App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Netwrix Auditor Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

144

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.71/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The fact that Netwrix always includes new and better features all of the time. Great price for the software and once it is in place and working it is very stable and solid.
I like how easy it is to deploy and upgrade. The new 9.0 interface is a great improvement over the previous version.
I must also give kudos to the Netwrix helpdesk, as there are very knowledgeable and have assisted successfully on numerous occasions.
It gives us errors but doesn't explain exactly what the error is so we can fix it, it tracks windows 10 but has trouble tracking Windows 7 updates.
Some of the plugins are hard to use. I have a hard time figuring out what is causing errors sometimes when it runs its nightly scans of my systems.
Missing some real-time features and alerts. Difficult to Integrate with other auditing software.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


144 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sam L.

Systems Administrator

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Great Tool for Sys Admins

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Sam: Hi, my name is Sam. I'm a lead systems administrator. I give Netwrix a five out of five, and for...

AJ
AvatarImg

Anthony J.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Netwrix Auditor (AD, File, Windows Server, Logon Activity Auditing)

Reviewed 5 years ago

My Company has been using Netwrix since 2013, and it has been great for us. We love the reports that it generates around our Active Directory, Exchange, Windows Servers etc., including the alerts that we subscribe to for delivery. We've also used the Audit reports for our Auditing request, which we can produce in minutes with Netwrix, which used to take us days to put together. We've also used as a...

Pros

Ease of installation and usage, Reporting, alerts, etc.

Cons

I noticed that the new version of Netwrix tends to eat up a lot more hardrive disk space, but this is due to fine tuning Audit. Without proper tuning, it will easily eat up 100GB - which is what I experienced.

RW
AvatarImg

Richard W.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software that reads your event logs and makes it easy to read, break down and report on.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Know exactly what is happening in your network so you can detect problems and intrusion attempts before they get bad.

Pros

This software takes your computer and server event logs and breaks them down into reports that you can easy view and understand exactly what is going on with your environment. You can also record what anyone does on your servers as a video. All reports can have real time notifications of events you select like multiple failed logins etc. It is also an amazing price for all that you get.

Cons

The only thing i have had is that the new version doesn't support Windows Server 2003-2008 so what i did was spun up 2 VM's for this software and ran an older version on one VM and the newest version on an other so I can have the old version monitor the 2003-2008 servers and the newest version monitor 2008 R2 to 2016.

ML
AvatarImg

Min L.

Machinery, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

This application has helped us to determine weaknesses in our server securities.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Monitor the usage of all our proprietary information and be able to track the specific computer and user.

Pros

Monitor our file server usages and provide detail reporting on abnormal access to sensitive information.

Cons

We are experiencing resource issues when the application is running. When running scan on the server over the WAN, the application seems to use a large amount of memory.

MF
AvatarImg

Matthew F.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Netwrix has helped revolutionize our processes and simplify environmental monitoring and management.

Reviewed 7 years ago

We are able to easily spend our time on innovation as opposed to "fire-fighting."

Pros

Netwrix makes the process of auditing changes within our Active Directory environment very simple. We no longer have to spend additional time chasing down problems and what caused them. We can quickly evaluate what has recently changed, who changed it and then evaluate the best resolution without wasting time. This allows us to focus on the most important aspects of our jobs!

Cons

Netwrix does not have a lot of features that I do not find amazing. The only item that I can find that comes close to being a "con" involves the way that data is processed. I would love to find a method of auditing active directory and servers that do not involve granting Domain Admin rights to an account used for the product. It is understandable, though.

AI
AvatarImg

Adrian I.

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A auditing solution with huge value to the organization!

Reviewed 7 years ago

It makes AD auditing easier for our Information Security Officer, while providing real-time reports for our IT department. The program saves a lot of time that had been spent doing things manually.

Pros

The daily reporting is great at providing a snapshot of changes the environment for Information Security Officer. In our IT department we rely on the real-time alerts daily for user lockouts and other AD related changes to inform us of changes made so we can act accordingly.

Cons

It takes some time to get a handle on the on-demand reporting, but Netwrix provides a huge list of canned reports so you rarely have to create a customized report from scratch.

MG
AvatarImg

Matthew G.

Government Relations, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Use this software to monitor, alert, and create reports for Government IT Audits

Reviewed 7 years ago

Easier domain management, real time security alerts, it is a wonderful piece of software.

Pros

The fact that Netwrix always includes new and better features all of the time. Great price for the software and once it is in place and working it is very stable and solid. The new 9.0 version really allows for so much more than the old versions.

Cons

Some of the plugins are hard to use. I have a hard time figuring out what is causing errors sometimes when it runs its nightly scans of my systems. But customer support is always very good in helping solve the issues.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It has been refreshing to know that strange activity is going to notify me.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The alerting is incredibly valuable. Changes taking place to multiple files will generate an alert long before a human eye could notice what was happening. This is true of administrative logins and failed logins as well. The ability to audit changes in permissions so that they can be "seen" has been very helpful as well.

Cons

It can be a bit too quick to alert but this is configurable. The initial configuration will set the tone for the application and goes a long way toward the initial implementation and usage so plan your install and determine what you want it to do for you before you actually install it.

AM
AvatarImg

Azhar M.

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Now a days changes in AD is very important

Reviewed 7 years ago

Like I said real time change alert is the best part of using this product

Pros

Real time notification of any changes in AD and successful and unsuccessful logins to machines, which tells administrators of unauthorized login tries and legitimate user problems even before users approach administrator

Cons

There has to be exception reporting options which lets administrator know as some thing is not right for example I particular user is not supposed to be logging into a particular server and if such action happens then administrator should be alarmed - such relationship database should be there

CA
AvatarImg

Chris A.

Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very nice and works the second you load it.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Insight into logs without manual log review and without having to create a lot of custom alerts and views.

Pros

The software works well and it doesn't take alot of configuration to be usable. It proactively sends emails with daily recaps. Very simple to setup

Cons

It is very expensive and to get everything, plan to buy multiple modules. The value for the money is there, but it is alot of money to start. Great value / High Price.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rahul P.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Disappointed

Reviewed 6 years ago

Was hoping to leverage it for audit and compliance. Does collect all the logs, but reports and data handling has lot to desire.

Pros

Provides all the features you need......

Cons

The features are there, however, reports hardly work, constant bug fixes or upgrades.

GJ
AvatarImg

Glenn J.

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Netwrix Auditor is a fairly easy software package to use. It also converse a lot of system types.

Reviewed 7 years ago

The software covered most of the system that we were required to audit.

Pros

Netwrix Auditor can be setup to audit most all of the systems that a company is running. It also allows, for one price to audit most of the systems that need to be audited. In addition you can audit systems that are not part of Netwrix by using the Integration API.

Cons

The primary con with Netwrix is that the documentation is not complete. It does show how to configure a basic system but then stops there. It should also show how to configure more complex configurations. This then requires you to submit a ticket which might take a bit to get a proper answer.

AP
AvatarImg

Akash P.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Netwrix is great, simple to setup, easy to use.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Auditing of Active Directory and File Servers. Password expiration notification, disabling unused computer and user accounts.

Pros

Netwrix is very easy to use, very easy to setup. It provides great information and lets you audit your environment very easily

Cons

Documentation could be a little better, but support was great with assisting in setup and they constantly reach out to see how things are going.

DS
AvatarImg

Dennis S.

Banking, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for audit and exams.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Audit compliance.

Pros

I like the daily reports that Netwrix sends to the Officers on the network functions. Federal and state guidelines require someone keeps track of the network admins changes to the network. Netwrix Auditor emails a morning report every work day describing the changes made to Active Directory on all our Domain Controllers.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JK
AvatarImg

Jesse K.

Utilities, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to implement and quickly gain value from reporting

Reviewed 7 years ago

Various default reports are vary useful... i.e. NIST, PCI, etc. reporting

Pros

Quick and easy deployment. Most features do not require an agent. Video monitoring of server sessions is a really cool features that we actually use.

Cons

Because there is to no support for Cisco products, we are forced to look into alternatives for a fully capable SIEM.

RJ
AvatarImg

Rich J.

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

While it may lack features a few people will claim are needed, it offers what most people need.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The prebuilt reports for so many areas of compliance. The option to install a client rather than RDPing to the server is nice.

Cons

The arduous task of creating an alert via the server console. And on this console (and I know this is not technically a SEIM), it would be nice if there were already pre-built alerts that we could simply enable for the most common security threats. The client interface is great for showing you what you are looking for if you wanted to print a PDF. I don't want a PDF view in the interface though. I want to see data returned in rows that I can filter live, sort columns, drill down on data, pivot on data, etc... Again, these features encroach on SEIM territory, but for what this product is, it kinda should have it. I am open to discussing further if you need more clarification.

SD
AvatarImg

Santosh D.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Now we can find out and monitored Administrative changes in our domain.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Able to monitored administrative changes happening in our domain.

Pros

I like Data collection method about this software. Summary change audit reports are good which save time to generate report and check.

Cons

Upgraded versions having complex reporting module which creates problem while generating any reports.

SK
AvatarImg

Stephen K.

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IT Manager

Reviewed 5 years ago

You can't go wrong with Netwrix Auditor! It is a good products among a line of good products.

Pros

I like that I have can a "one-stop shop" for all my auditing needs. Very easy to use and the support folks are great!

Cons

That I had to remove the old version - which was a big pain.

SK
AvatarImg

Stephen K.

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very easy to use! Real deal!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Was able to meet auditing needs and compliance issues.

Pros

It catches things that you need to catch! You can set it and forget or you can generate all kinds of reports.

Cons

Sometimes it is a little slow at getting the reports to pull - it gets what I need but would like to be faster.

RM
AvatarImg

Ron M.

Utilities, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Netwrix Auditor

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to set up and configure - we use it for password expiration notices

Cons

I wouldn't say we have any cons - might not be as full featured as some other tools, but its easy, quick and very inexpensive

NO
AvatarImg

Nicole O.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We purchased Netwrix after looking at many other options for auditing as required by clients.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and setup, support is great and very responsive. Cost was a huge factor but I do not feel that we lost any capability by choosing Netwrix over other solutions. Having Netwrix reports and information has helped us greatly with client audits. Takes away some of the concern about activity in our systems as I'm alerted immediately or daily.

Cons

Still learning some settings and trying to find the time to dedicate to learn all of the information that is available to me.

WS
AvatarImg

WAQAS S.

Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SYSTEM ADMINS AUDIT TOOL

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall great experience and we are using it on daily basis.

Pros

Very easy to implement and support is readily available online. Integrat with Microsoft products and Windows.

Cons

Linux machines can't be aduited with it and SAP is also not covered, only Microsoft softwares supoorted.

FS
AvatarImg

Faraz S.

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to setup and easy to use. Gets the right information easily

Reviewed 7 years ago

Easily able to monitor changes to our AD environment

Pros

Simplicity of the product. Pre canned reports. Alerting of various changes such as group memberships etc. API availability.

Cons

There are no simple options available to customize existing reports beyond the fields exposed in the console.

JN
AvatarImg

Jeremy N.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy audit and detection

Reviewed 5 years ago

This software is helping us to be prepared for any audit that may come unexpectedly. I really appreciate the daily emailed reports as well.

Pros

This software makes it possible to track file access and changes.

Cons

There isn't really anything I don;t like about this software.

GW
AvatarImg

Gregory W.

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Value

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Very Easy to Use More Reports than you could ever want Findings are as detailed or concise as you want them to be

Cons

Nothing really stands out to me for negatives. I've been happy with Netwrix.

LK
AvatarImg

Luke K.

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Audit Software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Taking over this product from previous administration, left a bad impression of the product, having worked with the technical team to get the product up and running, has re-invested my confidence in the product.

Pros

The functionality of the software is impressive for tracking active directory changes and modifications.

Cons

Some configuration challenges and support from an older version is lacking, but with reason as long as you keep the product updated, you shouldn't run into troubles. Just make sure to keep the product updated to keep along with all the products changes.