App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

eLabJournal Logo

Electronic lab notebook software

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

eLabJournal Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

67

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.58/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

asset-panda
monday-com
cin7

Pros and cons

Great customer support and service, this offers an appreciable and competitive value. This software is very good and taking in data, especially as a PDFs.
Likewise, the pricing was very competitive and the team at eLab has been very responsive and pleasant to work with.
I like this software because it is easy to work with and keeps things very organized and clean. It is also easy to share with others.
Table or list based viewing and editing can be a pain. E.g. entering many new samples to the inventory for largely overlapping yet different properties is a time consuming task.
The barcode printing part never worked and then they discontinued a certain type of labelprinter. With a non-functioning barcode part, the inventory management part was also useless for us.
The interface to print labels is very hard to use.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


67 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Maura M.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Functionality and Superb Customer Support

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our overall experience with eLab Journal has been exceptional. We are glad we chose to partner with them because they were definitely the right choice! They have helped us immensely and we would not have achieved a successful project outcome without them.

Pros

Working with the team at eLab Journal to implement our LIMS and make enhancements as our laboratory has grown has been a wonderful experience. Everyone we have worked with is responsive and collaborative. The software itself has amazing functionality and provides the features we need to act as an efficient, high throughput testing laboratory.

Cons

When we implemented the software in 2020, some of the menu items and navigation seemed disjointed and not exceptionally intuitive. eLab Journal has evolved since then and we have seen improvements. The team is also open to our feedback as system users.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of eLabJournal, Maura happy to hear that you've noticed our improvements, and we always appreciate the great feedback! Since October 2021, we have implemented several new UI updates, reorganized the navigation tools, and taken a more multi-disciplinary approach to the menu items so that chemists, biologists, research techs, and lab directors can easily access their unique day-to-day workflows within the system. Stay tuned for additional major updates by 2023!

AB
AvatarImg

Austin B.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

eLab Protocols offers a great all-in-one solution to protocol development and refinement

Reviewed 9 months ago

So far my experience with eLab Protocols has been great and has offered an easy and streamlined means for communicating methologies that have worked well and for iterating on as these methods improve. I am excited to utilize the AI-based protocol generator function in this step of the process as well since it showed some promising outputs on some preliminary demos I performed. It still generates/hallucinates citations and can provide .

Pros

The template generation and easy iteration of commonly used protocols in the lab has and will continue to be invaluable for our operations across our two sites.

Cons

The slow adoption of the protocols function within the eLab protocol may be attributed to some of the clunky nature of generating a protocol from scratch in eLab, which can be challenging from a format perspective. However, generating the outline in a 3rd party platform such as Microsoft Word and then utilizing the import function has been great for generating rapid protocol skeletons that can then be populated/fine-tuned based on the user. Also the lack of a spell-check function makes 3rd party platforms more effecitive for generating error-free templates.

Vendor response

Austin, thank you for your positive and detailed review! It is incredible to hear that you find our platform an all-in-one solution with easy-to-generate templates and excellent sharing/collaboration capabilities across your two sites. We designed the platform with productivity optimization and seamless collaboration in mind. We greatly appreciate your feedback! We’re working on enhancing the text editor to provide better formatting capabilities. We highly recommend reaching out to our Support Desk (support@elabnext.com) to be added to the feature request ticket and stay updated on its implementation progress.

FT
AvatarImg

Franziska T.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

The development is stuck

Reviewed a year ago

I'm thinking about moving my group back to good old paper reporting. I have already started doing this for short-time students that come to the group as trainees.

Pros

When we bought into it, it seemed to be the most advanced and user friendly product on the marked

Cons

Since we bought into it, the Journal is stuck in development or asks for additional money for features that should be integrated for molecular biology purposes.- still no possibility to use a stylus to annotate gel pictures or write entries. This would be to migrate from "paper book" to "electronic labbook" without loosing the ease of the "paper report".- gene bank files should be visible within the elab.

Vendor response

Thank you, Franziska, for your review! We appreciate your honest assessment of the platform, and we heard you loud and clear. We are actively working to develop additional features and improvements for the Journal and Protocol modules. We are happy to tell you many of the issues raised here are already core features within the platform. You may be interested in checking out our CloneAssist add-on,...

XU
AvatarImg

Xabier U.

Biotechnology, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Digitalization of Manufacturing Processes at Viralgen using eLabJournal

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

When using eLabJournal we take advantage of: - We no longer use paper-based experiments. - Instead of having different repositories for experiment and sample results, everything is stored in a single digital repository, avoiding the exchange of mails with these results. - The Audit Trail of the samples is really good. - You can trace the Samples that are used in an experiment really easily. - Sample reception process using QR has simplified this process within Viralgen. - The ingestion of data from third party software using API is straightforward. - The implementation of eLAbJournal has allowed more communication between laboratories and departments. - The integration with other third-party applications is possible using the API. In our case with SAP.

Cons

- When being used to paper-based experiments, the investment of time you need to digitalize your experiments in eLabJournal is really high. - We miss some Project/Study/Experiment filtering tools.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Keeping Track of the Research

Reviewed 2 years ago

This has been a great experience. At first had only planned to use for single aspect of research project and now pushing for us to incorporate into other areas. Customer support has been excellent. Always quick to respond when have questions or requests, and so very willing to work with us to customize the system to our needs.

Pros

Although there was a learning process to using the system, it did not take more than a week for us to build the framework that needed for managing samples and recording experimental data. Have multiple users with different levels of comfort with technology and hearing more and more from group that so glad that set this up for this research project. Really appreciate that Microsoft Office integrated into system, not only for editing files but as sections within a entry. This has allowed users that do not have access to office to work with us with ease

Cons

Lacking some options that know are available on other electronic notebook freeware (To Do Lists, Task assignment, Calendar, Messaging center, view only of integrating Microsoft office components, comment tracking, tags for indexing entries). One option that would love to have that seen in other electronic notebook software is the option to share study with outside user so can view (not edit) for defined period of time without using a licensed space. Would be happy if there was a limit on how many of these could exist at a time

Vendor response

Thank you for stopping by to review eLabJournal! We are happy to share that we are preparing to release a brand new add-on in Marketplace in the coming weeks for handling Task Assignments/To-Dos; additionally, we now support options for commenting/messaging on other users' experiments/reports, integration with Microsoft Office (Excel, Word, PPT), and labels/tags on projects for easier searching. We...

AR
AvatarImg

Angela R.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A useful everyday tool.

Reviewed a year ago

Would never go back to a paper based system now.

Pros

Easy to use, traceable and auditable. Helps planning, organisation and tracking of work.

Cons

Labelling of images, gel images for example, is tricky and much easier to do in other packages and bring in the images already labelled.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Angela! We truly appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear that our platform's easy user usability aligns with your needs. We understand the importance of audit trials and logs for GxP compliance in a lab. By providing this capability, we aim to help our users stay organized and maintain a clear track of their work. It is fantastic that you've found value in this aspect of our platform. We value your feedback and suggestions for improving the labeling of images. We encourage you to share your requests with our dedicated Support Desk at support@elabnext.com. We're grateful for your support and look forward to continuing to serve you and your lab in the best possible way.

BJ
AvatarImg

Bastian J.

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

6 month of eLAB and don't want to miss it anymore

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We're working with several microorganisms and getting them organized into easily trackable collections are a big plus for us. In general we're using the customizable samples a lot, also for tracking individual fermentation batches. Together with the barcoding feature, tracking and identifying samples has become really straight forward. Another great feature is the collaborative approach we can use, when we work on different projects. Everybody in the team can contribute with individual experiments and still everything is organized into the same project/study, which makes tracking the overall progress really easy.

Cons

One of the things that certainly need some improvement is the data-management system. You can store data within experiments and in a dedicated file-storage system, but these are not interconnected (at least not that I know). And to work with the file-storage is also not the most straight forward way to organize your files. A little more database management functionality here could go a long way.

Vendor response

We appreciate this feedback on the data management system, Bastian. Our team has created different options for File Management, i.e the eLabHybrid solution, however, we do realize that these days, the need is very different for large volume data creation, connection, and analysis. Because of this, we are actively considering options for adding new utilities to File Storage, as well as unified file management solutions. Your comment is heard loud and clear! Feel free to reach out to our Support Team if you would like to offer specific recommendations for us to consider - much of our product development is customer-driven, so your input will help us to provide software that improves the experience for the entire eLab community!

ET
AvatarImg

Elizabeth T.

Research, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

eLab has helped manage a veritable flood of samples

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, I'm very pleased with eLab. It has greatly streamlined the tracking of sample receipt and downstream processing for thousands of samples, allowing me to set up standard procedures that even novice undergraduate students can follow without difficulty. Likewise, the pricing was very competitive and the team at eLab has been very responsive and pleasant to work with.

Pros

This product has greatly facilitated the standardization of sample intake and inventory. Likewise, I really appreciate the ability to set up lab protocols (with version tracking) and standardized experiment templates. These features, in particular, make it easy to bring on new lab helpers in an undergraduate setting. There is no need to manage and track shared files or folders, and when a student leaves, their records and activities are preserved. The interface has generally been quite intuitive and easy to maneuver, and customer support is responsive and helpful if a user runs into problems.

Cons

There are still a few glitchy (largely aesthetic) areas. For example, the "Lineage" button appears to multiply as one clicks on or manipulates successive sample records. This can be resolved by refreshing the page, but it is not guaranteed that you will remain on the same sample record when you refresh. This doesn't seem to impact the integrity of sample records, but can be annoying when working with a lot of sample records. There is not yet a function to create copies of plates of samples (e.g., whole-plate aliquots, series, or downstream product). One can work around this with batch importation, but I do look forward to this feature eventually being incorporated.

Vendor response

Thank you for reviewing eLabJournal, Elizabeth! Our team worked hard to design an easy-to-use UI and we're glad to hear that those efforts have paid off for you. The latest version of our Lineage add-on resolved the glitch you mention and is available in the Marketplace please make sure to check and update the Add-On. We're also working on a bulk cloning feature for plates and hope to release it soon. Thanks again for sharing this valuable feedback so that we can improve the eLab experience for our entire user community, and stay tuned for some exciting updates!

LA
AvatarImg

Lucy A.

Biotechnology, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Using the eLabNext software has increased productivity in our company

Reviewed 10 months ago

Using the eLabNext software has increased productivity in our lab. This software has given us an efficient way to keep track of our inventory, experiments, and even equipment! As our team grows, we need an effective way to cohesively collect and share all our data and information--eLabNext does just that and much more!

Pros

The eLabNext software has allowed us to stay organized in the lab. For example, the Inventory tab has allowed us to keep track of our inventory in a more efficient way. In the same matter, the Journal tab has been helpful in putting together our experiment results, studies, and projects. We find this tab especially useful since we can pull different parts from eLabJournal (I.e., add inventory, protocols, etc.) to make a completed report.

Cons

not getting notified/reminders when an item is expired or running low/needs to be repurchased

Vendor response

Thank you so much, Lucy, for your incredible review! We're absolutely thrilled to hear that our platform has optimized your lab operations and made your work more efficient. It is our utmost priority to enhance productivity and provide an exceptional experience for our users like you. As we are actively working on implementing new features, enhancing notifications, particularly through emails is on our roadmap. To ensure that you stay updated on the progress of this feature, please reach out to our Support Desk at support@elabnext.com. They will be happy to assist you and add you to the list of requestors for this feature ticket. We truly value your feedback, and we appreciate your amazing support!

Fv
AvatarImg

Francisca v.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

easy to use electronic labjournal

Reviewed 2 months ago

Great, easy to use. We don't use any paper labjournals anymore.

Pros

This ELN is easy to inplement en very easy to use. Customer support is great.

Cons

Our internal servers are not connected to the ELN.

XA
AvatarImg

Xochitl A.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, just it needs some patience.

Reviewed 8 months ago

In general I would recoment it. It's functional, user-friendly, and one single platform to keep easy access to labnotes/Inventories records.

Pros

It is kind of intuitive. It doesn't need much training to start. It's useful when sharing on real time the information between different sites, and that is deeply relevant when teams are located in different cities and need to have access to the information. Very friendly when adding collaborators and working together writing a protocol/experiment. Excelent for record keeping and great that deleted info/vials can be found if is requiered.

Cons

It requieres patience with the constant improvements and glitches. Now I am doing the refreshing as a part of the steps while using ELN. It is not too flexible and strongly recommend first to generate the protocol/experiment in other format and then just import it to this platform. That will save you time and headaches. Always have to save before you move between steps/sections, even in the same experiment. There are limitations in term of how to organize an experiment.

Vendor response

Xochitl, we appreciate your review. We're glad you've found the eLabNext interface intuitive and user-friendly, especially when collaborating with colleagues across different sites. Have you tried our free AI Protocol Generator add-on in the eLab Marketplace?? It's great for drafting new protocols and could help speed up your import process. We'd love to hear your suggestions for bringing more flexibility to your experiment layout. Please reach out to our Support Desk, and we'll pass the feedback on to our developers for consideration in a future update of our platform.

JP
AvatarImg

Joseph P.

Research, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An Easy-to-Use Inventory Management System

Reviewed 10 months ago

eLabInventory has been an overall very positive investment and experience for our organization. We have been able to consolidate and organize our stored inventory in multiple spaces, which was originally solely tracked by Excel files or staff memory. We have streamlined our processes for accessing existing samples and storing new ones, as well as our shipping procedure. We are able to quickly locate,...

Pros

eLabInventory allows users to enter, search, locate, relocate, and export data in a simple UI. The interface is clean and relatively easy to navigate, with only needed features visible. It is completely customizable as far as sample type, field options, label templating, and storage/equipment configuration. The add-ons for barcode automation and bulk sample manipulation are extremely useful and make the software more robust on a daily-use basis.

Cons

There were unique implementation challenges when first setting up the software, like not being able to transfer samples between groups with having Shared storage locations or specific automation steps not executing to manipulate samples in the most efficient ways. Once the capabilities and limitations of the software were learned, then these were relatively straight-forward items to work with, but not having a clear understanding of how the software operates leading up to implementation, along with an overwhelming Help document library, made fast implementation unsuccessful. Better/more training from the vendor, tutorial videos rather than text or screenshots, and a pre-made framework version to fit our organization's needs would have been very helpful.

Vendor response

Joseph, thank you for your detailed review of eLabInventory! We're thrilled to hear that our platform has been a valuable investment for your organization and has successfully streamlined your processes. It is great to know that you find our UI clean and easy to navigate. We're glad to hear that our add-ons have helped you and your team optimize your day-to-day tasks! Our goal is to provide robust...

ES
AvatarImg

Erim S.

Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

eLab is bringing our labs to the next level!

Reviewed a year ago

Very satisfactory. Our end-users are very happy with the solution and we are receiving positive feedback. The team around Zareh is very knowledgeable about their product but also about the current market and trends. The collaboration is outstanding as any interaction is honest, transparent and direct. I would highly recommend to work with Zareh and his team.

Pros

eLab is a very user-friendly and intuitive platform. We name it a platform because various modules are offered such as sample, equipment, storage unit management, ELN, Protocols, etc. The platform and the modules are highly integrated and data integration is very satisfactory. Getting data in and out from eLab can be perfectly managed via the API. The open architecture and marketplace allows us to develop add-ons and use them directly in eLab! Due to the very low costs and plenty of useful functionalities compared to others on the market, eLab was a no-brainer for us to implement on a larger scale.

Cons

The only missing item I would add, which is rather a "nice-tohave" than a "myst-have" for us is Dashboarding/Visualization within eLab.

Vendor response

Thank you, Erim, for this great feedback! We recently won the "Ease of Use" and "Best Value" badges with Capterra, precisely for what you wrote here! With regards to support, all of our Lab Digitization Consultants or Key Account Managers come from scientific backgrounds and know what it's like to work in the lab, so they go in with the mindset of helping these labs to set a strong digital foundation...

Lv
AvatarImg

Linda v.

Biotechnology, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

eLabjournal: a clean and simple eLN.

Reviewed a year ago

If you are looking for a clean and simple eLN: eLabjournal is a great choice, especially for start-ups like us. The customer support is really good and it is clear from the beginning what eLN can and can't do. For us, our needs changed because of growth and we needed more extra features, but otherwise we would probably still use it. eLabjournal might not be the most intuitive eLN on the market and not the most fancy looking, but if you are just looking to replace those piles of paper on your desk or your labnotebook that is falling apart and has spills everywhere: eLabjournal is a good option.

Pros

eLabJournal is a simple and clean eLN, without any complicated features. It is like having a digital version of a labnotebook. Nothing more and nothing less. There are no distractions of features that you would never use, therefore it is relatively easy to start working with it.

Cons

It is a simple and clean eLN, but it doesn't work intuitive and typing text in either protocols and experiments was overly complicated. We had some issues with text not being saved. The barcode printing part never worked and then they discontinued a certain type of labelprinter. With a non-functioning barcode part, the inventory management part was also useless for us.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, Linda! The eLabNext platform was recently awarded Capterra's badge for best "Ease of Use," so we'd be curious to learn more about your experience with the user interface and the pain points you've encountered – could be due to lack of training from our side so that we will take this note! Our Digital Lab Specialists would be happy to schedule...

HB
AvatarImg

Hazel B.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Online Journal

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Switching from traditional paperback lab notebooks to online journaling is an overwhelming task in itself, but eLabJournal simplifies the process of writing, peer-reviewing, and signing off experiments/studies. Entries are accessible when needed to be shared with other laboratories or departments and with the eLabInventory integration, it's easier to keep track of and know the components of an experiment....

Cons

An entry can only be signed-off by a single person which makes it tricky for experiments or studies that needs both internal and quality reviews. eLabInventory is glitchy when there's a lot of back-to-back updates or additions made in the system.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Hazel! We are thrilled to hear that our digital lab platform has made your transition from the traditional, paper notebook so smooth and effortless. Our file attachment and linking features are designed to make data management more convenient for users, and we're delighted that you find it beneficial. We appreciate your kind words about our customer service! Our team is...

JM
AvatarImg

John M.

Biotechnology, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ELN and more

Reviewed 2 years ago

This software caters to the small biotech co's by providing a single solution ELN that integrates data and inventory management. As such, the pricing is in an very effective position to enable those same small biotech companies to acquire and use their software efficiently. Great customer support and service, this offers an appreciable and competitive value. This software is very good and taking in...

Pros

The ELN is easy to start using from ground zero. Many features are intuitive, and easy to navigate. Organization is implemented nicely, and searchable.

Cons

Frequent users will start to see issues with flexibility in correcting erroneous details of entries (not yet finalized), or setting up high-functioning templates for repeated experiments. More advanced features to integrate into ordering/inventory management are not modular add-ons, and treated as more expensive custom solutions.

Vendor response

Hi John, thank you for your review! We are thrilled to announce that we have recently won the Capterra badge 'Ease to Use' for the qualities you highlighted in your review. We are so glad you've found our platform easy to use and intuitive. Your suggestions for improving our supplies module are greatly appreciated, and we hear you. It is on our roadmap! We kindly request you submit your feature requests...

EP
AvatarImg

Eva P.

Research, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Keeping track of your samples is made so easy

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Once a sample is generated, the sample history and what experiments it has been used in can be read in the samples sheet. So you not only know what happened to your samples (how many freeze thaws) but also who used the sample. Offspring of your sample can easily be tracked. This is vital sample management.

Cons

We could not answer some of our questions using the question mark but when we reached out to eLab we got prompt replies. In the beginning eLab was a bit difficult to learn and a proper training by eLab is advisable to make sure you are using eLab at its full potential.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Eva! We're glad to hear that our platform has made it so easy for you to keep track of your samples. We understand the importance of comprehensive sample management especially with GxP compliance sample logs and the feature to link the Sample Parent/Children relationship. It is great to know that you appreciate the seamless integration between our modules, allowing you to...

MZ
AvatarImg

Mitchell Z.

Veterinary, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

2-3 Things that NEED to be implemented into elab

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I like that you can edit samples easily, and that you have a lot of possibilities with the configuration-map

Cons

you need to implement 3 functions:1. implement "personalised-view" of your samples everywhere! at the moment, we only have personalised view on the "sample-list". We truly need to have a personalised view in "Advanced-Search-Results", as well as in each specific Location.2. Possibilities to change Date-format. = we sort our Dates with this format: DD/MM/YYYY -> elab should register this and when we try sorting by date, it should start with sorting by YYYY. At the moment, it is only Sorting by DD, which is absolutely not usable for us.3. Allow Control-C/Selection of Search-Results in Sample-List (or/and advanced-Search, but only when number 1 has been adapted too) = this would allow us to rapidly export our search-results from sample-list to excel etc.

Vendor response

Hi Mitchell, thank you for your review! We are happy to share that we recently received the 'Ease of Use' Capterra badge. It is fantastic to hear that you find our platform to be user-friendly. Regarding the specific functions you mentioned, the custom views in Advanced Search have already been submitted to our development team, and we would be happy to add you to our list of requestors. We will...

KP
AvatarImg

Karlo P.

Biotechnology, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ideal für Forschung in Life Sciences

Reviewed a year ago

Streamlinen von wiederkehrenden Experimenten

Pros

Sehr gut geeignet für Life Science / Schnelles Tool im Vergleich mit anderen cloud-basierten Tools / sehr selten Outage / Sehr gut integrierte Tools Laborbuch-Inventory-Protocols-Equipmentmanagement-Supplies / mit API erweiterbar / Sharing

Cons

Viele Nutzer würden es bevorzugen, wenn Änderungen in Sections von Experimenten automatisch gespeichert werden und nicht mit einem Save-Button bestätigt werden müssen (analog zu Google Docs zB).

Showing original review in German. See translation

Vendor response

Karlo, thank you for your lovely review! We take pride in ensuring that all our modules interact seamlessly, so it's fantastic to hear that you find them well-integrated. Regarding the expandability of our API, we encourage you to explore the newly added API calls along our recently released Developer Hub, which has many readily available recipes! Additionally, we are excited to announce that we...

ZH
AvatarImg

Zakary H.

Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

eLabJournal has revolutionized our laboratory

Reviewed a year ago

This has made our lives in our laboratory so much easier. We are a clinical lab so we collect samples and then store them until a project is nearing completion before we can analyze them. This means we need to have be very organized in how we keep track of where specific aliquots of samples are stored so we can find them more easily later. I wish I could go back in time and have the lab use this decades ago, because until now, our samples were tracked by excel sheets and paper binders. eLabInventory saves us so much time because we don't have to sift through individual Excel sheets to find our samples. Plus, it is so much more secure than using excel sheets because we could easily lose data. We've already started using the automated barcodes to organize everything and reduce errors.

Pros

Being able to easily search for samples and see their location immediatelyAbility to move samples from one location to another easilyEasy set up for new sample typesEasy sample entryEasy and quick configurationEasy and quick equipment entryBarcode automationAmazing customer serviceInexpensiveness compared to other inventory systemsSample import

Cons

Not being able to move samples from one location to another with click and dragNot the most user-friendly system I tested but it is improving all the time

Vendor response

Hi Zakary, thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled to hear that eLabNext has been a complete game-changer for your laboratory! We're happy to inform you that we've introduced drag-and-drop movement of samples into our redesigned Inventory V2 interface, which is currently available to try out as a beta version! Inventory V2 hosts several other improvements as well, and our team will continue to incorporate new features as it approaches its official release date later this year, so keep an eye on our website's Updates page in the coming months for more information. We are also happy and proud to announce that we have recently been awarded the 'Ease of Use' Capterra badge, which validates all the points you highlighted in your review.

RS
AvatarImg

Ruth S.

Pharmaceuticals, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is the best!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

ELab is the most straightforward system we found. We paid for a different system, but despite trying to understand how to use it, we remained deeply frustrated. We checked out several systems; it was an easy decision to change to eLab one we tried it. The best part of eLab was the help from the support person, [SENSITIVE CONTENT]. It would be impossible to even begin to explain how much patience...

Cons

There is absolutely no downside to this system. There is nothing to not like.

Vendor response

Ruth, thank you for your incredible review! We are delighted to hear that you've found our platform to be the best and most straightforward among all the ones you've tried. Our team is dedicated to providing exceptional support, and we are delighted that our team was able to assist you so well. Our Customer Success team goes above and beyond for our customers, and it is very much part of our own internal...

TS
AvatarImg

Tania S.

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Product you can grow with

Reviewed a year ago

We leverage this tool to enable our IP documentation and trade secret processes. It is critical in our valuation and assessment of multiple processes across multiple species. It allows researchers to easily move between projects and scales well as our operations grow.

Pros

This product enables us to ensure a secure environment for our IP related data. It is also seamless across our different labs and allows us to easily move between species and topics. The tool has also been easy to accommodate our rapid growth in researchers over the years.

Cons

There are some features like stylus, etc. that would be nice to have. But overall it meets the majority of our needs.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review, Tania! As an ISO 27001-certified company, we place the utmost importance on information security. We are delighted to hear about your positive experience with our platform's security measures. Sometimes 'nice-to-have' features are 'nice' for some but essential for others, so we have submitted them to our development team. If you haven't already, please send your feature requests to our Support Desk so that we can keep you updated on the progress of those features. We value your input and look forward to continuing to provide you with the best possible experience!

KH
AvatarImg

Katharina H.

Biotechnology, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

eLABJournal improves your data management

Reviewed 5 years ago

My overall experience with eLABJournal is very positive. It definitely improves my data management and it has a lot of benefits when you collaborate with colleagues and students. I definitely recommend this to any wet-lab scientist!

Pros

Having worked with eLabjournal for nearly 3 year, I definitely learned to appreciate its overall function for data management. You collect everything (e.g. data, protocol, notes, analysis, conclusions) in one software and you have everything accessible with a few clicks. Furthermore, I enjoy the Inventory a lot, as I can easily find back all my samples quickly.

Cons

As with any new system, in the beginning it takes some time to get used to the navigation in eLabjournal. Logically also the structure is different than in a "diary-like" hard-copy lab book.

Vendor response

Katharina, thank you for reviewing eLabJournal - we appreciate your commitment to the platform and hope to continue being your one-stop shop for digital lab tools in the coming years! The structure of eLabJournal was designed as a 3-tiered project management-style workflow to encourage standardization and organization within your lab records, from Project to Study to Experiment/Report. We're glad that you have gotten used to it, but we'd love to know how we can make the learning curve shorter! If you have additional suggestions for how to improve the platform, feel free to reach out to your Key Account Manager to share your thoughts! As always, the HELP section on our website is there to assist you as well.

RO
AvatarImg

Robert O.

Biotechnology, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Defo recommended

Reviewed a year ago

Defo recommended, they are a friendly bunch and very speedy customer support!

Pros

I like how customizable eLabJournal is! You can do anything you want.

Cons

There are limitations to sharing samples throughout project groups and we have limited layers of organizing experiments. Structurally, these issues might be hard to overcome but it would be very helpful.

Vendor response

Robert, thank you for your positive review! We are thrilled to hear that you find our platform customizable and versatile, which is part of our core philosophy and technical ecosystem. At eLabNext, we take great pride in offering a fully customizable experience with the extended functionalities of our add-ons and API. We aim to create a flexible platform catering to every individual's needs. We were recently awarded the 'Best Value' Capterra badge. This recognition underscores our commitment to delivering exceptional quality at a great price. We are delighted to know that you appreciate our price/value ratio. We appreciate your support and are excited to continue enhancing our products to exceed your expectations!

GM
AvatarImg

Georg M.

Biotechnology, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

More than just documentation

Reviewed 3 years ago

Elabjournal enforces high-quality documentation and the rigid structure of Project > Study > Experiment with the definition of aims and sub-aims helps to break complex problems into simpler tasks.

Pros

In my personal experience, elabjournal did not only improve the structure of my documentation, it also improved experiment planning, design and execution.

Cons

table or list based viewing and editing can be a pain. E.g. entering many new samples to the inventory for largely overlapping yet different properties is a time consuming task.

Vendor response

Hi Georg, thank you for taking the time to review eLabJournal! I'm happy to report that our team is hard at work on a major redesign of our Inventory module that will incorporate a streamlined approach to viewing sample records in table/list view. Until then, your dedicated account manager is always available for a free workflow consultation and may have some great suggestions for improving your process for importing samples in bulk! Your comment is heard loud and clear, and if you have additional suggestions for improving the platform, we would love to hear your feedback!