App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MemberSuite System Logo

MemberSuite System

Cloud-based AMS for associations & member-based non-profits

see alternatives

(3)

MemberSuite System Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

18

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.19/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

I formerly used MemberSuite and was relieved to have a powerful system with excellent reporting capabilities. Every system has it's strengths and REPORTING is the best part of MemberSuite.
The ability to customize and the price point was perfect for us compared to other systems. The customer service is really good as well.
Their sales pitch is good. There are a lot of ways to customize the software and, for the right association with a very complex organization is can be customized to be a great tool.
Our implementation was terrible and we are still finding things that do not work or were set up incorrectly.
The lack of a spreadsheet import can be a hindrance. Also, there's no way to copy merchandise or most other objects in the system, which would be really helpful when creating a lot of inventory.
But there is no pipeline, no way to track communications with members, and the plugin for outlook is no longer supported.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


18 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Shaun H.

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Access and adaptability enabling

Reviewed 4 years ago

MemberSuite runs the core of our business. There are several modules and systems that have been centralized, and the system is the primary system in which all member accounts and systems are referenced against. This centralization of our member ecosystem allows us to more efficiently and effectively manage our records with the staff resources we have.

Pros

A competitive advantage MemberSuite has over other providers is the flexibility of its API and ability to integrate with other systems and its ability to customize fields and data import/exports to manage data. This makes the system scalable and allows for a more customized fit to meet business processes of the organization, while staying on a core product.

Cons

MemberSuite knows it cannot be a one-size fits all or one-stop-shop for what dedicated systems provide, which is why integrations are important; however, there is basic functionality in the finance and marketing modules that if given a little more love could be decent baseline modules without the additional brute-force staff time it takes to make them operate efficiently.

LK
AvatarImg

Louisa K.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MemberSuite Will Scale With You

Reviewed 9 months ago

We have regular meetings with our customer service manager, which allows for a scheduled time to ask questions, find out what new features/updates are on the way, and share any feedback we may have for the company.

Pros

Having unlimited users meant that as our organization grew, our cost for the software *did not*. Annual membership renewal is easy to set up and run. Searching can get as granular as you want, allowing for truly targeted communications. We could use it out of the box. You can set up as many custom fields, relationship types, etc...as needed, which means as your needs evolve, the system will evolve with you.

Cons

Over the five+ years we've used MemberSuite, the company has continued to invest in the development of the product, which means that features that we wanted initially have since been implemented. In some cases, later than we needed it.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Overall, this has been a disappointing experience.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I learned that we should have picked something else?

Pros

Their sales pitch is good. There are a lot of ways to customize the software and, for the right association with a very complex organization is can be customized to be a great tool.

Cons

This expensive software is sold as a "one stop shop" solution, but many of the features do not work well or are no longer supported. For instance, we were told that the built in CRM was great and just like Salesforce or dynamics with an outlook plugin. But there is no pipeline, no way to track communications with members, and the plugin for outlook is no longer supported/ Several things we were...

SW
AvatarImg

Sue W.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Multiple Options and functions

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, our experience has been great. The customer service when needed has been exceptions

Pros

Membership tracking and dues billing were the most beneficial for us. We used the membership functions multiple times a day!

Cons

Event registration was not as intuitive to our members as I would have liked

ML
AvatarImg

Michael L.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Pretty darn good & getting better

Reviewed 4 years ago

We are a membership association and we have an additional group of subscribers and stakeholders/ interested parties and we are able to manage all of that data and those relationships in MemberSuite. We have see significant improvement in the usability of the system and the responsiveness of the staff at MemberSuite since new CEO took over 9 months ago. Cudos to the Board for making the change. The release of Portal 5.0 will be a great leap forward and the expansion of the INSIGHTS reporting tools is huge as well.

Pros

The software is easy to use. The training went well and we are able to self manage our entire database and customer relationships with a very small staff. The reporting package is good and getting better and there is a new layer of reporting software that provides even more granular information.

Cons

We came on the system at a time of significant growth at Membersuite and they were challenged to keep up with us and all the other new clients. Their culture has improved from a developer driven mentality to a customer facing mentality and that change, while welcome, has taken 24 months.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chris S.

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MemberSuite One year in

Reviewed 4 years ago

Since using the billing process through MemberSuite, invoicing takes much less time for staff to process and our members are paying their dues more quickly since they can download an invoice from an email and pay online. We have also found the e-marketing included with MemberSuite so easy to use, we are canceling the contract we have with another e-marketing platform and sending all our emails through MemberSuite.

Pros

It is intuitive to use. There are links and instructions all over the software to help you navigate and get the informaiton you need. Additonally, any information your organization puts in the AMS can be pulled out in reports. This was not the case in our previous software.

Cons

There are reports included with the AMS and they are very helpful but they don't inlcude exaclty the information we'd like to see. We have been able to create reports to pull the information the way we want. However, I believe MemberSuite is working to make these reports more customizable.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lakisha B.

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MemberSuite is a perfect fit for us!

Reviewed 4 years ago

We are a small staff of 10 that services almost 3,000 members. We needed a system that allows us to customize pages and site easily. We use MemberSuite as our central "hub" for all things related to our association. We utilize API to link our registration company, our online journal and our technical papers. This API allows for SSO (single sign-on) and our members to use their one login to access all sites. We went live in 2015 after transitioning from a different AMS. The transition was really smooth and the customer service has been great.

Pros

The ability to customize and the price point was perfect for us compared to other systems. The customer service is really good as well.

Cons

We have been anxiously awaiting the roll-out of the new customer portal.

LV
AvatarImg

Laura V.

11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Web based, highly configurable system that allows us to manage most aspects of our association.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Highly configurable with the option to customize if needed. Allows us to run almost every aspect of our association with one system. Ability to integrate through a robust API. Only pay for the modules you use and need, with an unlimited amount of users.

Cons

The user experience in the portal is clunky and not as intuitive as it should or could be. The length of time it takes for bugs to be fixed. If they are system wide, they are addressed quickly, but if they only impact a small amount of customers, they take quite a bit longer.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Candice Z.

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Good All-In-One Resource for Associations

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Even though each association is different, MemberSuite is highly customizable--events, awards, certifications, member directory... they can cover it all.

Cons

Our company has been a client since 2011 and over the years we've had some challenges with Support but this has become much better recently. Our CSM has been a very valuable resource.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Brian B.

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Flexible, configurable AMS System

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Flexibility of the software - it is highly configurable Very open API Great access to data

Cons

I would like the console to be a little more user friendly/intuitive

ML
AvatarImg

Matthew L.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MemberSuite: customizable, user friendly, and the best CRM/AMS I've used.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I'm the database administrator for a member-based non profit organization. We've been on membersuite for about a year and a half, coming off an AMS that seemed to break a little more with each patch. The difference in getting switched over was immediate and a huge improvement for our employees and our members/customers. We have a large number of business functions that we used to outsource to third...

Pros

The reporting tools are the best I've ever used: it's incredibly easy to filter and tune reports towards exactly what you need for any given data set. Customizing your database's back end towards your needs is really easy and makes the system incredibly versatile. Users have reported a much better experience with membersuite than our old database, particularly in terms of online purchasing and event registration.

Cons

The lack of a spreadsheet import can be a hindrance. Also, there's no way to copy merchandise or most other objects in the system, which would be really helpful when creating a lot of inventory.

SM
AvatarImg

Susan M.

Banking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Engage your members with ease of use in MemberSuite

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great experience overall and the customer support is top notch!

Pros

The ease of having our events visible in the member portal makes for easy interaction with members for registering for events and updating information. The standard and custom reports available in MemberSuite have been very useful in our accounting.

Cons

There are a few reporting and financial issues that we are still working through so I wish all issues could be resolved in a timely manner but I do think most of our issues are resolved quickly. I also wish we could have two bank accounts within MemberSuite.

MM
AvatarImg

Michelle M.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I've noticed a huge improvement in MemberSuite since our implementation over three years ago.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like that it is web-based so all I need is an internet connection and I can access our database from anywhere. I like the attentiveness of our customer success manager and the support team. The search feature is very useful when we need to pull data on our members, event registrations, awarding continued education credits, etc.

Cons

The current portal has some limitations, but those will hopefully be addressed with the upcoming upgrade. The flexibility to enhance the product to fit our needs comes with a steep customization cost.

SL
AvatarImg

Samuel L.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Very robust software, sometimes confusing as to how it works.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The software will do most anything needed, sometimes it can be difficult to configure to the associations business practices.

Cons

I wish it had better documentation in how options work, so that I could just look up the answers myself without having to go to support.

TA
AvatarImg

Tina A.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I like how they take the time to walk you through anything and the constant improvements!

Reviewed 5 years ago

All in all a learning experience

Pros

MemberSuite is always making improvements and looks to its customers for feedback. The customer service support is great!

Cons

Some of the reporting isn't intuitive but it is getting better for sure. As I learn the easier it gets.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Executive Office, 1-10 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

MemberSuite was Sweet

Reviewed 4 years ago

I formerly used MemberSuite and was relieved to have a powerful system with excellent reporting capabilities. Every system has it's strengths and REPORTING is the best part of MemberSuite. I trusted my data and was glad to set up reporting as I needed and not have to depend upon "canned" reports.

Pros

I appreciate their highly customized reports.

Cons

The system would go down at an inconvenient time, although perhaps this has been resolved.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Not a great product. Surprised they are still going.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The report builder was actually pretty good.

Cons

Virtually nothing integrated easily with the system. It has its own home-grown CRM. Upgrades would often break certain components. Support was rather slow. Look and feel was old-fashioned and not mobile friendly.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michelle W.

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MemberSuite - Good Association Mgmt Tool

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

MemberSuite is easy to use and can be accessed from anywhere. One of the best features for my place of employment is that it gives unlimited user access. It's also highly customizable.

Cons

User experience in the portal is not as intuitive as it could be.