Sumo Logic Reviews

Sumo Logic

Unified Logs & Metrics for Full App Visibility

4.53/5 (17 reviews)

Prasoon Kumar

Hassle free integeration with AWS

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-01-08
Review Source: Capterra

I have generated multiple Dashboards for real time analytics of cloud watch logs. We were able to carve out business trends and it led us into process improvement.

Pros
Sumo logic is very flexible and easy to integrate with different cloud providers. But it's specifically easy to work with AWS. I had to create an IAM user and provide the credentials to sumo logic collectors which started pulling in data from S3 buckets immediately. Option to generate variety of Dashboards from real-time streaming data.

Cons
I didn't like the tabular interface. you have to scroll all the way to the right to find your tabs. It could be have been made more user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Flexible and detailed log analysis software for System Administrators

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-02
Review Source: Capterra

I use Sumo Logic to ingest logs across a fleet of about 125 servers, including Windows and Linux servers. Setup was pretty straightforward. Documentation is detailed and complete. Customer support and tech support are mostly competent and cooperative. I'd definitely recommend this product, especially to smaller startups or businesses that can't or don't want to implement their own logging server infrastructure.

Pros
Extremely flexible search and reporting Log ingestion from essentially any source Good support for major operating systems Decent technical support Good communication with customers Continuously improving the software in all areas PCI/DSS qualified

Cons
Some very poor UI design decisions Poor account management Performance can be very bad for searches over large data sets or long timeframes Expensive

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Not intuitive for data retrieval

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-12-28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
There are user guides at-hand for doing data searches, following best practices. You can quickly access these guides and find what you're looking for in gathering specific information for the data fed to the system. There are also many awesome options for taking data found in your log dive and putting it together to become more useful information (such as seeing how many times a specific event occurred in a specific time frame, etc).

Cons
The way data is stored and retrieved is not intuitive: key words for items allow for a faster search than specifically picking out the exact value of a parameter you're looking for. For example, you know for the purposes of your search that abc="123"; however, searching for that exact thing will take longer to search for then simply searching for "123" ... which will also find values of "123" for parameters, def, ghi, and jkl if they exist. I only want to find values of "123" for parameter abc. ... yet for some reason, there's no good way to retrieve that information, even though we've fed the data to the system, and it exists. This is more of a problem if you actually need to search your data for specifics on a regular basis; if you're just managing the data and only searching for real time data, it may not be quite as important.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review

Joel Ngito

Sumo Logic Review

Used daily for free trial
Reviewed 2019-06-07
Review Source: Capterra

An ideal solution for scaling up things when it comes to cloud operations and analytics.

Pros
Surest mean to effectively run diagnostics on your servers to root out any faults that may be causing unexpected hitches. With so much flexibility, you can get just anything. The search feature works pretty fast giving you reports whenever you need info. It has a rather simplified interface that makes you just think of a mobile app. You can use the dashboard to manage logs of various applications. This lets you see areas where you need to make adjustments for improvement. In addition, you can analyze every log and mine all useful data. It integrates seamlessly with cloud providers and you get the most done with AWS right by your side. Also, if you're stuck at any point, you can reach out to customer care and have your issue addressed in good time.

Cons
The live-mode feature should be made such that when you start the tool, you are automatically switched on because it's easy to forget to switch it on every time you're starting it. It would be such a good thing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Abner Jimenez

Heavyweight in monitoring

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-08-01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I like the fact that it looks like a mobile app, it is very simple to use, setting up your dashboard is very simple, real-time monitoring is reliable and being able to add a different filter to every running job, gives makes monitoring very simple

Cons
the "live mode" button sometimes you open up the app and you forget to switch it on, it would be better if the app is always on live mode

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

karan verma

Excellent logging integration with Sumo Logic

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-08-03
Review Source: Capterra

We are handling logs of our several applications at the same time and making a map for common occurrences. This is good for analyzing where we need to improve. It has helped in monitoring of our servers and finding the faults fast.

Pros
It is very navigable and offers perfect ui which is very intuitive. You can write any type of query , sumo logic will have answer to that type. We can easily search and export. You can configure it the way you want it to behave and give you the readings in the real time. You can know the properties of a running job from all the jobs on the dashboard which is a great plus from the similar softwares.

Cons
Sometimes it is very hard to reach customer support , you may have to wait till someone can come to your rescue on an issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Jamie Hewland

Powerful tool to help you get the most out of your application logs

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-09-10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Easy to use. Powerful tools for analysing logs and extracting useful information. Variety of different reporting methods and a good quality log exporter.

Cons
There are many competitors with subtle differences so choose carefully.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Doug Symes

we are able to look at our ELB logs and make decisions

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
low price, ease of use. The service does the work for you. Always good to have AWS do the work for you.

Cons
Almost feel this should be free but maybe I need to look at it differently. It could be cheaper than it is.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

David Liu

Great product for logging

Used monthly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-04-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pretty good overall

Pros
Easily query different log sources to identify and monitor issues

Cons
Doesn't allow simply copy and paste: requires first to right click, then choose as an option

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

ramesh kumar

SumoLogic is very help to analyse the log as a centralized place

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-10-13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
1. The recent changes for custom time option made easy to change the time 2. The Library and manage section is useful to search the recent queries and collectors.

Cons
1. Not able to query with single and double quote and it needs lots of time to parse the message to get the expected output.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

A great tracker for internal logs

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-03-18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I am able to track using our current date api events that a user did. We were really able to make this our own.

Cons
I wish there was a hot list of calls to run or a simple format to search

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Nakul Shah

Good Way to Visualize Logs

Used weekly for free trial
Reviewed 2019-04-18
Review Source: Capterra

This is a very good value for money log searching tool for startup and small businesses

Pros
Really good user interface The speed of the search is decent

Cons
This is not really a 'con' but just a reality - free version only provides you with 500MB per day. So if you are an enterprise, chances are that you will need to get a paid version

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Ayush Chandrashekhar

Really good Logger with robust features and much recommended for All team sizes.

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-02-20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
1. Adding and parsing Elastic Load Balancer's access logs is just easier. 2. Very straight forward and easy maintenance .

Cons
1. More features would be really beneficial like Graphical and More of Charts 2. Support for more cloud is a way better way to increase Growth i feel.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Anonymous

Not many out of the box dashboards

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-08-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The flexibility to create your own queries and form dashboards on this is great. You just have to play around and understand the data. Can also receive pings based on logic.

Cons
Not many out of the box dashboards like other software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Logs Made simple

Used monthly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-11-04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Easy to lookup logs using SQL like queries. Great knowledgebase to lookup those queries too.

Cons
The queries can be difficult to compose sometimes.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Shintaro Sasaki

Rating only

Reviewed 2018-10-05
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Minimize review

Sean Fretenborough

Rating only

Reviewed 2016-02-15
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review