, and we are in the final stages of preparing a new update for release that will support this capability.

sg
AvatarImg

sam g.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AbelDent Software Review

Reviewed a year ago

excellent

Pros

The program is very user friendly. Has fast & friendly customer service.

Cons

Sometimes there are glitches within the system that don't allow financial notes to be made.

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing ABELDent's dental software and customer support team. We are always working to improve our software to provide a better practice management experience! We invite you to reach out to us regarding any issues you are having – we want to help you get the best use out of your all in one dental software. Please call us at 1-800-267-ABEL (2235) and press 2 for dental support. We are available 24/7 to help you.

BP
AvatarImg

Brianne P.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Impressed with all the functions and feature of Abledent CS

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I firmly believe that the training for this product was what allowed us to be able to able to take advantage of all the great feature this program has to offer. This company has an amazing team who is there for thier clients. Abledent CS has helped us advance our services and patient experience and have great features to assist in keeping up with COVID-19 protocols.

Cons

We have had a few glitches along the way but all have been resolved in a timely manner.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind and in-depth review of our software. We are happy that our team has met your needs and helped you make the most of our software! We are also pleased to hear that ABELDent CS is helping you advance your services and patient experiences. Our ongoing updates prioritize the health and safety of your team and your patients. We are focused on providing you with COVID-19 documentation and resources to make interactions with your patients safer and more comfortable. We hope you continue to enjoy ABELDent CS, and look forward to providing you with future updates!

DD
AvatarImg

Darlene D.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Abel review

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall is good. Our trainer is fantastic with keeping us informed

Pros

User friendly and easy to find things when there are new staff

Cons

Glitches In the financial screens when payments wont go where u tell them to

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to review ABELDent, our all in one dental software solution on Capterra! We appreciate your honest feedback on your experience with our practice management software. We encourage you to update your ABELDent software regularly to minimize bugs and keep your software running as smoothly as possible. If you are experiencing glitches, please do not hesitate to reach out to our support team! We are happy to help you get the most out of your ABELDent software. We are available 24/7/365 whenever you may need us. Thank you again for your review!

AP
AvatarImg

Alison P.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Dental software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Booking appointments and moving appts, ease of sending insurance claim forms via edi, easy to understand tabs to navigate through the software. The trainer Neetu is outstanding. She responds immediately to our needs. Very personable.

Cons

The financial tab…often need to contact Abeldent to adjust accounting (this comment is from another AR staff person). Wait time is 40 minutes on hold during the day. Eastern time hours in a pacific time zone can get complicated.

Vendor response

Thanks for giving us detailed feedback on our software! We appreciate your in-depth review of our product. We are happy your office benefits from ABELDent's simple navigation and insurance claims setup. We are also glad to hear that Neetu has been providing outstanding support to you and your team! We apologize for the long wait-time you experienced, as we are always striving to reduce wait times. We want to continually ensure that providing timely support is at the top of our minds, and in the future, we are hopeful we can assist you much quicker.

JH
AvatarImg

Jan H.

Medical Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ABELDent Feedback

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Software is easy to use and has many needed features

Cons

Some specific reports and statistics are difficult to obtain

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience using ABELDent. We are glad that you find it easy to use and it provides many of the features you require. With respect to your reporting needs, there are several options available to produce advanced reports and key performance indicators (KPIs). Please contact us at your convenience to discuss how we might better meet your needs.

jA
AvatarImg

joyce A.

Medical Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

installed the able portal, not sure if it is easy to use as we haven't used it yet.

Cons

Some charting conditions are missing. Alternate ID would be nice if it carried throughout chart not just in personal tab.

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing ABELDent dental software! We hope you enjoy using your ABELDent-integrated patient communication system. We also appreciate your feedback on our charting conditions in our charting tab. If you have any suggestions for additions you would like to see in our software, please get in touch with us and let us know! We are happy to hear your suggestions and work on improving ABELDent dental software. If you have any questions about your ABELDent software, we invite you to call us at your convenience – our support team is available 24/7/365.

ES
AvatarImg

Edite S.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Abeldent Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good, prompt customer service in the event that support is needed.

Pros

The single most important thing to any dental office is a full schedule. The automated messages by email and text are a huge time saver for the admin staff to confirm upcoming appointments and an amazing way to communicate with patients quickly and effectively.

Cons

The only thing we have noticed is that the planned worked doesn't get updated on the odontogram.

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing our dental software. We are pleased that our support team has been so quick to help you and meet your needs promptly. We are happy that your team utilizes our time-saving patient communication features! Our new updates will continue to bring improved performance and capabilities to make practice management even easier for your team. Regarding your comment on planned treatment showing in the patient's odontogram, we invite you to reach out to us so we can take a look. Please call us at 1-800-267-2235 and press 2 to speak to us about this, we look forward to hearing from you! Thanks again for reviewing our software!

KN
AvatarImg

Kelli N.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

[sensitive content hidden] is very helpful!! Thank you 😊

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It’s very user friendly and most staff have an easy transition using

Cons

The accounting aspect of the software is not ideal most of the time and I wish texting appointment reminders were included in pricing

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing our all in one dental software! We try to keep our software as accessible and intuitive as possible to provide a simpler experience for everyone. We invite you to contact us about the accounting aspect of the software so that we can hear your feedback on how we can improve ABELDent. Thank you for your thoughts on texting and being included in the pricing. We strive to keep our pricing fair based on the third-party costs we incur. Thank you again for taking the time to review ABELDent dental software!

SC
AvatarImg

Samantha C.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Practice Management Software!

Reviewed 5 years ago

The overall experience with ABELDent is great. The staff working there always go above and beyond for their customers. I have had several very positive outcomes with them and find them all to be highly professional, knowledgeable and friendly.

Pros

Straightforward software, easy to use and train others on. I like the new features that have been added in the billing area. The new features save me so much time when posting payments.

Cons

Nothing too much. The only downside I feel is that when printing the primary and secondary insurance you have to go in and do it separately instead of before you can click both to print at the same time. Other than that its excellent. It's a very minor inconvenience.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to report on your experience using ABELDent. We are glad to see it's meeting your needs and you are happy with the support you are receiving. We plan to address the insurance plan printing request in a future ABELDent enhancement.

cd
AvatarImg

claude d.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

ABELDent version 12.10

Reviewed 3 years ago

Extermely helpful support. Most issues resolved quickly, sometimes bigger issues have to be sent up the chain, but support always gets us up and running. Remote backup service is excellent and also comes with great support

Pros

Generally easy to use. Fantastic support.

Cons

We are running and older version of ABELDent. There are some limitations as far as treatment planning. We would also like to have the ability to text/confirm apts direct through ABELDent without using third party software. It appears that these options are included in the newer versions of ABELDent.

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing ABELDent! We appreciate your feedback on our product, as well as our support team. You are also correct in mentioning the features you specified are available in ABELDent CS and ABELDent LS+, our newer software versions. Please reach out to us if you are interested in upgrading your software, and we can help you find the option that works best for your practice.

JD
AvatarImg

Jillian D.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of Use

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

We use Abel on a day to day bases, we like the ease of use and the access to support when questions are needed.

Cons

We wish treatment manager was alittle more user friendly and you could access all options via that page

Vendor response

Thanks for taking the time to review ABELDent dental software. We are happy to hear that our comprehensive practice management software is easy to use. We are also glad your team finds ABELDent's 24/7 support accessible when you have questions. Thank you for your honest feedback on ABELDent's treatment manager. We will keep your feedback in mind for future improvements to our dental software.

CH
AvatarImg

Chantelle H.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ABELDent Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have used many software programs and ABELDent is by far my preferred software. Customer service is excellent

Pros

The software is user friendly and always has training and support at our finger tips to answer any questions we have

Cons

There is nothing that i do not like about the software currently we are unable to use ABELDent at its full potential due to restrictions in our area for internet and i would like to be able to use the FULL ABELDent other than that no complaints.

Vendor response

Thank you for leaving us such a great review! We are happy that you and your team have found reaching our training and support resources easy. We are also glad to hear that you find our software user-friendly! We appreciate your kind words, and hope to continue to provide you with all the help and resources your office needs.

CM
AvatarImg

Christie M.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed a year ago

It has been a great fit. I’m very comfortable using it and it keeps excellent records

Pros

So easy to use and understand. Help is always Ava.

Cons

A lot of moving parts for my brain to assimilate😁

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing our all in one dental software solution! We appreciate your feedback on our easy-to-use practice management software. As you mentioned, if you ever need any help with figuring out an aspect of ABELDent, our team is available 24/7 to provide support. Thank you again for your review!

BM
AvatarImg

Bonnie M.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

[sensitive content hidden] was amazing and fixed all that needs to be switched over.

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

confirmations and emailseasier for all staff.

Cons

our emails worked off and on and [sensitive content hidden] was able to fix the isses.

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing ABELDent dental software! We appreciate you sharing your experience with our practice management software. We are pleased to hear about your experience with email confirmations for appointments. If you ever need to contact our team, please remember we are available 24/7/365 to help you resolve any issues you may be having. Thanks again for your review!

ED
AvatarImg

Emre D.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Mountcrest review

Reviewed 2 years ago

excellent

Pros

Ease of Use. Staff was having trouble adjusting.

Cons

Looks too outdated. Have used abel over 20+ years

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to review ABELDent! We suggest your office considers upgrading to one of our latest options, ABELDent LS+ (an in-house server in your office), or ABELDent CS (a cloud solution). Both options are the same modern version with new functionalities and an updated look-and-feel. The newer version has automatic updates (which you can enable at your convenience), and enhanced workflows to simplify all aspects of practice management. If you are interested in upgrading to either of our modern options, please reach out to us at 1-800-267-2235, or contact us via our website at any time.

KK
AvatarImg

Knowlton K.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

dental software

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use it for all our dental practice management needs. In regards to my con, the company realized their errors and introduced much better functioning add ons that allowed me to cancel the third party software

Pros

Extremely stable reliable software, no real problems over the years

Cons

slow to adapt newer technologies, had to use a third party software as the feature brought forward by abledent did not have proper functionality.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to provide feedback on your experience using ABELDent and for your support over the years. We are glad to see that the recent improvements made to ABELDent now better meet your needs so you no longer require your third party software.

PP
AvatarImg

Pam P.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Dental Software.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Easy to learn and clinical side of program is great. For administration I wish it had more reports available and the financial was more user friendly.

Pros

Technical Support is great.[SENSITIVE CONTENT] always goes the extra mile to make sure that all issues are resolved in a timely manner as well as teaching me at the same time. The help option is also great to go to for quick reference.

Cons

Financials such as easier printing of previous day invoices, tax receipts, receipts of single family members.

Vendor response

Thank you for the great feedback about our technical support team here at ABELDent! We will continually strive to do our best to meet and exceed our expectations! Regarding the financials, we truly appreciate your feedback. We may have some options for you. Would you please reach out to us at 1-800-267-2235 at your earliest convenience? At the very least we would like to learn your requirements better, so we can start improving your experience together. Thank You.

JR
AvatarImg

Josh R.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Software to Setup and Maintain

Reviewed a year ago

As an IT technician who has worked with ABELSoft for many years, I cannot recommend them enough. Their software is easy to setup and maintain, making it easy to recommend to clients opening a new office or looking to switch. Keep up the good work!

Pros

Ease of SetupEasy Maintenance for ITIntuitive Interface

Cons

Can't really think of anything that I am unhappy with

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing ABELDent dental software! Our team appreciates your kind recommendation. We look forward to continuing to provide simple solutions for easy implementation and ongoing practice management use. Thank you for working alongside us!

NS
AvatarImg

Nancy S.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highland Dental

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to learn use.............................................................................................................................................

Cons

Reporting isn't intuitive - not many 'one touch' reports

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of our software! We are happy to hear that you find our software easy to learn and easy to use for your office. We are sorry to hear you do not find our reporting intuitive. We would like to help you use your ABELDent software to its full potential. Feel free to call us at 1-800-267-2235 any time so we can improve your reporting experience.

DK
AvatarImg

Dawn K.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AbelDent Support is Excellent!

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The program has easy access to video tutorials. If I have any further questions after watching videos, I am able to get the remote support needed. If I stump a representative on a question they connect with other colleagues to attain the correct information and have it relayed back to me.

Cons

I haven't found anything that I dislike about the program.

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing our all in one dental software solution! We appreciate your feedback on our support team and tutorial videos. We are consistently updating our video library to better assist you in navigating ABELDent. As you mentioned, our support team is available around the clock to provide you with direct help.

YA
AvatarImg

Yalini A.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Abeldent review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great

Pros

Convenience and easy access with pictograms Updates are readily available

Cons

Error message popping out Multiple use of computers at the same time gives some issues

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback regarding ABELDent! We appreciate that you like that the updates are readily available! Regarding the error message you receive sometimes, please do reach out to us, as we would like to investigate the cause of this and ensure we do our best to resolve this issue. Once we know more details we are confident that we can assist you.