This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

SQLite

Open-source database engine to store and modify data

see alternatives

SQLite Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Lightweight relational database, works on many platforms and has gain support from popularity in community. The toolkit for developing is great and easy to understand the concept.

Thang N.

Sqlite is great for learning sql for android. For an application that will have data stored only in the app is perfect.

Rayla S.

Very small footprint and overhead, battle-tested in real-world applications (which indicates that it’s pretty reliable) and well supported by several major companies.

Denis d.

Cons

If there is no continuous debugging process and the database scale may present synchronization problems, you do not have the option to have stored procedures.

Alafia V.

Due to the lightweight, there ought to be some restrictions one of them is that a large number of concurrent access might let to a system crash.

Mehak A.

SQLite is for a very specific use case and there are no distribution properties or guarantees. Designed to be very simple so not a lot of tuning for SQLite.

Zach K.

Overall rating

4.4

5

4

3

2

1

47

33

7

1

0

91%
positive reviews
99%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


88 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating

The best solution for small, pre-packaged databases

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Ramindu D.: Hi, I'm Ramindu, a Software Technical Lead in the computer science industry. And I give SQLite...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect database tool for embedded software

Reviewed 2 years ago

I work a lot with SQLite as it is the primary medium of local storage in Android devices (and by extension, Android applications) which I work with on a daily basis, and SQLite is just perfect for the purpose it serves on these devices. It's lightweight so you don't have to worry most times about how much of the user's storage space your database is going to take up. There's not much difference between the standard SQL commands and those used in SQLite, and many have reported that SQLite is a good starting and training resource for SQL in general.

Pros

Doesn't need a separate server. Lightweight and portable. Integrates most of the commands, functions and syntax of other SQL software. Optimized for use on devices that need to store data locally. Large user base and community (support).

Cons

All operations are locked to a single process, so it's not suitable for large scale database operations (which is not what you should be doing locally on a device anyway).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Nice for small solutions

Reviewed 15 days ago

Pretty good for quick tests and development experiments, especially when you like SQL, not great for large production-grade datasets.

Pros

It is serverless, needs no configuration, easy to start working with and use in development, especially when fixing/improving some legacy software. When used correctly, especially with limited amount of data, allows for fast queries.

Cons

It is not built for large-scale applications. Another thing is that it is not easy to predict performance for queries on large amounts of data, even if the user knows how that database is built. It is sometimes easier to design your own (customized) data structure rather than using the standard product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

SQLite - compatability at it's best level

Reviewed 2 years ago

SQLite has become more and more popular among the users because of its easy installation and easy accessing . As it is compatible with most of the programming languages and its light weight it is more popular among mobile application developers

Pros

SQLite is a light weighted data base which could be embedded with any software. Due to the light weightage of the product the data base is more popular In mobile application development. With it’s light weight it is also fast. SQLite is almost 35% faster than any other file system. SQLite is easy to use and there is not special installation or configurations needed to be done in order to use the product. All user have to do is download the libraries and run them in the computer. It is compatible which is why the product can be used with many programming languages with out any issues. Users are given a chance to extend their data base in future by adding new tables or new columns to the existing tables which is a great help for the ongoing projects.

Cons

SQLite is not a multi-user platform where the users can handle concurrent writes. There for SQLite is not good for intensive applications with rapid data logging. If the system has concurrent transactions where lot of users keep accessing the same set of data simultaneously then SQLite is not a good choice for the project. SQLite data bases are restricted to maximum of 2GB in most of the cases.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Experience with SQLite

Reviewed 2 months ago

Describe your general experience with SQLite It is very useful for me to be able to store information and consume it from different sources without having to implement specific software to do so. Its portability capacity has allowed us to distribute work effectively.

Pros

The few resources you need and its portability. This allows us to use the stored data from any medium.

Cons

That there is no native way to make it multi-user. That there is no native way to merge files from the same database, when they have been modified by different users and platforms.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The best solution for small, pre-packaged databases

Reviewed 2 years ago

We included SQLite alongside web and mobile applications where a small database was needed with minimum latency. Most commonly, this use case involved storing dynamic configuration values and user preferences.

Pros

SQLite is a great database solution when you have a small database that you need to package alongside an application, for example a database that stores user preferences. As it is local to the application, it bypasses issues you would have with other, larger database servers in terms of network latency. Its conformity (in the large part) to MySQL syntax and features make it easy to use as well.

Cons

While SQLite's lack of scaling features is forgivable (that wasn't what it was built for after all) some SQL features that are not implemented make it a hassle to write queries to SQLite databases in some instances.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My Own Experience working with SQLite

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience using SQLite is good, but it is based on small projects, always working locally and with little information. If you are thinking of working on large-volume information projects, I recommend other applications related to somewhat better, more visual databases, and with more functions to generate code and store queries or procedures.

Pros

The best thing about SQLite is undoubtedly that you can work with it for free. In addition with SQLite we can perform any type of query that we would perform with another program.

Cons

What I like least about SQLite is undoubtedly nothing visual. The way to work with SQLite is through the console, and this may seem silly, and when you are accustomed it may not matter, but for people who begin to familiarize themselves with database environments, it is really useful for tables, and which is done with them, be fully visible. When displaying results by console, unless you print them in an external table, such as an Excel workbook, it will be quite complicated to see and analyze large results (Tables over 10k rows for example)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Lightweight Relational Database for Small Applications and Websites.

Reviewed 2 months ago

We always use SQLite as our database when building software and web application prototypes and when deploying basic websites and apps that are not data-intensive.

Pros

SQLite does not run on a server like MySQL but is part of the end application thus making data storage and retrieval very fast.

Cons

It is not reliable when deploying it with applications with multi-user access to database. With websites, SQLite can only handle sites with low to medium traffic.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excelente base de datos de desarrollo

Reviewed 9 months ago

Es muy fácil de configurar y empezar nuevas aplicaciones sin tener que instalar nada más o montar un docker con postgres o mysql es muy cómodo, sobre todo para principiantes. Las funcionalidades que provee son las básicas pero en general suficientes cuando tienes que desarrollar prototipos o "aplicaciones de laboratorio" destinadas a aprender. Al guardar los datos en un fichero es muy fácil llevarlo junto con el código para tener guardada una configuración inicial para el proyecto.

Pros

Cuando comienzas un proyecto en Ruby on Rails, sqlite viene por defecto como motor de base de datos, por lo tanto su configuración para guardar los datos en un fichero es muy sencilla y de este modo es fácil comenzar a desarrollar un nuevo proyecto. Es fácil de configurar y muy efectivo como base de datos de desarrollo.

Cons

Al ser una base de datos basada en un fichero, su performance no es muy buena, y si debes realizar pruebas de performance te recomiendo utilizar el motor de base de datos que tengas en producción. Por otro lado, hay algunas funcionalidades como columnas array o hstore no están disponibles por lo que en ese caso no podrás utilizarla.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A solução para os meus problemas

Reviewed 6 months ago

Eu estava com muitas dificuldades para encontrar qual dado nao estava sincronizando offline no meu device, e, com a ajuda do sqlite consegui meio que debugar os valores que estavam passando incorretamentes e virar a chave do meu sistema. Muito bom!

Pros

Proporciona com uma facilidade enorme a consulta de dados, para quem é desenvolvedor é uma ferramenta essencial para validações, alterações à nível de banco, ou seja, a praticidade do software é extremamente agradável.

Cons

Deveriam existir mais documentações de uso, eu, quando estava iniciando tive muita dificuldade para conseguir extrair um banco de dados de um dispositivo para enfim importá-lo no sqlite. Mas de resto, é o simples que é funcional.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Lightweight, Easy to integrate

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

If the application is not an ERP sort of then Sqlite is the best choice, it's easy to integrate and fast if the data is small. Best choice for beginners as well.

Cons

Its performance is really impacted if the data gets large overtime. Not a good choice for applications with many users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A standard for testing

Reviewed 2 years ago

SQLite allows us to setup and test all our database structures, it's quick and easy to get going and it stays out of your way. Most of the time you'll forget that it's even part of your tech stack.

Pros

I like that SQLite for the most part stays out of your way. As soon as you have your desired config set up, you can transfer it with ease to most other projects and it just works. We use SQLite for testing purposes as it speeds up the entire process. You can either spin a local instance up or have it run in-memory to speed up your tests. The fact that it's usage is so ubiquitous, finding help or answers online isn't an issue at all.

Cons

If I had to fault it at something, there is an edge case with how it builds your database structure, especially with how it handles foreign keys. It's easily handled by adjusting your test setup structure. That's the only hiccup we ever had and resolved with ease.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Reliable and battle tested database engine

Reviewed 2 years ago

I had been using it for Windows, iOS, backend and Android for many purposes. The support for sqlite always straight forward. I would recommend sqlite for tasks which not use joins nor store procedures. Native security is quite weak without supporting encrypt particular table or column.

Pros

Lightweight relational database, works on many platforms and has gain support from popularity in community. The toolkit for developing is great and easy to understand the concept. Integration to mobile is a nicer experience compare to other db engine. The speed and datasize is good for mobile as well.

Cons

We need to define data structure first before actually implement features, any mismatch in database scheme must be resolved using migration. The locking architecture only allow a single process to write at a time - no high volume transaction - and it isn’t able to scale to hundreds of users nor store large amount of data.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

No server required, used for standalone application and less configuration

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are using SQLite for java and android application. SQLite is use for small and mid level organization as well because its cost affordable for any one. There is no required to back up every time because SQLite make a file for backup .

Pros

SQLite is very faster then other database as performance wise. we are using SQLite for mobile application and desktop application. Mose imp feature i like in SQLite is at the time of deployment on production it not required any space. SQLite is lightweight. select query is very faster in standalone application.

Cons

There is no reporting functionality in SQLite. At the time of multiple insert query perform in queue that its goes slow for some time. There is administration in SQLite,so its very difficult to manage for multiple user.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Database For Smaller Loads

Reviewed 2 years ago

This is definitely a great option when we are working on smaller projects that require and embedded database rather than the whole database setup. You quickly get up and running but security is definitely a concern when working on more sensitive work

Pros

It doesn't required installing an extra software. Provides the essentials in terms of structured query language which is often better than having to use a text file, especially when relations are involved. It is very cross-platform from mobile, desktop etc which makes life easier.

Cons

When it comes to systems that may have a lot of concurrent actions it, in my experience, often tends to lock up. It doesn't give much in terms of allowing to tune performance for more complex scenarios. There is no user management in place thus there are not permissions, it may not be the best option for more sensitive data Last I checked there was no date data type which means enforcing that date formats conformity is often on the developer's side.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to become a problem

Reviewed 3 years ago

On a Windows Forms app we used to query services thousand times for data that does not change so frequently. We also had to store some business information (imagine as storing a wizard progress) and that used to be handled using TXT files (and it was a mess). We changed to SQLite and it worked almost like a charm but as the app grew and we decided to create an architecture similar to Google Chrome (multiple processes) it became a major problem for all of them to both read and write at it (we had to create a proxy app to write).

Pros

Integrates nicely with .NET (specially Windows Forms) applications, it's really easy to use (specially if you're already familiar with SQL Server) and deployment is really easy (copy/paste required files).

Cons

It's locking architecture enables only a single process to write at a time so building a more complex application may cause hard-to-solve problems.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Free and quick to setup and use.

Reviewed 2 years ago

The use-case I used SQLite was fairly simple I had to set up some small application quickly so this was the best possible solution for me.

Pros

The fact that it requires no installation makes it suitable for a quick application setup. It's a very lightweight tool that makes it useable across many systems. SQLite does not require a separate location that can be on the same server location which makes the I/O processing really fast and reliable.

Cons

Due to the lightweight, there ought to be some restrictions one of them is that a large number of concurrent access might let to a system crash. One more issue is that is works with whole DB lock while performing a write operation so all the write operations are sequential.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A good choice for storing small and local data

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love how SQLite is so portable, and can be used in different platforms. I doesn't need any bulky installation for me to use. It is so lightweight and there is no learning curve when you came from MS SQL.

Cons

Maybe when opening a large sqlite file around 1GB above, it hangs up and sometimes fails to load. But maybe that's my fault because SQLite is not intended for storing large data. Good product anyway.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The perfect landscape to train and test SQL

Reviewed 2 years ago

Integrates well with SQL learning tool. Followed many guides in my quest to learn SQL and almost all suggested SQLite. This is mostly for training and testing.

Pros

About as simple as it gets -- as the name suggests. Made learning SQL easy knowing I wouldn't be affecting my own database.

Cons

I truly enjoyed using the product although I never use it anymore. It sits dormant on my computer now that I have a grasp of SQL.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A lightweight relational database management system especially for offline mobile applications and d

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have used SQLite in developing many mobile apps, mostly Android App and as a database at back end we integrated this light weight DB system. The processing speed of queries is exceptionally fast. All the databases are working well.

Pros

SQLite is object based relational query language which keeps and maintained the whole databases in a very light weight, usually within 500kb to 1mb size, depending on size of databases. This database system has everything which a standard databases must have like relationships, events, all operations, etc. SQLite is very helpful in building application for Mobiles which stores databases in locally.

Cons

1. No dedicated server required. 2. Very light weight and easy to follow commands with knowledge. 3. Large community support makes learning this language even more fast and easy 4. Easy to keep backups as the whole database stored in single file. 5. Easy to implement and integrate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great choice if you use it correctly

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

SQLite is a fantastic database for resource-constraint systems or for those cases where full-blown SQL client-server system is not required. SQLite has been probably implemented for any platform. It even exists for microcontrollers. When used properly, SQLite makes programmers life easy.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike about SQLite.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for simple persistent storage

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

SQLite is great because it is really easy to interface with a number of languages, my preference being C#. This allows me to create persistent storage for my applications or Unity games. SQLite is also great because it does not require an installation, either on the developers side nor the players side, it is a simple DLL which can be embedded into the application with ease. It also has great support with database management GUIs allowing me to debug the database very quickly.

Cons

Off the top of my head, there are no glaring issues with SQLite. However it is important to know when a system like this is needed as opposed to another simple storage option such as XML/JSON etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool to have lightweight data bases.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was a part of team developing micro-services in python, and we used SQL Lite to store persistent information on each microservice. It is a great option because the setup it's really simple.

Pros

* Really easy to install. * It has compatibility with different operating systems. * It can be used in many programming languages. * The command line is easy to use.

Cons

* It's a light weight database if you are trying to save too much data you will face some problems.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Exactly what the name says SQL lite

Reviewed 2 years ago

Whenever I need a database, SQLite is always a top option. Local storage is needed in most projects and the ability to use SQLite on almost any platform in almost any language means I always have the ability to execute the project with ease.

Pros

SQLite is a go to for when I need a quick lite weight database. It provides the ability to create local storage with the ability to integrate into most programming languages. It uses the familiar SQL structure and doesn't require any administration.

Cons

There are some areas where it deviates from using SQL language, but it is usually easily fixed by a quick Google search.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Database manager very functional, fast and easy to use for different programming languages

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is a public domain tool that when created with the C ++ language gives those who have experience in programming the facility to adapt it to their requirements, SQLite is independent of the platform. The operations are carried out very efficiently with a single library and a small memory

Pros

This Database Manager is really very functional, transactions are fast and its simple interface makes it easy to use, you can work with different programming languages such as PHP and phyton. It is much less complex than other handlers such as Postgres or MySQL

Cons

It is not recommended for systems that use a large amount of data, rather for medium-sized applications or for websites whose number of transactions is very high. It also does not support systems under the client-server platform

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Fast Embedded database

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Compact Fast Easy to use Preinstalled in most platform

Cons

Do not support nosql features Do not support multi client