This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Tree Plotter INVENTORY

GIS software for field data collection

see alternatives

Tree Plotter INVENTORY Reviews

Reviews summary

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

71

39

7

0

0

94%
positive reviews
99%
would recommend this app

Pros

A great way to actively manage trees in our community as well as a good tool and data to share tree benefits to the public.

DB

David B.

I appreciate the management functions built into a basic tree plotter. I appreciate Plan-It Geo ability (willingness) to customize at prices that are within reach of a non-profit.

RS

Robert S.

The program is intuitive, visually displays results, has many built in statistical tables and charts that can be linked with advanced queries. Overall an excellent tool at a good price.

DS

David S.

Cons

The process of transitioning from Moqup to the actual site was difficult. There was some functionality in the Moqup site that was lost in the transition.

LR

Lina R.

We had a list with GPS co-ordinates but it is useless compared to a visual map.

cm

cliff m.

Editing or removing plotted points can sometimes be difficult.

JL

Josiah L.

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


117 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

City of Dallas Street Repair Division Urban Forestry

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Tree Plotter is easy to use and very intuitive. The custom features are great and the customer support is first class. The add on modules are great options to grow into as we utilize the Tree Plotter program.

Cons

I truly don't have anything negative to say about the software. I wish I could dedicated a full time person to enter data and managing the program.

Vendor response

Wow, thank you so much for that incredible review, Kristoffer! We work very hard to meet expectations like yours and we're happy to hear we hit that mark for you. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and for being such a loyal client these last couple of years. Keep on plotting! Abel & PlanIT Geo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Tree Plotter Statewide Application

Reviewed 5 years ago

Tree Plotter is an easy to use, visual and web-based tree inventory program. The statewide version allows use of the software by cities for their tree inventories, and for the state to roll up that information statewide. This aids in targeting assistance efforts and planning for potential invasive species. Customer support is excellent--issues are often resolved within hours of a request. The program is intuitive, visually displays results, has many built in statistical tables and charts that can be linked with advanced queries. Overall an excellent tool at a good price.

Pros

Ease of use, good customer support, no software to install, visual, good value.

Cons

Because it depends on an internet connection, it can be slow if the connection is slow.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great technology at a reasonable price

Reviewed 5 years ago

As a small greening organization operating in the Industrial District of downtown LA, we must keep a close eye on our trees to guarantee their survivability. Plan-It GEO's tree-plotting software combined with various add-ons has been a huge help in mapping and tracking the status of our trees to ensure they reach maturity. Our Program Director Gabrielle Newmark, a CA licensed landscape architect, said she had been looking for something like this for years. And while the current platform supports most of our needs, the development team at Plan-It GEO is regularly releasing updates and enhancements. We look forward to growing with Plan-It GEO in the application of geospatial technologies to the management of urban forests.

Pros

Functionality and user friendliness.

Cons

Haven't used it sufficiently to find any glaring issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good database but needs better offline access

Reviewed 3 years ago

For the most part we’ve been able to replace two other mapping programs with this one. It’s easy to download the map and data for the site. It does take some time to get the program truly customized. We are enjoying the ease of use.

Pros

Easy add clients, trees and data. Customizable, which is necessary.

Cons

I need better access in remote areas. I have to physically map where my trees are on a real map and then enter them later. This happens about 25% of the time. However, when I am in a populated area the program is quite easy to use. The faster we can be able to customize it ourselves, the better it will be.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review Denice! Please let us know if you would like any additional training on using the Offline Collector module. This may help your workflow. As always, reach out with any questions or training needs you may have!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

KIB

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, this tool allows us to track trees planted, maintenance, tree orders, deliveries! The main complaint is how slow it runs.

Pros

I like what it can do. It does what we need it to do.

Cons

It is SO SLOW and not very intuitive. Doesn't work well on iOS.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review Maricela!I'm sorry you are experiencing slowness with TreePlotter. We are aware of issues with entering information using our Data Table feature in particular on Apple products, like some iPhones and iPads, though not all Apple devices perform the same when using TreePlotter. Please contact support@planitgeo.com with details about which iPad you are using, and where you are experiencing slowness, and we will make sure the information is used to prioritize upcoming improvements and bug fixes. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tree plotter

Reviewed 3 years ago

Love tree plotter for helping us design tree plantings.

Pros

Ability for multiple users and the support.

Cons

Would like to be able to customize tree species colors. Not quite able to hardwire these in yet.

Vendor response

Thanks for that thoughtful review, Betta! I am so glad to hear that you are loving TreePlotter and putting it great use. There is a way to customize the color of the tree species that get displayed in TreePlotter, however, depending on how large your tree species list is, this may hard to achieve. If you have a few species that you think could definitely be changed or would like to talk more about this, please reach out to us at support@planitgeo.com. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

TreePlotter to the rescue!

Reviewed 5 years ago

TreePlotter has helped me to manage the community forest more efficiently. Before, entering data and working with the tree inventory was a tedious and time consuming job. It required special skills and a lot of time to update the inventory, to enter data and make queries. Now, we can make changes from the field or in the office. We have the ability to update attributes or even add trees or remove...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Tree Plotter Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This software has helped us organize our tree inventory and has a small learning curve. We were able to train new people on the software easily.

Cons

The software is a little slow to download sometimes

Vendor response

Thank you for the review, Jerry! We're so happy to hear that TreePlotter has helped you better organize your tree inventory. As always, reach out to us at support@planitgeo.com with any questions you may have. Keep on plotting! Abel & PlanIT Geo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tree Plotter

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like the overall functionality of the software and how you can customize it to your liking.

Cons

Sometimes I had minor issues with placing a tree in an exact location.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Jason! Are you familiar with the Move tool? This basically allows the user to adjust the trees location accordingly. You can find more information on it here: https://support.treeplotter.com/?ht_kb=faq-how-do-i-move-a-tree. I also know that sometimes different interfaces work better. For example, our tree inventory crew use a tablet with a good size screen (10") and they also incorporate a stylus for better accuracy. Some of our clients adjust tree points when they get back to their desk since often times they are easier to move around with a mouse. Hope these tips help! As always, feel free to reach out to the support team with any further questions or concerns you may have. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Customize according to your budget and needs

Reviewed 2 years ago

Collecting data on our Cities most valuable asset.

Pros

I like the fact you can start out with the basics and as the tool adds value to your work flow you can add modules to customize your needs.

Cons

I literally can't think of anything negative to say about the software.

Vendor response

Hi Kristoffer, Thank you for the amazing review! You are spot on when you say you can always add modules as you become more familiar with TreePlotter or your needs change. It's been a pleasure having you guys on board for the last couple of years or so and look forward to many more. Happy plotting! Abel & PlanIT Geo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Urban Forestry; Community Outreach

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's price point. This product is competitively priced. I appreciate the management functions built into a basic tree plotter. I appreciate Plan-It Geo ability (willingness) to customize at prices that are within reach of a non-profit.

Cons

Sometimes it get's a little buggy depending on how the Cellphone coverage is. The buttons could be bigger on the screen as well.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review Robert. We value your feedback in an effort to create the best possible user experience with Tree Plotter. We will use your comment about the button layout in our design discussions. We also have an offline mode that could resolve your issue with wireless coverage. Thanks Again! -Evan

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An all around useful product

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It saves me time, money, and adds a lot of professionalism to my firm. I can keep track of treated trees, use aerial maps to show tree locations and give the url to clients so they can view the tree locations and information. Most of all, this can all be done with my phone or tablet in the field with or without service.

Cons

The upload and click ability is a little slow sometimes when on service, but overall it’s still way better than transferring later back at the office.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Sam! Great to see you using Tree Plotter's capabilities to grow your business and communicate with clients. Let us know if we can help with anything!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A USER FRIENDLY WAY TO MAP OUT AND MANAGE ALL OF YOUR TREES

Reviewed 2 years ago

We had a list with GPS co-ordinates but it is useless compared to a visual map

Pros

We have it on a smart phone and an employee can walk up to a tree and enter in the information. super easy. There are many trees that I could do from the google earth map

Cons

The only thing I can think of is a tree/leaf identifier. Some Native trees we don't know what they are so just a way to identify them

Vendor response

Hi Cliff, Thanks for the awesome review! We really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. As always, let us know if there is anything we can help you with to make your TreePlotter experience even better. Happy plotting! Abel & PlanIT Geo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Tree database

Reviewed 3 years ago

A great way to actively manage trees in our community as well as a good tool and data to share tree benefits to the public

Pros

Pretty easy to use, In the cloud, available to more than one person either in an office or in the field via wifi or celluar.

Cons

As with any new software or system, takes practice to learn the program. The more you use the easier it is to use.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback David! Please reach out with any training needs as you continue to work in the software and we can help!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Asset management for urban forests

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

With 400 trees on the property "Tree Plotter" helps with maintenance and management of an important assett..

Cons

As it stands, the product performs well.

Vendor response

Thaddeus, thank you so much for the amazing review! We really do appreciate you sharing your experience with us. As always, make sure to contact us with any questions you may have. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Tree Plotter review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like to be able to make a work order and track our work.

Cons

There are way to many options. Its nice to be able to customize it but all I need is a three step process!

Vendor response

Echo, thank you so much for that review! We are always looking for ways to increase the value of the add on modules and that process starts with our users input so we really do appreciate your feedback. We actually have two rounds of updates coming out this summer in regards to the Work Order Management so stay tuned! Abel & PlanIT Geo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Review of Tree Plotter

Reviewed 5 years ago

Having used this software for the past four and a half months, I can say that Tree Plotter has quite a lot of potential for everyone from foresters to university students. However, with that being said, there are still glitches that occur as a result of it being a web browser program. Frequently the page freezes and needs to be reloaded which loses the current location and any data being entered. On...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Really appreciate the review and input Myles! As you know, we happened to make an update to Tree Plotter at the exact time you were submitting this and users can now zoom into base maps as much as they want, useful for adding locations more accurately but also analyzing the data after as you said. Does this change your star rating of Tree Plotter? Also, our new offline collector app will resolve issues with internet connectivity. We haven't had any users tell us they've had an issue with the page freezing and we've never had anyone lose data since edits are saved instantly with each entry into the Tree Details popup form. Hope this helps!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tree Plotter provides multiple ways to manipulate and record data instantly.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Ability to track, edit and report in order to analyze the urban forest in the city as a whole. Able to manage service requests and work orders in a more meaningful and effective manner.

Pros

Easy of use for all types of users makes for more fluid training. Workers are able to have more autonomy.

Cons

Has some glitches - need to refresh the website a lot while using it out in the field. Some fields don't update after they are edited, saved and closed.

Vendor response

Thanks very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback in an effort to create the best possible experience. I will ask someone from our support team to contact you regarding the field experience, and saving functions. Thanks again! -Evan

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Couldn't be happier!

Reviewed 5 years ago

The version of TreePlotter that I work with is aimed at gathering information about community planting projects. Plant-it geo has developed a tool that allows individuals with little to no GIS skills to accurately plot newly planted trees and collect important urban forestry data. Our application was originally developed as a way to count how many trees are being planted, but because TreePlotter is...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for the beginner or advanced user

Reviewed 3 years ago

Its been great so far. I primarily use it in the field and with my smartphone. I did not have the added expense of buying field hardware.

Pros

Its almost plug-and-play! After watching a few short tutorials, and with a little help from the great support staff, I was ready to use Tree Plotter in the field and office.

Cons

While data analysis is no problem, creating customized reports was not intuitive.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review Jennifer! We are continuously working on updating our training articles and videos and we actually just created one for our latest Hub release that I think you might find very helpful! It's titled "Stats & Reports" and you can find it here: https://support.treeplotter.com/?ht_kb=stats-reports-video. As always, feel free to reach out to us with any questions you may have or if you would like to schedule a short training meeting as well. Thanks again! Abel & PlanIT Geo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Portabiliy anc customisable

Reviewed 8 months ago

Great and easy to use. Fast learning and accommodation.

Pros

The portability and the high degree of customization.

Cons

Google calendar integration for work orders.

Vendor response

Hi Mihai, Thank you for the fantastic review. We appreciate the feedback and I will share your suggestion with our Development team. Beth and PlanIT Geo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A powerful management tool that has increased our productivity and end product.

Reviewed 5 years ago

It has increased productivity and our end product to our clients.

Pros

It is far more than a "tree inventory " app. It is a great tool for everything from construction planning and risk assessment to tree appraisals and work order management. The app is highly customizable to meet any arboricultural need. The tech. support is great and highly responsive. Tree Plotter is a consultants must have tool that will take your company to the next level.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you for the review Daniel! We greatly appreciate the feedback. We're here if you need us - support@planitgeo.com. Thanks again, and have a great day. - Plan-It Geo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Tree Plotter My Experience on the field

Reviewed 2 years ago

It appeared clunky and crashed a lot. Did not seem suitable on apple devives

Pros

The software is holistic and has a number of features we purchases it as it in time was expected to link with our customer service complaints program Pathways

Cons

We were using it on and Apple i -Pad and when using the location set up it crashed numerous times 5-6 per hour. The repeat planting function was inconsistent and did not repeat all the time and I occasionally lost data when it crashed. There was also a lot of double up in the menu set up and the icon set up in process flows could not both change colour and the icon meaning staged works in work orders were as identifiable as some other tree platforms I have used on the screen

Vendor response

Hi Brett, Thank you for your honest and detailed review. I am sorry to hear about your TreePlotter experience. PlanIT Geo takes data security very seriously which is why we have taken multiple measures to ensure the security of our clients' private information, including backing up all of our databases daily. It's a little difficult to troubleshoot the issue you experienced without having more information...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Tree Plotter

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Once you use it a few time it is very easy to use.

Cons

Having to add on to existing fields is very confusing some times.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review D.G.! Glad you find it easy to use. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to help out!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is a great product and Plan-It Geo has the best customer service you could ask for.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like the versatility. Anyone with a computer, phone or pad and a little time can begin logging useful data for the city. Customer rep and the PG team are great to work with and very patient when dealing with users who are technologically challenged.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Todd! We're so happy to hear you're enjoying Tree Plotter. Feel free to reach out any time with questions via support@planitgeo.com. Thanks again - Patrick & Plan-It Geo