App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Phone.com Logo

Communicate Better

(9)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Phone.com Reviews

Overall rating

3.7

/5

67

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.4/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

clarity-business-phone-system
aircall
justcall

Pros and cons

My experience with Phone.com has been a wonderful experience. I will continue to use phone.com due to the wonderful customer service, the price and the ease of use.
Phone.com was the best choice for my lastest company. They have great prices, excellent support and all the features that I need for my business.
Dont need any hardware for this system and can use it anywhere. Has built in fax and sms capability and contact management, like the online portal for sms messaging very good and quick.
Save yourself the anxiety and headache / and also the money - this is the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever put myself through.
When you contact customer support, there is no urgency for them to assist you and never return your phone calls or emails. This is highly unprofessional as a business.
Several other clinicians in my practice have also experienced these same issues and have had to cancel their service.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


67 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rick K.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Phone.com is the best VOIP Office phone service

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall I absolutely love Phone.com. It's by far the best business grade phone service I've ever used. We also use it for our home phone service and it's been rock solid. I've recommended it to several friends.

Pros

Phone.com is by far the best VOIP phone system I've ever used. It has a variety of features and a good mobile app. Plus their mobile app is good. The best part is their customer service though. It is bar none.

Cons

Their mobile app could be a little better and it's been a long time but it used to be a tiny bit confusing but I heard they've fixed it. I set up our services once and haven't been back in years to change anything.

CW
AvatarImg

Chassity W.

Consumer Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Look professional like a big organization

Reviewed a year ago

My experience with Phone.com has been a wonderful experience. I will continue to use phone.com due to the wonderful customer service, the price and the ease of use.

Pros

I love that I am able to have a 1800 number and I can also text from that number and receive messages as well. Their customer service is very helpful and if the agent at the time isn't able to find the solution, which has been a rare case for me, they forward you to someone that can assist you or make a ticket for you and someone with the answer will get back to you within no later than a couple of hours.

Cons

I honestly don't have any cons that I can think of at the moment due to me having a pretty good experience so far and the software meets all of my business needs.

MB
AvatarImg

Michael B.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The Worst Customer Service

Reviewed a year ago

When transferring an account to another individual, phone.com did not update the payment method and is refusing to remove my payment method from an account that I originally setup. Their customer service could not understand the request that I was communicating and refused to transfer me to a supervisor. Any business that doesn't respect a customer current, past or potential future, - enough to allow...

Pros

online functionality and ability to forward a toll free voip to personal phone

Cons

Customer Service is the worst, they do not attempt to help and they refuse to let you speak with a supervisor regardless of the issue you are trying to resolve. They do not listen and instead refer back to the script they were given.

BF
AvatarImg

Brent F.

Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Billing nightmare and missing critical Self-Help solutions/support

Reviewed 3 years ago

we have saved money by moving 10 of our toll free number to phone.com from the bigBell (AT&T) We are able to have phones at our new remote warehouse using phone.com where our Avaya System has failed to work through a VPN setup.

Pros

functionality of the phone.com feature as a whole, work fine. support is generally able to answer the call in a few minutes and are open 24/7. They include most features you would need in most situations in a business environment.

Cons

To say that the invoices are confusing would be a gross understatement. they are so bad that on several occasions, I have had to call support for billing, and each time, even the billing support reps are unable to break it down for me and make any sense of it. On 2 occasions I have spent well over an hour on the phone trying to understand the bill. they issue a charge then issue a credit 10s of times...

JR
AvatarImg

Joyce R.

Furniture, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Customer Service

Reviewed 10 months ago

[sensitive content hidden] willingness to go to bat for me to get their phone back was dedicated teamwork and definitely going above and beyond the call of duty.

Pros

The customer service is top notch! [sensitive content hidden] and the team at Phone.com are the best. They work very hard to satisfy their customers. I have been a long time customer of Phone.com. Many times I have had trouble paying my bill. They usually work very hard to help me keep it. Unfortunately, I recently lost my business 800 number because I couldn't afford to pay my bill again, this time...

Cons

Nothing, I have no complaints what-so-ever.

JJ
AvatarImg

Jennifer J.

Mental Health Care, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Beware, not compatible with Android cell phones!

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Seems to work well with laptop. It is easy to use when operating properly. Easy to reach tech support.

Cons

It seems to be incompatible with Android cell phone. I have spent many hours and days with tech support and still no solution. I have to reinstall app at least 1x weekly just to make a phone call from my cell. Caller ID will not show my company name on receiving end.

CB
AvatarImg

Craig B.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Phone.com Needs Some Work

Reviewed 3 years ago

Still using Phone.com because I paid for 12 months upfront to get the best price. They system works, but I feel it is not working well or helping my company look "good" to my callers.

Pros

IP phone system for on-the-go small business owners - great features that can make you look like a full-fledged company. Prices are competitive, too. There customer service is really good, answered quickly, no holding on line and they answered my questions and helped with using my recorded message as my first answer greeting. However, see below as they help with answering the questions but not being pro-active

Cons

The buttons they use to get to your messages, calls, etc. is called "Configure" then "manage users & extensions" - how crazy is that? Then, setting up a call trail - knowing full well what you want to happen is so complicated that you go nuts trying to figure it out. Recording and using messages and setting up the phone trail is a nightmare - I know others have had the same feelings so why haven't they taken any of these suggestions and improve the product - they really are so close! They answer quickly as noted above but you have to know what you are asking - they will help but seems not to "guide" you with best practices in setting up your phone system. I can buy a landline and the installer sets everything up for me - why can't Phone.com help me like that?

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Matthew S.

Mental Health Care, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Affordable but buggy

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Phone.com does everything I was looking for in a VOIP. As a small business owner, it sure beats having to purchase a stand-alone phone.

Cons

My biggest issue with Phone.com is the app. It's super buggy and slow (unresponsive) to use. Given the affordability of the phone plan, I've decided I can live with the bugs, but they're still a pain.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback, Matthew! We are always looking for ways to improve our app to ensure a better mobile experience. Give us a call at 833-782-2355 and let us know what kind of issues you are running into and we will gladly assist you.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

phone.com great customer service team

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have always had a great experience with every customer service/support rep I have worked with. They will escalate easily if things are not working as you expect and they are cheerful and thoughtful.

Pros

There are a lot of options and the tool is very flexible. If you ever need help their support team is just a live chat away and they are always very helpful and creative. Willing to offer ideas on how to best set up your system to meet your needs.

Cons

It is not easy to figure out on your own. It takes time to understand how all of the settings work and what is the best process for your needs.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The Phone.com app ticks all the boxes

Reviewed 5 years ago

Phone.com is so easy to use. It was a little tedious to set up, but once it's done, it's done. I use the app on an iPhone and it looks much like the default call interface, but I would never confuse the two. I appreciate that the design looks nice. It keeps everything tied to my business number, together in one place. My only frame of reference is as an end user; I do not have access to the phone.com web interface so I cannot comment on that. But as a user, it's perfect! Anywhere I happen to be, I know I'll be able to get those important phone calls. And I can easily tell when a call comes through that it's via phone.com.

Pros

The app design (for iPhone) is sleek and consistent with Apple products

Cons

It is sometimes slow to connect calls, annoying at first setup

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mick T.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Product. Great Support. Misleading Pricing.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, I like it although it ended up being more than anticipated. With taxes and fees, $119yr is really $160/yr, but they get you on devices, (even softphones) where $60/year is really $100/year per phone. They are adding their own fees to this, so they should just be upfront. One chat support person was kind of rude suggesting that "I should have gotten a quote" and "Who told me it was free". I compared several providers and it's still a good value. No regrets.

Pros

I was able to use my established Google Voice number and easily port it over to something more business-friendly. I like that it's scalable as my business grows and I can put a high-quality Polycom SIP phone right in my home office. The Android app is also useful if I want to make calls from that number remotely.

Cons

When signing up, it wasn't clear to me that adding a device (desk phone or softphone) wasn't included in the price. I incorrectly assumed one would be included with the plan. How else would you use the service, I thought. (I later learned that only forwarding calls to cell phones is included) I already had a phone and nothing was mentioned during sign up or during my support call while the phone was being provisioned. I only realized it when I got a bill for $100 the next month. My own fault for not getting a quote, I guess. In any case, I didn't care. It just wasn't clear at all and I wanted to make sure it wasn't a mistake.

Vendor response

Mick, We appreciate your honest feedback. While our base plans have 40+ features included, there are certain features that require an additional monthly fee. We do strive to ensure that this is communicated when signing up for additional services. We also understand your frustration and will make sure to pass this on to our development team to make sure our pricing/features page set clear expectations.

FG
AvatarImg

Fernando G.

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

DECENT VOIP SYSTEM FOR SMALL BUSINESS

Reviewed 4 years ago

i have had a pleasant experience with it but it has its limitations.

Pros

dont need any hardware for this system and can use it anywhere. has built in fax and sms capability and contact management, like the online portal for sms messaging very good and quick.

Cons

if you are on an iphone text messages dont come over quickly, you dont get notifications have called many a times to figure out the issue and i cant imagine its a hardware issue as my partners and i have had the issue on all of our iphones. pictures dont come over that well. cant transfer very well to other extensions or outside of the phone system

Vendor response

Fernando, Thank you very much for your review! We are happy that the service is generally working well for you. I have asked our customer success team to reach out and see if we can find a solution for the text messaging issue. You will hear from someone soon.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Work Calls Made Easy

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I appreciate the versatility that phone.com has to offer when it comes to how you want to handle calls. It's very easy to switch back and forth from sending calls directly to my desk to forwarding them to my cell phone when I'm working from home. I like that you can also make calls from the computer if needed. Once you learn how to navigate the website, it's easy to do everything necessary on your computer, from recording and applying greetings to seeing your call logs all in one place.

Cons

Although the website is very useful, it is somewhat outdated and thus difficult to navigate at first. Some settings are difficult to find and are not intuitive at all. But, once you figure out where everything is and how to set things, up, it's not so bad. It also seems like it can be pretty tough to add a new physical Polycom phone to the system, as it requires calling phone.com from the Polycom phone and potentially staying on the line for a while - this can be inconvenient during a work day.

Vendor response

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. Our teams are currently working on bringing our portal up to date. If you are using SMS or need to listen to your VM's you can now do it in a more convenient way! You can now go to my.phone.com to access your SMS and VM's and access Control Panel. Also, if you need to add another device to your account in the future you can always email support@phone.com, provide your express service code, devices MAC address, and indicate which existing or new extension you want the device added to and our support team will have this done ASAP.

EC
AvatarImg

Erin C.

Medical Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Phone.com

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I like that it's all internet based and easy to use.

Cons

It was very spotty. We pay for amazing internet so that wasn't the problem.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

They will torture you when you cancel

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Good price, good number, decent reliability.

Cons

I don't want to associate with ANY company that puts you on hold for one hour when cancelling service. You have no other option. YOU HAVE TO CALL. And then they put you one hold for 1+ hour. And the person was difficult to understand when I finally got through.

AT
AvatarImg

Andrew T.

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Phone.com useful for privacy

Reviewed 5 years ago

Phone.com is helpful and I have not had too many problems using it, though I wish the UX was a bit better.

Pros

I like having phone.com because I am able to give clients a phone.com number that is different and distinct from my actual cellphone number.

Cons

The audio transcription of voicemail could use some improvement, as there are inaccuracies. Also, at times it takes a long time to log in and it can be frustrating if you need to access the app quickly.

Vendor response

Hello Andrew, We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and experiences related to Phone.com. Our teams continue to work on improving our services and your feedback is most valuable in this process. It saddens us to hear that some of our services have not met your expectations. Phone.com does offer Human Assisted transcriptions that might better suit your needs. This can be added and/or removed per extension at anytime. In regards to your experience with the app please feel free to call into our 24/7 support line at 1 800 998 7087 or send an email with your concerns to support@phone.com and we will be happy to assist you further. We would like to lastly thank you for being a Phone.com customer and we appreciate your business

WC
AvatarImg

Wilmer C.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Lots of featured

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like that there was a wide range of call routing options

Cons

Website was a little hard to navigate and took longer that it should some some basic functionality.

JM
AvatarImg

Jessica M.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easily Accessible Work Communication

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

There are various options available, and the tool is very configurable. If you want assistance, their customer service professionals are merely a chat message away and are always willing to assist. They may be able to advise you on how to configure the system to meet your individual needs.

Cons

Making a call can take a while to go through, and the process of getting set up can be irritating.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

JACK G.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sound Big For Little Money

Reviewed 5 years ago

I absolutely loved it except that it doesn't have a google chrome extention which made click-to-call- difficult for me

Pros

State of the art PBX was highly customizable and made our business sound like a fortune 500 company.

Cons

It currently does not have a google chrome extention.

Vendor response

Hello Jack, Thank you for you feedback! The google chrome extension for the 'Click to Call' feature is actually something that is in high demand for some of our customers. We have been hard at work getting this implemented and will hopefully be launching this in the near feature! If you ever need assistance with your account, features, or setup please call (844) 755-8566.

TS
AvatarImg

Thea S.

Mental Health Care, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very Poor Quality and No Customer Support At All

Reviewed 2 years ago

Horrible customer support. Buy this service if you like getting ignored and paying for a service you don't receive

Pros

Its available if you like paying for something that constantly has problems

Cons

At random times certain features stop working, such as notifying when you get messages or calls. This is very detrimental when you are running a business and getting back to your client sis important. Several other clinicians in my practice have also experienced these same issues and have had to cancel their service. When you contact customer support, there is no urgency for them to assist you and never return your phone calls or emails. This is highly unprofessional as a business.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gardner H.

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

More than doubled their price

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Worked well for several years, before they changed their plans. Had good phone support when I set up a number of years ago and hassle free service until this past month.

Cons

I received a note stating that "unlimited minutes" didn't really mean that if I looked at the fine print and that I would have to upgrade to a plan that was more than double of what I was paying if I wanted to receive this same level of service I had been receiving for more than two years.

RL
AvatarImg

Ross L.

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Good if you are just looking for a second number

Reviewed 3 years ago

Good product, not super great. Ended up switching to something that fit my needs better

Pros

Very basic and bare bones. Good for the price depending on what you want to do with it.

Cons

Integrations weren’t very friendly, and if they were, they were more expensive.

ZK
AvatarImg

Zafer K.

Medical Devices, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Phone.com is great for video conferencing

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Phone.com provides an matchless experience for video conferencing along with its great screensharing option.

Cons

Phone.com could provide a better user experience in their mobile applications.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dawn L.

Online Media,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Terrible User Interface

Reviewed 10 years ago

I initially really liked phone.com for it's flexibility in creating phone tree queues and custom messages. However, their customer "dashboard" is terrible. When I log in (after getting an error message every time) I finally get to the main website sales page - uh, why doesn't it direct me to my dashboard if I'm already a customer? To send a fax or do anything with the system is NOT clear in the least....

Pros

Good custom message creation and phone queue.

Cons

Terrible user interface No way to resend a fax through the dashboard Lots of error messages when user their preferred browser (Chrome) 50/50 failure rate on faxes so most have to be sent at least a second time.

GM
AvatarImg

Gary M.

Wholesale, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

15 Years Expirience

Reviewed 3 years ago

Make international calls at low cost.

Pros

15 years of great experience with phone .com It is easy to use, it has a flexibility for work that improves business performance.

Cons

Flexibility and many different options.