This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

WhatsUp Gold Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.4

/5

195
93%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.31/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

The software has free updates which is awesome and the community board is very helpful. I would recommend this product to any IT environment that is looking for network monitoring solution.

KH

Kristina H.

Ease of use for WhatsUp Gold is great. The product does what is advertised and provides a great system for notification and analysis.

AH

Austin H.

Great monitoring and alerting systems. Easy viewing and great for displaying on a monitor.

JF

JAMES F.

Sometimes when organizing items on the screen I accidentally move wrong and then all my server/website objects end up in strange places on the screen.

CK

Carl K.

Bulk editing is cumbersome and import from lists does not work well.

HT

Hunter T.

The biggest problem with this product is the performance/capacity of the product to generate graphs. Using java to fetch data from the database to paint pages is slow.

JD

Jim D.

WhatsUp Gold users...

SolarWinds Service Desk-logocaret
listing-logo
+ 2

SolarWinds Service Desk

Compare both
Network Performance Monitor-logocaret
listing-logo

Network Performance Monitor

Compare both
SiteScope-logocaret
listing-logo

SiteScope

Compare both
Kaseya VSA-logocaret
listing-logo

Kaseya VSA

Compare both
How would you rate WhatsUp Gold?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


195 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating

Visibility is the key

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Springman: Hi, my name is Springman. I work in an architecture engineering firm. I am a network operations...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

WhatsUpGold is a great tool for monitoring the status of your network.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We mainly benefit from the alerts system that will notify all specified employees via text/email whenever a part of our network goes down. Typically we will know something is down before our users even notice the problem.

Pros

The alerts are where WhatsUpGold really shines. They are all fully customizable and once they're setup to your specifications they work like a dream. A majority of the time we will know when something on the network goes down before our users even notice the problem!

Cons

This product can do so many different things it becomes a little overwhelming. Once alerts are setup they work great, but the configuration process can get pretty confusing if you haven't done it before. Online training videos on how to configure certain features would be a great tool.

Vendor response

Hi and thanks so much for the kind words! We¿re delighted that you¿re enjoying WhatsUp Gold and we love hearing about how you¿re using it. Please note that we do have a number of videos on Youtube that go into detail on our most recent release WhatsUp Gold 2018 as well as a Quick Tips series of how-to videos here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS2lCWFrs4paSSNpe1JnTnQ If you have further questions about using WhatsUp Gold please feel free to contact us directly or visit our online Community at commmunity.ipswitch.com for more help. Thanks again for using WhatsUp Gold.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

WhatsUp Gold Replaces Monitoring Service

Reviewed a year ago

WhatsUP gold is monitoring the same things, if not more, than an IT services company was doing for about $500/mo. This saved us a huge amount of money in the long run and was totally worth the configuration issues we had.

Pros

Customizable to monitor only the network parts/components that we wanted monitored. Able to set it to send email and SMS (via email) alerts to multiple users.

Cons

Network discovery was a bit slow and clunky. After a network change we had to delete the current monitors and do a complete re-scan or it doubled up the devices.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WhatsUp Gold Application Review

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

WhatsUp Gold is easy to use and gives us great visibility into our Network and Servers. The discovery of devices has been very helpful. The alerts and reporting have been very helpful.

Cons

It took a little while to learn to navigate the software but once you learn the layout you can move around quickly and find the information needed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

What's Up Gold - could be better!

Reviewed 23 days ago

We've been using What's Up Gold for more than 15 years, and at this time we're considering replacing the product with something that has better support and is more stable and functional.

Pros

The website does provide great ability to customize and layout the network graphically so users can easily see how hardware is connected. This capability is largely why we've kept What's Up Gold around, along with the reasonably priced structure.

Cons

Support needs vast improvements. Documentation could be better. Do not utilize this product with the thought of turning a lot of features on as it simply cannot handle it. Our experience with utilizing the network monitoring, netflow, configuration backup, and syslog services caused our instance to crawl and at times and be completely unusable. Support was not able to resolve the issues over the span of multiple years and multiple upgrades and multiple escalations, so we instead started to stop utilizing some of these features such as the netflow and syslog services so that our network monitoring piece was functional. We've since replaced What's Up Gold for the netflow and syslog functions with other products and are considering replacing the product completely.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solid Monitoring and Reporting

Reviewed 3 months ago

very positive - good support

Pros

Easy to set up, good support, good add-ons

Cons

not intuitive menus - setting up notifications takes some practice - many good features are hidden

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Legacy WUG user

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are proactively monitoring network, server and application infrastructure in a way that allows for pro-active maintenance and reporting. It allows us to view and manage IT assets easily, I only wish I had more time to utilize more of it's features.

Pros

It provides a nice visual representation of the health of your IT infrastructure environment and allows for the easy drilling down into details that are needed. It is full of features and information and allows for proactive monitoring.

Cons

Nothing specifically at this time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WhatsUp Gold Analysis

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall, WUG has been a very positive experience with more positives than negatives. It has alerted us of issues before our customers are aware of them. It has allowed us to create baselines on uptime.

Pros

This is an inexpensive way to look at your network and get notifications of when you have issues. It also allows you to obtain an inventory of your products. It can take advantage of SNMPv3.

Cons

You can have issues with the requirement to delete and recreate objects to get new inventory. This means replying all the rules again.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WhatsUp Gold - A Must Have

Reviewed 25 days ago

Huge time saver in monitoring and handling issues that pop up. We have the out of sight-out of mind mentality. WhatsUp is our eyes and is a must have software.

Pros

Ease of setup and management. The capabilities to monitor all different kinds of systems in one place makes this software invaluable. Perfect fit for our critical monitoring needs.

Cons

Can't say I have any issues with WhatsUp Gold. It runs 24/7 keeping us safe.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and manage

Reviewed a month ago

Very good actually, and the system has run smoothly for years now, support team is also very efficient.

Pros

The straightforward GUI interface and very easy to set up.

Cons

A little bit expensive, but still ok compare with other products on the market.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

WUG Review

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

I liked the text alerts and e-mail alerts when equipment is down. Also, that you can assign policies to send more frequent alerts for critical equipment vs other non-mission critical equipment.

Cons

The text alerts can be misleading because they don't include entire message. Example would be that you receive text alert about a switch, but you don't know if the switch is down or just a port is down. You have go and then check the e-mail to see the entire message.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WhatsUp Gold Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

After everything was set up, we have had almost no issues. The customer support is great and the reps are great. The software has free updates which is awesome and the community board is very helpful. I would recommend this product to any IT environment that is looking for network monitoring solution.

Pros

It fits exactly what we need it to do. Monitor our devices and send us alerts when there is an issue. The schematic is also very helpful because we have it broken down into locations and grouped together to make things easier to use. It is also very helpful to put in all the information we have into the details of the device so that its all in one place. It helps us stay organized!

Cons

The set up was atrocious. We had to run a scan like 6 times to find everything. Eventually I had to add things in one by one which took forever. It is not simple to use. You have to really understand the icons and how things are linked within the software. I wished there was better documentation and videos about this. Especially with the setup. The whole installation and setup was a nightmare.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

wug 17&18 has an overall better interface that is responsive, a few minor fixes will make it aweso

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The device cards are a nice addition; quickly access common features. Creating dashboard is much easier now than in previous version; more flexible. I like how things are now grouped together, e.g. accessing logs you don't have to go to 3-4 different locations. Searching for devices is great!

Cons

Device roles and discovery could use some work. need to be able finding monitors in library is cumbersome, need a way to search or jump alphabetically Device types were remove, new versions don't support changing OS type Need a way to create dynamic HTTPS content monitor, meaning you could hit an address like so : http://%device.Hostname/NmConsole (hostname is not supported, only address) HTTPS...

Vendor response

Hi, Thanks so much for the kind words! We're delighted that you're enjoying WhatsUp Gold and we love hearing about how you're using it. Please note that we do have a number of videos on Youtube that go into detail on our most recent release WhatsUp Gold 2018 as well as a Quick Tips series of how-to videos here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MmaOx9MsMEQ. If you have further questions about using WhatsUp Gold please feel free to contact us directly or visit our online Community for more help. Thanks again for using WhatsUp Gold.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

WUG CRA Experience

Reviewed 2 years ago

Alerting and allowing us to be proactive on issues is main focus and WUG has allowed my team to accomplish that goal. Reporting/automating reports and providing different practices within CRA the option of personalized dashboards to gauge performance has been a favorite offering from IT to our end users.

Pros

Goes without saying that it is easy to implement, intuitive and easy to manage. Dashboards and views are ++++

Cons

been using WUG for over 10years and have brought in to 3 different companies i've worked for---to date, i haven't found anything I dislike.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review and for being a valued customer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best Monitoring products available

Reviewed 2 years ago

I monitor all critical objects such as CPU, memory, disk and response time. I am also monitoring critical services such as SQL, Rapid Recovery to name a few. One of the main benefits is receiving an email alert before or when a device is down so we can avoid tons of tickets from users.

Pros

I have been using What'sUp Gold network monitoring for years. I was first introduced to the product in 2003. My company at the time was using Solarwinds which I found to be not very user friendly. So I did some research and found What'sUP Gold. Out of the box it was easy to implement and provided much more clarity and features. It provides me with a proactive approach for when any monitored device hits a predetermined threshold. Absolutely love it.

Cons

There isn't much I don't like about the product.

Vendor response

Thank you for being a long time valued customer and for your positive review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Reliable and easy to use network monitoring software

Reviewed a year ago

We have been using WhatsUp as our network monitoring solution for over a decade now, and have found it to be easy to configure and maintain, and pricing was very competitive. We haven't needed to utilize product support more than a couple of times, and they were very responsive and helpful when needed.

Pros

SNMP and WMI monitoring alerts for monitored devices and services are reliable and easy to configure. Alert Center keeps us up to date on device status. Logs are collected and able to be accessed from one location. The software provides a variety of ways to group devices, and a lot of customizability for various monitors and alerts.

Cons

The mobile app was a nice addition to the platform, however is very basic and could use a lot of improvements to turn it into a useful monitoring and administration tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent product however lately they are advertising features that are not working

Reviewed 4 years ago

It provides us an overall health of the environment and provides great alerting tool.

Pros

The interface is nice and customizable. Upgrading to new versions are very simple. The overall alert monitoring is great. They continue to add in new features to keep up with the overall demanding IT infrastructure. Working with their technical and product teams are great as they listen to your issues and/or suggestions and look to add new features by communicating to their customers on their sprints.

Cons

As of late the Whats Up Gold Plus product is not delivering based on what has been communicated to their customers. I attended a conference where IPSwitch stated their WhatsUp Gold product supported Microsoft Azure, Dell Compellent Storage and Wireless APs. When we implemented the product it only supports a small piece of Azure that requires Servers and not WebApps/Sites. In addition, the Dell Compellent provides incorrect measurements which is now being looked at on their technical team because there are issues with their release. On the AP Support it is stating they cannot read into our Cisco Airnet APs which are very standard. This too is a feature request. I like the product but for the cost I would expect these types of features to work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Robust and streamlined monitoring

Reviewed 2 years ago

WUG has been a solid piece of our network for years now, their support team is great and the product does everything we need it to do and more. It is reasonably priced for what you get.

Pros

We mostly use WhatsUp for server and service monitoring but we also use it for configuration management on the majority of our network devices, Netflow Analysis, and Application monitoring. For years WUG has been a solid investment and the constant flow of updates keeps adding new features with every release. With the ability to create your own custom monitors and actions WUG will let you do almost anything you can think of.

Cons

Because it is so customizable there is a lot to do to make use of the full capabilities of WUG. It would also be nice to see external integrations via an API of some sort bring able to quickly pull info from WUG using a Slack or Teams bot would be handy. An enhancement of the reporting capabilities such as embedded dashboards allowing users to present information from WUG on other websites and services would help admins present WUG information to customers more easily.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review and for being a valued customer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mid-level monitoring platform that works

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall we've had a great experience with WUG. During the Solarwinds hack we were looking for an emergency replacement for our monitoring platform. We were able to get a WUG server set up and going, monitoring all of our systems, within a week. Moving over to WUG has generally been a great experience, with little overhead managing the system. The price was right, as well.

Pros

This product is easy to set up and has minimum specs - we monitor nearly a thousand systems and sites using just one WUG server. This product doesn't have bolt-on applications that makes it hard to manage and upgrade down the road. This product has a lot of value for the money.

Cons

No API interface available for automation of monitoring. No complex alert logic or recovery notification options available. Minimum features (plays into some of the Pros, however).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple and easy to use

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have had positive experiences with WhatsUpGold. The sales staff and tech support are friendly and knowledgeable.

Pros

This software is simple and easy to use. The alerts it gives the I.S. Department are very valuable in that we have so much infrastructure it would be very difficult to monitor all of it in real time. WhatsUpGold makes that task much easier and often lets us know when there is an issue before we would be informed otherwise.

Cons

There is so much information sent to I.S. it could fill up your mailbox pretty quickly if you don't keep on top of it.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review and for being a valued customer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

WhatsUp Gold

Reviewed a year ago

It has been a positive one. I have used WUG for about 7 years now.

Pros

Configuration Management, Monitoring and the Dashboards.

Cons

The reporting is lacking as I feel like it hasn't been updated in some time. The manner in which reports are sent via email can be sloppy at times and the actual reporting options are limited.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Always Improving, Some Layer 2 Problems

Reviewed 2 years ago

Adequate tool for monitoring and sending alerts to the IT members, with escalations if not resolved

Pros

It is mostly reliable. Great scan engine, intuitive, maintenance mode with time limits, lots of great features

Cons

Layer 2 auto-maps are not reliable. I have opened several tickets and these problems never get resolved. If this feature worked reliably it would be a huge time saver.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review and for being a valued customer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great program for monitoring and maintaining your IT infrastructure

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Basic installation and configuration of WUG is very easy. Out of the box, there are many monitors that can be set up without a large amount of experience. The titles and tooltips make setting up the initial software package very simple.

Cons

Adding non-default alerts seem to be a little more difficult than should be.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to configure, customize and implement

Reviewed 2 years ago

Wonderful product and reasonably priced compared to other commercial solutions.

Pros

Ability to setup proactive alerts based upon custom application monitors, to provide notification to key support individuals of critical process failures.

Cons

Web interface can sometimes be slow and/or require clearing cache and refreshing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have had nothing but outstanding experience with IPswitch and it's staff.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our Network and VM monitoring has improved by 200%

Pros

First is its reliability. I have matched it against other products such as CACTI and more accurate in the numbers game. Also, its flexibility when it comes to even exporting and importing of databases to new versions of WUG. Another aspect I like is how there is always constant improvement with the product. The versions never stay static. Always moving forward. I have in recent made of suggestion and IPSwitch said they would investigate it and possibly have it in a beta release.

Cons

This is a most difficult question to answer. If I had to come up with anything ... It is that they are under staffed. Every single employee on tech side, sales, marketing must be working 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Answers are always 100 percent correct but the same staff answers your questions. Those employee s need help. Hire !!!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

WhatsUp Gold is great to alert on all types of devices

Reviewed 4 years ago

Benefit of proactively maintaining the full network

Pros

It allows me to monitor all of the network remotely. I'm able to monitor switches, websites, computers, temperature, etc. I just need to only look at my email to be able to see down statuses of devices

Cons

Taking the time to research how to configure monitoring takes up a lot of my time. Wish there were more instructional videos.

Vendor response

Hi and thanks so much for the kind words! We¿re delighted that you¿re enjoying WhatsUp Gold and we love hearing about how you¿re using it. Please note that we do have a number of videos on Youtube that go into detail on our most recent release WhatsUp Gold 2018 as well as a Quick Tips series of how-to videos here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS2lCWFrs4paSSNpe1JnTnQ If you have further questions about using WhatsUp Gold please feel free to contact us directly or visit our online Community at commmunity.ipswitch.com for more help. Thanks again for using WhatsUp Gold.