This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

SpiraTest Reviews

Reviews summary

Overall rating

4.0

103

5

4

3

2

1

26

61

12

2

2

84%
positive reviews
91%
would recommend this app
How would you rate SpiraTest?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pros

Very rich functionality, close to HP Quality Center, in some areas even better. Excellent customer support, bug fixes and enhancements available, features requested by customers are implemented.

AL

Anna L.

Its simple and reliable use as compare to industry leaders in this field. Good value for money and excellent support.

AD

Ambrish D.

Cusomtization is implemented by interface, not language. Support: Inflectra support has been fantastic in helping us migrate data into SpiraTest from our previous system.

HC

Howard C.

Cons

If a requirement is just linked to a test step the result should be possible to link to that, currently if a step not at all related to the requirement fails the requirement will also fail.

HD

Hanna D.

Reports and workflows restricted to individual projects which gets really frustrating unless all work is done in a single project.

TP

Tim P.

It has very poor response time when user copies and paste the test cases. Sometimes there are no updates on screen initially and after two mins user see multiple copies of tests.

AG

Arpit G.

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


103 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Spiratest Review

Reviewed a year ago

Well besides the cost, the over all experience is great!!! The interface has nothing to be complained about.

Pros

Excellent product!!! So easy to organize and manage your team. Creating requirements is quite simple . We can create software requirements and insert child features in an instant. Managing the priorities for your teams testing is a breeze with color coded priorities. Observing and handling your teams test steps is made easier to handle with the color coded labeling.

Cons

The only thing that I can say is that it is expensive costing over $9k per year!! Also, you have to lie $40 a month for each concurrent user.

Vendor response

Thanks for the response, we're glad you like the product and features. On the pricing side, we are one of the few tools to price by concurrent user and we try and keep our prices to be one of the more affordable in the industry. Also the price per concurrent user decreases the more users you purchase.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Test Management Service for Modern Ways of Working

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's a well-developed testing solution with a price model that beats many other product hands down. If you have testers who walk on to cover a project, then go back to their day jobs between testing cycles, give SpiraTest another look.

Pros

I like the fact that a cloud-hosted version of the software is available.

Cons

It can be a bit too rigid in the way it expects testing to be performed, which can be a barrier to getting things done. If you don't use the software the way they expect, it can be difficult to work around it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Love version 4 but we are unable to work with version 5

Reviewed 5 years ago

My rating above is for Spiratest version 5. We have used and loved Spiratest for the last three years but we are considering stop using after seeing version 5 features. We upgraded to version 5 months ago and we have to downgrade it because we found it unusable. I was hoping something has gone wrong with the upgrade and we started a trial version hosted by Inflecta so we could create a brand new...

Pros

The colors

Cons

See my previous comments

Vendor response

Hi Begonia Sorry that you didn't like the changes in v5.0. Unfortunately for every user that liked the way the old folders and test cases worked, a much larger number really didn't like them and found them cumbersome and confusing. That's why we did the redesign in v5.0 and most of our users are much happier. But as the old saying goes, you cannot please everyone! If you really need it to work the old way, then probably staying on v4.0 makes the most sense.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Probably the best test management software available!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Creating and and reusing test case is very simple. It helps teams communicate regarding test cases while performing QA duties. Integration are great and also you can undo deleting.

Cons

UI can be imporved. The customization is not that great. Tracking modules can be improved, all these can be improved to make this good tool a great tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very simple tool that works well within our organisation

Reviewed 4 years ago

The major benefit was the introduction of formalised test management processes that inherently increase the capability maturity of our organisation.

Pros

Very easy to use and setup. The requirement management is suitable and integrates well with test management and incident management (defects). By far the best part of the software is that we get all this are a very reasonable price.

Cons

Some inconsistencies with editing such as placing of 'save' button and the wording for those buttons that are moderately unintuitive. Custom Reporting would be nice and the reports in general need work; as does the exporting of graphs (which are all black).

Vendor response

Hello, Thank you for reviewing SpiraTest. We wanted you to know that we have released a new version of SpiraTest which includes a new Custom Graphing feature. We hope you will find it useful for your reporting needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SpiraTest for effective Test Management

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Our team reviewed the free trial of SpiraTest as a test management tool for our organization. It was very easy to use and setup. Now, we are looking at purchasing it. It integrates easily with Jira as a project management tool and it is a cheaper option to other test management tools .

Cons

I realize that once a user is created there is no way of deleting them, you can only disable the user. Some things like the auto-mail content and workflow names are not customizable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Bug integration with TFS in progress

Reviewed 5 years ago

I'm currently evaluating SpiraTest for my company and actually have not yet used all of its functionality. I'm in the process of configuring SpiraTest to integration with my bug tracking system, Team Foundation Server 2017. I found the documentation a bit dated, but useable and in the end I'm sure it will work. I've contacted the Inflectra support folks and they have always answered my questions. Fantastic support crew! I find custom fields for SpiraTest easier to configure than the other end -- TFS. TFS requires a Visual Studio license to configure certain items like state transitions. SpiraTest by contrast is very EASY to configure!

Pros

Ease of use and configuration of all administrative actions. (GUI!) Great support! Has a centralized document repository. Fast interface, very responsive.

Cons

Somewhat dated documentation on integrations. (bug integration between SpiraTest and TFS)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

SPIRA

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have used several testing softwares, and SPIRA works very well at organizing test cases and test steps. Love the Excel tie-in for easy import/export of test cases. Allows a great deal of functionality at a decent price point. Ev

Pros

Excel Add-In allows authoring and exporting test cases/steps in Excel. Provides a great deal of metrics. We're using it for requirements and the requirements to components to test case structure is highly flexible.

Cons

Test Case Execution doesn't show pictures in full for the expected result, but works awesomely for the actual result.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very good test tool and the support is excellent

Reviewed 7 years ago

We have testing our health systems with trial Spira Test and Spira Team amd tjese `products meet all our nees, and We found will be a very good balance of cost and functionality and the support team of Inflectra Sales is excelent.They replied all my questions and issues with the Spira Team instalation.

Pros

Spira Team is flexible and ease to use in destop or web system, in dot net technologies and IIS 7.5 We hope my companies will buy these producs The customers support is very good. The cost is very low alongside other products and very good benefits

Cons

Have not found any yet

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

review

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

creating and and reusing test case is very simple, thus, Cloud and in house hosting options available, it makes organizing and managing your team easier.

Cons

Tracking modules can be improved. it would make this software perfect!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Way better than Excel, Testuff, and other lower price point Test Management tools.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Test data management without the risk of irreversible or unaudited changes. A cloud accessible test management tool for my test team

Pros

The ability to group test cases, the folder hierarchy, test sets and test runs per release. So glad the all tests with tests steps view was added (Table view) Customisable reports are very useful once configured/scripted correctly (although the interface/mechanism is too complex for non-developers/non-technical people. It is far from intuitive)

Cons

Data imported to the Excel template via the Excel add-on should arrive in a format that could be immediately exported back to Spira. This would facilitate faster creation of duplicates with minor amendments, such as copying large tests sets to be rerun in a new release. Reporting. It's difficult to find the report you want without having to run one to see the story it tells. A snapshot of the report...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

SpiraTest compares very well to other well known project management applications.

Reviewed 14 years ago

SpiraTest compares very well to other well known project management applications. SpiraTest beats Quality Center in the ability to create different workflows for multiple incident types, and workflow customization is based on a simple interface rather than on VBScript. The ability to link project artifacts together seems much easier and intuitive the Quality Center. Best of all, SpiraTest has a tool to communicate with Quality Center if you need to work in both applications. SpiraTest also compares well with Pragmatic Software Planner. Information is much more accessible in SpiraTest, and everything actually works. Software Planner loses points for having a more rigid workflow, a non-intuitive interface, and for features that just don't work, like custom reports.

Pros

You can't beat SpiraTest without paying a lot more (and even then you might be disappointed). - Surprisingly easy set up. - Fantastic ease of use once you get used to the workflow paradigm (change status, verify newly required fields, then update). - Traceability: We love how all project components can be linked together. - Test case management: Create individual steps for each test case, and...

Cons

Enhancements to current features, rather than new features, seems to be the rule: - ability to create and administer user groups on a project level instead of only at the application level. - mass updating of multiple artifacts (change all incidents with this type to that type) - update workflow transitions by user type instead of altering each transition. - Workflow takes a little getting...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall it's good an makes test management and running a lot smoother

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The history features of test cases are nice. The ability to link requirements to test steps is nice (allthough could be improved as it is lost on clone). The tracking of progress is nice and ability to create incidents from a specific test steps helps a lot. All the different types of reports that are available to generate are also quite nice.

Cons

The lack of branching/versioning of test cases. This is a big con for us and we're hoping that it will be looked at in the future. Another problem is the linking of requirements to test steps, it feels like it's lacking a bit; it should be possible to 1. Clone a test case and keep the requirements on the test steps (currently they're lost) 2. If a requirement is just linked to a test step the result...

Vendor response

Thanks for the positive feedback on SpiraTest, including the ability to link requirements to test steps (most tools limit the link to just test cases). We do plan on adding requirements/test case baselining functionality, we already support test case and requirements versioning and history tracking. The linking of requirements to test steps and the corresponding reporting was added recently and we shall be enhancing its reporting and tracking in future releases. You can report a reason when a test case / test step fails (in fact you have to), and we already include built-in defect creation and linking during the test execution process, so we're not sure what the reviewer meant by that part.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nice Product. Easy to use ,everything can be tracked in one application..that's awesome.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Its simple and reliable use as compare to industry leaders in this field. Good value for money and excellent support. Also its capabilities to integrate with other tools.

Pros

1-I love the feature to track the bugs. Its so simpler and the enhanced feature of embedding screenshot makes my job lot easier. 2-The reporting section is also good and the available formats to extract reports make my team as well as dev team more comfortable to understand the generated reports. 3-Enabling us to manage the requirement also plays an important role in putting this ahead of some competitors . Its very easy to track requirements either by release or by test cases. 4-last but not the least. Excellent customer Service.

Cons

As I do not see any major flaw in this but yes something needs to be updated/enhanced to make it more user friendly: 1-Allow to delete User. Currently it only allows to disable the user. 2-Flexibility to add our own status to Requirements. 3- few UI issues in reporting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

We Use it Everyday

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use SpiraTest daily. We use it as a repository for our requirements and use the workflow to help move them through the review and approval cycle. There are some issues with the workflow that need to be fixed by Inflectra but overall it helps us to be more efficient. We convert the requirements to test case shells and the test team writes the test cases based on the shell. It makes it very convenient...

Pros

Affordable and has lots of features.

Cons

Some quality issues. The software is well thought out, but it takes a little bit of time to learn its operation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Spiratest is the prefect monitoring solution for our testing needs

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have recommend Spiratest to my client ever since their version 2.0. The easy to use presentation, the report generation, the overall test structure of using a Test Catalog (Test Scenario) to built specific group of sequential test cases (Test Sets) help me create the proper tracking for mastering of End-to-End Test Scenario (reusing single test cases as modular steps)

Pros

Easy to use and personalize dashboards

Cons

Addon (Excel / Word) not in synch with the version which cause a lot of rework. Upload/Download from Excel is only available at version 4.0 but doesn't work with the version 5.0 for Test Cases/Test Sets, etc...

Vendor response

Thanks Marc for the feedback. Don't worry we are in the process of updating the Excel Add-In for version 5.0 so that you won't have to worry about that part in the next month!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Spiratest is a complete test management software/Requirements Management Tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

Efficiently manage automated and manual test scripts and cases.

Pros

Great tool to help organize software testing needs like project requirements, building a test plan, writing the tests, planning the test activities and capturing the results also like bug tracking in the automation testing as well manual testing. Easy to use and everything can be tracked in one application..that's awesome.one tool for all like document collaboration,Test Case Management,Project Management,Requirements Management and etc and mainly affordable cost compare to other similar software

Cons

The UI, is not very friendly with a complex form to work on it frequently user experience application hang problems

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review. We have actually made some major UI improvements in the user interface in v5.3 this year, with most customers liking the new streamlined, simplified look.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Spira Test Version v2.1 has many functionalities of a Robust Testing Tool.

Reviewed 13 years ago

Spira Test Version v2.1 has many functionalities of a Robust Testing Tool, it is complex and has what a project needs to start testing, but it is difficult to implement and I can see project monitoring a little bit weak if the test execution was not correctly followed from the start. It would be good to see a few more features and clean up the UI to be able to have a better feeling of the projects...

Pros

- Defects will open new ticket in Jira ( with new ID ) email notification will be set to Spira Test ID - Integration with documents from MS Office available in HTML, XML, Word and Excel formats. - Integrated with third party software: Available Jira Integration - Available to Import test cases from excel with provided SpiraTestImporterTemplate.xls - Highlights changes to requirements and test cases...

Cons

- Would like the User interface to be a little more friendly and easy to use. - Spira Test implementation needs to configure too many sensitive user information in the configuration file, would like to see another version that does not need this - Was not clear if the history of execution status is saved after many executions just saw some saved. - Email sent from Incidents created from Spira test makes tracking difficult, the subject of project. is not in the title of email, only the id, that is the next ID available for all projects. - Server performance issues, Spira Test requires too many resources. - Record and play not available in this Software version. - Need to update installation files (*.config) for each user that is using the tool. User setup and access process is too long.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Do you want the red pill or the blue pill, the choice is up to you.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Automation v.s Manual and training has been made easier for an individual whom prior to 2018 had no I.T experience, I could pick up the product and teach myself with the Inflectra Webinaar sessions provided by CSR and the bloaks. FORZA

Pros

Spira Test meets halfway with Agile methodology and brings it to life with a user experience unparalleled in the current industry, excelsior!

Cons

Users not using it as designed, other than that. Almost perfect, keep doing what Inflectra's doing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great value for money software with fantastic support

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Have been using Spiratest for the last 3 years for defect tracking and test execution. It was already in use when i joined the company and i found it easy to use and feature rich. We use e seperate project for each or our customers & we can give them access to their own project to track defects during UAT.

Cons

Reports and workflows restricted to individual projects which gets really frustrating unless all work is done in a single project. No Enterprise reporting included so far, but i am told this is coming soon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Spira Hosted Solution

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am into quality assurance and testing. We were always looking out for a test repository that can help the team in sharing test assets and also produce reports. SPIRA lets us do both. We are only using SPIRA to define what we use in our requirement and defect tracking tool. It has been very helpful in showing test runs to the senior management as well.

Pros

Ease of use and it's setup

Cons

Excel functionality to export test cases needs an improvement as we cannot export only a limited set of test cases.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Serves the purpose

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Cloud and in house hosting options available. Customer support is quick and effective. Product is upgraded frequently. Roadmap is clearly communicated. Lots of customization options for reports if you know how to do it.

Cons

Copy, edit, clone and drag and drop are not that user friendly. Need more integration options like EA.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Worth the money ;-)

Reviewed 11 years ago

It would be nice to have a forum/wiki on your website, where people can exchange knowledge or problems with other users.

Pros

quite easy to create testcases management of releases is a good feature interfaces between ldap and jira work well clear structure (by folders) of testcases clear notion of testing progress good export features (ecxel, word, html) support is very fast, competent and friendly

Cons

As a beginner it often happens that you leave a page without saving your work (for e.g. by clicking a link in the navigation). A hint, that you explicitly have to changes before you leave would be very helpfull. When deleting an item, there is a confirmation dialog. It would be helpfull if this dialog would also contain the name of the item to be deleted. It would be nice if attachements (e.g. screenshots) could be synchronized between jira and spiratest. If you comment on an issue that has already been synchronized to jira, this comment is not submitted to jira (it only works from jira to spiratest) Error messages within the windows event viewer are not easy to understand.

Vendor response

1) We do have support forums on our website (which we have let the customer know about) 2) We shall be adding better save and delete confirmations across the application. 3) The ability to sync attachments to/from JIRA will be part of a scheduled update to the plugin.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Spira Test Review

Reviewed 9 years ago

Pro: - covers Requirements as well as Test Cases - compatibility with automatic testing tools - possibility to create Test Sets - execute Test Sets separately from the Test Cases they contain Con: - "keep me logged in" doesn't work (sometimes changes are lost) - sometimes the lists aren't displayed correctly (then after selecting "Show Level 1" it works again, but it's annoying) - mixed...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent Support Reponses !

Reviewed 11 years ago

Great product for the 4-5 days I've worked with it.

Pros

Took a few days to get used to but decent interface and meets most our needs thus far, submitted questions to Support on details and got great rapid response. Thank you !

Cons

Can't link a Requirement# to a Test Step within a Test Case.(Support forwarded request to development). Adding screen shots to a Test Step doesn't look like it can be done - we have lots of screen shots per our existing test steps, would like to get them in somehow, not just listed at the bottom of the Test Case. Q: Is there a way to display multiple Test Cases at once down the screen ? Often, there...

Vendor response

User was not aware of test step attachments tab, we provided guidance on how to use. Regarding the display of multiple test case, the system supports the use of browser tabbed browsing so that each browser tab can contain a different test case.