This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Chrometa

Easy Time Tracking... That's 100% "Automatic"

see alternatives

Chrometa Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Has made my life so much in completely tracking for me. I highly recommend this product. The customer support is awesome and very helpful as well.

Tiffany W.

Great app...I like it because it's free at the first place. It helps me calculate time spent on the mobile phone, computer and other devices now I can spend more time doing other things.

Nikola P.

Incredible, amazing, superb, fantastic. You can add as many adjectives as you want.

Shawn D.

Cons

But the problem was, with that method, most activities were lost, forgotten and had to rely on guestimates whenever a distraction pulled me away from what I was working on at that moment.

Stephanie M.

This time tracker was un-editable and was difficult to manage different projects with. The company I used this with abandoned it very quickly after implementation.

jena k.

I find that they busier I am that my exposure to lost income increases as manually tracking time logs is very challenging.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

4.3

5

4

3

2

1

34

15

2

1

4

88%
positive reviews
90%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


56 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Relaxation plus more billable hours

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use Chrometa for Mac. It has truly changed my life as a personal historian (I write people’s memoirs and biographies for their families). Keeping track of time with online or desktop timers was useless because I so often forgot to start or stop the timer. I am frequently interrupted, so it was very hard to be accurate with time. However, this app captures everything I do for my clients and even codes...

Pros

Relaxing: you don't have to worry about keeping track of time because Chrometa does an excellent job of that.

Cons

When rounding increments of time, Chrometa always rounds up. I'm not comfortable with this because it could result in overcharging clients, so I have it set to record exact number of minutes. I wish they had an option that would use the mathematical rules of rounding.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I tried them all....

Reviewed 4 years ago

I tried almost all time tracking apps that are available this days. Did my research, tested them for couple of days... Some of them are way too complicated, and are more for big firms..and some do not have features I need. I have been with Chrometa over 2 years and no plans to change. I am graphic designer, have my own business, and heavily rely on time tracking for my billing. Sometimes I work...

Pros

Intuitive, Easy to use, Great Customer Service, Affordable.

Cons

I can't think of any... the app does what I am paying for.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Works fine for one device, terrible for two, help is not available.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Time tracking

Pros

I like the time-tracking, because I am self-employed and have several ongoing projects most of the time.

Cons

The entire time I've had this service, I've not been able to add a second device. The onscreen help icon is a chat room, but the help has thus far not helped with any questions . I wish there was a central help desk to call to ask questions. (There is, but they don't answer the phone or return calls.)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Most accurate and efficient way to track my time

Reviewed 4 years ago

With Chrometa installed on my computer, my hours are automatically being logged. I don't have to tell it to start recording or remember when I started and when I stopped- it's already working in the background while I work. All I have to do is review the entries and categorize them to the appropriate task or client. Whether it's online, working on a document, or on my phone, it's all there.

Pros

I don't have to think about how much time I'm spending on something- with Chrometa, I know. It's the only browser history tracker I've found that also tells you how much time you spent on what website, but it also logs phone activity and computer activity. Time can be tracked, categorized, downloaded, and even billed using Chrometa. Once it's installed, you just go to work- no need to turn anything on or activate it when you need to track something.

Cons

There is a bit of a delay on tracking so you have to come back to Chrometa a few hours later sometimes to categorize something to the appropriate client or task. They have Rules which is an auto-tagging feature that can help with this but if you use the same apps/tools for a lot of different clients, then you can't really take advantage of this feature for most things. Also, the Tasks and Annotations still don't quite make sense to me, but they're supposed to be a way for you to tag and categorize things. I need to research it more, but I think those features were originally designed for attorneys, which is probably why they don't make sense to me.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Passive Capture Meets Expectations

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Chrometa actually works. As promised it monitors your desktop and phone and when you are ready to log in to Chrometa, all the work you have done appears in lists ready to be assigned to each matter. I had imported my list of current clients and matter names and so it was just a matter of 'Moving to Project' each of the transactions that were saved. The outlook emails, webpages, word docs, adobe pdfs and other work were easy to assign. The keyword search improved this experience. I was pleasantly surprised to see how busy I have been, and seeing the occasional distractions listed also motivated me to stay on task.

Cons

There were a large number of 'windows' transactions that are neither billable- nor particularly intelligible. The outlook emails only show the Subject line. The Skype entries do not indicate to whom the calls were made or received. Documents, Notepad, etc, are listed using the saved name of the document. This is not always clear. Having to Move to Project - the first week or first month is fairly labor intensive. I think I should have been assigning the project name every day. Live and Learn!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Member for 7 years !! Still use it

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Prior to Chrometa I must have tried dozens of applications in the quest for a user friendly, intuitive and painless way to track my professional time. Program works in the background, no need to start and stop time on various events. If I am away from my computer(s) for a period of time a pop-up is waiting for me to track time away. Feature rich and continues to improve year after year.

Cons

Chrometa's iPhone App requires punching in and out before and after phone calls. As a result I find this a bit cumbersome.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Chrometa !

Reviewed 5 years ago

We just switch for Chrometa and really enjoyed the app! We definitely recommend it to companies that need to identify where staff/managing director spend theirs time. You will also be able to identify time well spent and wasted. Yet, to be 2017 dream app Chrometa needs some improvement on the invoicing and project part. Integration with Quickbooks online is much appreciated. We will definitely write a few words on Chrometa to our blog!

Pros

- Effortless time tracking = it collects automatically your computer activity - one of the only app that tracks your phone calls on android (ie: Apple still block these type of tracking ); - Rules = many works when setting up the app = no more data entry after a few time as almost everything is automated!

Cons

- can't enter the budget amount for a project - invoicing - yearly export have to be requested

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Practical

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Just started to use Chrometa and I'm finding it really usefull. It helps you to keep track of what you are working on. For a pearson that works in multiple projects at once, it is ideal. Will try it on my mobile device as well to see how it works!

Cons

I Didn't try all the features yet. But the ones I tried worked fine for me. Just think they should have discounts for teams.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great way to recapture "lost" time!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Out of everyone on our team, I've been the worst about remembering to track my time... Chrometa has remedied that... Rules teach it how to categorize work to clients and projects, and now I know exactly how much time I'm spending on each project for each client, instead of just trying to remember.

Pros

Captures every moment of your work, along with enough details to be able to categorize it.

Cons

UI needs some work to help make it a bit more intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The production sees improved by using this app

Reviewed 3 years ago

it help me to improved in my business and make me more efficient

Pros

At first i used in my personal computer to see how it works, and i love it. by getting the info of all the time you pass into any thing when you work help to improve my performance

Cons

Only works in microsoft, i would like to work with other system like Linux because my company we use more linux. And the UI has to improve, is not the easiest app to understand

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Not great, but still the best passive time tracking system for now

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've compared Chrometa to several other passive time tracking systems: Timetracker by Openhour, Timely, Time Camp, and a couple others... Other systems are more suited to monitoring employee productivity than tracking billable time. Chrometa is still the best passive time tracking system if you are looking to track and bill for hourly work. Especially if you are using CLIO. However, functionality and stability fundamentals of the desktop app seem to be taking a backseat to fancy new features like Android apps for your mobile device.

Pros

Old interface is intuitive interface and efficient for quickly categorizing automatically recorded time between a large number of projects. The initial one hour orientation by phone with human was top quality. Integration with CLIO worked well.

Cons

The desktop app is poor. It freezes and stops recording time without any notification that it has stopped working, though this happens less frequently if you regularly restart windows. Time recorded on the desktop app uploads once per hour, and the app's "Upload Now" function stopped working in 2017, and has not been fixed. This means you cannot annotate your time description when you finish a task;...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy and quick to go back and tag your jobs

Reviewed 5 years ago

I was using another Time/App Tracking software package (Time Tracker by Open Hour) for more than a year, and while it originally appeared to fill my needs, it sometimes didn't record the exact name of the file I was working on (only the name of the software), so I had to do some guess work on which job was which. ... An almost impossible task to do a week later. And it took forever to refresh and update...

Pros

Tracks all files and apps used. Quick and easy to tag all jobs and activities. Prompts you to log 'away time' when the computer is idle (phone calls, meetings, lunch)

Cons

I found it difficult moving from a calendar-based interface to a list-type... but after a couple of weeks that passed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Work less & earn more

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Chrometa is great because it tracks automatically in the background. You just do what you have to do. At the end of your daily routine you assign what you did to jobs/projects. It's a question of 2-5 minutes and you're done. And oh boy: every minute is recorded, you don't have to figure out when you did what and how long. You have it EXACT... no guessing, no hassle. And as you know precisely what you did and when you did it, you bill every single minute. Which means you earn more, and possibly have to work less to still get your usual payday.

Cons

It's a pitty that there is no possibility to add third party costs of a project. Would come very handy as the tool allows to generate bills. But as I'm not able to include third party costs I have as a freelancer (suppliers, project partners etc.) it's not the one-stop-shop. You need a moment to get used to the UI, but when you use it on a daily basis that's a snap...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Set it and forget it timekeeping

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I work with multiple clients and need to track my work for each. Chrometa tracks everything I do on all my work-related computers and devices. When I work on my laptop, I can later be on my desktop viewing Chrometa. There, it'll show the time I spent on my laptop by activity or a summary for each device. Sometimes I get wrapped up in what I'm doing that I'd forget to note the time when I start doing work for a client. Chrometa saves my behind as it shows the time I started. I've tried timers, but ended up forgetting to turn them on or off. I've yet to find anything that works better than this. I went to look up how long I've been using Chrometa. It's been seven years! I think that speaks volumes.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Manage Time better than anything.

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is very good concept of saving time. The part where we can see the automatic time is awesome and way it handles it is good.

Pros

Chrometa helps you see the time spent in almost every item be it on your Mac or on your mobile phone. Some of its areas includes MS office, Google Chrome, Gmail, android application and even on various local apps. You can then analyze, prioritize or cut out unnecessary time spent accordingly. You can even export time and use it for various purposes like billing. It is very useful to people like me who likes managing and keeping track of every second to make each day more productive. Being an automatic updated app, it is very accurate in itself

Cons

1. Billing is not directly handled using this app. 2. It is lengthy and time taking thing to analyze time spent on various apps. It could have used some features like Machine learning where it would have analyzed the time itself and given the recommendation of its own. 3. However easy it is, there is some lagging in the user interface. The interface seems like old fashioned. People who are not bothered with the appearance are good to go. Those who like a better interface should expect some more.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Time Tracking Software

Reviewed 5 years ago

One of the best time tracking softwares. It tracks everything you do in the background. Great for taking activity while working on your computer or tracking time for when you arrive or leave the office or miscellaneous away time. If you use it consistently it is great for making sure that you never miss another billable hour again.

Pros

Tracks all activity while using your computer Can track away time as well so long as you use this feature

Cons

Away time must be consistently tracked in order to keep it accurate

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Chrometa is great for attorneys, consultants and freelancers!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Track time and don't lose any money in the process. It keeps you time effectively records everything that you do.

Pros

I love Chrometa! It tracks everything. A specialist walked me through it; Showed me how to set up rules and make everything work like clock work. Chrometa is a beautiful thing!

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Know where you're spending your time!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love the fact that Chrometa captures every second of your time usage and indicates the what programs/websites you're using. The reports are also extremely helpful to see where most of your time is going.

Cons

The website links recorded for your time on Facebook are often general and don't really tell you exactly where you've been or what you've been doing - I'd love to see more specificity.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Chrometa is a must for any lawyer/ Auto time keeping makes billing a breeze.

Reviewed 12 years ago

Chrometa is a must for any lawyer. It is simple, powerful and easy to use. It is scary how much time lawyers forget to bill or fail to realize. Chrometa solves this problem and pays for itself within hours.

Pros

Automatically tracks what you do on your computer, making tracking your time and figuring out what you did all day a breeze. Simple, clean, intuitive interface. Powerful Excel export feature allows you to export your time and easily enter it into a billing system. The software also allows you to sort by client and matter number and add new ones, making it very easily to sort your time in an efficient manner. The software also handles away time by allowing you to manually enter time entries for phone calls and meetings. Support is friendly, a phone call away and the tech guys there will walk you through anything. Chrometa is a lifesaver.

Cons

There isn't really a way to modify the length of time for the automatic tracking. Also, an interface with my phone system would be great

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A time tracker Chrometa

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It helps us to track an accurate work time,

Cons

nothing to be unlike cause it is useful for my work and my team also

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

...The only app I've found that stayed true to it's ad and works!

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have been searching up and down for an app that would assist me with my timekeeping by giving me the ability to backtrack what I've actually done with my time. I was disappointed by many other apps because they required me to have to remember to punch in/out or start/stop a timer in order to keep a log of activity... But the problem was, with that method, most activities were lost, forgotten and...

Pros

My fave is the background tracker. The fact that I can look back on every website and application and revisit the time spent there is perfect for my work!

Cons

The only con's I've found so far is that the ability to transfer the info into a breakdown document hasn't been easy. But I've managed by using print PDF and screenshot.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Has great physical features and runs at an acceptable speed, haven't had any problems.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It helps me track my projects and due dates. As well as time tracking for my appointments! Has made my life so much in completely tracking for me. I highly recommend this product! The customer support is awesome and very helpful as well

Cons

I think it Could use mobile alerts for reminders to help keep track of upcoming appointments, but other than that it is great seeing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nothing left untracked!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Chrometa is awesome because it tracks everything. Keep it on 24/7 and you can see where your business hours AND your personal time goes. My only issue with Chrometa is that when I go through my time tracking and classify time it does take a while. But I'm sure that I were to use it several times a week rather than once per week this would be a less time consuming process.

Pros

Captures all computer activities Many helpful video tutorials

Cons

Lengthy/complicated to sort time into categories

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

easy to use, functional

Reviewed 4 years ago

Now i can spend more time with my family and friends.

Pros

It's very functional and easy to use. I really like the sistem and I can use it on my PC and smartphone.

Cons

Maybe the price may be smaller but it is absolutely worth it. Also, many people do not know about that app.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great time capture app

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use Chrometa to track my time and create entries which I turn into billing records and invoices in Quickbooks desktop. The integration is a little awkward, but the tracking is very helpful. Overall I find this an excellent tool for my solo law practice.

Pros

Very affordable, simple to use and tracks well. It even tracks my time in Word Perfect documents, which is something I've found unavailable in other software.

Cons

It's not very smoothly integrated into Quickbooks desktop, and I prefer to keep my billing in that program.