Tree Plotter Reviews

Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

4.54/5 (74 reviews)

Elise Willis

Plan-it Geo is a professional, hard-working company with a fantastic product I'm proud to use.

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-05-01
Review Source: Capterra

With Tree Plotter we engage the public to plot private yard trees on our map, view public trees, and take self-guided tree walks. This enables us to better understand the composition of our urban forest and associated ecosystem benefits calculations. Not to mention, people will learn about the trees around them and hopefully become more informed about trees and advocate for planting and proper care. Tree Plotter also allows us to track our organization's tree planting and tree care activities on a digital map, for the first time! We also engage volunteers to survey trees in several programs, providing regular data on the status and needed care for young urban trees.

Pros
Our organization needed a platform to 1) engage the public in plotting trees, and 2)help us manage our programs better. We reviewed several tree mapping software programs/providers, and chose to subscribe to Plan-it Geo's Tree Plotter system because we felt that the team and products would best suit our needs for the present and near future. The customer service is fast and attentive, with a skilled team that works with us to craft a custom map that we can use effectively. The software is user-friendly and highly customizable, which helps us create a tool that does what we want and looks how we want it to look. They also have several add-on tools that you can purchase when you have funding, or leave out if you don't need it. Being able to pay for what you need and not what you don't was a nice model for us.

Cons
As Plan-it Geo grows and evolves, we hope they will continue to take our suggestions to allow us (clients) the ability to customize some things on our own. It really helps speed things up if we are able to make some changes to our Tree Plotter map structure without asking them first. I think the only thing that is still an issue is some slowness and incompatibility with various Apple devices. It works great on android devices I've used, but many of our users with iPhones can have a tougher time with loading the map/features quickly. Any other things we've expressed a desire to see changed has been taken into consideration and they've shown that they value our feedback and make changes based on client wishes - which is awesome!

Response from Plan-It Geo


Elise-
Thank you so much for such a wonderful and thought out review! We appreciate you taking the time to do so! We've enjoyed working with you and your team to help make Tree Plotter work for you all, and look forward to doing so into the future.
Thanks again!
Matt & Plan-It Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Gerry Bates

Easy to learn, easy to use, and accurate. Reports are great!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-07-11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I work in the Idaho Community Forestry Program. The State is supplying Tree Plotter at no cost to Idaho cities so that a statewide tree inventory is developed. It's easy to train volunteers or employees to use, it's cloud based including photos of the individual trees. And, the reports generated from inventory results offer much needed information that influences urban forestry management and planning decisions. The accuracy of the GPS coordinates is terrific, this helps not only for street trees, but for locating trees growing in parks and green ways. Data collection can be done using any device that has an internet connection, eliminating the need for expensive equipment such as a Trimble.

Cons
Tree Plotter uses Bing or Google maps. It's been my experience that one or the other contains more current imagery. But when you log on to collect data, Bing maps are the default map, even though Google maps may be more current. I'd like it if there were a way to set the default to whichever map was more useful. Also, at least in the Idaho Tree Plotter program, when collecting DBH information, only even inch measurements can be recorded. Measuring growth over time, especially in younger trees, requires measurements to the 1/10th of an inch to accurately assess how vigorous a tree is growing.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Thank you so much for your review! I am happy Tree Plotter is helping you be more effective in caring for Idaho's urban forests.
Our new App Manager will be out soon that will allow you to customize things like default base map, and fields and values. We will keep you posted when this is released.
Thanks again!
-Evan

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Greg Howe

Tree Plotter is SO Much MORE then a Tree Inventory System

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-11-14
Review Source: Capterra

The customizing process was very well handled by the Plan-It Geo staff. They asked lots of questions and made quick changes and updates as Forestry staff began to use the software and found things they didn't like or wanted in another place in the database. As Forestry staff have continued to evolve the database whenever they needed assistance with Tree Plotter by either sending an email or by using the in app support responses were quick.

Pros
Completely customizable to include whatever information you want to collect. Scalable to your needs: Tree Plotter can be a simple, basic tree inventory database or by adding desired modules it can become a full fledged work management system. Or you can do appraisals or risk assessments. Its up to your needs and budget. Information can be exported for use in ArcGIS. Some lists you can edit yourself such as adding tree species, there by speeding up adding new trees to your inventory and not needing to send a support ticket to have a tree name added.

Cons
By fully customizing and scaling the software up with modules it can take a little while to understand where different parts of your data is located and how to use the filters to find what you want. Cellular and Wi-Fi connections or having a very large database can slow down the process of adding data. However Tree Plotter does have work around for this such as off line data.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Thank you for the detailed review Greg! We appreciate you taking the time to do so, and your feedback is always valued. Please let us know if there is anything we can help you with!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

John Harris

Review from John Harris of Earth Advisors

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-09
Review Source: Capterra

The simplistic user interface makes it easy to learn and use, but having the data input window scroll and reset each time a data field is entered takes time to scroll back to the next data field to enter and is frustrating. The background aerial photos work well, but we want to be able to zoom to smaller scale in the Google Earth Map than the overall Tree Plotter subscription for the aerials allows. We usually download the shp files and make our own ArcGIS maps so we can input our company title block and needed labeling, and to allow for setting the print scale to not have overlapping points. We continue to use and expand our use of Tree Plotter, and continue to provide useful feedback and revision ideas to Plan It Geo staff for improving the program. Thanks for working with us for a better shared environment.

Pros
Operates well in any mobile device we have used from tablets and handheld data recorders to phones. The real time and multi user environment allows us to both monitor our staff in the field and also for everyone to work cooperatively in completing inventories and damage assessments. We use Tree Plotter for full landscape inventories and contractor work audits, as well as tree surveys and tree inventories.

Cons
We do not want our work, or our client list, to be visible to others, as we have many competitive advantages and legally protected work products in our projects. Having our Tree Plotter account visible to anyone who can enter the url has been an issue for us that we want resolved so our account is not publically visible at all.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Hi John-
Thanks for the review! We appreciate it. Also, we'll be reaching out regarding the data visibility you mentioned and hopefully taking care of that for you.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Dylan Garrett

Best Tree Inventory Software

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-06-20
Review Source: Capterra

My experience has been great. I love the customer service.

Pros
I think the best thing about tree plotter is the visual layout of the trees and the search capabilities. It makes it really easy and fun to interact with the software. Also, the fact that tree plotter can be customized to the needs of my organization makes it fit our work flow really nicely. Probably the best part about tree plotter is the customer service and the fast response I get from Tree Plotter developers.

Cons
I think some of the work flows to do with work management could be streamlined more. Also, it would be nice if tree plotter had some kind of calendar feature built in where we could pull up a schedule of work and due dates.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Thank you so much for that thought out review Dylan! We pride ourselves on having a very versatile product with a great support staff to back it up. We actually have two rounds of updates coming out this summer in regards to the Work Order Management so stay tuned!
Abel & PlanIT Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Nathan Schuettpelz

A necessary tool for communication

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-02
Review Source: Capterra

Tree Plotter has become an essential tool of communication in our daily operations. We brought Tree Plotter into our Consulting Operations as a means to offer our same premium level consulting services to a wider range of clients. We have had success with that goal, and have realized a "TREEmendous" benefit of better communication internally between management, sales, and production staff. We utilize Tree Plotter to create maps for our various Plant Health Care treatments. These maps allow our sales staff to efficiently gather data for these treatments and easily share high quality maps to our production staff to access from their smart phones in the field. We could not be happier!

Pros
The design of Tree Plotter is user-friendly and professionally functional.

Cons
The early days (2015) required an internet connect to utilize the app. This was difficult for some of our rural and remote client properties. PG solved this problem with the offline functionality!

Response from Plan-It Geo


Nathan, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this well thought out review! We have certainly come a long way from when we first started and continuously work to push the bar higher and higher. Thanks for being such a great client throughout all these years. We really appreciate your business!
Abel & PlanIT Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Katie Kosanke

Tree Plotter Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-06
Review Source: Capterra

This has been incredibly helpful for our data collection methods, which were previously collected on paper then inputted in to the computer. It has streamlined this process to a great extent!

Pros
Efficient data collection. Ease of use. Data compilation to show summary. Sorting capabilities.

Cons
Have had some glitches, including data incorrectly calculating. Difficulty to attach photos in the field (however that may be a problem with our connection..) Would like to have parcel information available - click for property owner info would be helpful.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Thanks for the review Katie! We are glad that Tree Plotter has helped your workflow. Adding parcel information is certainly possible within the application and can be done a few different ways depending on the data format.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Stacy Borden

Tree Plotter Review

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-06-19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The customization and features offered are far superior to the previous inventory software we were using.

Cons
The Tree Risk Assessment Module does not reflect the complete TRA form and could be improved.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Thanks for the great review Stacy! Glad to hear that you love TreePlotter and its versatile functionality. We are always looking for ways to increase the value of the add on modules and that process starts with our users input so I really appreciate your feedback! Thanks again!
Abel & PlanIT Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Chris Mest

Great product and support

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-06-19
Review Source: Capterra

I use Tree Plotter to map trees on townhome association properties that we do lawn and tree maintenance on. It is great to be able to give the production crews a map and spreadsheet listing the trees they need to work on.

Pros
I love this software! The company is very good about always updating it based a lot on customer feedback and requests. Customer support is great and they always respond quickly. My issues are sometimes self inflicted but I think I have helped them improve the product based on my suggestions.

Cons
Nothing that hasn't been fixed.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Chris, thank you so much for that great review! We love providing our clients with the tools they need to be more efficient with their business. We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we're happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Thanks again!
Abel & PlanIT Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Luke Devores

Tree Plotter is key to our success

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-19
Review Source: Capterra

We use Tree Plotter to communicate with our in house tree crews and contractors to save time. We also use it to track health and size.

Pros
Tree Plotter is very easy to use and the support is terrific. One one occasion, I deleted the majority of our data. One quick phone call and everything was restored.

Cons
Its not the easiest software to use in the field.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Thanks for the awesome review, Luke! We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction and quality of service at PlanIT Geo and are always here to help. Make sure to reach out to us with any questions you may have including how to maximize the software's performance out in the field. Thanks again!
Abel & PlanIT Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Daniel Maple

Consultants must have!

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Very comprehensive and customizable Everything a consult needs to inventory or document trees and plants. Increases productivity and reduces the time need to write professional reports. And most of all my competitors don’t have it and I have a great competitive advantage, haven’t lost a project since I purchased Tree Plotter.

Cons
The offline collection features aren’t the same as the online. While it is very functional it would be nice to have it updated.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Thank you for taking the time to review, Daniel! We love hearing about our clients taking full advantage of TreePlotter! We recently released our biggest software update in years which includes a major overhaul to the reports section. If you haven't checked that out I highly encourage you to do so. Thanks again!
Abel & PlanIT Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Brian Gray

Commercial User

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-11-11
Review Source: Capterra

When managing large commercial or large residential sites data collection and review is usually the most difficult part. The client usually does not know what he has on property and what services he needs now or in the next year. Collecting the data and presenting the information to the client can help them use their budget efficiently. Most of the time site managers do not realize the clarity that can be provided by implementing a product like this.

Pros
Property management has become simple and profitable through the use of the software. From the beginning consultation with the client all the way through to delivery of the management plan, Tree Plotter has the data we need.

Cons
During the collection process the app has a tendency to slow down when a picture is taken and saved to multiple trees. The best way to overcome this deficiency is to log out, refresh and/or delete browser history and cookies.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Thank you for the review and feedback Brian! We appreciate it. Great to see the tool being used to further your business and communicate with clients. Please let us know if we can do anything for you!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Corinne Stephens

Great support staff!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The support staff are excellent! They are quick to respond to challenges.

Cons
Not as user friendly (public interface-wise) as we hoped it would be

Response from Plan-It Geo


Corinne, thank you so much for your review! We are constantly trying to improve TreePlotter's interface and have it be more streamlined for our users. We actually just released our biggest update in years and think you will find it to be very useful. As always, feel free to contact us at support@planitgeo.com with any additional questions or concerns you may have. Thanks again!
Abel & PlanIT Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 2/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Cory Meyer

My experience with Tree Plotter has been nothing but positive. Supportive staff and easy of use!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-04-30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The Customer service and frequent webinars/training is one of the best aspects of this product. It takes a lot of the confusion out of a software that offers so many different functional options. The folks here are always looking to improve the functionality and make it easier for the end-user to achieve their individual needs and goals.

Cons
This has already been addressed and at this time, and I have no complaints with the software itself.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Thanks so much for the review Cory! We are glad you have had such a positive experience. As you know we're always here to help. You can reach us at support@planitgeo.com
Thanks again! Matt & Plan-It Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Sean Taylor

Urban forest diversity

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-09-10
Review Source: Capterra

We are figuring out how diverse our urban forest is regarding tree species and age of trees

Pros
Ease of use in regards to mass population changes with the click of a button. The ability to add on more features as our needs grow.

Cons
I cant think of anything at the moment. In the future I will need it to talk to our new work order system for in house tree work.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Sean, thank you so much for the great review! Glad to hear TreePlotter is meeting all your urban forestry needs. Make sure to reach out to us whenever you're ready to talk about how to best incorporate TreePlotter with your current work order system, we're here to help!
Abel & PlanIT Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Pieter Taylor

Tree Plotter User

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-07-03
Review Source: Capterra

Very responsive customer service, which makes all the difference when dealing with questions. Transferring data from our old system was handled well and subsequent changes was not a hassle to the personnel. Very positive can-do attitude.

Pros
Easy to use and fast with no need for synchronization of tree data. It's all live!

Cons
I can't buy all the packages. The CTLA valuation system is very complex and not easy to use

Response from Plan-It Geo


Pieter, thank you for the excellent review mate! We pride ourselves on having a great support team and work very hard to meet our clients expectations. As always, let us know if there is anything we can do to continue to enrich your experience with TreePlotter. Keep on plotting!
Abel & PlanIT Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Anaisa Aviles

Everything has been amazing.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-06-25
Review Source: Capterra

Everything that we find that needs to be fixed costumer service is on it every time!

Pros
Everything is all in one software! Ordering trees, maintenance and all the info about our trees!

Cons
Using the software in a cellphone or tablet it can become really slow. Maybe having an app it would work faster.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Anaisa, thank you so much for that great review! TreePlotter's performance is dependent on a few different factors including the device you use and how strong your internet connection is. I would love for you to reach out to us at support@planitgeo.com to further discuss this topic and see how we can better assist you with this. Thanks again!
Abel & PlanIT Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Dale Bugos

Arborist, Sim Tree Health Specialist

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-10-20
Review Source: Capterra

Our company has been using Tree Plotter for the last 3 years. We are now able to offer a tree survey service to our customers not available to us before Tree Plotter. The program is easy to use. Customer service is excellent. Whenever we have a question there is an answer right away. The program has evolved to help us better serve our customers. During the short time we have been using Tree Plotter are business in this area has grown enough to support a full time employee.

Pros
Ease of entering data about the trees into the program with all the information needed.

Cons
At times depending on the location we are working the program is slow. But this weekend new developments in the program will impover this area of concern.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Kyle Vincent

Amazing application with outstanding support

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-11-09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Very user friendly making it a breeze when collecting data on large sites. Exporting the data into spreadsheets was easy and allowed you to filter the data as required. The TreePlotter support team were top notch as they answered my emails over the weekend and were there to help when I had questions, and I had a lot of them!

Cons
Photo uploads are exported separately from the data adding time in preparing reports when tethering photos to the data. Once sorted with a proper spreadsheet template, it was a breeze.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Thanks for the feedback Kyle! We've enjoyed working with you and are always here to help!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Maria Maryelis Da Silva Escalada

One of the best tool avaliable for tree mapping

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-09-25
Review Source: Capterra

Working with Tree Plotter has made my work both in the office and in the field so much easy and efficient.

Pros
I truly love that I can use it in all my devices and I can even do it offline, those two things are definitely the ones that I like the most.

Cons
For me the only thing I like the least is the high price of Tree Plotter apart from that is a pretty good software for tree data management and mapping.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Thanks for the feedback Maria! It is great to know that Tree Plotter has made your work more efficient. Please reach out and let us know if we can do anything for you!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Rick Kellner

From the research in the beginning to the implementation and follow up, this has been excellent.

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-07-17
Review Source: Capterra

Confidence that we will yield an accurate up-to-date inventory and use the benefits statistics to our administrative advantage.

Pros
Ease of use, customer service, and long term stability. We have trained an intern do begin the inventory of 17,000+ trees, and he is already independently almost done with 1/2 of the work in 3 months.

Cons
I might have appreciated some face time with the staff as I might have more easily understood some of the ins and outs of the program...that being said, we are now easily able to create the inventory but might need help working through other possibilities using the software as we expand its utility for our City.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Thank you for the review Rick! In-person training is always preferred, but we try to make the best out of screen shares and online resources as an alternative. It would be great to meet up at some point! In the meantime, feel free to send any questions or concerns to support@planitgeo.com for a quick response. Thanks again. - Plan-It Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Guy Gibson

Great product and Serive

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-07-10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Easy to use and custmer support and training outstanding

Cons
Loading time can depend on data and wifi

Response from Plan-It Geo


Guy, thank you so much for taking the time to leave this great review! We truly appreciate your business. I'm glad you have continued to have a positive experience with TreePlotter throughout the last couple of years. Keep on plotting my friend!
Abel & PlanIT Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Mike Hess

Tree plotter

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-06-18
Review Source: Capterra

It is intimidating at first. We are just getting started with it.

Pros
Very versatile, many people can sign on and view which I can control who see what. I know that our sustainability director will like the Eco benefits. you can keep track of so many things. I am pretty sure our Contracted Arborist will really like it. This will also help me with other departments we can plot items other than trees.

Cons
It does so many things it can be intimidating however i think that once i get use to it, it will be great.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Thanks for the great review Mike! Glad to hear you and your team are taking full advantage of TreePlotter. Make sure to reach out to us with any questions!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Shannon Atencio

Tree Plotter Review

Used monthly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-07-02
Review Source: Capterra

I am working with a small community group to inventory trees in Las Vegas, New Mexico. We are assessing street trees, park trees and trees accessible from the public right-of-way throughout the city.

Pros
Once the software is set up it is easy to use with local volunteer groups and students in our community.

Cons
I do not like that a WIFI connection is required for the GPS to work, it would help to be able to ground-truth tree locations now and then to stay on track. The program was glitchy when first setting up and the maps did not always load correctly.

Response from Plan-It Geo


Shannon, thank you so much for that great review! It's great to hear that things have progressively gotten better for you and that TreePlotter has become an important tool for your every day tasks. We are constantly looking at ways to improve TreePlotter's interface and functionalities and truly appreciate your feedback. Thanks again!
Abel & PlanIT Geo

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest

Ralph Garnish

Tree inventory of a private golf course, for planning and management of removals and plantings.

Used monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-10-20
Review Source: Capterra

Our traditional old golf course was built in 1921 & 1922. It had been primarily open farmland with few trees left on the playing field. Over time, many mistakes were made planting trees of the wrong specie and in the wrong locations for the health of the turf, for maintenance, and from a golf course architectural perspective. I was involved with a Certified Arborist and fellow member to create an inventory, for which we selected Tree Plotter. First we used the free version, but quickly realized its limits and value. We then leased the full version and have not looked back. We could remove as many as 650 trees +/- over time. the emrgent and more immediate benefit is that we have identified and located several hundred ash tress on and surrounding the golf course proper. The significance is the emerald ash borer infestation here in Western NY. They are surrounding us and have been detected on our property. Tree Plotter has us prepared and able to quantify our exposure.

Pros
Functionality and access from a number of platforms.

Cons
Especially early on, the ability to customize it down to our limited needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Tree Plotter

Better Your Technology. Better Your Forest