Hub Planner Features

Hub Planner

Resource scheduling, time tracking and team project planning

4.22/5 (99 reviews)

Competitor Feature Comparison

API
Access Controls/Permissions
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Agile Methodologies
Alerts/Notifications
Approval Process Control
Assignment Management
Budget Management
Budgeting/Forecasting
Business Process Automation
Calendar Management
Capacity Management
Change Management
Charting
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Commenting/Notes
Compliance Tracking
Configurable Workflow
Cost-to-Completion Tracking
Create Subtasks
Customizable Dashboard
Customizable Fields
Customizable Reports
Customizable Templates
Dashboard
Dashboard Creation
Data Import/Export
Data Visualization
Deadline Management
Document Management
Drag & Drop
File Sharing
Forecasting
Forms Management
Gantt/Timeline View
Idea Management
Integrations Management
Issue Management
Kanban Board
Milestone Tracking
Mobile Access
Multiple Projects
Percent-Complete Tracking
Planning Tools
Portfolio Management
Prioritization
Progress Reports
Progress Tracking
Project Accounting
Project Management
Project Planning
Project Planning/Scheduling
Project Templates
Project Time Tracking
Project Tracking
Project Workflow
Projections
Real Time Data
Real Time Notifications
Real Time Reporting
Real-time Updates
Recurring Tasks
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Reporting/Project Tracking
Requirements Management
Resource Allocation & Planning
Resource Management
Resource Request
Resource Scheduling
Risk Management
Role-Based Permissions
Search/Filter
Skills Tracking
Status Tracking
Task Editing/Updating
Task Management
Task Planning
Task Progress Tracking
Task Scheduling
Task Tagging
Testing/QA Management
Third Party Integrations
Time & Expense Tracking
Time Tracking
Timesheet Management
Traditional Methodologies
Utilization Reporting
Visualization
Workflow Configuration
Workflow Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Access Controls/Permissions
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Agile Methodologies
Alerts/Notifications
Approval Process Control
Assignment Management
Budget Management
Budgeting/Forecasting
Business Process Automation
Calendar Management
Capacity Management
Change Management
Charting
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Commenting/Notes
Compliance Tracking
Configurable Workflow
Cost-to-Completion Tracking
Create Subtasks
Customizable Dashboard
Customizable Fields
Customizable Reports
Customizable Templates
Dashboard
Dashboard Creation
Data Import/Export
Data Visualization
Deadline Management
Document Management
Drag & Drop
File Sharing
Forecasting
Forms Management
Gantt/Timeline View
Idea Management
Integrations Management
Issue Management
Kanban Board
Milestone Tracking
Mobile Access
Multiple Projects
Percent-Complete Tracking
Planning Tools
Portfolio Management
Prioritization
Progress Reports
Progress Tracking
Project Accounting
Project Management
Project Planning
Project Planning/Scheduling
Project Templates
Project Time Tracking
Project Tracking
Project Workflow
Projections
Real Time Data
Real Time Notifications
Real Time Reporting
Real-time Updates
Recurring Tasks
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Reporting/Project Tracking
Requirements Management
Resource Allocation & Planning
Resource Management
Resource Request
Resource Scheduling
Risk Management
Role-Based Permissions
Search/Filter
Skills Tracking
Status Tracking
Task Editing/Updating
Task Management
Task Planning
Task Progress Tracking
Task Scheduling
Task Tagging
Testing/QA Management
Third Party Integrations
Time & Expense Tracking
Time Tracking
Timesheet Management
Traditional Methodologies
Utilization Reporting
Visualization
Workflow Configuration
Workflow Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Access Controls/Permissions
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Agile Methodologies
Alerts/Notifications
Approval Process Control
Assignment Management
Budget Management
Budgeting/Forecasting
Business Process Automation
Calendar Management
Capacity Management
Change Management
Charting
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Commenting/Notes
Compliance Tracking
Configurable Workflow
Cost-to-Completion Tracking
Create Subtasks
Customizable Dashboard
Customizable Fields
Customizable Reports
Customizable Templates
Dashboard
Dashboard Creation
Data Import/Export
Data Visualization
Deadline Management
Document Management
Drag & Drop
File Sharing
Forecasting
Forms Management
Gantt/Timeline View
Idea Management
Integrations Management
Issue Management
Kanban Board
Milestone Tracking
Mobile Access
Multiple Projects
Percent-Complete Tracking
Planning Tools
Portfolio Management
Prioritization
Progress Reports
Progress Tracking
Project Accounting
Project Management
Project Planning
Project Planning/Scheduling
Project Templates
Project Time Tracking
Project Tracking
Project Workflow
Projections
Real Time Data
Real Time Notifications
Real Time Reporting
Real-time Updates
Recurring Tasks
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Reporting/Project Tracking
Requirements Management
Resource Allocation & Planning
Resource Management
Resource Request
Resource Scheduling
Risk Management
Role-Based Permissions
Search/Filter
Skills Tracking
Status Tracking
Task Editing/Updating
Task Management
Task Planning
Task Progress Tracking
Task Scheduling
Task Tagging
Testing/QA Management
Third Party Integrations
Time & Expense Tracking
Time Tracking
Timesheet Management
Traditional Methodologies
Utilization Reporting
Visualization
Workflow Configuration
Workflow Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App

Hub Planner Feature Reviews

25 reviewers had the following to say about Hub Planner's features:

Tim E.

Very good for the allocation of resources

2020-09-01

Great for allocating team members to projects and tracking their progress in one place.

Pros

It is easy to see an view of your whole teams activity and is easy to switch around individuals from task to task and see the impact this will make.

Cons

The reporting can be quite fiddly to customise if the standard reports (of which there are plenty) don't exactly fulfill your requirements.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Hi Tim, really glad Hub Planner is working well for you and your team. The Reports are quite vast with lots of functions. I can understand they take some time to get used to. We are trying to cover off on all possible analytic scenarios to help teams better forecast. I find the Reports section of the Knowledge Base helpful and saving my customized templates. Thanks again, Team Hub Planner

Read more
Suraya R.

Hub planner administrator

2020-09-09

Overall i'm quite happy with hub planner, it seems to serve our basic resource tracking needs

Pros

Ability to see forecast vs reported, Dashboard & Reporting feature

Cons

Inability to adjust dates on the dashboard, and set 'line-managers' to approve time-sheets, rather than projects managers as it currently stands.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Thanks for taking the time to submit your review of Hub Planner. The good news is that we have new updates on the way for the Dashboard and the Permissions/Roles!

The Dashboard, we are improving the UI as well as adding a date picker. With the approval of timesheets, the new added feature of permissions allows you to customize outside of the default settings.

We do pride ourselves on our customer service, so we're sorry to hear you are frustrated here. I know we have helped your team via our support channel, but if you prefer a call, that should be no problem.

In the last year, we invested heavily in rebuilding the Hub Planner Knowledge Base. We found our users wanted a quick access reference guide with FAQ style questions and video tutorials. Outside of this, the majority of customer questions are answered over support tickets as it's easier to explain with screenshots and steps etc. Reach out to us https://hubplanner.com/contact/ and we can organise a call to you.

Hub Planner

Read more
Isabella T.

It's ok, but...

2020-08-27

It is okay, but for some cases, a workaround is needed.

Pros

It is good, that you have a tool where you can track the time you need to work on several projects and generate reports from it.

Cons

There are several small things that could be done much better, just to mention a few: - Include easy to use categories within one project, so that you can track time on task level - To make tracking time even easier include a start/stop timer function - When approving time cards for my employees and finding a mistake: In order to change the mistake, I need to deny the timecard, change the screen, go into editing mode for my employee and then edit, approve (on behalf of employee), change screen again to finally approve the timecard.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Hello Isabella,

Appreciate you taking the time to submit your review of Hub Planner.

I agree, there are some things that can be improved for sure. Thanks for the suggestions, they are really helpful especially around the Timesheets function. We most certainly will take these and hopefully you will see them implemented in the near future.

On your point for booking categories within one project. Have you tried the Booking Category Groups? This will allow you to assign specific booking categories for different projects? Super helpful when reporting time too that you can segment what you are actually spending time on. Here is a link to the press release: https://hubplanner.com/hub-planner-release-booking-category-groups-to-the-suite-of-resource-management-features/

If you need any further help, do reach out to us via https://hubplanner.com/contact/, we'll be happy to assist.

Thanks,
Team Hub Planner

Read more
Tomasz G.

Good Planning Software

2020-08-31

For the sake of time tracking it works very well.

Pros

Its easy to use in terms of planning how much time should i spend on each project daily. Easy to report how many hours have I spent on a project.

Cons

I think that integrations with other systems like GitHub or GitLab would be awesome feature.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Hi Tomasz, thanks for your kind feedback. Just an FYI, we do integrate with GitHub. You can access via Settings -> Integrations. Thanks, Team Hub Planner

Read more
Aadit D.

Good product, with a lot of scope for improvements

2020-09-22

Pros

Tracking leaves, project planning are well designed.

Cons

Extremely cumbersome to fill timesheets. Having to click to edit each entry is like so 20th century! You guys need to really up your game. Why not let tab button/arrows help navigate between entries?

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Hi Aadit, appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback. Timesheets is something that we are looking to update very soon. Thank you for the design suggestion, we will certainly take that on board for sure. Any other improvements you would like to see? Keep them coming. We are always happy and very grateful for user suggestions. Best, Team Hub Planner

Read more
Tiffanie R.

Easy and Cost Effective tool

2021-02-11

Overall my experience with Hubplanner has been fine, this was a free trial so we didn't get to use all the features but we love the reporting capabilities.

Pros

This tool makes it easy to track the time you need to spend working on a project and report that data out.

Cons

correcting errors in the system has caused a problem and does require contacting support for corrections.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
(Computer Software company, 11-50 employees)

All in 1 Planning tool

2021-07-01

Really pleased with this software as modifications are easily done and I have all info needed in one place (Resource, planning, finance)

Pros

Timewise, PMs get to save a lot of time to visualize their resource planning and in a snap can decide who to move and where, whenever needed

Cons

I cannot track time on individual developments.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. Glad Hub Planner is working well for you. We will have some new fresh updates coming soon to the Timesheets that should solve scrolling booking category list.

Thanks,
Team Hub Planner

Read more
Ben P.

My Review

2020-08-27

Pros

Is a very easy software to use for project tracking and projections.

Cons

can be difficult to add new projects and requires admin support.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Hi Ben, thanks for posting your review of Hub Planner. Appreciate the feedback, thank you. You might check with your account owner regarding rights/permission settings for adding a new project. They can activate that for you. Best, Team Hub Planner.

Read more
Melinda W.

Easy Organization for Project Collaboration

2020-08-27

Pros

This software is easy to track and allows me to better organize time spent on projects.

Cons

One feature would I change is in the projects section of time sheets.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Hi Melinda, thank you for your kind words. Yes, I also agree with you on TS. We are looking to update this in our new version coming soon. Best, Team Hub Planner

Read more
Anette B.

hubplanner review

2020-10-06

only use it for time tracking

Pros

I only use it for tracking my hours on projects

Cons

confusing home page. not familiar with all of the functions and integrations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Hi Anette, thanks for taking the time to post your review. Can I suggest that you alter your preference home page to Timesheets? Go to Settings -> My Settings -> My Preferences -> Start Page -> Select Timesheets -> Save

Any help you need on features and functions, please do contact us know, we will be happy to show you. hubplanner.com/contact

Read more
Alissa W.

Worked really well for us

2020-07-29

From the initial customization and integration through use it was a solid partnership.

Pros

It's interface and experience design are extremely intuitive and fluid.

Cons

It had nothing to do with the software and more limitations on how our systems would integrate so we did not get to use the project management side of the software as much as we would have liked.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tony E.

Great system for resource management

2021-06-15

We have been using Hub Planner for over 3 years and it has been a very successful tool for our project and team resource planning. Simple to plan in the work and review view our stand-up meetings.

Pros

Integration with the business was easy and the stand-out feature was the resource planning calendar.

Cons

The reporting has lots of options but it's not the easiest to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Thank you for your kind comments. Sounds like it's working really well for your team. If you would like to schedule some time with us, we would be more than happy to help guide you through the reports in more detail? Just give us a shout via hello@hubplanner.com and our team will assist you.

Thanks,
Team Hub Planner

Read more
Daniel S.

Flexibility and Accessibility

2019-02-11

Out project managers now have the information they need to structure budgets around resource availability and project timelines.

Pros

In addition to the native tools the read and write API makes decision making possible across platforms.

Cons

Some of the permissions could be bifurcated further into "edit" and "view" buckets.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert G.

Great for team resource management

2019-04-25

Happy to recommend Hub Planner as a resource management solution.

Pros

Project managers and engineers are able to easily see who is working where and create reports and view overview resource details in the dashboards.

Cons

Could be easier to assign different colours to booking categories

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Elodie M.

not bad -needs a mobile version or app

2020-08-31

We book everybody's time on the team against project so that everyone knows what they're working on each day.

Pros

Very easy to plan everyone's work and to see what people are working on very quickly

Cons

Hubplanner looks terrible on my mobile, I can't "click" on an event to see what notes there are or anything.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Appreciate your eye for a clean design. Right now, the mobile optimization is more functional for sure. Thanks for the feedback, we will look to add this to our scope for sure. Best, Team Hub Planner

Read more
Samuel Z.

Time tracking made easy

2020-10-13

It is easy to use and addresses some of the most common complaints I've had about other time tracking systems I've used in the past.

Pros

As a user, it is great that you can be assigned to a project and it already show up on your time sheet.

Cons

I'm looking forward to the Slack reminders such that I can more accurately track my time with weekly reminders.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Wesley S.

Great Visibility to team activities

2020-09-28

Pretty solid and straight forward planning software with some unique features that were very useful.

Pros

The visibility in a GANTT format to view team activities.

Cons

Report tool is very flexible which is a positive but it was confusing and difficult to extract the exact data i would looking for across various modules.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David H.

Moving from spreadsheet planning to Hub Planner was incredibly easy to set up & implement & roll-out

2018-06-18

We have reduced the management of resource planning & also the number of times files became corrupt.

Pros

Easy planning features that can be viewed through project, resource group or other lenses is powerful.

Cons

There are a lot of things you can configure within Hub Planner, but if you want a fully customized solution then Hub Planner may not work for you.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Phil S.

Hub Planner

2020-09-04

Pros

Forecasted project assignment makes it very straightforward and the interface is good.

Cons

Sometimes hard to see comments around task detail with the hover-over.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Hello Phil,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We're glad to hear Hub Planner is working well for you and your team and you like the new reporting platform.

For the booking tooltip display, there is a drop down list of display options which go from instant five seconds and everything in between.You can locate this within Scheduler Customization: https://hubplanner.com/new-settings-milestone-tooltips/

Thanks,
Team Hub Planner

Read more
Carol M.

Great Planner

2020-09-30

I think its a great way to see jobs booked in for the week/month and be able to see what the rest of the team are working on too

Pros

I like being able to see my weeks layed out and being able to add the times on the timesheet to be able to keep track of how long I have spent on a project.

Cons

It would be great if it had a section to create your own to do list/ task list as right now only the administrator can add tasks onto a booking in my schedule

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


HI Carol, thanks for sharing your views. Really appreciate it. Yes, Tasks are super handy, right? Perhaps you can check with your admin for permission to access either the Tasks or Notes section? Best, Team Hub Planner

Read more
Zdenka P.

Hub Planner is highly functional and customisable resource management tool.

2018-07-26

It's an easy-to-use, clear and useful resource management tool Detailed and precise reporting We have replaced three of our systems with one product It streamlined our operation We now have a software that is customisable but most of all used by our employees to satisfaction of all involved

Pros

We chose Hub Planner to get serious about resource planning and to move away from spreadsheets and emails.

Cons

However, we are very happy with the progress and new features added over the course of our use (about 2 years).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ellie M.

Useful and effective software

2020-09-02

Overall, HubPlanner helps our management team in our Change department to view how much work resources anticipate they will do and how much they have actually done.

Pros

There are a wide range of features and it is very customisable to suit our needs.

Cons

Also, on a laptop screen, it doesn't have a great view. Everything is quite chunky which makes it hard to view a few people's schedules at the same time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Hello Ellie,

Capacity Planning and the ability to measure the scheduled versus actuals is a core competency of Hub Planner, I'm happy to hear that this is working well for you and your team. Especially in this current pandemic, Hub Planner has really helped a lot of teams keep up performance levels and track who is working on what and who is available. Thanks for your feedback.

I myself have been switching from a display to laptop with the current working from home. I find the Ctrl & 0 or zoom in and out options work for me.

RE customer support, 9/10 times, once an agent responds to an initial ticket, it is automatically tagged to that agent for any future responses. It's only if that agent might be on leave or not available or another department needs to step in for example, would another agent take over so that your query is answered more quickly. Of course, you can request the agent of choice too, the rest of us won't be offended :)

Thanks again,
Team Hub Planner

Read more
Haneez H.

This needs improvement. Looks outdated and slow.

2020-08-31

It's the software selected by the company, therefore, there is no say but definitely I would think twice if someone asks for a recommendation given the lack of modern UI and performance.

Pros

It has all the elements needed to do tracking, etc

Cons

UI is way outdated compared to the competition.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Hello Haneez, thanks for taking the time to submit your review of Hub Planner.

We've actually had really positive feedback in terms of the design UI/UX of Hub Planner, I'm sorry to hear that you find it outdated as it is actually an area we pride ourselves on and why customers come to Hub Planner.

We do keep an eye on our logs for any performance issues. Please do reach out to us via https://hubplanner.com/contact/ so that we can investigate further and rectify any performance issues you may be experiencing. With remote working now more popular we often find home VPN's or proxies can cause further delays too for web services in general.

I would love the opportunity to turn around and improve your opinion of Hub Planner especially in the performance. Following that, if you have the time to discuss your UI/UX experience we would welcome that discussion for sure.

Lastly we are going to be delivering a new version of Timesheets which I hope peaks your interest.

Hub Planner

Read more
Isaac L.

Good product

2020-08-26

Pros

You have access to different areas related to resources and projects with 1 click.

Cons

Hard to get global reports based on hours booked per project against total time spent.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephanie D.

Great for forecasting - lacking in setup capabilities

2020-08-27

Pros

We also leverage the time sheet to generate data on time spent per project time and improve our understanding of the resource-cost per project.

Cons

There isn't a simple way for individuals to view only a list of projects they work on.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Hub Planner


Hi Stephanie. Appreciate the feedback. Thank you for posting. A couple of suggestions for the scheduler view:
->Sidebar, users can sort the sidebar as they wish. Just click the 3 vertical dots of a sidebar group.
-> Layout views. Click the tv icon to switch up the different layout views of the scheduler.
-> My Schedule. Users have access to their own 'My Schedule' group of projects.
-> Remove user from Project. If they are no longer working on the project, perhaps remove them temporarily from the project until needed?
-> Reports - Allow users to view their data by their own report or dashboard view too. Create a Heat Map or Full Breakdown.
->Do reach out to us if we can help you further. Best, Team Hub Planner

Read more